(2015) 2015 brides??

tulipkiss

We didn't check for dates because we think it's a hassle and we're veeerry not superstitious about these things, just picked our anni so there's one less date to remember haha.

I'm not quite sure how this works but can ask the master to suggest a few dates? Or just pick another? Maybe convince your parents you don't need to do this?

How insistent are they about the auspicious date anyway?

same here! thinking of dating anniversary date!

parents should be dificult to convince, cos i was "thinking aloud" on how to pick date for banquet then they say, "huh, just let the Master pick!" and continued saying things like that should be the norm and i shouldn't have even thought of picking a date myself... -_-

i may use dating anniversary for ROM.. banquet separately which any date chosen by the master will do..

tulipkiss

If to look for a master to suggest few dates.. Which master do you girls look for? or go temple to look for master? I hope the good dates that the master provide can be those our anniversary dates. a lot of dates to remember is so problematic.

got a few recommended ones in this forum.. you can probably check ur anniversary date with the master to see if it can "pass" hehe..

tulipkiss

friends and colleagues keep on telling me - don't choose too expensive banquet pls. just do at country club or void deck (otherwise we need to give alot of ang bao money) -_- my wedding or theirs siah???

alyooop

same here! thinking of dating anniversary date!

parents should be dificult to convince, cos i was "thinking aloud" on how to pick date for banquet then they say, "huh, just let the Master pick!" and continued saying things like that should be the norm and i shouldn't have even thought of picking a date myself... -_-

i may use dating anniversary for ROM.. banquet separately which any date chosen by the master will do..

Haha I should be relieved that our parents are super lax about superstitions and formalities. Just told us, simple can liao, need anything got any update/decisions then let them know.

friends and colleagues keep on telling me - don't choose too expensive banquet pls. just do at country club or void deck (otherwise we need to give alot of ang bao money) -_- my wedding or theirs siah???

Lol... But realistically have to consider how much you can recover too (on top of the budget and future finances if it may eat into it). At least it was something we considered la, but ultimately we know we can't count on the angbaos. You can always pick a nice place you both like that you'll be ok with not recovering significantly through the angbaos. Then heck the rest lor, not their wedding anyway!

zrhs

As long as you are able to manage the finance part, you can do a dream wedding w/o any budget. I guess your friends and colleagues is just being care for you on the financial part that why will suggest country club, they wun want to see you in similiar situation like the 100K wedding debts news bah.
But void deck is too over .. unless you are a malay ??? I had my birthday at viod deck but i wun want my wedding to be void deck. =x

I choose hilltop partly because i thinks about budget and it is also a venue which is pocket friendly to myself & my guest. moreover i need to budget for my new house coming in 2015 too.

I hope i can tio ang bao toto this friday!! this will solve everything lol.

tulipkiss

Haha I should be relieved that our parents are super lax about superstitions and formalities. Just told us, simple can liao, need anything got any update/decisions then let them know.

Lol... But realistically have to consider how much you can recover too (on top of the budget and future finances if it may eat into it). At least it was something we considered la, but ultimately we know we can't count on the angbaos. You can always pick a nice place you both like that you'll be ok with not recovering significantly through the angbaos. Then heck the rest lor, not their wedding anyway!

that's very understanding of your parents! so lucky!
i've never wanted the ang bao to "cover costs" leh. they can give however much they want.. but somehow these auntie colleagues like to complain and meddle and "dictate" everything :/

tulipkiss

As long as you are able to manage the finance part, you can do a dream wedding w/o any budget. I guess your friends and colleagues is just being care for you on the financial part that why will suggest country club, they wun want to see you in similiar situation like the 100K wedding debts news bah.
But void deck is too over .. unless you are a malay ??? I had my birthday at viod deck but i wun want my wedding to be void deck. =x

I choose hilltop partly because i thinks about budget and it is also a venue which is pocket friendly to myself & my guest. moreover i need to budget for my new house coming in 2015 too.

