$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

Hi Lavender

Do u mind sharing ur kitchen layout (the cabinets, sink, hod & hood, washing m/c, fridge etc) after u hv knocked the wall to the svc balcony?

cos i also hv a svc balcony and bcos of the wall, the kitchen is soooo small! after placing the above, i hv only space for flask and rice cooker!
tt's y i am toying w the idea to remove the wall..

Hi Ouchie, Cynthia

I would think the plot of land that 656B and 656C is facing might be used for :-

- another housing (since space big enuff for HDB flat and there isn't much empty land in jurong west available for building new flats) ;or
- mini shopping centre like pioneer mall or wet market (since there is no such facilities near the proposed MRT)

I heard there might be a new primary school, a church and/or a petrol station nearby but not sure exactly where.

Also, the empty industrial plot of land that 656D and 656A is facing is intended for housing. I speculate that the goverment may push the factories further west / south (when lease is up)and free up that area for housing. With the safra club and new MRT, that area is actually wasted for factories. Might be better off to develop it info residential area.

Iced latte
is yours also the blk 656X ones cos my kitchen shape is like a triangle shape after the hacking of the kitchen wall.

To all
I personally think the empty field might be used small or light industries or warehouses. Hopefully it'll something like the Ikea or Giant in Tampines... warehouse cum retail kinda of stuffs... Cos it's next to the SBS bus depot n foreign workers dorm. Also beside the field, a new warehouse cum office was built. dun think it'll be any residential places unless it's more foreign dorm. :p

ouchie
I leave my study room wall intact cos we wanted a study room wif some privacy. So we only added a glass panelled door to the entrance.

I hacked the service balcony wall cos i cooked often...everyday during weekdays. Only weekends eat out.
so prefer bigger space to move around.

actually having a big WC is good...cos next time when u have babies, u need to bathe them....you'll need quite a big space in the bathroom..need to place a tub, place for u to squat or sit so u can bathe your baby or kid...
I find it's not wasted lah.

The church site is next to Blk630/629. Petrol station is at the site next to blk 625(not sure on the blk but it's small site along JW st 62.

I think another alternative is to hack the side of study room wall to expand the area for kitchen and build a see thru glass to partition the kitchen and study room. Better if it can flexible opening, you know like a cybercafe with bar top concept... in this way, we can still keep the svc balcony for laundry purposes.

Lavender, there is already one dorm beside the SBS bus depot. Hope it's not foreign worker dormitory .... else we will be outnumbered soon. Also resale value for 656A & D will drop =(

my info that it's for residential is from government's land use planning..... I hope I'm wrong or that government will change plan.

I'n worried that the empty land that 656B and C is facing will be developed for housing, hence I chosen a unit facing the industrial. If the industrial side will be transformed to high rise, then the good view that 656 A & D is enjoying will be gone. Let's keep our fingers cross....

Hi babu

Ya hor u haven get the keys. B prepared the hse is not as big as it looks on floor plan.

Bcos of the svc balcony (more than enuf space for a laundry area), the kitchen is small.

Assume u place the sink in the kitchen, by the svc balcony window, and the fridge jus opp the kitchen entrance, the remaining "length" of the kitchen only enuf for hob, rice cooker, flask and a toaster, max. I still can't figure how to fit an oven on the kitchen top

Hi Lavender
Looks like our kitchen layout is kinda diff, mine is rectangular shaped. Wa ur place gg to b the unofficial 65X showflat... )

i agree that the kitchen is really small, but for me, since i dont cook offen, i'll probably leave the kitchen as it is except for the opening. as i mention, i will knock one side out and extend the other.

if u can imagin, option 1 is, knock the side nearer to the common toilet and extend the other side to either accomand my fridge or to build a full length cabinate for the oven, mircowave or get those conventional 3-in-1 oven, shelves space for water boiler or rice cooker, etc...

