(2011) 2011 Brides

rubbishcow

ok.. andrew had confirmed that we gotta read the "very fine print" protion... the original will be available upon request.. it will be in the tape version..

rubbishcow

aiyah! pinkglove... i missed out your post!

T_T Andrew wasn't flexible enough.. he doesnt wana help me capture the vows for free... anyway he doesnt have available VG for that day already. Now he is recruiting la.. even if there is an available VG he will have to charge me $300 more for it... i think i will borrow my company's VCam and take it myself..

pinkglove

its ok.. u too fast liao...haha.. anyway, i tink u can self capture, den give him this part and ask him to add into ur hightlights! but the person taking the hands must be very stable loz..

babymarian

cow cow,
thank you so much for asking!!
hmmm...$300 for vows only is quite expensive...
can ask one of your friends with very stable hands or a tripod to help you take the video...

pinkglove

ya, if not just put the VC on the tripod facing u n ur fiance, confirm very stable...btw, we need to provide their meals( PG n VG) as well for e AD right?

rubbishcow

Marian, ya... fiance is already thinking that Moo is very exp.. if i ask for more i think it will be too much from me.. hehe.. think i will see if there's any friend with long tripod.. company can only borrow camera.. tripod need to sell.. cannot borrow..

pinkglove, i did not think of the AD stuff.. my manager need to provide them 2 seats.. he said just slot them in 2 empty seats.. they wont eat much..

rubbishcow

pinkglove, my manager said if you don't wana provide also can... coz they don't have time to eat... my colleague who recently did his wedding did not provide coz they dont have time to eat..

i am thinking maybe i will get them packet dinner before the banquet?

babymarian

cow cow & pinkglove,
i think i'll also ask the hotel to prepare refreshments and some fingerfood for them so it's easier for them to eat...

sbearie

actually its not a must to provide food for them and dun think they will expect anything too.

but if we jus wanna be nice, we can prepare some finger food for them like wat Marian say.

rubbishcow

think i will provide for AD ba... 2 packets of rice.. coz they need to walk ard and take pics.. need some source of energy as well..

babymarian

hehehe...yup...it's good to think ahead

prisci11a

Cowcow / rachel,

You mean i can go book my date with the hotels first? i didn't know i could do that... but i haven got my date confirmed, MIL wants to check dates with fortune teller first... by the way, how did you pick your dates?

Pinkglove,

Your blog was the one that gave me the idea about having my wedding at OH de .... the ball room looked really nice in your "video"

Wah, this Andrew must be good since you all like using him..

My BIL is a photographer.. so we waiting for him to offer AD service... hahaha ... fingers cross on that

prisci11a

Just to add,

what my fren did for her PG & VG was got someone to ta pao for them...

But i heard that the PG / VG normally eat before they come.. which is soo early.. and what they really need are some drinks..

pinkglove

oh.. haha.. okie.. that means u would have seen the ballroom photos liao..
I think u need to settle ur dates first den can call e hotel to book tat date, usually u don't need to pay anything unless another couple wants that date den u prob need to make a decision within a few days to decide if u wanna pay e deposit.
haha.. i tink he confirm will offer his service bah..like a wedding gift for u two =)

strikingreality

prisci11a >> You need to have a date to make a tentative booking first. Which means "chope" the date, but don't confirm. If there is someone else looking at the same date as you and want to confirm, the hotel will then call u and ask if u still want the booking.

But yeah, u need to have a date. I suppose if u haven't gotten a date yet, u can anyhow chope a date and then when the time comes, tell the venue that u want to change date. But not much advantage in doing that lah, cuz u are not chope-ing the date u want.

babymarian

cow cow and pinkglove,
Andrew has replied my email and he said that edited raw footages in DVD format will be included in the full edit with no extra charge.

rubbishcow

prisci11a, i got Master Tong from this forum to help me calculate the date and I chose one date out of the dates available. Had placed a tentative booking with Fullerton but because my MIL said she wanted to double confirm if the date is really so good with her own private geomancer so we are holding on. If you already have a date you can place the tent booking first and confirm when your "shi fu" get back..

