(2011) 2011 Brides

babymarian

Siy,

Thank you very much for the booking!

See you there tonight

pinkglove

ok! next time we plan earlier in advance and i'll book that date for e gathering .. hehe.. Must be nice to meet up to share about our wedding stuff.. =)

rubbishcow

hey gals!! sorry.. couldn't join yesterday due to the meeting...

pinkglove, think the next time we meet up should be all booked and we can discuss on the venue deco le..

prisci11a

Any opinions on Meritus Mandarin / Orchard hotel / Raffles Town Club?

O ya,

If u all want to get chinese traditional wedding stuff easy, you can try wedding cottage, reccomended by my friend.

Another suggestion was holiday in shopping center in JB, got a shop in the basement and supposed to be really good also

pinkglove

cowcow: i tink no need wait so long la, we can just meet up like what Marian says to shop for wedding stuff, a very legitimate reason to shop! haha..

pinkglove

priscilla, u seen their ballrooms already? Maybe u can go down and take a look at their ballroom to get the feel of e place first? Are u shortlisting hotels which can hold many tables cos from the look of ur choices, it seems like they can take large no. of tables ;)

rubbishcow

prisci11a, MM ballroom is very big and they require at least 40 or 50 tables i think.. unless you are taking about the small ballroom with stairs.. that room is innovative but not practical because i attended wedding dinner there last year and find that the space is very small..

OH is big and pillarless.. i went there for DND before.. RTC, nv been before.. cannot help to comment..

pinkglove, yep yep... next tme we meet up can go shopping.. hehehe... wow.. cant wait for 2011 to approach... this year seemed so slow...

sbearie

prisci11a, i booked my banquet with RTC. their ballroom is huge and pillarless. i am having 30 tables with a huge dancefloor.

their bridal suites are very nice too!!

pinkglove

I'm already thinking of e lists of things we can shop for...lolz..

cowcow, already very fast le leh, finally can tell pple ur wedding's next yr le.. haha.. Last time pple ask me every yr when im getting married n i always smoke them n say 2 yrs.. this yr when they ask again and I said next yr.. all were very surprised... haha..

Anyone thinking of getting cheongsum? I saw this really nice photo of e bride in CS taken in paris, very nice fusion and suddenly I feel like getting one myself! haha..

sbearie

haha. ya i agree with the "next year" thingy.

i also dun like to keep telling pple my wedding is the year after then everyone will like: huh so far??

i like cheongsam too and will be wearing it for tea ceremony. but my gowns are already covered by my BS. so jus hope that by the time i go down to choose, they will still have nice ones i like!

pinkglove

rachel, ur BS loans out cs as well? that's very good! I prob have to tailor make mine if I want.. my fiance's going to faint will he hears this new idea of mine.. haha

clintomania

pinkglove: maybe u can design your EG with the CS collar or use a CS as your EG?
I'm contemplating between a CS or a peranakan kebaya for my tea ceromany..

yar.. whenever I say my wedding is next year.. my friends gets more excited as compared to last year.. heh

anybody knows where I can get nice bridal hair accessories? I need some for my PS in June..

pinkglove

clint, tat's a way to save $, didn't tink of it..maybe i'll discuss w my designer n see wat's his take.. u can check out chomel, i saw some nice hair accessories last wkend..

sbearie

pinkglove: yup i confirmed with them and they say i can choose CS for tea dress instead of Kua.

my bellydance teacher once made this very nice costume with mandarin collar. it was gorgeous!! and she had it made at Chim Culture.

u gals might wanna take a look!

not sure if the link works. but her dress looks like dat:
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/photo.php?pid=1694490&id=618648866

again, im jus showing the madarin collar thingy. not asking u all to make gowns like dat! hehehe

styleinyou

hi pinkglove,

seems we are the same cos my frens told me why my 2 yrs is nvr ending :p

at least u fix urs, while we are still pondering on our AD???

styleinyou

I got a gal fren who customise her own cheong sum, be collecting it this weekend...

Probably, I be able to show u gals some pics from her. She did it over at Katong tailor there & it cost abt $800. Design is something like from Ted Wu lace & detachable train type.

pinkglove

Cos mine earlier den urs Ma,very soon we can discuss our Hm Reno Liao..hehe.. Will b great if u can show us e photos, $800 my fiancé will reali faint, like I've many hidden costs..lol. I have a rough idea for my EG actually,mayb I'll see if I can fuse it w CS...

strikingreality

Siy > Is the Katong Tailor Max Couture? The cheongsum thread also mentioned a tailor in Katong. I am also thinking of tailoring a CS as my teadress as well. My BS told me that his tailor CS will cost between $400-$500 depending on materials.

And thanks for organising the getaway yesterday. Sorry I was v v busy so didnt have a chance to let u know that I cannot make it. Still at work! Sigh.

purplebottle

seems like you girls had fun yesterday! i'm also thinking of tailoring a CS as my tea dress. My mum passed this shop at people's park (the one above the hawker centre) and there's tailoring services available.