I hope i can tio ang bao toto this friday!! this will solve everything lol.

yah i always remind my boyfriend that we'll hold a wedding within our budget (excluding ang baos). and expressed to people that it's okay to bao any ang bao amount they're comfortable with, it's the genuine blessings that we want.

perhaps the colleagues feel that even though we don't need or never expect them to give ang baos for covering cost, they feel paiseh to give lower than per pax table cost? maybe they have peer pressure to match up to table cost bah.. but i feel like telling them "the main point of my wedding banquet is to erm, celebrate my wedding and make my parents happy. it's not about how much ang bao you want to give. stop trying to meddle in my planning" :/

my house coming in 2015 too! :D ang bao toto is this friday? haha. maybe i'll try buying one ticket too!

tulipkiss

When is the latest date we shld take our ps prior to our wedding? 3 months? 6 months ? Do ur bridal inform you the timeline n process when you update them your confirm wedding date ?

are you taking your ps locally or overseas? i think 6 months would be safer. i'm planning to take mine 9-12 months before haha..

alyooop

that's very understanding of your parents! so lucky!
i've never wanted the ang bao to "cover costs" leh. they can give however much they want.. but somehow these auntie colleagues like to complain and meddle and "dictate" everything :/

Yeah well, that's how aunties are, what to do :/ as long as you and your bf happy can liao, try not to worry too much about what others think. I worried about perceptions and people's possible comments before but just have to keep reminding ourselves that this is for us, if not it's stress on top of stress and it'll ruin the experience of the wedding.

my house coming in 2015 too! :D ang bao toto is this friday? haha. maybe i'll try buying one ticket too!

BTO right? Where is it? Mine's in early 2016 but hopefully can be ready earlier. The progress now seems slow compared to other projects in same/more recent periods...

zrhs

BTO right? Where is it? Mine's in early 2016 but hopefully can be ready earlier. The progress now seems slow compared to other projects in same/more recent periods...

Mine is at Dawson - Sky Terence

are you taking your ps locally or overseas? i think 6 months would be safer. i'm planning to take mine 9-12 months before haha..
Taking local, yet to inform my bridal my confirmed wedding date. Just talk to HTB last night, need to list out all the timeline / budget / task ... so many things to do and plan.

Are you guys having any color theme on ur AD ?

tulipkiss

Yeah well, that's how aunties are, what to do :/ as long as you and your bf happy can liao, try not to worry too much about what others think. I worried about perceptions and people's possible comments before but just have to keep reminding ourselves that this is for us, if not it's stress on top of stress and it'll ruin the experience of the wedding.

true!! i just told them, still long before my banquet, don't worry. lol.. maybe i won't even be working at this place anymore by then :X

EC. in the north area :) i think they slowed down due to CNY.. and some news about lack of workers..

tulipkiss

Taking local, yet to inform my bridal my confirmed wedding date. Just talk to HTB last night, need to list out all the timeline / budget / task ... so many things to do and plan.

Are you guys having any color theme on ur AD ?

local more convenient to plan, since season is mostly the same all year round! :)
and might take shorter time cos no need shipping etc..

i haven't thought about colour theme or even any themes yet..

Lemons

Hello ladies!!

I'm a 2015 BTB as well!! My HTB and I are basically considering only 3 hotels for our wedding reception, Traders, M and Concorde.

Can anyone share with me their experience or feedback on these 3 hotels?

zrhs

Hello ladies!!

I'm a 2015 BTB as well!! My HTB and I are basically considering only 3 hotels for our wedding reception, Traders, M and Concorde.

Can anyone share with me their experience or feedback on these 3 hotels?

Congrats & welcome :D

Traders : two ballroom, biggest one can go up to 30tables however two big pillar, march in S shape due to the pillar. very cramp reception as it is just beside lift lobby.
smaller ballroom up to 20tables is better, straight march in, big reception private area. Whole experience with the sale manager is good , she throw in things before I ask, basically I ask very min. since she already throw in to me. not very near mrt.

M hotel: there are two different level of ballrooms, the bigger and better ball room is at higher floor with private cocktail reception area. Plus point is the bridal suite comes with jacuzzi.

Concorde: big ballroom with private cocktail area as I attended wedding there before. Near MRT. however need to search for the ballroom as it is not so noticable. 1 thing i don't like is , it is link with the old shopping centre with many "sissy" pubs / massage.

