(2012) 2012 Brides to be

nefariouskat

shanna: orh.. i tot your sis went to ur BIL's plc for tea ceremony den went back to ur place for tea ceremony before gg back to the hotel.

chocolatebasket: yup! he say muz remember to "book" him or else if he go overseas or what den cannot blame him le -.-

was asking my mum in tat case, do i still need to give my grandpa the JP angbao. she say need cuz he is acting in the capacity of the JP. wonder how much to give in this case

shannat

YX: actually lunch n dinner also same feeling to me. cos inside the ballroom, its dark, so... not much diff!
actually i think, one thing good abt lunch is, not much ppl will be late, cos my sis wedding, only 1-2 relatives were late, others were pretty on time, and for lunch wedding, u dont hv to rush thru the flow of events and the guests also can slowly enjoy their meals and not like eager to go home cos still early!

kat: keke, her initial plan was also to be at my mum's place then to her own place then to hotel, but then to save time, she just do it at the hotel.

min_min_87

Shanna,

I am also comtemplating abt wedding lunch.. seems like there is quite a few pros to it too! I have a little issue here with the menu. My htb is very adamant on not having shark fins, but my family thinks that it is a chinese tradition. Any has any idea of any replacement? a dish that ppl will think well off? I dont want to use imitation shark fins and let people say cheapskate.. but I do agree with htb that i dont want to kill so many sharks for our happy occasion...

mrslim80

I heard professional PG is about $1k-1.2k. Freelance should be about $600. VG I headr as much as $1.8k for professional. Faint.

shannat

minmin: same~ actually i love eating sharksfin, but hor, thinking abt the way they kill them, i feel bad also.. dilemma! i think what u can do is replace them with the 4 treasure soup ( or isit 8?? i cant recall) or maybe add lobster in or so. then get those environmental friendly cards (regarding sharks) and place at each table to inform your guests? i think these are what many people do when they wanna omit sharksfin from their menu.

yvonne: PG and VG, market rate, is quite a big range. those popular ones are arnd $1.5K for PG and $2.5K for VG? thats what i found out when i asked for quotes from from more "popular" ones.
if u take freelance ones, they are cheaper though.
but up to individual on whether they can accept anot, cos some ppl prefer "professional" ones while some dont mind freelance. both my PG n VG are free lancer, i've seen their works and spoke to them b4, i feel comfortable so i booked them. hehe~

evilgal

Shanna, a freelance is charging me 130/hr.. No print out, only all photos edit in dvd. Expensive?

All the prices above is for whole day?

shannat

yvonne: u taking how many hrs? he doesnt hv a AD package? if 130/hr and is 10 hrs, thats like 1.3K, with no print outs, i think very exp!!
yes, those abv r for full day, like i think one VG i asked was 1.8K, but express highlights are additional $600 or so, so add up to $2.4k or so?

evilgal

Shanna: Ya I really think its very expensive for PG.. Moreover he's a freelance and haizzz he's my friend >..< yet charging me so high.

Which PG you choose? Can recom me?

shannat

Yvonne: my Pg is Andy Loh. http://alpx.multiply.com/
u can let him know i intro u~ his charges are like almost 1/2 of what ur friend is charging, and he gives printouts in a album for u. my invoice not with me so i cant recall, but if im not wrong, i think he gives 300 printouts in a album, and 15 (or 10?)those specially enhanced like sepia, B&amp;W those type and also return all the rest in DVD. so honestly, ur friend is charging VERY high. unless he is very very very pro lor.

anyway, i shun bian intro my VG to u ba, hehe.
http://themontageguy.com/
his charges are also v reasonable, and he gives complimentary express highlights!

bem

shanna: haha ic.. ya married off.. mayb i jus like my bf to come to my house to pick me up ba.... if at hotel, den who bring me to hotel? haha...
y u nv consider lunch den?

evelyn: yes regarding the chong xi thingy, it is the guest which will kena the "bad luck". cos bride is the "biggest" on that day.. if another btb/bride who jus marry attends e wedding, den the main bride will bring bad luck to those btb/new brides.

