(2011) 2011 Brides

pinkglove

haha, ya, perhaps after i've kept it for a while, i'll be willing to sell le.. Nope, EG not done up fully yet and e last session was spent chitchatting with my mua till i forgot to take picture of it..haha.. oh,do u have pics of ur EG?

clintomania

pinkglove: yeap, I did take a pic of my EG while its hanging.. but forget to take one while I was trying it..was bz admiring myself in it.. HAHAHA

wah lao weh: welcome!

sapphire05

Hi pinkglove.. you said earlier that weekday dinners usually start much later cos pple rush frm work n attendance might also b affected xos of last min work..

what I heard was.. people will all be punctual or on time coz everyone would arrive from office, hence the entire office colleagues know they will have to leave to go for the wedding dinner.

pinkglove

hi sapphire: i've attended a few wkday dinner n it's a mad rush for those who work far frm e banquet venue so they'll b late.. den some of e colleagues will rush home for clothes change cos they dun wish to wear working clothes for e dinner...perhaps for some colleagues they can try leave same time tgt but its different for relatives n frens bah..
but for attendance wise, i believe if we invite only e closer frens or colleagues tat shldn't really be affected cos they'll still try their best to come. This wedding which i attended on a thur had a few tables which's only half filled n same gave work as e reason n they paisey to come so late which i also dunno if it's true.

styleinyou

Pinkglove> I wanted so much on a die die weekend, or perhaps fri/sun. But from David Tong dates, we r looking at dates in Nov which we planned. There's one in Wed, Fri & Sat. Then happen to show the dates to other master whom comment that the wed. date suit us more. Fri - clash with FIL. so can't. left us not much choice.

Got a fren who asked me to look into weekdays which she named me all the advt of having on weekday:-
1) Like what Sapphire say if company colleages all will attend & b punctual since they get to share car there rather than they come from home where many got no car.
2) For my close frens, they all can take leave as my Jie Mei so no worries on that
3) If your hotel package not free flow, chances of u spending on alcohol is lessen.
4) PPle asking couple to drink is lessen hence it will not prolonged whole dinner
5) Lastly, your dinner deal is gonna be cheaper & more perks compared to Weekend.

Hence, I gave in when i hear all these since 2011 packages all very x. And PL is soon to be ready need to cut losses on dinner portion.

Anyone same weekday as me??

Haven confirm yet, once confirm will let u all know
Anyway, Im on seminar at OH just now hence arranged a meet-up with XueLing. She showed me the packages n $39/59 net off perks if sign before next wk. soooo attractive. but i prefer BR 3 cos near to escalator/lift/toilet. But still, I cant convince myself of the same floor 2 events portion
perhaps i haven been paying alot for my wedding yet that's y im still more on feelings rather than $$$.

pinkglove

Siy: u r right, e dinner will def not be prolonged n pple drink much lesser cos pple tend to leave earlier on wkday dinner, some even leave before dessert's served cos there's work e next day..it's def more cost savings too cos e tables are also cheaper plus lesser spendings on alchohols.. i guess there's always advantages and disadvantages to both wkday n wkend weddings, most importantly is both of u r happy with it can liao =)

I think since financially allows, ya, u shld def choose based on ur own feelings. For my case, we truely like OH's ballroom esp n e 2 weddings doesn't bother us as much...we were more concern with stuff like what happens during e dinner like relatively gd food, unblocked views, how many screens etc n it's a blessing that there happen to b good perks n pricing =)

styleinyou

Pinkglove> Ya, that's quite true its all abt ur feelings. I felt OH ballroom not too bad, high ceiling, huge size, pillarless, etc. But only portion is on the same level B/R thingy & the ROM portion, they can't commit on the location provided
pls take note of that.

Another thing is my BF currently work with the M&C grp, but there's 0% discount. In order not to let others mistaken that we got the tables very cheap with more perks, hence I might as well give up the location :p

Btw, you choose BR 1&2 or BR3?

clintomania

Siy: since urs is a weekday wedding, why don't u check out with other hotels if they can provide more perks.. As they don't usually get weekday banquet, some hotels are willin to give more perks and discounts

Actually I feel that u don't have to worry more about the shared receiption area for OH.. The receiption part is only about 15-20 mins before the dinner.. Most importantly is whether u like the feel of the ballroom.. And who knows u may be just the only wedding couple that night since it's a weekday.. :p

zestylion

siy: i was also considering a wkday wedding as well! cos i was tinkin e price for having a fri-sun dinner in a low end 5star hotel, i can have it in a high end 5star on a wkday instead.. then i went to ask my friends n 1 of them just said, 'u budget ah? wan wkday' Zzzzz ...
then e other one said everyone also koe wkday banquet is cheaper,can be up to 20% off so pple's angbao also give accordingly one la... sigh.. hearing these negative comments really put me off..

pinkglove

siy: i agree with clint.. I think u can even wait for wedding shows cos weekday banquets are usually available so can negotiate with more hotels for perks etc before signing or even wait till later cos hotels usually give more discounts nearer to e dates n the ballroom's are still available also.. n ya, i tink prob u might get e whole reception cos not many weddings on a wed night too.

