(2012) 2012 Brides to be

tgk

magdal: that would be nice
... what's the facebook page or name?

shanna: thanks! initially someone tentatively booked the date cos i didn't know i can do it but fortunately the couple before us gave it up. selena: so I do agree it's important to tentatively booked the date if you really want the place.

sabelle: that's good cos Francestar's only based in TW so quite difficult to liaise

acacia: I see
good to know that he gave good dates!

michelle: Yes, I think Orchard is a good choice too... was one of my top choice too

shannat

michelle: im with amara now.

cherish: but usu hotels hv a time frame to hold the date for u, like 1-2 weeks i think. or some which is better will hold it for u til someone else enquire then they will get u to decide.

magdal

chin ser: yap.. it's me~

v0n: somehow~ lolx

Cherish03: okie.. i go check now

selena: is your MIL paying for your honeymoon?

pinkpiglet

acacia - yeap! We will hurry up. hopefully by end of the month we will settle this.

We are going to french bridal, la belle and rico-a-mona this sat in search for the BS! so excited! wish me luck in finding the right package and gown.. we intend to visit another 6 or so to visit..

yve84

Hi all .. Din know that there's so many 2012 BTBs here Congratx to everyone here..... anybody haven't confirm on their venue and going to BOWS??? can someone also advise me wat am i suppose to do after confirming venue, BS, etc ... alittle bit overwhelmed by all of these stuffs... Thanks!!!

chinzilla

@magdal: added u =) maybe we shld start aft the new yr =p
@michelle: she bot all her fotos so it came up to be 10k for the whole package. But i thin it was ard 50 per extra photo.
@pinkpiglet: gd luck with ur search. Do let us noe how the BS hunting went =P

muilaman

wow.. so many mar2012 btb. I am also one of them. Heh. I am also going to TW for my ps next year april.

pinkpiglet: let us know the results of your bs search.. hee

yve: welcome, gal. you shortlisted your hotels?

pinkpiglet

good morning,

chin ser & muilan & all - BS search is so tedious! May i know how long you gals spend in each shop? i spent 2.5 hrs in each shop looking at photographs, talking about package and of cos trying the gowns! was really exhasted after we finished 2 BS.

My take on french bridal and rico - french has very beautiful and elaborated gowns, and i think beats rico flat. But in terms of service and friendliness, rico is really thumbs up. So friendly and not a bit of black face. Prices are both 3k-ish. Going to visit more this weekend...

how are your reviews on the BS? any recommendations or any to avoid?

muilaman

pinkpiglet: i only tried one bs and signed up already. but then regretted for not doing more homework. So take your time to choose, you've got lots of time to choose. I personally think that Ted Collection is superb in terms of workmanship and service. But tc is not really a bs, they are more designer cum seamstress. They only do MTM gowns and their gowns are really nice. They also have very good contacts for PG/VG, florist etc. You can visit them for a chat if you are interested. They are really nice chaps, no hard sell.

homama

dear girls,

when negotiating the BS package,

1) do ask for free transportation to outdoor PS
2) purchase of softcopy back at a cheap rate... previously i asked from bliss bridal for the purchase of softcopy at 100 photos for S$500. cos im sure everyone will bound to love the PS photos and want to buy back.. to add-on the photos to the album can be costly.. thus the softcopy would be another alternative for u...
3) number of gowns for PS, whether it can be a mix of diff western wedding gowns or must be traditional costumes (like jap, victoria, etc).
4) MUA to follow outdoor PS!

im sure the above can be fulfilled, it depends on how hard u bargain for it.

this is my view.

homama

add on:

number of locations for the outdoor PS.. please let the shop know early if u do not wish to have lot of indoor shoots.. and how many gowns for outdoor... all these must be specified clearly in B&W in ur invoice...

@cherish03: good to hear that majority have positive views on orchard hotel! which hotel you went for in the end?

@shanna: amara is nice! im sure everything will go smoothly ;)

@magdal: there is a FB for 2012 BTBs? can i join too? [email protected] =D

@yve: Hello Yve! Welcome.. dont get too stress or overwhelmed with the planning & search.. it can be fun! =))

@chin ser: WOAH! 10k.. that's alot!! they must've loved the pictures so much.. i hope we can resist the urge to not overspend too much! haha

@muilaman: hello babe! i'm going to TW for ps next year april too! when are you going & with which bridal? let's pray that the weather will be good!

@pinkpiglet: you & your fiance are so patient! mine will probably go nuts spedning so much time on it. we'll may go with My Bridal Room (still in discussion) you may want to consider them too? ;)

@mrs ho: thanks for the tips! agree that everything have to 'request' and make sure they are in B&W.. i regretting not asking for more, just signed blindly..

shannat

mrsho: keke, thanks for the advice! will take note when im gg to do BS shopping.

