(2012) 2012 Brides to be

nefariouskat

fairical & ms fel: we engage that PG in the end cuz we like his work and his services are within our budget. If the atmosphere really gets too "cold", will get our brothers n jie meis to help out ba

tanyix

magdal: i sent a fb request to join!

ms fel: you can resize your ring smaller or bigger. but goldheart told me can only resize up to 2 size difference
but should be more than enough la!

tanyix

BTW, I'm a Jan 2012 BTB

Just a question: how many bridesmaids are you all thinking of having? I've got so many close girlfriends from different circles of my life - sec sch, jc, uni, church etc… easily 10+. it's so difficult to decide! :/

fairical

YX, yaay. Looks like ur bros and jiemeis are very fun kind. So it shdnt pose a problem abt a shy PG. What's most impt is capture the right moments! :D

Me too. I face the same situation as you. But i think u can have as many as u want, just match it with the no. of brothers?

Anyone knows whether guy friends can be part of jiemei team?

nefariouskat

fairical: when i was looking for my PG, i came across the photos of a few PG, got guys as part of the jiemei team de.

so happy.. settled almost everything le. left looking for someone to help us do the montage. think we'll approach coffee & tea dreamworks ba cuz we want some animation, not purely photos only.

tanyix

Haha yeah maybe.. But I think mine might have twice as much! Hahaha.

Anyway, yups guys can be part of the jiemei team
my bf took pictures for a friend and he said got one guy in the jiemei entourage (but of cos a bit niang one la!) Haha

nefariouskat

magdal: i've seen the full animation montage coffee & tea did for my fren. it was very creative and funny but it's $1.6K! i can only afford their photo+animation montage ba. i have their pricelist if u need it

shannat

hi girls~ my sis had her lunch wedding at hilton ytd afternoon.
so here are my comments:
bridal suite: NICE! spacious and the bed is VERY COMFY. we spent one night in their exec room on sat, so can say their bed is SHIOKKKK ah~ =X and the toiletries they use is from crab n evelyn~

Ballroom Deco: my sis took their new theme which is erm, green apples or something. quite nice i think, not too "overly done".

Service: quite good. the banquet manager/coordinator was quite efficient and will keep going thru with us on the flow of the events. The service staffs are quite efficient in serving the drinks and attending to needs.

Food: very yummy! and portion is sufficient too! for me, i feel that the portion quite big. it was a 8 course dish, and me n my younger sis was alr abit full arnd the 5th dish. i wasnt too keen on the cold dish, but the sharks fin is good, (though some commented slightly salty) u can really eat the big pcs of sharksfin lo! n it is not the watery type. 3rd dish was herbal chicken, n it was not overly "herbal n bitter", chicken was v tender.4th dish was scallops and asparagus, it was slightly spicy though, but still taste nice, if u dont mind the spiciness. 5th dish i think it was abalone, mushroom n spinach, not bad too. 6th dish was braised eefu noodles, i only took 2 mouths (cos very full alr) and it was not bad, the dessert was yam paste with ginko nuts and i hv to say, its really delicious! i finished it though i was very very full! cant rmb if the 8th "dish" is the jasmine green tea, or if i missed out one dish (cos was running here n there) hehe~

well, so overall, i can say that hilton hotel is a great choice of wedding banquet~

shannat

one thing i hv to comment was, my sis was doing a lunch wedding only and i was alr so tired after the "banquet", cant imagine how tired i will be during my own wedding day! >.<"

fel_han

Helen: ooo.. no wonder la.. since he is paying i guess u just have to give in bah

shanna: thanks for the feedback. I actually attended my fren's wedding and was part of her jiemei entourage back in 2008. I quite like it.. just that hor.. i scared my parents pantang about the groom who fell off the building accident.. how how....
so difficult to decide on banquet venues.. i m looking for a table not more than 1100NEtt..
haizzzzzzz

shannat

fel: actually i feel nth to pantang abt la, cos erm, i think every hotel also might hv their "accident" b4, some perhaps unknown to us? i think, whats most impt is both u n ur hubs like the place.

binary

ladies, just sharing..
finally i found my GoldHeart invitation card on Jewel Sale.. up to 70% sale (member addtional 10%) this week, 23-24 march Member private preview and open to public on 25 mar. Not sure only at its HQ, GoldHeart International Building 360 Orchard Road #01-18
maybe you can check it out.. not sure if it does consist of wedding band or not..

binary

XY &amp; Helen: welcome!!