Marian, did he said it was upon request? he said it was stated in the very fine print... i can only check it out tomorrow when i get to fiance's home..

sbearie

prisci11a: my dad is good with the almanac and have always picked dates for pple. so in this case, he picked my date for mi once i announced news of my engagement.

prisci11a

girls,

thank you for all your help

I went to see Master Tong's rates and htb say so ex... :p

So, i need to go look for a cheaper alternative..
I think maybe check with mum or aunty type if they have any body to reccomend.

Pinkglove,

ya, i saw the ballroom photos for OH as well as the others you included..

u got a useful guide on hotel selection, helpful for me in narrowing doen what i need and want to have

rubbishcow

hmmm marian, let me go and check to confirm... so now ur fiance can take Moo since he can provide the raw footage.. buahahaha!!

prisci11a, i paid $100 for Master Tong service... my MIL is paying $388 for her geomancer..

pinkglove

prisci11a, glad it's helpful =) anyway, i also have an entry on the geomancer i've engaged in Fu Lu Shou, very cheap, $40 only. u may wanna consider. But it offers only e minimum stuff u need for dates. Actually I wanted Master Tong also cos I tink his follow up service quite gd but that day we were already at Fu Lu Shou with my gd fren so we decided to get our dates calculated on e spot asap. haha

babymarian

cow cow,
hehehe...i wish it was that easy to persuade him...now he's driving me crazy by telling me he loves simplemotion...
i'm so scared Andrew will be not be available soon cause he mentioned he has several inquiries for the same date already...and i want to settle my PG&VG asap...

rubbishcow

marian, try talking to him and list out the available choices.. compare everyone.. at least your fiance had his preference... mine is only concern about the $$... as long as it is the cheapest he like.. actually we had a big fight due to the differences..

sbearie

hmm. actually its good to have preference. but i think it is also important to take note of each other's budget too. if ur finace's budget is way too low, i think you might have to adjust and accommodate. try to find something which both of you can accept.

afterall a wedding is about the 2 of you. =)

pinkglove

marian: Yup, when I met andrew, he was saying they're already full for this year.. so if u really want him, u have to come to a conclusion with ur fiance soon.. But do u like simplemotion?

cowcow, but everything turns out great now right, cos he also relented n chose e one u like =) There's bound to be differences when making these big decisions.. =)

prisci11a

pinkglove,

got the address? So cheap, i think htb cannot complain.. hahaha

cowcow,

wah!! like dat become your "dates" very expensive already.. zzz...

OMG!! i got to play catch up...you all nearly done with all the bookings already and i only a BS booked...

Think i will drag htb to start planning n budgeting this weekend ... he is not going to be happy ... hahaha

babymarian

cow cow,
yup, that's what i'm trying to do now...is to write up a table on all the choices we have and compare them...
but in the end your fiance is really nice to go with moomedia

rachel,
yup, i agree...but sometimes it's just really hard to stay on budget...hehehe...need a lot of discipline...we both are not focused at all and keep on looking at more and more photographers and videographers...

pinkglove,
we're meeting samuel from simplemotion tonight...we'll see how it goes

yup, that's why i'm quite scared...we're taking too long to decide

rubbishcow

Marian, don't rush into decision.. take your time..

rachel, ya.. we have budget and preference.. to me the quality is also important given the budget.. all i need to do is convince fiance that it is worth paying the amount..
i believe that he will be convinced when he see the final result..

pinkglove, ya... at least fiance relented and let me chose Moo.. buahahaha!! this is also because i chose to take on his preferred BS than my dream one.. As for fullerton, he was the one who chose it also.. so my only decision though is the most expensive one is enough to make me happy for very very long.. hehehe..

prisci11a, i don't pay for any of those... buahahaha!! fiance will have to pay since his family is the troublesome one... i can easily get the dates free from my uncle..

pinkglove

Prisci11a, I've to go and find..Btw, it's just a shifu occupying a small area in this shop that sells a lot of Buddhist artifacts..not a whole shop dedicated to selecting these stuff.