or knock down the wall that is at the kitchen cabinate side and extend the toilet side wall to build a full length cabinate for the conventional 3-in-1 oven, opening for water boiler or rice cooker and shelf space. but this way, the kitchen cabinate space will also become slightly shorter in order to have walking space.

either way, i will be able to do a sliding door. the cons will be that ur kitchen entrance will be smaller.

i'll also build another bigger sink in the service balcony for other washing purpose. the sink inside the kitchen will probably be just 1 smaller sink. the hood & hob will be twin types which take up smaller space. that way, i will be able to have more work space.

study room,

one of my idea was to seal up the orginal opening, create a bigger or all the way opening on the wall facing the living room... do those nice wooden or glass sliding or foldable big doors...

tat way, 1st i'll have a appox 12ft wall space (the space where the orginal opening was) to build my shelves or table or watever, still retain the study room, n if open the doors all the way, an entertainment room for karaoke or watever and yet still can use as a study room.....

if those who wan, can even do a bar counter at one side of the opening with the full sliding doors direct behide it.. hence... if u can imagin, when u open the doors fully, u can have a small enterainment room with a mini bar counter, or if u close the whole door, a studyroom n the mini bar counter becomes just a normal counter top or deco top...
as for this minibar concept, one of the things u needed to do is to extend the kitchen opening wall tat is on nearest side to the study room... tat way, u minibar wouldnt look like it's in the middle of nowhere...

(sorry about my english... i can imagin it but just cant really put it into words...)

kitchen,

okie another one concept i can think up is...

knock down the service balcony windows n door, extend ur kitchen cabinate, n use part of ur kitchen cabinate to divide and create a new smaller 'service balcony'

but one of the problems i can foresee is that there are some major pipes lines just behide the kitchen windows... plus with the odd shape ending, u wouldnt get much 'service balcony' space, mabe just enuff for a washer.

the only good thing i can imagin is that u can build a 'U' shape kitchen cabinate with slightly more worktop...

lastly, another concept for the kitchen...

seal up the door of the kitchen toilet, create another opening in the living room there...

keep the windows in the service balcony n kitchen but take out the door (dont take out also can)

tat way, u can build more cabinate along the wall of the orginal toilet wall...

the cons.... with the toilet door facing ur living room, u will have to close it most of the time, or do a featurewall there to 'hide' the doorway....

orginally, was thinking tat if the common toilet door can be open at the wall towards the MBR, but over there is all pipes.....*grin*

Devila, I thought of changing the opening of kitchen toilet too....... I'm thinking of shifting the water basin closer to the WC, then maybe can put a big big bath tub at the end furthest away from WC.

But dun know whether it will be costly to do this?

Devila, you intend to have 3 + 1 aircon system?...so living room dun have aircon??

I'm thinking of system 6 - just like the showflat.... but dun know if it is a waste of $$ cos only me and my FH living in the house

unsure,
yupe... most likely i'll get the 3+1 system. like u, my family only got me & hubby, n mostly we only on the MBR aircon. tat way, i only need to service my MBR aircon, say every 1/2 yr. service the other sys 3 once a yr... but if i use this type of system, then i wouldnt buy the invertor type of aircon... no point.. plus, invertor aircon dont have system 1....

if wan to do the living room too, probably i'll get 2 x system 3... most likely 3 x 900 btu for study & smaller bedrms, 3 x 12000 btu for living & dining area n MBR... i also dont know... wat is the max limit BTU for our flat, anyone? for the space of the MBR or the living/dining area is quite big.. but was thinking most likely will be 1 set invertor aircon (for MBR, study & 1 other rm) + 1 set normal aircon (for 1 less use rm n 2 for the living/dining)

BUT overall, everything will also depends how the piping going to be... still have to ask the experts... another thing is... if the report tat those aircon with sys R22 will be face-out by 2016, (which is about 8-9 yrs later) then mabe getting both sets invertor might be good... or... stick to orginal plan n change aircon after 8-9 yrs?