Hmm, for e ROM part, my coordinator said there'll def be a function room for me to solemize evening time.. u mean they can't confirm that?

im with BR3, prefer it too cos pple will see it once they come up from e escalator..

clint: actually urs in aug, i tink there's a high chance of u having e whole reception to urself too!! that's an advantage!

sapphire05

Pinkglove - your wedding banquet is at OH? I thought only CLint's is at OH.. hee..

Hi Siy... my AD is a weekday but hotel take it as weekend...11.11.11 is a Friday.

pinkglove

clint: ya! I tink it's highly likely.. keke..n that'll b great!

sapphire: yup, mine's at OH too .. hehe..
Ya, some hotels take Fri as a wkend, fri's not bad too, sat no need to work, pple will party more...

joyle_t

hi btbs>> actually weekday weddings are fine I think.. BIL's wedding was on a Thurs, gd cos' the road's not so busy in the morning.. They had to go M'sia to pick up SIL.

Sapphire>> like what pinkglove said, think ppl will like Friday weddings cos' ur jms take leave and they have a really long weekend..!

pinkglove

sapphire: don't worry, it sure will be! cos pple always look fwd to fri,I sure do! cos end of work week!

did u mean TW = taiwan? me not going taiwan for my PS, it's Evon
..Hmm.. but Evon should be back soon from her PS I think.. hehe but yes, my PS's coming!!! my bestie just had hers at perth, e photos were awesome! Makes me especially look fwd..

pinkglove

clint: click on the Emoticons at the bottom of the webpage and u'll see them

kass: tks for e edinburgh info,i've booked e rose central hotel. It looks good n e location's superb n it was gd u reminded us abt the cobbled pavement
tks!
tks for e wedding website too.. e nice themes making me tink abt having a formal wedding blog besides my normal wedding blog..haha.. are u planning to have a wedding blog then?

strikingreality

pinkglove >> I am tempted to do a wedding blog becuase it's so pretty!
But all the features are for those who pay for the full package. I am not sure if I wanna pay. :p The website has a damn cute countdown ticker though... It says something along the lines of "Becoming Bridezilla in XXX days".

When are u leaving for Edinburgh?? So excited for you!

sbearie

kass: u dun have to pay jus for the countdown timer. hehe. nowadays there are lots of websites providing free countdown timer and u can actually customise it the way u wan. after which jus paste the HTML code in ur blog can liao! =)

prisci11a

rachel, you got 1 on ur blog hor... hahahah... saw it ....

you all very hardworking.... i am too lazy to do a wedding blog, although it will be a really great project to update everybody on your wedding progress... hee

sbearie

hehe ya i had a simple one in my blog. actually i nv really blog abt everyday events. i jus write things to keep pple updated of my wedding cos i have alot of relatives overseas. so its a good channel to keep them updated! and also for friends who dunno our story, they can also know how we got together etc etc. hehe. will only be updating useful info instead of blogging abt wedding preps which im too lazy for. heheh

strikingreality

Rachel Ong >> No lah, I already have the countdown timer on my own blog. I love it cuz it's so cute and blends with the colour scheme of my blog. It's just the other additional feaures which I like such as the personalised domain, online RSVP, personalised wedding email, upload of things like maps, directions etc which site visitors can download for their use.

pinkglove

Kass: Ya, the layout's really nice n i like e way e ticker sounds..haha.. unique in a way..
Me leaving in exactly a month's time!! Can't wait

clintomania

there's also a application in FB called "The wedding book" whereby u can add your bridal party, guest list, wedding photos.. it can also add a countdown ticker on your FB page..

joy79

Currently looking at various hotel banquet packages and meeting up with the hotel co-ordinators to take a look at the ballrooms. Pls advise what to look out for in choosing the venue and package?

styleinyou

hi gals...actually i got my blog also but seems like it need others to log in before entering...
not sure if that portion can be avoided

http://www.mywedding.com/jackysarah

Anyway, im not so on the ball as compared to some of you...im so lazy
so kind if my HTB will help...TKK :p
I did use the FB wedding book which I find it useful as many of your frens can see directly & imptly my HTB will help to update in FB since its easily access.

pinkglove

Welcome back Evon!!!! How's ur trip?muz have been super fun rite?? managed to Buy e stuff u wanted to buy? Saw ur photos, nice, love some of e artistic shots. Hehe.

Siy & Clint: if I use e application, it means all my frens will koe tat I'm getting married?

pinkglove

Joy: if u r gg to solemize in e same day, remb to ask e coordinator if they provide a venue for that. .
Another impt thing is e no.of tables u r looking for, best to request for e lowest minimum. U can increase if there's a need later on, but can't lower.. But of course e place muz also b able to fill in ur possible max no. Of tables too. ;)

clintomania

Evon: Welcome back! ur photos are reallie lovely! got the vintage feel..