Michelle: thanks! i hope so too!

yve: hi~ welcome!

minko1983

Michelle: so hav you booked your photoshoot? They left limited date slot for April when I booked. I get the last date available in Mar for the photographer I like. Hoping Mar will give us a more cooling weather.

Chin Ser: Woo buying back all the photos is really costing too much. The most I will be buying is extra softcopy which is stated to be $25 each. I dun need physical photos to be keep in the storeroom. hehe. I booked cathay already, at $500+ and we plan a stopover at hongkong after the photoshoot.

pinkpiglet

muilaman - yeah, i will visit ted as well.. but just afriad will burst the budget if i do ala carte. my budget for photoshoot and AD gown is around $4k..

mrs ho - thanks! i didn't think of some of the perks you mentioned when i visited the BS. when some say $80 for car rental whole day plus petrol, we just take it as it is. oops.

mich lee - hehe.. no la, we try to comb by area. so not so tedious. although still tedious. when we started to go in the first BS, it was sunny and hot afternoon. by the time we came out of the 2nd BS, the sky is totally dark already. not to mention very hungry too..hehe. and yes! my bridal room is also one of my choices! update you again after i go..

drusillatok

Any BTBs can recommend me a BS that does customise WG, EG? Coz i am getting a seperate PG, VG and MUA.. Thus, i do not need the package kinda BS..

On top of that, did any of you BTBs went for marriage preparation course? ANy advice or recommendation?

Chin Ser - 10k?!! Wow.. that's alot of $!

Pinkpiglet - Your HTB is so patient and good!! I hope my HTB is as patient as well..

Mrs Ho - Thanks for your advice!

muilaman

michelle: I am going in mid April. Ya, hoping for good weather. With JWN. Hee.

pinkpiglet: maybe you can talk to TC and see if they can work out the cost for you.

yve: i see.

homama

basically indoor studio at most of the BS look boring... it will be good if u opt for more outdoor, more vibrant feel in your album layout mah... if so, must bargain for a MUA to follow out, cos it's hard to touch up on our own... and to ask for at least 3 gowns outdoor... definitely got place to change lor, dun let the sales-coordinator "fighten" u by saying have to change in the open public... that's quite a bullshit.. :p

julia85

pinkpiglet> u sure are discipline!
can go visit 2 BS and gg to visit more...
me n bf went to the first one and we sign alrdy.. haha...

tgk

i will be going to TW in June too..
planning to take at places with lots of flowers hopefully. have you all decided on where to have your photos taken?

michelle: mine will be at carlton

pinkpiglet

hey cherish03 - hua lian in tw has lots of pretty flowers! it's like a whole sea of flowers! will definitely look gorgeous ..

julia - haha, trying to be only! think i will stop at 4 or 6 BSs.

drusilla - yours will be! im sure he wants to see you in your gown, esp the first gown you try on... hehehe. for mine, even though the first gown i tried on was so so only, the feeling is very magical and htb is also amazed.

muilaman

cherish03: I like those old streets and buildings and those flower farms in TW. Was thinking of having pictures of those blue sky and sea with big rocks and waterfall too. Saw some pics that have piano and white horse, looks very dreamy. I think these can be found in Danshui. But haven't really decided yet. Gotta talk to the PG in TW first. But most likely I will just take my pics in Taipei. U plan to travel around for your ps?

@Sabelle: yep, i booked on the 26th & that's the only slot left! phew.. march's weather will definitely be more cooling, making the photoshoot more pleasant. which photographer did you chose? they assigned me to da xiong.

@pinkpiglet: great! pls do update when you've met up with my bridal room.. it'll be helpful :D agree that at least your htb is patient enough to comb all the places with you.. if only mine was like that too.. haha.. have fun searching & trying on gowns!

@muilaman: i see! i think April's weather will still be alright, at least that is what i'm told.. haha.. May will be raining quite abit.. so i'm abit worried cos i'm going end of april.

@cherish03: carlton's a good choice, so accessible.. i'm sure if you plan your route properly/in consultation with the coordinators, you'll be able to capture what you want. they are the experts & possibility of 'conning' us will be low bah? haha

tgk

pinkpiglet: thanks!
i will check out hualian! good that you are checking out the BS.. but really need lots of patience
i signed up for a very new BS in singapore for some AD stuff cos my BS in taiwan cant provide.. so rather worried cos didnt really check on their history before signing up.. but trying not to think about it first...

muilaman: I think you can also find the piano in Da Tun if i am not wrong.. think there's windmill too! i think most prob 2 places max in taiwan cos have to take into consideration the travelling time.. then mine in june so keeping my fingers crossed that the weather then will be fine...

