(2012) 2012 Brides to be

shannat

hi girls~ HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL~~

i think we can finally go: im getting married NEXT yr to ppl who asked us liao~ haha! those who asked me previously thinks im kinda KS when i say my wedding is 2 yrs later! wahahah~ :D

chinzilla

Happy new yr!
Going for fitting this sat
Dunno y but I'm freaking out already!

pinkpiglet

hello girls..

yes happy new year!! 2011 already..

chinzilla - don't worry! Are you going with your sisters? so they can give you some comments?

i gave up after going to the 4th BS. signed my package with y-wedding (replace y with z)already.. hahaha. Was telling you girls i shortlisted so many right.. oops.

pinkpiglet

mag: hey so coincidental! how do you find their service so far? i like their service and the gowns seem ok.. plus too tired to go BS shopping.. hence i signed up with them. But i'm quite upset cos all the post from 'y' wedding are removed. So i dont know which MUA is good!

magdal

paink: like the gown very much, not having my PS so soon so haven really get a chance to try on their service.
get to nego anything??

pinkpiglet

mag: yeah..got the 3388 package..neg for the standard stuff like fathers jacket, bridesmaid, best man, extra evening gown and i find them quite accomodating.
yeah.. PS would probably be in oct for me.

magdal

pink wow! who did you sign youth package with? I didn't know can neg a extra evening gown.
how many best man and bridesmate they give?

chocolate : not sure also

chinzilla

im dragging my mum and Aunt along.. coz they always say im a walking fashion disaster. =p *cross fingers*

Magdal: glad u like ur gown! was it tough choosing it ?

Pinkpiglet: congrats on choosing ur studio and getting a gd deal. An extra gown sounds really gd.

imcurious too, why ur BS isnt allowed on the boards?

pinkpiglet

good day everyone!

i am not sure why "y" wedding removed all posts. i am guessing should be the usual stuff like bad mouthing and all and may be affecting their business? not too sure actually.. but i am more interested to know which MUA is good etc.. so very upset that i dont have an avenue to read like other what other BS have.

mag: cos when you attend some weddings, you will come across some that will change into one final gown when bidding goodbye to guest. so i ask for one additional one.. 2 bridesmaid, 1 bestman. i signed up at the recent suntec wedding fair....

@nefariouskat: yea, time for us to buck up & make our wedding memorable.. =D

@shanna: happy new year! i get that alot too.. when ppl ask i'll be like 'still long la, next next yr'.. now its like omg it's next yr! haha

@pinkpiglet & mag: what makes you girls choose "y"-wedding? any idea whats the package without the PS / other photography..? we're just looking at gowns+suits

@chinzilla: you're going which bridal for fitting? try as much as you like & pick the one you love most! haha

@natty: woah fuschia platform heels is kinda rare.. you're pairing with? maybe you can try bugis/far east.. or 'new look' @ ion.. saw some bright colored heels thr, but not platform..

pinkpiglet

mich - frankly, i chose "y" wedding cos it is the best out of the 4 BS i have visited and cos i am tired after going through 3 other shops. But of cos, i cannot confirm 100% that they are the best but it is just based on my humble experience of 4 BS. Some service is very good; whereas some gowns are very nice. Here at "y" wedding i find both good before sales service and gown selections. So i signed with them. plus the package are more or less the same for the 4 i have visited. All provide roughly the same thing, all give me extra evening gown...heehee.

i have no idea on the package w/o PS.. i signed up cos of the reputable PS brand name also. It is by Chris Ling studio... i heard you can rent the gowns for AD but its quite bo hua..

chinzilla - hey thanks which trend? Is it the thread i created titled "brides from y wedding (replace y with z)" but has no replies yet...

chinzilla

heya here is the link,, split it up and replaced z with y
and zedding should be wedding. coz of the restrictions

http:// www. zedding forum sg/bridal - packages - boutiques-reviews-17/y-wedding-530/

magdal

pink: i was thinking to get 1 more evening gown. hmmmm.. shall neg when i go choose my gown

Michelle: yap you can rent from "Y" wedding, same as pink, both the service and gown is good

@pinkpiglet & magdal: that's good.. i think the service plays a real big part.. if gowns are nice but service is bad i doubt i'll take it.. haa
thanks pinkpiglet for informing us on the extra evening gown, so that we all can try to nego it in too =D
yea, i assume its gonna be bo hua also.. but i'll be doing PS in taiwan, no point doing another time.. so troublesome to find reasonable gowns+suit..

pinkpiglet

mich - no prob. we share tips with one another here!

yeah.. i think renting one gown for AD cost around $1k. And evening gown i heard $800..which i think really bo hua cos it is just renting it for a day.. but shop around before deciding.. does your BS have an outlet in sg? like julia wedding news? if so then much easier..

magdal

yap~ agree~ thanks Pink~~
anyway can i know who did you sign yor package with?? ;)
if is the same lady maybe can get a chance to neg~

nefariouskat

ah~~ why choosing venue also such a headache?! requested for alot of price list from different hotels for wedding lunch. those that suit my budget have a high min. no. of pax.. those which i can meet the min. no of pax and i like are too expensive!!!

another headache is to lose weight fast!!! ah~~~~~~~

evanthlyn

nefariouskat: same for me :) was very frustrated the last time round. But luckily found something I like even though out of budget a little. Wont regret.