but i think its jus plain superstitious.. my frens n i say mus be long ago, pple who are getting married didnt wanna attend their fren's wedding cos of the $$.. so they come up w stories.. which pass down till now.. hahaha...

shannat

bem: mine is on saturday, if lunch time, some ppl may be working 1/2 day ma, so would be very rush for them to attend, cant be ask everyone to take leave just for my wedding ba? haha~

my sis'wedding was on sunday, so it was still OK to hv lunch wedding.

bem

shanna: me oso sat lunch! i nv consider if pple will be working.. haha working too bad ba... take leave or dun attend..

anw.. so did ur sis hav 1 or 2 makeup??

btw, if i nv rem wrongly, u oso took fables as ur BS rite.. hav u found MUA alr? cos i heard to take the fables MUA, is not v cheap. i think i might as well take spore one... n oso, ur wedding car? u using ur own car?

min_min_87

Hi all brides, about the charging for PG, I have a few friends in the photography line. Not speaking up for them but just want to share something I learnt from my PG friends. It is really about the value that you put into photography. Of cos it would be good to find a PG that is value for money, but with many people walking around with expensive dslr, it is poss to get cheap PG who are freelancers.

Freelancers are not into it fulltime and have other primary income so that can afford to charge lower. However,for the more ex PG, the amount of editing work put into it take at least a week so that is why they are charging definitely more than 2k. Also have factor into the artistic style of the PG, it is just like paying for their artisty.

At the end of the day, as a btb myself, i want to get good deals, but i want to be fair to anyone I engaged. So when looking at the price, think of the time commit to shoot your whole day event, the number of hrs put into selecting, editing, post processing the pics and making it into a dvd package etc. Add the cost of transportation,the cost of the equippments etc. With every click of the camera, they are using up the shutter count of the camera which has to be replaced etc.. so all this are cost to the PG or the friend that you are engaging. So I hope it helps for btb out there when selecting your PGs. Not sure how VG work cos dont have friends in the line, so this is why still looking for a VG..

Shanna, thank you for the suggestion on the alternatives for sharkfin

min_min_87

Hi Shanna, prowling the forum, was about to look into the montageguy as per your intro.. but did u see the other thread on him...not meant to scare you.

hmm really undecided about VG

shannat

bem: icic!! hopefully they can all attend ba!

my sis had 2 makeup, 1 is morning time, then 2nd march in another one.

yes i took fables, MUA i havent found one, i was thinking to decide after my PS cos also considering to use fables de MUA. but my friend told me he can intro me a MUA, so maybe i wait til later then decide.
as for car, yah, we using own car, eh, was thinking to rent leh, but if i having my stuffs all at the hotel, then not really in need of a car alr. hehe.

tanyix

Yvonne: hmm, I guess if you really like his work and if you trust him, then should be fine I guess
but if you find one that's cheaper and if you prefer his works, I think it's perfectly fine to change PG too!

You were asking for recommendations for PGs right? I know of one that's quite decent and cheap! He can adjust his pricing according to your needs and budget. You can find his works at photography.thiscowispurple.com

shannat

min min: yes u r right, its just like an LV bag and a maybe, aldo bag, LV is more exp cos of the packaging, branding and of cos workmanship n quality!
but LV bag now out my budget, so i will settle with aldo bag? hehe~

minmin, yes i saw the thread, hv emailed him regarding this issue. for those who havent booked him or intending to, can hold on for a while, til i can some clarifications?

but from his FB, i can see quite alot of the couples giving him praises... so, i dont wanna jump into any conclusions yet. https://www.facebook.com/the.montage.guy?sk=wall

btw minmin, u might wanna take a look at this VG, whom i initially wanted to book, but HTB say abit out of budget.... but i think not bad also though.

http://www.davidliu.com.sg/

bem

shanna: yup i oso considering fables de. but mayb i wu liao.. i scared jam or watever.. scarly she cant find my house.. cos not familiar w sg.. hahaha... but i wld consider fables if my pre wed looks good :p

did u take the AD bridal bouquet from fables? btw when is ur ps?