unsure
just hope it's not anything that's high rise...... keke..:p

devila mun
wah!!! your concept really those designer kind leh.... keke... think u come to my flat, u'll find it very plain n simple. :p cos my ultimate aim is easy to mop n maintain and partly also wait got kids , they start to 'destroy' everything or get injured... wait heart pain so we kept everything simple.
so basically didn't do alot of changes.

iced latte
no lah... my place is too simple to be a showflat lah... zero designer ideas... keke.. not up to the standard lah.

lavender lover...

hahaha... well i do have many ideas.... the sky is the limit when come to ideas... BUT i do also have limited cash...
thou i'm not aiming for a designer flat... but i do need lots of shelves space and hence i need to find the 'best' alternatives.

and most importantly, no matter wat designs i have in mind, i have to make sure tat it wouldnt compromise my flat's value but as enhencements in the future.

for example, i need lots of shelves space for books... if i made all my shelves space to fit my books, how am i able to sell this idea off to the next buyer if the buyer is not a collector like me? esp if these shelves are fixtures onto the wall... and hence, i will need to think of ways to have shelves for my books, yet able to allow other usages as well... but of cos tat is to say if my cabinates can last me 20 yrs? (which i dont think is possible) :p

or examples of renovation that is done according to fashions... wat if the fashion fades... n hence, i would have to choose designs ideas that will never go out of fashion....

thou this flat we decided to buy will be our 'permanent' flat, but i still hope to be prepared in the event if i need to sell it off urgently or for watever reason.

actually, your concept of simple flat would be wat i'm looking for if i'm a buyer from the open mkt. i would rather pay less for a simple flat with practicality in mind n do my own reno than to pay thru the nose for someone else design.... and hence your flat will probably has more mkt value or i should say desiriblity (dont know how to spell) then mine if i do too much 'designer' stuff...

Hi Latte,

thanks for the warning...
Yane nv come online huh...
I'm tight on budget, so goin to make everything simple too... and most impt, must be practical..
no much money, do those impt one first... and must rem, easy maintainance...

hmmm... actually, if the flooring is nice n in a classic kind of look, almost anything or everything will be able to fit...

most likely, the bulk of the funds would be invested on the floor....

yes devila,
u will have to pay alot for the flooring.
If you doin laminate, do ask for the better one that have lifetime warranty. my ID actually tells me the differences between all kind of mat'l and I decide to go for Hom. tiles.. just have to choose a suitable colour. Colours always plays a very impt part...

babu... i'm still debating wat type of flooring... i have pets at home... n probably will also have them for a long long time.... so have to weights all the pros and cons seriously...

devila mun
I didn't know that abt the open market thingy...keke..anyway, we hope to stay here as long as we can, but ultimately, we plan to stay in a private property in future if permit. So when we do up this home, we view it as our 'permanent' home cos we'll most likely to stay here for at least 10 years...:p

how many dogs u have? If u have pets, do look for a flooring that's easy to clean up n maintain. If u do go for laminate ones, think babu is right. Go for those wif lifetime warranty.

Mine is homo but it's light coloured. So it makes the flat looks kinda of spacious. :p

Hi Reyner,

Check w your ID. They will recommend to you.
Just be prepared as life time warranty, u are paying higher than those cheap one...

Hi Devila, if your pets do not know how to urine at the right place, do not use laminate...
from what I know, if the contractor send by the Laminate company, after detecting the fault does not lies with it's stuff but due to careless handling from your side, you have to pay the cost for that contractor's visit and repair. if the faults lies with them, u need not pay anything. speak to your ID. I believe they will be able to help you.

Lavender, think for my living room, it will also be light colour.
as for rooms, we will see what options we have. ;)

i actually like the feeling of having parquet floor in the bedrooms... or laminate or similar.. i'm still v blur w reno terms.