Take your time and decide properly. All the best

homama

yoz everyone... long long nvr come in and chitchat.. how's everyone?

actually regarding renting of gowns for one day at such a price of above $500 is indeed exp! but if u really look ard, u definitely can still find a beautiful gown and BUY it below $300! that's what i did for my previous white gown used for PS (at $300) and a red wedding gown for my upcoming wedding (at $200), and even for my tailor-made cheongsum (at $180)...

pinkpiglet

hi claire - big welcome

i think the most important thing now is to go site visit for your wedding banquet. check out the list of venues you would like for your wedding. Plan budget. Then chop the date with the co-ordinator!
but first thing first, decide on a date. heehee

hjclaire

Hi Pink,

thanks for your warm welcome.
Actually, plan to have my dinner on 12.10.2012, but the hotels are not opened for booking yet.
Is oriental a nice hotel?

Any BS to recommend, everyone..

june_june

Im actually looking at Y wedding also i email them for a quote but weirdly their quote as follow

1 dress ONLY : $3800 for 1 day
Classic Wedding package for $3688

incl studio and outdoor PS and those blah blah blah..

any1 know y isit more ex to rent only 1?

nefariouskat

@eva ya, actually it seems that quite a few hotels ain't open for booking yet so we still got a bit of time to look ard and decide. hopefully can find one which we like and is within our budget.

@julia around 14-16? don't really want a big wedding.

julia85

nefariouskat> tat's little...
i guess bo bian if ur tbls so little gotta choose those more exp one..
my future SIL oso.. they have only like 15 tbls...
so she's looking at mandarin orchard, four seasons...
they are more exp, but they cater to smaller weddings...

magdal

pink: okie~ thanks~~

June: guess might be due to the material they use ba

Claire: welcome~ did you request a add in FB?

anyone else request a add in FB??

witchz

nefariouskat : I think you can give Holiday Inn Orchard Centre a try. they have a smaller ballroom for max of 20 tables I think. I can send you the package if you like.

magdal

nefariouskat: Mandarin Oriental, have a ballroom for 20 table, their sweetheart theme look sooo good in the small ballroom

orientalfrost

Michelle Lee: yea.. V rare to get fuschia heels.. It seems sg doesn have lots of shops selling fuschia heels.. Unlike in US.. Thinking of pairing them with my day gown n tea dress

nefariouskat

@Julia haha, ya, we are not intending to invite a lot of ppl. just our family, close relatives andn close friends. don't wanna spend too much on the banquet cuz we rather spend the money on honeymoon~~ hehehe

requested the pricing from mandarin orchard.. have not tried four seasons thou. will drop them a mail. thanks!

@kelly that's so kind of u! but it's ok, i will juz send a mass email to all those hotels :p

@magdal oh ya hor, why didn't i think of that hotel?? haha.. will drop them a mail too! hehe..

@shanna hilton ah.. i scared my parents n in-laws pantang.. cuz that time hilton got tragedy case ah.. so.. u know.. old folks..

btw, i have lotsa price lists from different hotels.. let me know if any of u need it.. but they are for wedding lunch..

crazyshopper08

HI everyone I am from the Dec 2010 Brides link..

I just hope to get some help from brides here.. I know you are all still planning your wedding.. I am actually going to launch a new exhibition just for weddings and was wondering if there is anything that you would like to see or have in an event like that? Hope I can have some feedback. would really appreciate your help..

Also I have just completed my wedding so if you need help let me know.. take care ladies..

shannat

hey ladies, just wanna check with u all, roughly how much alcohol u r gg to get?in terms of beer n wine from the hotel?
will u be getting wine from outside? (if no corkage charge)
what my hotel is currently offering is 2 X 30L of beer and one btl of red wine per table (im expecting 30 tables MAX). not sure is it enough?
also, someone was saying to get free flow of beer than bring in your own wine.

witchz

Shanna: one bottle of red wins is def not enough. usually abt 1.5 bottle/table. If the hotel is not charging you for corkage it will be cheaper to get your own wine. you can check with carrefour for consignment package, their wine range can be as cheap as 11/bottle

@pinkpiglet: yea, went through some magazines & the rental of just one gown is so expensive! shouldn't have sign the PS package 'recklessly' previously.. my BS is bluebay.. they have boutique here, but i've seen the gowns before.. not really to my liking.. zzz

@mrs ho: care to share where you got your gown at or any pictures? [email protected] i've found some online, but would prefer those that i'm able to try on first / MTM..

@claire: welcome! you can start to recce around before booking with them.. at least it saves the time.. some hotels i went to, even they are not open for booking, they allow me to book the date tentatively.. you can try..
i think oriental is not bad, they have nice themes & the ballroom gives a cosy feel.. food-wise, etc i'm not so sure..

@natty: i came across some recommendation of heels in fuschia color in her world brides.. sept-nov issue.. places like ninewest, tangs, giuseppe zanotti, sacha london.. not cheap though.. below $600

@kat: can take a look at four seasons.. i kinda like their themes! so many to choose from..

@crazyshopper08: congrats on your wedding! i guess it depends on your limits on what you are able to provide.. eg the works/range of all the different wedding services which will ease all BTBs research.. but that will probably be quite big scale?

@shanna: which hotel are you with? 1barrel of beer roughly serves 75-90glasses? so with 2barrels there'll be like at least 150glasses for your 300guests.. it depends whether or not your guests are what 'level' of drinkers.. haha

magdal

nefariouskat : good luck~~

shanna: also depends on the guest you inviting.
most hotel only give 2 barrel free. and some couple say it's enough

michelle: how much is your package? heard from my friend for taiwan BS, if you cant find any gown you like they can bring some over from taiwan