Shanna: thanks for sharing on Hilton review.. are you having lunch or dinner for your AD? just imagine ur sis is having lunch.. if dinner, more xiong..

ms_fel: i agreed with what Shanna mentioned.. every hotel has story for some 'incidents' in the past, be its wedding related or not.. it jsut happen that this case is the most recent cases and this is why parents have deep impression against it..

since this is your event,you are paying for dinner, and its within your budget, so just go with your heart..

Chinzilla: hope that you are doing well in TW, and the earthquake does not affect your PS schedule in TW..

shannat

binary: welcome~
im hving dinner, but havent decide on the flow of event. either:
morning ceremony, then followed by solemnization (arnd 6pm) then banquet.
or

morning ceremony at hotel (crash gate at hotel) followed by solemnization at hotel (tea ceremony after ROM) then banquet at night.

i was thinking, the 2nd option is better, so i can hv more rest in btw, instead of running to diff places. hehe~

fel_han

shanna &amp; binary: Ya..i agree.. me n my htb definately don’t mind Hilton and it was the very 1st hotel that came to my mind when I was searching for banquet location. That’s y Hilton is one of my top choices .. I just kind of like the place.. =))

Hmm..I think now i just wait for my bf’s duty roster for next month so that we can faster book appt with our geomancer to calculate our dates.
Its so difficult to book a date with the geomancer since my bf working on shift and most wkends he is away at work.. =((

Ahh.btw, say for example and fren and I are getting married within the same yr... den he/she cant attend my wedding within the 3months period is it?? What is the tradition?

fel_han

oh ya.. shanna.. for the 2nd option..
does that mean u would have to book an overnight stay at the hotel prior to your AD so that ur hubby can come nxt morning to the hotel for the gatecrash?
Hmmm.. u would also have to make a list of what things u need to bring to the hotel for the tea ceremony and etc

tanyix

Shanna: I prefer the 2nd option too! Mine is even more rushed lor... Haha. Haven't decided on the firmed up timing of events, but it's gonna be church wedding (ROM), tea ceremony and lunch banquet at hotel.. Hahaha. Don't even know if there's time for gatecrashing! But my bf and I are fine without :p

Btw, is it okay to just buy a single wedding band for a guy? Do they always come in a pair? Cos the engagement ring from my bf actually comes with a matching eternity ring. And I thought of using that as a wedding band. I wanna wear my engagement ring everyday cos it's so expensive!!

woah.. i've missed out on quite abit here.. haha

anyway, for those intending to gatecrash in hotel or had took part in the gatecrashing.. is it advisable?
i'm thinking either NSRCC or hotel but afriad for hotel, it'll get too noisy, etc &amp; later other guests will complain, dampen the mood..
must we keep the whole event a hush hush thing? cos most probably me &amp; HTB will have total of 20xiong di jie mei..

@ms_fel: just checking.. thr's someone by the name of felicia chua added me in FB, dont know are you the one? haha =s

fairical

Ms Fel, if you are worried abt ur parents, go test test them. Tell them the hilton service is good, food is good, price is reasonable. you may consider. and see whether they say anything abt the accident. If they are particular, sit down and talk to them abt ur take, see whether they are ok with it. Even tho it's best to go with your heart, but if your parents are unhappy abt certain things, may have a lot of quarrels down the road during preparation... just my 2 cents worth, cuz i know parents nagging can be so horrible especially when we are stressed up over work and wedding preparation.

and i think some ppl think shd be 1 mth apart, some says 3 mth. it depends on whether they believe or not too.

fairical

Btw, anyone getting married to a foreigner? My fiance an australian and i'm trying to read up abt the visa and stuff.. And realise i may have to hold the solemnization mths before the customary.. Help Help. anyone has experience?