But i'm worried abt maintenance too. Can't even mop the floor w a wet mop else there may be warping. Worse cases got rotten wood.. alamak

Anyway got budget constraint so may end up tiling the whole hse afterall. Any tiles I use def choose creamy white colour

lavander,
actually, my headaches comes from deciding between wat I WANT and wat I SHOULD DO... u get wat i mean? lamination, natural wood or marble all out of the question le... so i only either homogenious tiles or cermics... even homo tiles easily kanna stain by the yellowish stuff.....

babu.... my dogs are actually toilet trainned. both dont anyhow de... but u never know if go new environment new house, will their trainning desert them bo... plus... i also need to think for all my future puppies...

i'll probably do lamination only in the MBR as plateform, and mabe the study rm....

latest news....

some of our keys had been transfer from the branch office to HDB le.

becos my buyer of my present house had been waiting for me for months le n my due date to handover my present flat's keys in late may or early june and hence, we when to c the MP of pioneer n also call the branch office direct for help.

just now, manage to call Ms ching from the branch office, she said she had just sent some of our keys to HDB this morning. and HDB side, Ms loh said it will take another 2 weeks or so for processing n will be able to collect keys le.

if any of u need your keys urgently, can check with HDB if ur keys is indeed sent back to HDB. btw, my blk is 656A. i'm not sure but, mabe some of the keys means keys from my blk or could be keys for those who had called up HDB to request earlier collection.

cheers....

devila
wah..it's goo dnews for ya then!
congras!

yup, i know what u mean... things u want n things should be done.. it's like desires/wants and practicality.
keke...

Yup Devila,
do something practical.
maybe like wat you have said.
only certain room u do lamination.
With Platform, laminate is really nice.

latte,

we same same huh...
I actually got lotsa of ideas...
but need to be practical...
so going for homo. tiles...

Hi all.

i also apply the lastest walk in selection at jurong west 656D..

Now waiting to collect the key..

Devila: hope we also can collect the key soon as i have call them up and tell them it urgent..

now... i have to decide whether to let my relative do my reno, or let other outside ID to do my reno.... ID definately slightly more expensive lah... or should i say, the quality i get from outside ID will be slightly different from going to my relative...

wat do u guys think?

btw, this relative is not close to me but closer to my mother... n my mom highly recommand him... saying he can be trusted, etc...

if go outside ID, well u all know lah... how? which side should i risk?

hi devila,
i have also decided to use my relative service...
sit down with him together with your mum.
tell him the ideas u want...of cos with your hubby... relatives wont cheat you lor... especially the flooring etc...
you nv hear them say, relative's money is hardest to make... hehehehe

hmmm... i'm also thinking the same babu... but dan, if got problems, also cannot go screaming at him leh.... n also it will be difficult to have a say in the design also...

already i said i wan this this this... and he told me this this this is difficult to do and waste monie... u should do that that that.... HAIZ.....

i say dont wan window grills.... my mom n him say MUST DO..... HAIZ.....

aiyo, i talk to my relative,
he gave me ideas too... told him what i want, he also say ok.. only flooring he gave more advise and we follow... my mum dun care cos it's my place... do wat i want... we also dun intend to put grills till later but see how... but definitely no grills at balacony.

if got problem, no point screaming, just call him up and tell him nicely... dun worry lah, relatives dun dare play play or cheat...
for my cousin's case, they use the wrong solidbase top colour for her kitchen top and my relative make the decision to have them remove... u see if you comfortable lor, if not u go outside... like wat my relative told me, go outside, u want wat, the ID give u wat, cos u paying... that's it. u have to weigh pros and cons too lor...

hope the weekend's so far so good..
well, I feel it's good to get your own relatives if u are comfy wif what he suggest n can communicate wif...
cos ultimately, i'm sure he won't do a slip shod work right? If u r not comfy then it's better to deal outside cos end of the day, i'm sure both of u dun wish to get frustrated wif your own ID/contractor over some miscom...

rite now, i'm having this problem with communicating with my relative... he is more a contractor then ID... so hence if it's just normal wet works and carpentery works, np. but if i wan anything different, eg featurewall, all he can suggest is use mirrors... tv featurewall, use mirrors... WIW's door, use mirrors.... wahhh...

i dont know much about interior designing... so i really need someone who can do detailing for me... i can give ideas... but i need someone to put it into prospective... and hence, i need a ID...

today when to visit a tile shop.... soo much choices until like no choices at all..... i mean all looks so similar until really donnoe which one to choose. i had esp hard time trying to choose tiles for my foyer n balcony... (suppose to have the same theme) and after 2 hrs, i still cant make up my mind.... aghhh so in the end, nothing was choosen at all.....