Marian: But I agree w cowcow that though worried, u still have to allow more time to have a in depth discussion with ur fiance.. For choosing PG / VG, i tink it's much easier as compared to hotels cos it's simply to choose our favourite vendor and see if it's within our budget, if not just go down e list for e next preferred PG / VG..

cowcow: ya,I guess it's give and take here and there.. each of u at least have an area u are happy with =) for me, so far me and my fiance have been on e same frequency regarding quality, our preferences n budget ... We both have like e same bridal shop,hotel, PG / VG, so it's very easy to decide but the difficult part was always managing the budget.. haha..

rubbishcow

pinglove, you are so lucky!! fiance and i don't only have budget concern.. we also have my MIL to take care of.. till date... we still haven't disclose our fullerton booking to her!! Fiance stopped me many times when i intended to tell her.. Maybe he scared she will pester him to show her the ballroom or request to change back to GWP instead..

But hor... now i realised one thing when we are talking about budget... fiance never truely gave me an amount like what he did for the proposal ring lei.. coz the other time when i was chosing my ring he gave me a very direct amount and asked me to search for it.. now he did not even bother to disclose any amount to me.. he will only say yes or no to the quotation..

pinkglove

oh.. then u leave that to ur fiance to disclose to her then lo..haha... for us, we haven disclose we confirm going europe for our PS with his parents too.. haha.. but fullerton's very nice, u tell ur MIL got the nice walk down staircase.. very grand feel..hehe..

Oh, i'm the exact opposite with u in this.. we stated & agree on our budget tgt for everything we need to engage except for the proposal ring! He says that's his gift for me so I shouldn't bother about this and that's the only thing that I dunno e cost.. haha..

sbearie

hmmm. i dun tink ur MIL will be unhappy or what over the hotel selection la. they can give opinions but ultimately the couple will have the final say. my future MIL also give lots of comments and suggestions. but my fiance assured me that he will have the final say so i trust him.

budget wise, i tink i am the one setting budget. cos i heart pain to let him spend so much on this whole wedding. for us, our motto is save as much as possible but at the same time not compromising on quality.

strikingreality

Budget wise, we decided we will split 50-50, so we set a budget both are comfortable with and try to work with it lor. And yeah, like pinkglove, I don't know the total cost of my proposal ring at all as well, since it was his proposal to me!

My problem right now is that my HTB is very laid back, so when I ask him about PG VG, he will say to leave it to him to do the research (Cuz he's WAY pickier about PG VG than I am). Then I just wait, and when I ask how, he will say it's still early, don't rush him...

SIGH..

But if I dun confirm my PG, esp for PS, then I also cannot book the MUA! And I'm sure my BS will ask me the same question as to whether I have booked my PS and I will have no answer for him.

rubbishcow

Kass, Fiance decided to change to Fullerton instead coz he prefer fullerton.. He liked the ballroom more.. our budget is also splitting 50-50 but he don't wana tell me any sum.. He said just go ahead.. Probably he dont want me to worry about budget... at first he intended to pay for all but i suggested to split.. lighten his burden also..

Rachel, for my in-laws they don't only in put comments and suggestions lor.. they will bug fiance until he come and ask me to relent.. so in this case i think fiance was trying to protect both our interest until things are finalized then inform them.. this happened quite a few times when we planned for holidays..

pinkglove, if i tell MIL and SIL there's stairs they will confirm ask me to cancel the tent booking immediately.. They cannot walk up or down stairs... luckily fullerton has a ramp for those in wheelchair.. we will try to persuade them about the ramp after everything is finalized... I cannot buy EM because MIL cannot climb stairs.. so stairs are just like nightmare to her..initially when i saw the stairs my concern was about my grandparents, MIL and SIL also.. luckily the sales told us that there is a ramp... easier for the old people..

sbearie

me also splitting 50/50 with fiance. but actually for us cost is not a big problem cos our wedding banquet will be paid by future FIL as a wedding present.

but we still dun wan to spend too much money. prefer to spend it on honeymoon and our new house.

cow cow: hmmm. i think the relationship with MIL is most difficult to handle. if can, try not to have such negative thoughts about her. will make communication between u and her easier also i feel. =)

clintomania

woah, u girls are so fast.. I still haven't look into so many things.. going to meet Andrew from Moomedia on Sun.. hope to get him but his prices are really steep!