Lemons

Congrats & welcome :D

Traders : two ballroom, biggest one can go up to 30tables however two big pillar, march in S shape due to the pillar. very cramp reception as it is just beside lift lobby.
smaller ballroom up to 20tables is better, straight march in, big reception private area. Whole experience with the sale manager is good , she throw in things before I ask, basically I ask very min. since she already throw in to me. not very near mrt.

M hotel: there are two different level of ballrooms, the bigger and better ball room is at higher floor with private cocktail reception area. Plus point is the bridal suite comes with jacuzzi.

Concorde: big ballroom with private cocktail area as I attended wedding there before. Near MRT. however need to search for the ballroom as it is not so noticable. 1 thing i don't like is , it is link with the old shopping centre with many "sissy" pubs / massage.

Thanks for the feedback!

Not to be snobbish or anything but Traders gives off a modern and elegant feeling so we went to see it. However the bigger ballroom (which we are considering as we have 22 tables) does have the pillars and reception area is small, though the planner says we can have use of a small room beside it for our guests.

The ballroom at Concorde has no pillars and a beautiful high ceiling, and it's own reception area, so that are big plus points! But I do agree with you about the shops below. Something to note is that the hotel is having an escalator installed that will take guests from street level directly up to the hotel.

Going to view M hotel soon, so still have 1 more choice.

What do you all think, no pillars and more spacious looking ballroom is better right?...

purlip33

M hotel was initially my choice, cos i simply love the jaccuzi n the private reception area hehe.. but my htb doesnt like d ballroom(bigger) cos it wun b nice if u have anythg more than 25 tables. 2-3 table hidden at d side of the wall. Somethg more to add if food is a concern u may wan reconsider M, cos their food std is not as gd.

Will b attendg a weddg at traders on 1/3/14 so cant comment now.

Never been to concarde but hrd frm frens d food is quite nice. my cousin book concorde for her weddg in oct14. she told me d ballroom is oso newly renovated..

Just for sharing ☺️

zrhs

Thanks for the feedback!

Not to be snobbish or anything but Traders gives off a modern and elegant feeling so we went to see it. However the bigger ballroom (which we are considering as we have 22 tables) does have the pillars and reception area is small, though the planner says we can have use of a small room beside it for our guests.

The ballroom at Concorde has no pillars and a beautiful high ceiling, and it's own reception area, so that are big plus points! But I do agree with you about the shops below. Something to note is that the hotel is having an escalator installed that will take guests from street level directly up to the hotel.

Going to view M hotel soon, so still have 1 more choice.

What do you all think, no pillars and more spacious looking ballroom is better right?...

Don't worries, traders was one of my choice which I almost signed with them. But the big pillar n cramp foyer really bothers me also I hv 30tables no room to add more table if sudden I increase. For urs 22 tables, don't worry u can arrange the tables the way that no block from pillar n still spacious :)

zrhs

M hotel was initially my choice, cos i simply love the jaccuzi n the private reception area hehe.. but my htb doesnt like d ballroom(bigger) cos it wun b nice if u have anythg more than 25 tables. 2-3 table hidden at d side of the wall. Somethg more to add if food is a concern u may wan reconsider M, cos their food std is not as gd.

Will b attendg a weddg at traders on 1/3/14 so cant comment now.

Never been to concarde but hrd frm frens d food is quite nice. my cousin book concorde for her weddg in oct14. she told me d ballroom is oso newly renovated..

Just for sharing ☺️

I prefer M hotel den trader but trader price is more attractive .. Rmb to request free flow wine during wedding show!

winnie_rong

Hi all, I am a 2015 btb. I am looking to have my banquet in Nov 2015. However, my parents prefer to have the day of dinner counted. I understand the "tong shu" is not out yet and I cannot do the counting of day now. Anyone has this issue or has any suggestion? Thank

zrhs

Hi all, I am a 2015 btb. I am looking to have my banquet in Nov 2015. However, my parents prefer to have the day of dinner counted. I understand the "tong shu" is not out yet and I cannot do the counting of day now. Anyone has this issue or has any suggestion? Thank

We nv see Tong Shu but went to Master Long for the calculated dates last year and got 3 years of dates up to 2015.