shannat

fel: hmmmm, if ur bf cant make it, u can go get the dates yourself then later discuss with ur hubs to choose which date? thats what i did cos my hubs is overseas most of the time.

as for the 2nd option, yes, means staying over the night b4 at the hotel. for tea ceremony, actually hilton provides the teapots n tea cups. hehe, but i think tea ceremony just need to bring the tea pots ba, nth else needed le ma~

YX: my sis had her gate crash at 9.30am, followed by solemnization at 11.30am then, wedding lunch at 1.30pm. usually gate crash takes abt 1/2hr, but she had abit more time so hers took abt 45mins or so. hehe. solemnization n tea ceremony takes abt 30-45 mins? depending on the number of relatives u have? as for wedding band, yes i think it is ok to just get one for ur hubs, cos some ppl buy their wedding bands seperately too.

michelle: i think it shld be fine, its ur big day, so the hotel will try to accomodate to you ba. i think the guests, knowing its a wedding event, they wont complain too. anw u will be the one paying the hotel the "most" money on tt day leh~ so, i guess even they rcv any complains, they also wont say anything. =X
anw, my sis had her gate crash n it was behind closed doors though, haha quite fun. my jie fu even went to the pool side area and did a "performance" for the guests there. LOL!!

shannat

oh ya fel, for the wedding thingy, is 3 mths. but actually up to individual, whether u pantang anot. for me, im not pantang la, cos i feel tt whether a marriage lasts anot, doesnt have anything to do with this lor. but if ur fren minds, then dont invite or attend her wedding ba.

magdal

my future sis in law is having her lunch wedding in May. she I pack a angbao or buy a gift?

shanna: 2 option is better. save the traveling time.

shannat

mag: i gv my sis AP.
yah i also feel that option 2 is better, then i can also include my solemnization process into the express highlights.

julia85

magdal> since u said she's ur future SIL, i think angbao would be better?

as for the 3mths b4/after thingy...
up to u if u pantang or not..
i am, so i wun attend...
cos wat i heard is the party who attend will 'kena', not the host.. =)
hths~

julia85

this is wat i heard from my fren la...
she has this fren A who is best fren with fren B..
being best frens, fren A wanna attend fren B's wedding...
den some time later, A got divorced...

so is it actually due to the pantang superstition or there's really problem in her marriage..
nobody knows...

bem

shanna: u r having wedding dinner? so y mus hav gatecrash at the hotel?? haha i prefer option 1... cos i think its better to be married off frm ur own house... if at the hotel, den like e whole marriage process is at the hotel.. hmm i dun really like it ba....

YX: u r amazing!! how to hav church rom plus lunch??!!! i'm doing lunch.. w ROM and tea ceremony at my PIL and own house.. i alr think v rush... mine wld be fetch me from home. go PIL house. come back my house. go restaurant for lunch..... alr seems super packed...

cluelessbtb

Oh no...cause my friend's mum is help ppl calculate date one then she say cause my ROM is over le so can go even though is a few weeks after...then my mum say ROM never mind then customary cannot...

julia85

cluelessbtb> it depends on ur master too..
i got my dates from Master Tong...
i enquired b4 and he said tat ROM is also considered as wedding, so it's best to avoid...

so it really depends on individual n different master.. =)

fel_han

shanna: i prefer to go get the dates together wif my bf.. coz i m so blur blur one.. beta go wif him lo.. i feel safer.. haha.. .

julia: huh? divorced?? haiyo.. so serious?? nobody knows what is the cause of it.. so i think beta to play safe den to be sorry lo..

magdal: i think AP would be better - more practical la.. haha

michelle: oh no no.. i nv add u in fb leh.. haha

eh.. how to join u gals in fb?? search for SG Brides in FB??

tanyix

cluelessbtb: yup i heard the norm is 3 months before and after. but honestly, i don't really believe in that personally. haha. how can you let "fate" decide how long you and your husband will last?
it's a daily commitment to stay together for life! heh.. just a thought

binary

What my parents &amp; relative said is that 2 couple big day.. Each is having happiness event, XI SHI.. so if another couple also gg to wed within 3 mth, their XI shi will choing (clash with the former couple) but not sure which couple will take away which couple XI, tat one i do not know..

