(2011) 2011 Brides

rubbishcow

hmm.. ok ok.. then should be fine.. coz whenever he go salon cut hair he very scared to get a gentle male hairdresser.. buahahaha!! so you gonna try the gowns again tomorrow? or you had already confirmed to get SIL? thought you going Divine?

pinkglove

same as my fiance! He super scared of these type, like show interest in him lidat.. haha..

I've not confirmed SIL. Ya, I'm going Divine first den SIL tmr.. cos I also like Divine's gowns so my fiance says just go try 1 more BS so tat i can die without regrets, haha.. and also cos my fren wanna go so I just accompany her lo..

tmr im going down SIL to try on gowns again, this time to choose my real gown, if I manage to choose something, then I'll sign lo.. if not gotta wait again till I see something I really like .. haha

purplebottle

cow cow: had some problems with the thread as well so couldn't reply you. anyway, we were deciding between four seasons and GWP but after much consideration, we're going with GWP

clintomania

pinkglove & cowcow: Thanks for the quotes!!!

Kass: I have just sent you an email

zhuzhu: can PM your email?

Hey girls, I just received quote from Gideon Koh.. if you need his rates, can email U..

U girls are tempting me to go gown shopping again.. I didn't do much gown shopping coz when I face with too many choices, I can't make decisions! haha..

strikingreality

Thanks all who have sent me your packages.

purplebottle >> If u have a GWP contact, can u PM to me pls? I have been trying to get hold of the contact who first sent me the packages and to this date, no reply. That email was sent on 28 December, so effectively it is 2 working weeks since I gotten a reply from them.

strikingreality

zhuzhu2 >> Have sent u 2 emails.

I went to Hilltop Restaurant @ Club CSC for a wedding dinner just now. From my understanding, the packages here are around 600-700 per table. The portions are HUGE. Granted, we have 9 girls and 1 guy on the table and there are 3 special meals (Halal or Vegetarian), so effectively we have 7 ppl eating. There is really cold dish, sharkfins, duck, fish, chicken, prawn, scallops, rice, desserts. Quality is decent. I think Hilltop is reasonable and value for money. Good for those who live in the west.

rubbishcow

Pinkglove, i went and really luvs the gowns! Really gotta say that they are quite pricey.. Even if I hadn't get my BS fiancé will sure try his best to dissude me.. Btw the trip was quite fruitful.. Managed to get more ideas on my gown design..

chrissybonbon

hi, im new to the forum.
I have confirmed my dinner banquet on the 6th march at GCW. They have very attractive package.

right now im looking for BS. Anyone has comments on The Aisle? or any to recommend?

Budget is less than $4k

babymarian

Hello Christine

A big warm welcome!

Hello ladies

My fiance and i met up with CK from Coffee & Tea dreamworks this morning. He's a really nice guy and he didn't pressure us to buy any of their packages at all. In fact, he even advised us to look around at other studios to find what we really wanted. The photography by Coffee - their main photographer - was really good! Their videography was good...but i'm looking for more cinematography videos, which is not offered by coffee & tea dreamworks. He did advise that cinematography is quite a new thing and is quite costly

I was thinking maybe I should not be looking for PG & VG from the same studio...but from separate studios...but will that normally cost more? i am also afraid that they are not able to work well together...hehehe

pinkglove

Yeah, I've finally confirmed my BS cos I've found THE gown at SIL.. hehe.. and very gd service too, they'r flexible w adding stuff to my gown without any extra charges. Now, I'm feeling excited abt designing my EG.

I also don't find Divine's service personal, the lady who served me didn't make me feel tat she's sincere. Anyway girls, their OTR packages start from $3288..

cowcow: it's gd to get more ideas, u can now show more skills when drawing our ur gown.. hehe..

Marian, I might get my PG & VG separately as well.. I think as professionals, they usually won't have any prob working tgt, don't worry =)

purplebottle

Marian: I don't think they will not be able to work well together. In fact, they should be quite used to it since some photographers do not offer videography services

pinkglove: congrats on signing up with SIL!!

I've finally decided on my hotel and placed a deposit

strikingreality

Thanks purplebottle!

I really wanna consider GWP as their package seems quite reasonable, and I love the colonial feel, but their service leaves much to be desired at this point. I'll contact Mei Fung then. Hope she doesn't let me down...

Marian > I agree with purplebottle. Some of these PG and VGs prob met each other in previous weddings, so I dun think it'll be an issue.

rubbishcow

catohcat, you've got mail!

purplebottle, congrats on getting your location confirmed! one burden down for you!

pinkglove, congrats on getting your BS! finally after a long search you settled on your favourite!!

purplebottle

cow cow: thanks
I told htb that I enjoy this whole process of preparations and making comparisons among hotels/bs/pg/vg but now that we've settled everything, I have nothing to look forward to!

pinkglove

sent, catohcat.

thanks girls =) purplebottle, I feel kinda same also! I'm only left with AD PG, u mean u've settled ur AD PG n VG as well? well, u can still look fwd to choosing ur gowns and PS!

purplebottle

yup, i've settled the AD PG & VG as well. I'm using 36frames for my PS, AD PG and VG

Heehee, yeah. I guess I'll go buy lots of bridal magazines and get ideas for my WG and EG.

babymarian

pinkglove,
Yay!! Congratulations on getting your dream gown! :D

purplebottle,
Congratulations on getting your dream venue and settling your AD PG & VG!! :D

i met andrew from moomedia today and my fiance was very very impressed by them :D we'll be meeting ichiro films on friday...if my fiance still thinks moomedia is the best...then we'll be going with moomedia! hehehe :D

prisci11a

Been so happening since i last could log in, dunno y i been getting a blank screen last week

Think i missed out alot.... you all are planning so fast...even screening PG/VG already!!

