(2012) 2012 Brides to be

Divan is the supporting structure which holds up the actual bed. Often the bed is sold without the supporting struture. Hence with Divan you have the entire bed set sold to you without extra cost.
Can I join u girls for shoe shopping? Hubby would be posted overseas for work thesE few months so nobody pei me go shop for shoes.

Finally went for my fitting yesterday. Tiring but enjoyable 2 & half hr thinggy. Haha. Date set on 29th June for PS. My coordinator also advised me to get safety pants. Anyone knows where to get??

YX: We got our King Sealy 'Mayfair' mattress without bedframe from the Expo fair in dec last yr @ $2521.

I was given these items free: 1 mattress protector, 2 fibre pillow, 2 normal pillow, 2 neck pillows for cars..

For your price comparison.. =)

whitetea - you can check out her web. http://www.flowercouture.com/Decor.html
See if anything interests you.

Btw, u're not in the 2012 BTB FB? I cannot find you...

And dun need to thank me. I happen to be available on that day. So still can meet up with chin.

Chinzilla+magdal+evelyn - hope to have a chance to meet you girls again! >.<

xrevlis - just curious, who is ur JOP?

YX - i'm looking around for beds too~
U have any brand in mind?

and u're right about the sale part. When i flip through newspapers for the past 2 mths, i see sale every 2wkends.

and i kind of have decided where to get my wedding band too but i think i would like to check out fairy's inc and ling jewellery. ha..

cluelessbtb - how did you choose ur bed? I think there r many different kinds right..

magdal - when's the Jul (shoe) session going to be?

Need a pair of shoes badly... Any suggestions where to get them??

Btw, where u gals shop for wedding bands? Me and hub thinking to buy during this gss... Haha

magdal : oh k, ur let me noe which sat again then i see

Chinzilla : jop = justice of peace? mine is joanna portilla
hee sg flyer recommend her cos she usually is the JP that do soleminzation at flyer, so got experience and she noe where to wed us then the flyer reach the top.

Latest bed update from yx: htb and I just chose our bed that we'll spend the rest of our lives with! Hahaha... It's simmons obsession. It's quite expensive ($4.6k).. Memory foam, king size. But bopian cos I have slipped disc.. Bought it at robinsons sale! Comes with 4 pillows and 1 mattress protector. But htb and I changed it to 2 pillows and 2 mattress protectors cos we feel that we don't need 4x same pillows. Plus one mattress protector is $219, one pillow is $99. So more worth it also..

Charlotte: thanks!

Chocolatebasket: heh I also buy my wedding band alr but wanna check out fairy's inc and ling.. Hee... Oh! Anyway you don't have to worry about future discounts better.. Cos robinsons (serta also) have this policy that if you book the bed and put down deposit, if next time got better discount, you'll get the better discount
then the robinsons ppl also agar agar know which models will be on sale soon.. Like for my model, the better discount is actually next week.. So I booked my bed, then next week then pay, to record the cheaper price
I recommend sheila from simmons (centrepoint robinsons). Very helpful saleslady.. I actually asked my htb out loud where's sealy, and she actually pointed me there even though she's from simmons. Then end up I buy from her

Mistyhaze: I've zero idea what's safety pants. Haha.. Safety harness I know la :P oh and wedding band is from love and co. Quite a few btbs here too! Do check out fairy's inc and ling jewellery from delfi too. As for shoes, can check out loe and behold, leapin' lizards (custom made). That's all I know
maybe normal aldo or ninewest also?

Anyway htb and I really bought a lot of stuff today..
- 2 bedsets which each includes 1 bedlinen, 1 quilt cover, 2 pillow cases and 2 bolster cases. $199 + $167
- 2 bolsters $123
- 1 quilt $133

Total damage is $570 after additional discounts... Quite a good deal we feel!

Robinsons sale is gooooood. :D

Jo: chocolatebasket has posted the link

Chocolatebasket: erm, I sent the request already le.. Maybe still pending?? who should I ask??
How was sat's gathering? Any pics?

I've dropped Jane an email but seems like i have to think through my theme 1st.. Gave her a few colors though..

Chinzilla: updates: my mon, wed and fri free.. Hehe

Mistyhaze: my wedding bands were bought from a jeweler, recommended by friends, and I replicated soo kee's designs

Magdal: the meetup sounds real fun! My health bu zhen qi, hence could not meet you gals.. Pls do arrange another meetup soon.. 
Speaking bout bridezilla, my bf actually asked if I can stop talking bout the wedding or plannings for a day!!! 