For example, i have 2 cousins of mine getting marry this Sept &amp; Nov, they agree not to attend which other wedding.. Only their parents and others sibling will attend..

So what my mum trying to say is that better be safe than sorry... as we all does not really know the outcome of attending other couple AD..

i have one colleague’s mum also ask her friend not to be her JM just that she was ROM less than 3 mths.. So last minutes, change JM.. Lucky she din not invest $$ to buy dress for her JMs.. Just that her close friend cant attend.. Think dinner her mum allow.. Just that Ji Shi (auspicious timing for Jia Qu have to avoid)

not sure you gals understand what i trying to type or not.. sometimes its easier to say than type out in word here.. haha.. i have problem in translating.. hehe..

binary

shanna: maybe I have sheng tan at home, from a more tradition family.. so i need to pray to my ancestor before i step out the house.. So does my htb, we need to pray to ancestor &amp; his deceased mother.. Think the important part process is å« &amp; 娶 (fetch the bride and bring her back to groom side)
For gate crashing is will be easy to 'execute' from your own premise, think my neighbour will tolerate the 'noisy' part.. Once in the lifetime
I have so many relatives coming for tea ceremony.. So gathering them at home is easier..

But for your option 2 is good for having tea ceremony in hotel after ROM &amp; before dinner.. So that all the elderly turn up on time and your dinner can start on time too.. This is the part for option 2..

If you really have option 2.. After the morning gate crash in hotel.. You can have indoor PS within the hotel..

I have one friend, her outdoor PS @ her AD venue, hotel.. External (outside studio) but still air conditioned.. Photo were taken from various rooms type, facilities; poolside, lounge, restaurant, spa, etc. quite interesting.. But need to get clearance from hotel.. somehow, we said she is the spokeman &amp; spokewomen for the hotel.. haha..

nefariouskat

magdal: haha.. mine immediately said no when i told him the price. wat's ur email add?

shanna: ur sis had her gatecrash so late and still have time for solemnisation?? nv hold tea ceremony?

shannat

bem: haha im ok with it. im not that traditional. marry off? haha marry alr still my parents daughter ma. LOL. think im more westernize ba, prefer simple and easy, dont want so troublesome. my sis wedding alr very simple le, and we r so tired le. dont wanna get too tired ma~
im grouchy when im tired. HAHA! as for the praying part, my parents will be doing on our behalf ba. cos in my case, if i hv the gate crash at my mum's home, then later my hubs come fetch me to our place then from there, back to my mum's place n then to the hotel for solemnization, i think in btw it wastes alot of time travelling and waiting for this person and that. for me n hubs, we feel like this is easier, but not sure abt my MIL side, so it is yet to finalize.

kat: uhhhh, ok la, cos we save on the travelling time, so no need to hv crash gate so early? her tea ceremony is after the solemnization. my BIL's dont hv much relatives, so the tea ceremony wasn't very long. uhmm, gate crash is at 9.30 then 11.30 am solemnization,1.30pm lunch banquet, why not enough time???

chocolatebasket: erm, not really 2 hr lapse, her solemnization (with the JP) is 11.30am - 12pm. after the JP leaves, she had her tea ceremony, abt 1/2 hr? then 1230 she goes back to her bridal suite, touch up and gets ready, while 1230 the cocktail reception starts. then 1.30pm she march in. oh, her solemnization is at a separate function room, not in the ballroom itself, if thats what's confusing. hee.

tanyix

Shanna: yeps I think my itinerary will be somewhat like your sister's

Bern: haha ya I know right! All the ppl I've told to kept saying it's very rushed. But my bf and I really thought for very long already and figured it's the best scenario that we want. Cos I really wanted a lunch instead of dinner. It's more relaxed! And won't be as draggy as dinner. It's cos I attended a colleague's wedding lunch, and it's so nice to step out of the hotel when it's still bright and cheery!
but to each her own of course - dinner will be grander.

evilgal

Hello ladies ~~ I've been MIA for quite some times from here. How's everyone preparation?

FYI, dont put too much ppl for the reception as it will be very messy.