(2012) 2012 Brides to be

homama

i got my traditional colorful cake from Gin Thye Cake Maker... the type of "oldies" cakes which we had when we were extremely young... haha.. some old relatives even said it has been ages since they see such cakes... 8 pieces for $8.80 or $9.80.. cannot rem the actual cost liao... :p very yummy! my relatives and colleagues all commented very nice... perhaps can google online and check it out...

fel_han

shanna: ya the cakes u get traditinal ones oso can leh! those traditional taste nicer too! it would be a nice gift esp for elders leh.. very chuan tong.. hee~

ya... actually the feedback i gathereed for CP is food nice, Ballroom new, bridal suite new, high ceiling ballroom and looks romantic leh.. haiz.. just that the location is abit off and my bf scared inconvenient for his peeps.. haiyooo
but then again.. lots of my relatives stay in east.. i myself stay in the east.. just dat i donno if our frens would mind the location anot. i scared wait ppl complain... Hmmmm....

shannat

mrsho: i saw from that one. the cakes u talking abt still considered "modern". can consider too. but i was thinking to get the even more traditional ones which is the dousha bing type of traditional. keke!

shannat

fel: dont worry abt it, i dont think they will complain la. cos its your big day ma, plus, that one also train accessible, so i think no issue. keke.

homama

my venue is actually very inconvenient too... but i try not to put that to heart, cos afterall if the relative/friend is your closed one, they wont mind taking a cab just to reach ur venue...

fel_han

shanna: yar lor..at most take mrt all the way to airport hor?? haha.. i very selfish!! but really like it alot alot alot!!!!

fel_han

mrs_ho: I told my bf not to invite those Hi&Bye frens coz they are likely to no show.. I tink u are right if they are close to us.. No matter how far oso will come de rite? I hope I am rite leh.. My mind is quite set for CP liao.. Now just need to wait for my appt wif my geomancer nxt wk to calculate my AD date and then aft dat can decide my hotel liao..hope my bf will agree to CP lehh... *prayyy*

Hmm.. how about Grand Park city hall huh? The ballroom is it also pillarless??

homama

i had a wedding dinner at Crown Plaza at Changi before.. the food is very nice! it's a rectangular pillarless room... atmosphere is good.

ya Ms Fel, im sure pple will attend no matter how far it is if they are your closed relative/friend... for me, i only invite those who i got contact within the year... no point wasting a card on those hi-and-bye friends who 90% chance of absent... :p

shannat

fel: yah i think take to changi station but need to change to the airport skytrain to T3 there iirc... its not at T2. but i think CP is very nice. hehe.

GPCH is pillarless but honestly, i find the ballroom VERY small. it was the first one i went to view and i have to say im pretty disappointed cos it was very small (to me) and the march in is very short, the coordinator told me i can like at most put 4 sword bearers(max), means like 2 "rows" only, so i guess u can imagine how short it is... thats why i end up not choosing it.

julia85

fel> yes, GPCH is pillarless...
the ballroom jus nice for 25 thou max 32..
most prob i'm gonna sign GPCH..
have made appt on 15 april... to take adv of the $1,888nett (b4 23 apr) off total bill...

shanna> o0o... baileys green tea nice huh!?!?
haha can try next time..
talking abt baileys.. they do have expiry date leh..
is baileys ok to drink even after expiry date?
i have 1 bot expired and still have alot!!!
cos i only use it to make tiramisu...

magdal

shanna, julia: totally agree that the ballroom is so small. not like what i want for. but still sign cuz is a hotel with only 1 ballroom.. in the end i still sign it. lolxx

ladies. wanna meet up on june??

shannat

mrsho: really ah? LOL, cant recall if i hv any unopened ones... keke.

magdal: u took GPCH too? june shld be ok to meet up but need to see which date cos i might be gg overseas.

chinzilla

1st week June ?

Maybe we can go for buffet.. =) or maybe thats not too gd an idea ..=p

my BS told me i got 500 photos from TW.. die .. dunno how to choose.. ugh

shannat

hi linda: welcome~ when is your wedding date and which venue u booked?

chin: buffet hor, for those who dont eat much, not very worth it leh. =X

lindalim04

Hi Shanna,

My wedding date would be on 21st April 2012... we book Gim Tim restuarant at Grassroot Club at Yio Chu Kang... We would be using the function room.... Anyone having dinner at the same place??

magdal

Shanna: yap.. that hotel.
shoulb be meeting on the 1st week. i will be out of town in 2nd week

chinzilla: hmmm... we can go 1 caramel~ got food and cakes~"wedding cakes" and is so small that we might book down the place~ :p

Hi Linda welcome~ have you book your BS?

theliamuse

Hi All!
I'm a Jan 2012 BTB. I've only booked my AD venue and Church so far.... me and hubby have been procrastinating like crazy.....mostly cos we can't find a church venue since my church is under reno.
After month of worrying & frantic calling, I'll be having my church blessing at Paya Lebar Methodist Church!
XY, you are having your church wedding there as well right? Have you selected a florist yet? Are you choosing the one recommended by the church or choosing your own? My service will be at 2.30pm. How about yours?
Am most likely booking my BS this weekend! will likely be either Rico-a-moda or jawn happily ever after.
Urgh... my house will TOP in july or august, so I predict that my hubby and I will be running around like headless chickens at the end of this year!

tanyix

thaliamuse: HELLO! i'll be having my AD at PLMC toooooo!!!!!! :D hmm, do you mean YX instead of XY? lol.. nopes i have not, but my bf's mom does floral arrangements, and she would be doing it.

i'm thinking of having it in the morning! when's your AD?

magdal

theliamuse: wow. jan is less than a year le~ done your BS?