YX: congrats on finding ur bed! Went to robinsons again just now too! Yeah I saw my invoice my model is dreamscape springville. Went back to change my divan to bedframe. Only top up 111 for bed frame. Yeah i only put deposit too and the sales personnel also say if there is other better discounts they can lower price for us.

Chocolatebasket: actually I didn't do any research for bed and have no intention of buying bed now since house will only be ready next year. But went to robinsons yesterday and was just walking ard and the Simmons sales personnel just approach me. I told her I have a very bad back which hurts often and yet I dun like hard mattress. She intro me this mattress and I got blown away.

hi gals, went to check out wedding bands over the weekend..

our first stop was at ling jewellery..

spend the most time there...quite a few of the rings were pretty unique looking no doubt..andrew gave us very good service and was pretty accommodating since it was our first time looking for wedding bands and we had no idea what to look out for at all..but quite sadly, most of the rings dun look so nice on my fat fingers la..too bad la..we did shortlist a few there though..just tat no heart palpitations or this is it feeling..

tried heading to eclarity and fairy's inc after tat but they were all closed..*sobs*..cos we spend too much time at ling jewellery..will try to go there again..

something miraculous happened though..

its abit funny la..my bf wanted to go to the gents..so we went together..separate toilets of course..then i came out and he was standing at one of the nearby jewellery shop waiting for me..looking at the shop's display sets..then he was pointing this ring out to me la..and i was like..eh it looks very much like this ring i really had my eye on in the latest issue of Style magazine..with pink sapphires and diamonds eternity style..in fact i was trying to find tat page in Style Weddings tat very morning..so i can go down to tat shop to check..then i flipped through every page but yet cannot find..very sad lor..

so we went in to the shop to ask to try on tat ring..once inside..my bf saw Style Weddings lying on the table and commented..so the gemologist was saying ya, the ring i ask to try on was featured inside..

and guess wat? it was tat very ring i set my heart upon! the gemologist attending to us actually flipped to the actual page to show us! so qiao rite! i keep telling my bf repeatedly..wah u so zai..and somemore it really looks very nice and unique..really love it..

but still trying to keep an open mind and go to more shops to try out..

so today we went goldheart, citigems, poh heng, lee hwa, sk, and tianpo to look look..every shop we also shortlisted one or two wedding bands la..except for citigems..

but personally i tink goldheart celestial collection is quite sweet..felicite too..and tianpo's hearts on fire half eternity..my bf say its very attractive and sparkles like hell..but then..also partly cos i seldom wear diamonds..haha..

cos my proposal ring also mix of small diamonds with blue sapphire..

bad news is..all the rings i like are all half eternity or full eternity..simple wedding bands dun suit my fat fingers unfortunately..busted budget..so still pondering shd i just buy a pair of cheap ones..

Hey btbs... I have been reading n following on your posts but been too lazy to post my comments here. However, it's so irresistible!! I decided to pen here too!

Am a next year March BTB n been busy doing the prep n looking for a reasonably priced flat.. Haa... Don't want to burst all my hard earned money that easily, see..

You gals been fantastic n gals r gals, we will love to see we get our best offers from vendors. While some guys may not understand why.

Tell u,this is one of the must do list - read the posts every time of the day!

crystaline> my fren told me fairy inc is ex leh...
she ask me to try eClarity instead if i wanna customise..
so maybe u can give eClarity a try too..
no harm go look see... =)

evelyn> yup! sth like tat... hahaha...
really worth it lor... cheap deals.. hehe...

seems like u gals had great deals from robinsons sale...
well.. i dun need a bed yet (AD Q4 2012)
i will keep tat in mind when i needa buy bed.. hehe...

anyway gals... i wanna recommend a MUA, Dana Chang..
she's good!
my sis sign with JB BS...
so on AD no MUA one.. gotta engage separately..
and she engaged Dana..
her MU is v nice n natural..
hairstyle is pretty too!
so gals looking for MUA can look for Dana =)

btw, yst i dig out those stuff i gotten from all the wedding shows i went..
i dig out 2 Occasion vouchers..
10% discount... but valid till this mth end only.. 30 June..
anyone thinking of buying dresses from there?

YX, yes, the extension is acrylic nails and the bow and flowers are 3D nail arts. there is also soft gel and hard gel nails which i heard that it last longer (have yet to try).

zen : welcome to 2012 bride forum hee

yup agreed with u, guys never understand. we wan to get our monies worth and best offer from the vendor but they just dun get it hee
and we will worry abt this worry abt that bridezilla in action keke.. but they seem so not worry and feel things will fall into pieces nicely.

princesslyn : thks for the nails website

julia : how much is diana charges?