for myself, my fiance is an accountant! so all the budget is done by him.. and he is really picky about cost and prices -_-"'
all I do is to research, show him quotations and other info.. then he will go through it.. i feel like a secretary lor..

same as Kass & pinkglove, my e-ring was the only thing that I wasn't involve and doesn't know the price..

rubbishcow

rachel, i also don't wana have negative thoughts abou her.. when ever i started to think something nice or do something nice to her it just seems like i wasn't appreciated.. very very complicated.. even the SIL will get involve to further irritate me sometimes.. one good example is house hunting.. to get a good house we not only need to like the house.. fiance whole family including his BIL have to like the house lor.. that includes the location.. so now even BTO fiance wont tell his mum..

maybe she is an old woman and is more naggy but sometimes her words can be quite hurtful towards people also.. i am trying to minimise communication with her so we wont have misunderstanding.. kena shoot by her a few times i realised that this is the best way to survive.. buahahahaha!! but fiance is making me tell her everything because he said she like to talk to me.. not sure is it because i wont raise my voice at her and will explain to her many many times until she understand what we are trying to say...

pinkglove

Kass, actually if ur fiance's very picky and particular abt PG / VG, it also narrows down ur options which's easier to make choices.. but these good PG / VG are usually booked quite early in advance too.. u may just wanna remind him that e best gets taken up fast.. maybe that'll spur him up a bit...

haha, but actually im very curious about the price of e ring lo.. I only managed to see the carat size cos it's engraved in e inner part of the ring and fiance doesn't realise this, so he was very surprised when I told him.. haha..

I understand wat u mean regarding MIL issues.. I think it's really not easy to please them.. wah, impatient u is very patient towards ur MIL! Very good leh! Is ur fiance's parents gg to stay with u in future? I mean they can give comments la but shouldn't enforce it though..

rubbishcow

pinkglove, exactly because she is not my mother i have to be even nicer to her! otherwise she will think my mother never bring me up well... FIL passed away few years back.. so only left with MIL.. fiance think it is his responsibility to take care of her and i think so too..

I don't mind staying with her and taking care of her because i saw how good my mum treated my late paternal grandparents also.. so i think it is right that we take care of her.. and she is so old already.. what if the maid ill treat her or she fell down.. this kinda thoughts will come across my mind lor..

Sometimes it is really difficult because she will get jealous.. so have to solve it tactfully lor.. the only problem is that their family don't really communicate openly.. very different from my family.. we show love and concern directly but fiance family is more reserved.. haha! i asked him if he had kissed his mum after he grow up he said "no" wor! that's the most surprising thing i had ever heard in my life because its totally different from mine.. hehehe..

sbearie

i see. understand where u are coming from. sometimes it can be quite frustrating. but still hope u will endure since u are prepared to take care of her. alway remember the elderly are like that can liao.

mi and fiance are lucky that we got a house of our own. but we still intend to stay with his parents after they grow older. i think this is the least we can do for them.

pinkglove

me and my fiance also staying on our own.. My fiance & me prefer some personal space for at least e first few yrs of marriage...prob when they're older we can consider staying tgt with them too..
cowcow: I tink woman gets jealous easily, esp if it's their son.. hehe.. I also have this prob sometimes..for ur case, left only ur MIL, i tink even easier for her to get jealous... gd tat u are solving it tactfully =)

prisci11a

fwah....just an afternoon away soooo much updates...

I think the MIL problem is passed down through "tradition". Last time MIL's MIL pick on her, so now is their turn to come pick on you...

Anyway, no matter how she is htb's mum, you also want him to be nice to your mum, so for me i normally let any remarks roll off ... otherwise, u not happy and mil not happy, the one that gets it is htb....but is fun to lay on the guilt some times... den htb will be nicer to me

Pinkglove,

I think will see if htb want to go over during the weekend to look for the shop w me..

babymarian

for me, i'll be staying with my own parents after i get married...my MIL has been quite nice to me...hopefully will maintain like that after the wedding...hehehe...

my fiance and me went down to see samuel from simplemotion and yang from substance films...both of them are really fun and great! :D

strikingreality

Can I ask where do u guys find the time to go down and visit all the PG/VGs?

We're so busy with work that we can only do our wedding preparation over the weekends...