Another tailor I read from this forum is someone called Kim? Not sure if she does CS or bridesmaid dresses though. I probably need to find out these things as well!

prisci11a

pinkglove,

Wah!! you really done your research, you can tell just from looking at the places i picked.

i started off expecting 30 table.. but now seem to have ballooned to 40 tables... so i have to look at bigger venues

Rachel,

Who's is your consultant at RTC, you mind to pass me contact.. mb i shoudl start to make appts to see the places

Cowcow,

I sent a mail to MM, seems like my # of tables cannot meet their weekend min - 45 tables...
Went for a DnD there before, food n service was good so that was why i was considering it.
mandarin court looks very scary, dun even want to imagine myself walking down... scared i may trip on my dress... not a nice sight..

rubbishcow

pinkglove, ya... really agree with your next year thingy.. finally next month during CNY i can tell my relatives its next year.. my grandfather had been asking me this question few years ago ever since a cousin of my age got married.. BUAHAHAHA!! this kinda "when are you getting married?" question is one reason i hate CNY... even my uncle started asking "when can i stop giving you ang bao?" last year... *fainted*

prisci11a, if i wasnt wrong, Mandarin Oriental can also hold up to 40 tables.. ther weekend min is 35 tables.. you can try Amara Sanctuary or Grand Copthorne as well.. GCWF weekend require min 40 tables..

pinkglove

ya.. every cny they ask the same thing.. good, u can finally make them stop asking... haha..in fact when I told some that im getting married next yr, the next thing they ask is, wah, real or not... *faintz also* i finally confirmed my AD PG with andrew yst. Hurray! Got him as my PG , yeah.. hehe

rubbishcow

pinkglove, you getting Andrew as your AD PG as well? congrats!!! hehehehe!! you getting VG? I am thinking of Andrew can help me with my solemnization VG for the vows only.. coz i wana include it into my AD highlights but paying like extra for that 10 mins my heart will feel very painful... I am getting Andrew to do my photo montage as well.. hehe...

sbearie

prisci11a: my coordinator is Kelvin Seow. he is one of the senior manager. very nice guy.

he told mi they might have a wedding fair coming up in may, if u can wait until that time maybe can get a better deal. but then again, u will risk having pple booking the venue before u.

rubbishcow

Rachel, is it possibe that prisci11a tent book the venue first and finalize it during the wedding show? this may help in getting the wedding show freebies..

sbearie

hmm. i guess its possible. cos when i booked for my banquet last year, i also block my dates with many hotels. haha!! but if any other couples are also looking at the same date, then u have to place a deposit to secure your booking liao.

pinkglove

clint: ya, can just totally focus on my PS liao.. but i quite enjoy e process when researching, now feelin a bit too free.. haha.. but ok la cos i still need to do a lot of research for my ps..

cow: ya, andrew's doing my AD PG..yeah! Yes, full day VG also..haha.. cos i doing my solemization on e same day so might as well just VG full day.. I koe wat u mean by heartpain just just for tat extra minutes but at e same time, i can also imagine how nice it'll be with the solemization part in the express highlights too! how much more do u have to pay if u wan VG for ur solemization? Then can measure against e cost & benefit..hehe

rubbishcow

pinkglove, i will need to pay $300 more for the VG.. already paying $300 for the PG but i think its worth coz i am useing the PG for the whole Solemn event.. paying for PG food also.. if i take the VG for the whole day, i will have to pay for the food also...

pinkglove

Oh ya.. i haven factor in e food cost yet.. is yours buffet for ROM? if yes, den not great diff to have one more mouth i guess.. if it's me, i tink i'll prob get it, haha cos i would really love e highlights to have my solemization part but not possible since it's on same day.but are they still available for ur ROM date for VG since ur's a hot date?

babymarian

cow cow & pinkglove,
i would like to ask you both...for the absolute moo experience package, do you know the full edit of the DVD will be how long? i wonder will it be like 2 hours...or only 20 minutes long?

rubbishcow

pinkglove, mine is a buffet at Halia.. per adult cost like $77++ fiance yesterday said if i want he will pay lor.. he already think taking Moo is very expensive if i continue to ask him to pay i will feel very heart pain also.. T_T

is ur solemn time very late? if it is not too late and Moo have enough time to do it you canask them to include the solemn in..

Marian, I am not quite sure about the full edit DVD.. maybe you want to ask Andrew?

babymarian

cow cow,
hmmm...he gave quite a vague answer...cause my fiance said he is not happy to pay so much for just 20 minutes of film
i really do hope it will be more than that...hehehe...

rubbishcow

Marian, the package wrote approx 30 mins right? I asked Andrew before.. he said its just an estimation.. does your package comes with the raw version? think the raw one is longer. I saw my colleague's edited verion by Avenue 8 is bout 20 mins.. raw version is very long..

babymarian

cow cow,
hmmm...my package just wrote (full edit)...
nope, doesn't have with a raw version...
may i know if your package comes with a raw version?
when i look at their "videography only" packages, the only raw footages are on the mini DV tapes, not in DVD format...

pinkglove

cowcow: my solemization's like at 6 or 630pm just before my AD.. so I doubt will be in time to add into the express highlights...
Marian, im not very sure about the raw version part, will check with my fiance cos e stuff's with him...