nefariouskat

julia: ya, tot so too.. since it will be my grandpa, give more also nvm

shanna: so for ur sis' wedding, it was just ur BIL went for gatecrash, after that, directly went to the hotel to prepare for solemnisation and tea ceremony? hmmm.. seems like a good idea! don't have to rush.. maybe my HTB and me can do that too :D

minmin87: we didn't wanna have shark fins too.. the alternative soup offered in our menu was savory bird's nest soup which my HTB said tasted funny when he drank it during the wedding fair.

helen: $1.8K considered okay le.. i was very interested in lightedpixels but their starting price is $4.2K!!!

yvonne: i'm thinking of approaching them for my montage

min_min_87

shanna: thanks for the lead!trying to load davidliu page at my company, a bit slow.. so going home to view it!

nefariouskat: savoury bird's nest? quite unique but i think my htb will tell me something like do u know how cruel it is for the birds to keep spitting to build a nest but it is taken away from them to make bird nest soup.. my sister told me to consider fish maw... anyone had fish maw soup before in wedding?

lightedpixels is famous very ex .. but there are even more expensive wan.. got 7k -10k range but i fogot who liao..

are anyone of you using other bridal forum. I saw weddingforum but quite messy inside..dont really like their layout...

shannat

bem: haha, eh u r not the only one!! i also worry!! imagine jam or accident (touchwood) on the causeway, think i will cry out loud. another alternative, is maybe get the MUA over one night b4, but need to pay extra for the hotel room.. **sian** i think i will compare the pricing n "quality" of the local MUA n fables MUA then see which is more value for money! hehe. as for AD bridal bouquet, yah, most prob taking from them.. u not taking?? i havent seen the designs yet though. my PS is mid july, gg to choose gowns 1st week of july.

kat: for my sis wedding hor, me n my sis stayed over in the hotel one night b4 (sat) then my BIL he comes from his home to the hotel n they crash gate at the bridal suite. then after tt is solemnization n tea ceremony at the function room.

min_min_87

magdal: for half day VG what is included? means they only do the morning gatecrash and tea ceremony to show at the banquet? but not the banquet eg march in? Thanks

min_min_87

is there a consolidated pool of resources for all the PGs/VGs quotations that we collected? would be great to share it with everyone so that we dont have to wait for responses and hunt around..

bem

shanna: got some local MUA got contact me. den i even ask them.. if say on the AD morning, they diarrhea den how! haha.. den the MUA say nv happen b4..

its quite scary to tink abt it. even say normal working days oso got last min MC etc etc.. mus ask if they have stand by MUA!!

yup i'm taking the AD bridal flowers but den cos we no car.. its quite ma fan..gotta go in take e flowers out 1 day b4 e wedding.. dunno how.. we're going to ask fables if can deliver to us anot.. jus wanna check w u.. wow how u noe when u gonna try the gowns? no one inform me anything!! n my ps is in may...

shannat

mag: sorry! i think i deleted it le, cos that time i asked was early last yr. paiseh, but i think shld be arnd 2.5K or something..

bem: alamak, why u so cute will ask this type of qns~ hahahaha!if they hv standby MUA, make sure u also check her out first, if not later cui one, then worst! erm, i no car also leh..... LOL. is my hubs de fren de.. so maybe ask him drive us in one day b4. erm, the choosing of gowns date, i book tgt with my PS date. when the coordinator ask me when i want my PS, then she also gv me the dates to choose my gowns for my PS leh~

YX: fables is our BS.

nefariouskat

minmin87: haha.. there's any cons to everything :p mine also have got lobster soup to choose but.. like not as atas as shark fins/bird nest hor?
i also saw a few PG that charge by hours.. and is a few hundreds per hr.. really wonder what allows them to command that kinda rates.

juz realised that the weekend i'm holding my wedding is a long weekend! woohoo~~ can have more rest after the wedding! :D
shanna: oh... gatecrash at the bridal suite..