Siy: I tried viewing your blog.. but like what u say needs to register & log in to view.. at least your HTB offers to help.. mine just wait for me to research and show him all the info..

pinkglove: I guess every1 can see that you're getting married.. u don't want your friends to know ah? I'm contemplating to start the FB thingie too as I dun wan certain pple to know abt my wedding..

evon_gladys

pinkglove: the shopping is madness.. go taiwan for honeymoon... or go for ur hens party... whichever, find an excuse to go! :D i ended buying lacy skirts and silly spects for my gals, and bow ties and silly spects for e guys... kinda regret it.. coz i love their tulle / tutu skirts... shld have juz grab 8 for myself and lend my gals...
part of e reason is also coz i went with a girlfriend who will be my jiemei, who commented tat e tutu skirt is too much for her, she wun dare to wear it out again... so i didnt wana waste it.. therefore got the lacey skirt (not so WOW)... :/
but taiwan is AWESOM! :D
oh... bf is actually gg to take e raw copies and edit some.. coz all only got vintage (sepia) kinda look... we wanted some varieties of styles.. heh...

pinkglove

clint: i don't wan all to know cos don't intend to invite all,planning to have only close friends.. so i guess i won't have tat application then..

joyle_t

hi btbs, was looking ard for monogram templates, share with u ladies...
http://www.monogram-designstudio.com/?gclid=COj2weeYtqECFcFR6wodzEGB-w

joy79>> before i went hunting for my dream ballrm, i had a few things which must be fulfilled (such as ballrm ht, pillarless, private reception area, elderly friendly, accessible), which u might have some things in mind as well.. so when u pop down, in addition to what pinkglove said, u most likely will know at one glance whether all fits ur bill..

clintomania

Evon: ur shopping trip sure sounds fun eh..! U're making me looking fwd to my trip.. haha another 25 days to go!! weeee

pinkglove: for me I just don't wan my working colleagues to know.. some of them are on my FB.. as for the rest, I don't mind them knowing.. since some frens I haven't contacted them for ages & they prolly will know I won;t invite them.. haha

pinkglove

Evon: haha.. madness shopping!! I like!! haha.. ya, can go there honeymoon.. I like taiwan!! Lovely shopping & food... Glad u bought the stuff u need.. got overweight or not ur luggage in e end?
so cool u n ur bf can edit ur own photos professionally!

joy: Yup, actually I'm a very rely on 'feel' person.. step into the ballroom n if i've e
'this is it' feel, i'll try to get it..

joyle_t

pinkglove>> yup! that's the word i guess.. "feel".. can't imagine when I saw one of the place online and love it soo soo much, to find out when I really step into it that it feels like a badminton hall..

and I thot it was the one and only place i gg to look at... htb brought everyone along.. =\ hahaha~ so paiseh lah..

seems like many like the 'OH' feel! cos' very grand...

clintomania

Joyle: I used that website b4 to design
my monogram.. But to use the deSign, muz pay for it.. And I feel the designs quite limited.. Better to use Photoshop to design monogram..

joyle_t

clint>> im not gd at designing things.. lol.. so must use idiot proof ways to get some stuff! can share ur monogram?

i actually print screen and then deleted away the lines, so it looks like normal... =X

sapphire05

oh yah... Pinkglove is going to Scotland for her prewedding shots. Heee..

Hi Evon... bet you must have lots of fun in Taipei. I love Taipei aloooottttt... The shopping there is great. Oh, your gf didnt like the tulle tutu skirt?

Im not going to start the wedding thingy on my FB coz alot of colleagues are in my FB but I might not invite them to my wedding dinner. hehee..

pinkglove

j0yle: so funny!! haha... can imagine how paisey isit for ya.. cos some things u just need to see it in person to know... I also need e 'This is The dress' feel before I sign my BS.. haha.. that's why went to so many..

clint: that's very nice!! I wanted to do something like that too but have no idea how to get started..u did everything using photoshop or the website joyle gave?

sapphire: yup, gg paris n scotland..hehe.. but i would love to go taiwan!! Can really shop till drop, not like europe, too exp for me to shop..lolz.

clintomania

pinkglove: I used the website.. but in order to have the rights for the logo, must pay usd$9.90 for it.. which I felt was quite not worth it lar.. after my PS then I will try my hands on photoshop see if can do something nicer..

I left with 25 days and my fiance's shirts still undone.. jia lat!

pinkglove

cint: oh, u meant e present logo is used using the website isit? but u fee that it's not worth it? I also haven't do my fiance's shirts..haha.. he's too tired last week so we didn't do anything.. think this week gotta do liao..have u decided where to make the shirts already?