YX: congrats for choosing your bed le
another item down for your hse

me dun even have a hse yet sighz.. another headache thing to settle

magdal : how to file gel nail? from the top to make it shorter?

houseoflove: once in a life time and you be wearing the ring forever mah and if your have that budget for it, go for it so that you won't regret. and is really very subjective as some ppl won't spend more than x amount on rings and dun mind spending that x amt.
for myself i will cap at 2k odd only for a pair.
so if u really like that ring and your htb is agreeable, maybe other areas for wedding can cut costs.

whew the thread is moving super fast, but its filled with goodies and valuable information, which the men don't get it =D

keep it up girls~

julia: thanks, will go eclarity to see. ling jewellery might be coming up with some promotions soon. so if got, its a good opportunity to buy! the lady says will sms me, then i let u girls know too! cheers~

wooo~ missed out so much over the weekend~

as for nails, i think for PS not required to make too fancy ones, cos they wont really take pics of ur hands/nails.i think a simple french or graduating colour one with some glitter would be good enough.

as for beds, me n the husb have decided to get a mid end one. i personally like 4 star brand cos i have been using it for 10 yrs and its still gg good. BUT, from what i heard from the SA, most beds shld change after 7-10 yrs!! cos of the dead skin cells and dust trapped inside the bed, so when u slp, u will inhale back.
jts, many of my friends are quite against kingkoil,and i heard it doesnt last v long. my friend bought a KK bed and it only lasted her 3 yrs before it spoilt. so KK is def out for me.
another mid end brand is dunlopillo, i think its not bad too. as for Simmons and sealy, its the high end one, and as what the SA told me, it is probably better for those bigger size or heavier ppl. (no offence to anyone ok?) cos the support is better.
like me n husb is relatively smaller size, so dont hv to invest in a too exp bed.

xrevlis> not v sure abt the exact charge..
but it's abt $800 with 2nd march in stay..
my sis opt for MUA to stay for 2nd march-in MU..

our budget for wedding band is 2K...
only gg to buy in july...
cos wanna make use of the manhattan card rebate..
this Q already paid for hotel deposit..
so waiting for next Q which starts in July den we buy the bands.. haha!!

<3 manhattan card! LOL!

julia : ok thks , u got the contact? maybe i email her and ask abt 2nd and 3rd march in charges

oh i also wan to use manhantten card but just pay 5k deposit in may for my hotel banquet, so can't wait till aug to buy our wedding bands cos rom in sept.

houseoflove: keep an open mind about wedding bands and look for the more options. Budget wise, you can work it out with your HTB so no worries about that.

Just wondering: How long in advance must we book the justice of peace and what is the ang bao amount we must give to him/her?

Yeah Manhanttan card is the way to go! I suppose that's the best savings you can get (5%) per quarter up to a max of $200 (that is max of $4k spending per quarter, wedding costs is many times that haha)

klaus : actualli best to bk asap once u noe your rom date
especially if is popular date, better bk earlier and if your JP is very popular one, so the earliest to bk better

as for ang bao, rom website say at least $28 but most prob i will give $88 or $100
cos mine is a sun evening.
some give $68 so realli depend on your budget

Cluelessbtb: oh ya the $111 top up.. Is it normal bedframe or got storage space?

Houseoflove: wow! So qiao! I think it's alright to buy a wedding band that you really like, but don't exceed your budget by too much! Cos you'll be wearing your wedding band everyday forever... The engagement ring my htb got for me came with 2 half eternity bands.. At first I told him I no need wedding band cos the half eternity ring can alr.. But in the end I super duper like the wedding band that he chose that I wanted to get a matching one for myself too! In the end busted out budget by about 1k.. Yups!

Zen: welcome!!!
I was also a silent reader before deciding to join in the fun!

Julia: haha ya mine is jan 2012 that's why buying bed now! Htb wants to settle most stuff early so dec period won't so rushed and kancheong...

Princesslyn/julia: oh! Ya I heard gelish (soft gel) better than hard gel too! Haha.. Asked my experienced friends about nail polish over the weekend heehee. Hmm I'm thinking of french manicure cos it looks so elegant and classic. But my nails are rounded top one.. Then I heard french suits sqaure nail tops better right? How ah... I don't wanna do nail extensions...