Michelle: thanks!
yes agree.. must plan our route first..

can check out this website on wedding and travel.. http://www.wedding-travel.com/index.aspx

chinzilla

think 10k is the extreme. im budgeting max 5-6k for the BS portion =S any more htb will make noise =p

sabelle: cool 500! thats really decent. =) i cant book yet coz my leave isnt approved. Quite scared the boss say No.

Cherish Michelle, Sabelle: haf fun in taiwan!June weather shldnt be too bad. the Digio ple were telling me that April will have slight rain.

Will u all be going the taipei area? I'll be in Taichong area.Going to Qing Jing and Ri Yue Tan. *Cross Fingers* its ok. WIll u all be going for fitting soon?

Pinkpiglet: heh u really have the patience! .. i actually went two then gave up le.

pinkpiglet

wah! you girls have so much budget for BS! i only forsee 4k in BS (exclude AD PS and Videography). i hope i can don't top up or top up too much after hearing so many people regretting and spending a bomb! really no budget for topping up too much. . .oops.

witchz

piglet: haha you are not alone, I only budgeted 4k or so for BS. My package with whitelink cost 3388(after discount) so I have a small amount for maybe around 5 additional shots.
I am still not yet decided on the amount to budget for AD PS and VG.

chinzilla

Pinkpiglet: lol me prefer to over budget first then cut. Actually am quite scared that the BS bugs me to top up alot. Seems like a lot of horror stories on that.

PS VG the market rate seems to vary. But I think those with a package deal (PG+ VG) are much more value. If u all need some price list I can send them over. Did a bit of research on them =)

magdal

Michelle: invite send~

Kelly: i also buget 4k for BS, but still got to spend some $$ for my kebaya. so add on will reach 5k

@magdal: thanks!

@chinzilla: i thought the fitting is done in taiwan? you mean we can try on gowns here & it'll be available for photoshoot in taiwan?

HTB & I are kinda disappointed now.. we got our date from the master yesterday & orchard hotel's ballrooms are already booked on that day!

the next alternative is probably shangri la..but it's SO expensive! oh man..

any suggestions on good affordable hotels that can hold at least 70tables? seems limited..

yve84

Wah .. din know so many of you going to TW for photoshoots too ... i'm goin too in March .. =D no one going to take the Sakura shoots in TW??

@muilaman: yes, we're considering that now too.. waiting for the coordinator to get back to me on the package & site recce..

@sze sze: hihi! your ps is over already or? care to share your experience?? =D the lady booked 26 Apr for us for the photoshoot, so do we have to like go to the shop in taiwan on 25 Apr (or earlier) to do select our gowns, etc?

@yyiling: mandarin orchard is meritius mandarin right? awaiting their reply~ Swissotel Stamford dont serve sharks fins right? so that is probably out cos HTB's side is quite particular with food. though i dont mind, save the sharks!

@Shanna: he gave us another date initially, which is a very good date but realised it clashes with HTB's grandma..so changed & that's the only next best date during that period..

@Julia: i know right! haha.. that's the estimation as of now, HTB have big family, relatives, etc.. hopefully able to cut down to not incur so much cost/loss!

yyiling

Michelle : Yup, swissotel serves lobster soup instead. Hope all goes well with meritus mandarin for you!

I'm getting very stressed over the venue now. I was abt to sign with Regent until I visited Fullerton yesterday. The hotel is very nice with a pillarless ballroom and now I find myself wavering as the cost is difference between the 2 venues should be abt 7k. And my HTB has entered into the 'anything also can so long as we decide quickly' mode and doesn't offer much opinions. Any reviews/experiences with both hotels?

julia85

michelle> yea hopefully can cut down..
70 is alot... scary sia...
long time nv heard of sucha big wedding dinner..
nowadays ard 25-30.. at most maybe 40 or so..

@yyiling: yep.. thanks! we'll just gotta do more site recce now..
Regent's ballroom isn't pillarless? i love all the themes Regent provides though!! haven got the chance to see fullerton's.. they have a higher brand name than Regent bah.. i think for me, what's special is the 'staircase entrance'.. so fairytale-like! maybe you can compare their perks & menu too? see if it justifies the 7k..

@Julia: haha, i didnt think that 70tables is massive until i start going for site recce.. even 30-40tables looks sooo big to me.. though i love the idea of 'the more the merrier', but budget wise it's a headache. money-no-enough!! haha