(going to start banging my head against the wall le...)

dear all
have you all selected your electrical applicances?
care to share with me how much you pay for
1) cooker & hob?
2) fridge
3) washing machine
4) matteres
5) lightlings for whole house?

i am quite stanger to them and i am worried my ID will "chop" me. BTW, my ID is Homedesign

Hi Devila,

May i know when you book your flat? from you, i can roughly estimate my key collection.

Anyone went down to the modern living show at expo? so many id company... Ima** Cre*ti** concept is cool... but very ex... some ofthem throw in lcd tv and air con...

hiz anne, i book my flat on 23rd Jan07. i havent received any letter yet, but i've called HDB, Ms Loh, and she told me that will be able to get the keys in 2 weeks time.

Cynthia Tan (cotton_hill,
1) cooker & hob?
2) fridge
3) washing machine
4) matteres <---??
5) lightlings for whole house?

everything u list depends greatly on the type and brand n model.
u can compare prices before u commit to any shop. 1 of the best places to compare prices is Mustafa. thou not all, but Mustafa usually has one of the best prices. u can also call Ferderal electrics, 62973333. even audio house sometimes has good offers. u can check out HarbourFront MEGA shop (cant remember the name. but i know it's on the third floor).

for example, best denkiki sells u a fridge for $640, give u NTUC voucher S$100. if u go Mustafa or ferderal, they might offer u S$640-S$100 so u just pay $540. but not all products lah...

another place to get great bargins is looking out for warehouse sales. they advertise on sat's CATS usually. so just be more hardworking... the Saturday Times really can help u find great offers. i bought my previous kitchen sink for $50. my previous build-in hob for $80, my 570L sharp fridge for S$450. my 29" panasonic CRT Tv for S$389, my slumberland queen size divine bedset for S$899 (seen at Carefour at S$2100).

all and all, if u dont mind, bed with some dirty finger prints at the side, a small dent on the fridge door, a small chip on the hob, a small dent on the sink. old model TV. been using these stuff for more than 5 years and still going strong.
happy hunting k...

how many of u guys bought a lcd / plasma TV or dvd/cd players/recorders from the last IT Show? cheap cheap bargin rite?

now my problem is, to let them deliver the TV in july.... hope by then, the tv they give me is in good condition....

Hi Devila

I didn't know we could buy the TV at the IT show and have them delivered in July. Aiya, my FH said those items either cash and carry or delivered within a week or two, won't keep so long for us. If i knew i also brave the crowd and go and buy... haha

thanks for your reply, devila
right now, we have no ideal what is the "market standard" of what is consider as high end or low end.
so if talking about average standard, how much does it cost for the items listed such as hook and hob?

roughly how much u spend on all lightings for the EA house?

Cynthia,
go Gain city, audio hse, courts, h.norman to check up the stuff before you buy. It's always good to compare price first.

But first of all, do check out the brands you preferred. then it can narrow down your option.

Hi Cynthia,

I think I will only buy them when my reno is half done. I'll be getting my keys tmr, so I tink by end of next mth can order some furniture.

Cynthia
the lighting wise can vary...cos it'll depends on the type of light u choose... simple n conventional ones cost abt $20-40 bucks...depending on watts. If u go for designer inspired ones, it can cost anything from $100-300 per light...
it all depends on the type of lights u looking for so it's hard to gauge.

devila
so u decided to go wif your relative then? tiles can slowly choose..must find something u like cos end of the day, u'll face it everyday...