Xrevlis: thanks!!!
hee.. Actually I also don't have house yet.. Moving in with htb.. Haven't even start on room reno yet! Lol...

Shanna: yes I agree that fourstar is goooooooooood!!!!!! I've been using it since I was young and it's still working well! Haha.. Super used to it and I think it's v comfy too! But htb thinks it's v lowtech and when you lie on it he says can feel the spring -_- haha! But really, bed is up to individual preference.. Must really go and try then you'll know! I heard from my friends some quite kua zhang, they say must lie for 20 min to test! Hahaha! Me and htb lie for about 5-10 min each bed.. But got some beds once you lie down straightaway know cannot make it then don't waste time :P

Julia/xrevlis: yes!!!! I'm gonna pay my additional hotel deposit by this july too! :D hee...

YX: yup, actually 4 star have diff range, the latex ones are ok, cant feel the "springs".one thing i like abt it is cos of it's water repellent.

im getting my hse keys on the 19th this mth, so good time to shop now! :D but bed wise might need to ask them to hold on til my wedding next yr for anchuang. keke, so getting a cheap mattress to slp on first. :D

wow.. i just updated the list of MUA yesterday.. and so happen u 'visit' it liao..

i wan to get liren neo.. but think maybe get dana and plus 2 mothers makeup.. it cost about the same as liren... but most of my surrounding friends get Liren.. and highly recommend..

so not sure to go with it or stick to budget..

Wow... seems like most of you get beddings/etc liao... how long in advance do u get the bed? we havent got our house yet... so will be moving in also first... didnt wanna get it now cos i thought it will be too early...

YX: ya think i will having french manicure too.. looks elegant and classic.. think for nail extension if more for those with short nail.. and maybe it will not look nice if too many details in it(shorter nail).. or for ppl like me who nite bite.. need extension.. tink should be arylic or hard gel bah..

gals, can we pruchase the matteress during sale and store it in their warehouse and when the house ready then collect from them? do them allow? or allow with a fee?

mistyhaze: if u manage to get a good deal, then can buy now, ask them to keep for u. they can store at their warehouse first, then u just hv to let them know 1-2 weeks in advance when u wanna collect the bed.

Mistyhaze/evelyn: yup most places allow you to buy in advance (put a deposit) then deliver later! Maybe 12 months? I'm not too sure but I think it's about there for robinsons or more.. They're quite flexible with it one.. Somemore some shops have those guarantees that if they have a better promo for the same piece in future then you'll get that better discount too!

Anyone knows what's the market rate of printing invitation cards in singapore? Heard in jb got one quite cheap and good?

YX: u can grow ur nails longer then do square top manicure, they will trim to square top for u. they ask if i wan round of square when i did mine

evelyn : yup hee happen to visit it

i also think dana one quite cheap somemore with 2nd make up touch up. usually they will charge additional 150-300 for 2nd make up.

YX : T &amp; T in citysquare. Service quite gd and price is reasonable. RM432 (About S$185) for 200 wedding inserts and 180 church invitation postcards. read this from forum previously. u can consider

YX: nope dun have local one... sorri
cos i saw her card very nice, so i decided to go JB to print similar one, her is printing of the wedding photo on the insert and that the costs for it. so i think if just print wordings will be even cheaper. this the rate my fren printed => RM110 for abt 140 pcs of inserts (normal printing), same place T&amp;T.

how much is dana chang charging for day n night + 2nd march in?

evelyn: usually abt 1 yr i think. but can nego with them, most of them r quite flexible.

Hiya... continue about the mattress.. high end mattress means cannot buy cheap bedsheet anymore. I got a sealy mattress the cheapest bedsheet i can find to fit my fat mattress is Kingcoil. sometime during promo one set is abt $99. consist of 1 bedsheet 2 pillowcase, 1 bolster n 1 quiltcover. even friven the high end one is still too small when i sit on it the side of the bedsheet comes out.

hucklebeary: wah! really? i never really check the thickness leh sigh :/ hope it can fit so won't waste money! hai.. anyway one set for $99 is cheap leh!! what's the thread count?

xrevlis: thanks for the info for the prints! paiseh ah just to clarify,
- RM432 (About S$185) for 200 wedding inserts and 180 church invitation postcards is for wedding photo printed on insert and
- the cheaper RM110 for abt 140 pcs of inserts is for normal text printing?

mistyhaze: yups!!! actually i think most shops offer that alternative! cos they know ppl don't last min buy beds one.. they will buy during sale..