YX: your bf mum work as a floist?? so good can save cost

julia85

shanna> wah den sian liao... very waste sia cos still have quite alot.. haha... >.<

PrincessLyn> cos the ballroom of sheraton is L shaped.. so the march-in gotta be diagonal...
tats y it may be abit shorter.. but i think still ok ba...
at least it's still longer den GPCH one.. haha..
at first i was quite bothered abt it..
but heck la.. it's difficult to find tat perfect ballroom.. haha...

eagerbride01

hi everyone! i am rin or rina
my wedding is actually only in late 2012 or early 2013 but i feel so excited and eager to do my planning now
hehehehe

what are some of the probs you girls facing when planning your wedding?
what should i be looking out for?

shannat

yah, i agree with julia, its hard to find the perfect ballroom. either march in not to your liking, ballroom too small or location not too convenient or out of budget or.... cant meet the minimum!!! i super like SMC hotel but cant meet the min of 35 tables!!! zZzzZZz. so just gotta make do with the 2nd best? :D

Chinzilla: hmmm maybe can arrange a tea session? just coffee (or tea) and cakes/snacks or even ice cream!?
if not a girls night over some drinks.

Linda: icic~

kat: thanks for sharing! :D

fel_han

Hi girlies!! Good morning~
I wanna ask.. For people who have their houses coming soon.. How much do u plan to set aside for your reno+furnitures?? I hear that the norm is around 40k thereabouts??

theliamuse

YX: Oops!! So sorry about the mistake! My AD is on 07.01.2011, only 9 more months to go!! It's great that your FMIL is going to be your florist, I am kinda worried about the cost of flowers especially since PLMC has specific requirements on the size of the flower arrangements. Hopefully I'll be able to share costs with the couple in the morning, here's hoping that they are not going for a strange colour scheme...... How about catering? Have you selected one?

Magdal: BS meaning bridal salon right? Yup.... the procrastinating couple... that's us. I'm going for OTR so hopefully there'll be no problems with the time frame. But now have to source for a pre-wedding photographer and AD photographer as well!! Stress....

Ms Fel: no plan as yet, will take it as it comes along. Hubby in charge of reno and furniture
and since mine is a DBSS, will likely only paint the rooms with no major reno. So major costs will be the electronics (washing machine, tv etc) and the bed. I'm been joking with my mum that when the time comes, I'll be moving into an empty house with only a ti-lum!

tanyix

Theliamuse: I see.. Mine's 21 jan! I've not selected my caterer yet.. Cos mine will be in the morning, and I'll have my lunch banquet at a hotel.. But not all who goes the church wedding will attend the banquet (cos not enough space). So yeps! Think my refreshments will be pretty light, but still undecided. I wanted to PM you to discuss more about plmc.. But your PM is disabled! Wanna go enable it? Heh..

What's your budget for BS and photoshoots btw? Don't worry still have time! I settled my BS alr but not phototaking...

shannat

fel: for reno, im only doing simple ones and getting a contractor directly instead of ID coys cos i know what designs i want alr.
so shld be setting aside abt 20-25K for reno. furniture wise, i need to get loads of stuffs so i dont know how much i will need, maybe another 10K? so i think 40K is a safe amt to set side for the hse.
but i think nowadays with all the competitive prices n fairs n warehse sales gg on, furniture like sofas, tables, WM, fridge are still quite reasonably priced.

theliamuse

YX: ok, enabled it!
My budget for my BS is about 2-3K, PS about 1K- 2K. We are not going for an elaborate album and I have emailed a few photographers, hopefully it'll be under my budget! Which BS have you chosen?

julia85

theliamuse> u're doing ala carte for ur PS &amp; AD gowns?
else usually BS does include PS gowns n suits, PS PG &amp; AD gowns n suits...

theliamuse

Julia: Yup, for Jawn happily ever after, it's ala carte for PS. So they only provide 1 suit, 1 EG, 1 WG, flowers (but no car deco) &amp; makeup. The rest is to be sourced outside. But they tie up with PG studios like Andrew tay of the edge, tuckys, O studios etc. Might be going for Andrew tay, but depends on whether hubby likes his photos!!

minko1983

Hi everyone, I'm back from my taiwan photoshoot session. It is freezing they when I took the photos on 26th Mar. But happy as one thing off the list.

theliamuse my flat is also DBSS. Which project is yours?

theliamuse

Sabelle: Hi! Hope you enjoyed your photoshoot!Which part of Taiwan did you go?
My flat is at Park Central@AMK, it's going to TOP soon and will prob get my keys in July or August. How about yours?

lingz_85

I'm intending to sign up a package at Parkroyal on kitchener road for next year - they have offered me free flow of beer for min. 25 tables at $808nett per table. Anybody got better deal for 2012 wedding package?

magdal

Hweeling: my friend had her wedding there. good food~!

renee: me looking for animation cartoon too. but all so ex. telling to gather help from my friend on your date?

shanna, chin: hmmm prefer in day or night?

julia,missyyee, ms fel: is punggol residences a project name or just. punggol - residences?

Welcome Rina~ have you set date?

binary

been MIA for a while..
how's everyone preparation, esp those AD in Jan 2012..

I'm ok with the the meet up for meet up in June.
I have yet to idle after venue &amp; BS secured..

Magdal: they should be from BTO punggol residences