Both sets of parents are thinking that i am really kiasu and dun want to tell me their invite lists yet or the estimated number of tables.. How did you all get your parents to fix up their lists!!

strikingreality

prisci11a >> I have a reason to, because I know I will be v v v busy in 2Q and 3Q, and my parents and in-laws know that, so they were quite cooperative.

You might actually want to have a conservative estimate first, then search for banquet venues that can take above your estimate, so if need to you can add tables later.

Tell ur parents, if they don't tell u, you may not be able to get the good dates for bookings. Should start soon, esp if u are looking at getting married in 1Q2011. If you r looking at 2nd half next year, I think u still can take ur time...

clintomania

pinkglove: congrats on getting ur dream princess gown!

Marian: I'm interested in Moo too but htb thinks that they are too expensive
I'm more interested in their videography and concept MTV.. since both of us have been dating for a long time, thot of making a our love story

pinkglove

thanks Marian, clint & sapphire =) Now it's time for me to look for accessories for my PS!

clint, i also thought of concept mtv initially but me n fiance a bit lazy to act also.. haha. and quite time consuming though I think it'll b a very fun exp! u can slowly psycho ur htb lo .. once in a lifetime.. hehe..

clintomania

pinkglove: yeah me too! now looking around for accessories & shoes.. Im also looking around for silk/artificial flower hand bouquet for me to bring over to SF.. counting down 4.5mths to my PS

pinkglove

oh..let me know if u find nice ones cos my fren also looking to bring artifical flowers for her overseas PS as well.. r u havin e same shoes for all gowns? yesh! 4.5 mths! Time really flies man..

clintomania

yeah, planning to get the same shoe.. if not bringing too many things over liao.. so now I'm trying to find a pair of shoe that can match my 3 gowns..

strikingreality

For overseas PS, why don't u guys get your bouquet from the local florists overseas? I think u will get nicer flowers overseas, different from what u can find in Sg...

clintomania

Kass: I did consider that.. but it cost like USD$150 - $300 for a hand bouquet if I buy in SF.. whereas artificial flowers only cost about $50-100 a bouquet in SG..

pinkglove

i even ask my fren if she wanna diy her bouquet ... for me i don't tink i'm getting any flowers.. the gown's so big, I'll have to carry my train instead of flowers...haha..

strikingreality

purplebottle >> You MTM-ing both? I bought my package OTR, but still thinking whether I should MTM or not... Tempted to, but then who's to say I'll not find something I like OTR?

babymarian

clint,
that would be really sweet and romantic and very touching!

cow cow,
it is a really hard decision to make cause both of them are so good...hehehe...

purplebottle

kass: I bought OTR packakge as well but I think I'm going to MTM both. I was also thinking that I can probably find WG OTR but my friends have been telling me not to because the condition of some dresses may not be good.

pinkglove

purplebottle, maybe u can try to find WG OTR first den check for e condition cos mine's OTR but it's a new piece.. do u have to top up at twp if u are getting a new piece from otr?

strikingreality

I realised it's quite common for ala carte designers to request a top up if u pick a new piece OTR. Emanuel B., for example, charges $300 for a new piece, unless the new piece is recommended by the designer.

Jawn doesn't make new collections. All his pieces are based on MTMs from other brides, so there is no new piece. But he may charge a top up of elaborate OTR pieces.

pinkglove

i recall something along this line when i went TWP last time, if it's a new piece, there might be a need to top up.. At Dang bridal also, so long it's a new piece, though it's OTR, we've to pay mtm prices..

I think maybe SIL is one of e few designer boutiques that doesn't charge any extras for choosing new pieces ...

Kass: I think Jawn strongly prefers brides to MTM right.. the last time I was there, I could sense his strong preference for asking me to MTM though I've made known that I prefer to select something I see..

cow cow: What's this thing about credits by TWP?

rubbishcow

pinkglove, TWP previously had a promo.. they will give your credits for the package you signed. I think f lets say your package is 3k, you have $300 credit for you to add things to your gown or to buy dress from empire. not sure if i remembered the amount for the credit correctly.. its something like that..

styleinyou

omg i had been too busy to come in lately & u gals progress so fast, guess i got to buck up aldy

Anyway, any of u keen to have a meet-up?
Weekday evening either Bugis/City Hall/Orchard.

But guess we need to find a place to cater all of us, hence confirm attendance pls let us know

I be excited to summarise what all others have done & pick up some tips from there. I start the ball rolling first.

Sarah Day 18th ~ 20th Jan -
6:30 - 7pm ok with all locations