Lemons

Don't worries, traders was one of my choice which I almost signed with them. But the big pillar n cramp foyer really bothers me also I hv 30tables no room to add more table if sudden I increase. For urs 22 tables, don't worry u can arrange the tables the way that no block from pillar n still spacious :)

Went to see M hotel yesterday and this is looking to be a good choice too.. So now considering between Concorde and M, and the ballroom at Concorde is looking very appealing.... Anymore feedback is welcome!!

zrhs, have you picked your hotel yet?

zrhs

Found a list of auspicious dates for wedding in year 2015. Not sure how accurate but interesting to know.
my date is auspicious according to this list. kekeke good good!

Attachments

• Auspicious%20dates%20wedding%20marriage%202015.jpg
    Auspicious%20dates%20wedding%20marriage%202015.jpg
    358.5 KB · Views: 83

tulipkiss

Found a list of auspicious dates for wedding in year 2015. Not sure how accurate but interesting to know.

haha interesting! gives ppl a "double confirmation" for those who have chosen their dates and see them in this list :)

pejn17

Hi, I am looking at ParkRoyal on Pickering and Carlton Hotel. Both are pilliarless and high ceiling. =D

Any reviews about this two hotels?

zrhs

Hi, I am looking at ParkRoyal on Pickering and Carlton Hotel. Both are pilliarless and high ceiling. =D

Any reviews about this two hotels?

I perfer Park Royal !!! Initally i wanted Park Royal @ Beach road.
Nevertheless I think ParkRoyal on Pickering has private reception area whereas Carlton Hotel need to share?
Park Royal is more expensive than Carlton if irrc.

pejn17

I perfer Park Royal !!! Initally i wanted Park Royal @ Beach road.
Nevertheless I think ParkRoyal on Pickering has private reception area whereas Carlton Hotel need to share?
Park Royal is more expensive than Carlton if irrc.
Agree, PR only has got one ballroom, which is William & Pickering combined. So ya, it's a pte reception area.
Carlton reception area is a longgggggg walkway and Empress4-5 side reception is huge.. All the way to the toilets, and carpark service lifts.

I'm looking at lunch and PR dont offer wine for per table where Carlton does and yes, it's more ex! ):

elly_z

Agree, PR only has got one ballroom, which is William & Pickering combined. So ya, it's a pte reception area.
Carlton reception area is a longgggggg walkway and Empress4-5 side reception is huge.. All the way to the toilets, and carpark service lifts.

I'm looking at lunch and PR dont offer wine for per table where Carlton does and yes, it's more ex! ):

I'm looking at PR too! Same like you, considering others as they dont provide wine. :(

Anyone signed with Sheraton Towers?

zrhs

I think you hv to and discuss with your htb le... But if budget allows I will choose park royal over carlton. Maybe u can request for waiver of corkage. Since no wine per table & no free flow den what they offer ? Or u want to check with park royal @ beach road? They can give extra if nego power is strong or when they hv wedding show.

Flayrinne

Hello! im also a BTB in Q2 2015 but dates are not confirmed yet. Seeing so many of you already working on the wedding is making me anxious! Just a question, I have not heard of anybody choosing Hilton hotel yet. We quite like their menu so does anybody know if the food is good?

pejn17

PR offers waiver of corkage. They do have free flow of beer but I don't think guests nowadays fancy beer that much.

Does PR @ Beach Road has high ceiling and is pilliarless?

Lemons

I was also looking at this list too, however I saw that some of the dates in this list doesn't match auspicious dates at other websites. So I checked this online Chinese calendar and found that some dates like Jan 10 2015 is actually inauspicious!

So I don't know how accurate is this list, just to share...

zrhs

I was also looking at this list too, however I saw that some of the dates in this list doesn't match auspicious dates at other websites. So I checked this online Chinese calendar and found that some dates like Jan 10 2015 is actually inauspicious!

So I don't know how accurate is this list, just to share...

I just will trust from 1 source which is the details from my master whom i enquiries with. others is just for fun =D dont take it too serious, like what my friends always say "doesn't means calculated dates marriage will not divoirce too =x"

pejn17

I didn't calculate our date with any master. Just looking at the chinese calendar online and see which day is general good for wedding and apparently it is in the list. =D