magdal: ya, saw their work but i felt ok-ok only. and their 10hrs package is more ex than the PG i engaged. think for wedding lunch, min also need 10hrs ba.. from morning till end of the lunch

tanyix

shanna: oh!! thanks!
haha i hope my MUA will make me look great that day. hahaha.. so scary to let someone who doesn't know me do up my face! haha..

min_min_87

haiz.. i think i settle other stuff first w/o potential conflict.. the menu wait then decide ba..

nefariouskat: so shuang! long weekend! I just started working so i got 18days leave a yr.. hopefully i save my leave to bring over to nt yr so got more days to prep my wedding. some of my collegues who have been ard for long got like 28days leave lor.. envious!

magdal: have u engaged ur PG? not sure abt cream photography price.. i forgot which one nefariouskat is engaging. so cant do the comparison. but i agree with her can get PG with better pics..i think we still got a little luxury of time to look ard.

shannat

YX: u taking the MUA from ur BS? if so, u can at least "test water" first during ur PS. if u r engaging outside MUA, go for their trial first, then if u like it then engage.

minmin: yup, menu can decide later. i still deciding btw 8 n 9 course.. but hor, i think 8 course alr quite fulling! and PG wise, yes, do look arnd abit more to choose one u really like! :D

magdal

Shanna: it's ok~ 2.5 the price too classic le~

YX: not saure.. will be trying my BS MUA for my "future sis in law" wedding 1st.

nefariouskat: which PG you you got??

nefariouskat

magdal: u got the link to our spreadsheet.. i can't find it le.. buried something under our lengthy posts :p

minmin87: wah! u have 18days a year?? i only have 15days

i'm using Gary Koh

tanyix

i'm also saving up my leave to carry over to next year! i have 18 days too. trying to not touch this year's leave so i'll have 36 days in 2012. WHEEEEEEEE :D

Shanna: nopes, i actually signed a package with Sophia Wedding Collection just last saturday already

min_min_87

magdal: i like bittersweetbyjoseph too but think that he might be in the range of 2-3k... maybe i sld ask for his package then share with u cos i am interested too

nefariouskat

magdal: thx! update the spreadsheet le

his website is http://www.garykohphoto.com/index2.php
he's charging $1580 for 10hrs. will digitally touch up all photos and return all in DVD. did check with him, usually he will take ard 600-700 photos.

YX: so good! u can bring forward your leave.. mine have to utilise all by every June or else forfeited. so will have wedding in May.. wait for them to "top-up" my leave after June den go for honeymoon in Dec :p

tanyix

haha yeps! i'm also waiting for them to top-up so i'll have 36 days!!
but the thing is that i don't think my bf has so many days of leave. HAHA! do u all know usually how long before to plan honeymoon?

min_min_87

magdal: I saw bittersweet: $2k for AD with all pics return in DVD. for coffeetable need to top up..

For myself, I am using hendrar.photography which is my package for AD I signed up with. 10hrs, $1880 with digital enhancements. i like his treatment of pics. but it has to fit into ur budget and your style..

acutally i am looking for prewedding PG, probably Bali.. what about the rest of u?

nefariouskat: normally leave can bring over for a year but will get forfeited at certain cut off date.. work in MNCs or govt will have more leave. work in SMEs most of the time 12-15days.. my friend grad from NUS work in local company only 10days.

bem

YX: me! i'm jan 2012 btb. 7th jan. u?

Shanna: haha its not a funny qn lei.. mayb cos i always frequently sick. freq hav diarrhoea, so i will worry on tis. i even worry if i will be sick on my AD! ur coordinator so good.. mine nv say anything
i'm going in soon to decide on my outdoor venue....

anyone else doing lunch? do u all think its possible to gatecrash at my place, den go in-law place, den back to my place, den to restaurant for lunch??
me n my in law place is about 20 mins drive...

chocolatebasket

magdal - two price package for davidliu.
$3500 and $2200. These are without the express highlights.

bittersweet is $1, 800 for 8hours.
minmin - it's not as expensive as you think. I think his rates are pretty gd for his works!

YX - u mind sharing your package?

BS..

and i only got 14days of leave!
I'm also looking for videographers!
Anyone has recommendations for 2-4K budget?