(2011/11) Nov 2011 BTB

happylilone: i kinda headache also...because my parents just said probably not enough table...hahaha...but i guess will just let it be lah..cause need to limit them as well...it's my wedding anyway...

hope to enjoy it...now it's taking a back seat already..since settled the important stuffs already....think next year then busy....

Yup.. It's your wedding! Think it alright to just be selfish for once
good lor.. Settle everything already.. I still restaurant hunting.. *sweat*.. But even though tt may be done, I wun relax.. I guess tts my 'pattern'..

Haha.. I'll start doing my own ring pillow, design my bouquets, do my guestbook.. Etc etc..
tts wad happens when I love handicrafts and has a sewing machine lying at hm.. Aiyoh.. Now I sound so auntie..

happylilone: I WISH i have the time to DIY my wedding items. Its not auntie lah... its so nice to customise everything yourself. No need to worry if the end product will turn out as
promised by suppliers..

Enjoy e process all BTBs!

IsA totally agree.
happylilone i'm so envious, if only i can do some of the things myself, i'm terrible with handicraft, cannot even do cross stitch. haha.

IsA: yup.. In a way my job has rather fixed hours and I'm thankful for tt.. FH is super busy so I have to keep myself occupied most of the time..

Btb: it's nice to do something I have to agree.. but it's also vital tt we enjoy ourselves in the process.. For me, maybe it's sewing and designing lor.. Just a different way to enjoy the process bah..

I see a market to teach btbs to customise their wedding items... :p

BTB : I get crossed eyed after cross stich. Hahaha!

happylilone : I'm just like you! HTB's usually busy till we end work. But we're working UK Timings so Usually End around 9 in the evening. After dinner and shower, its already bed time. And mum doesnt let me do close eye contact stuffs cause my degree is coming back after 2 Lasik Ops.

BTW, I'm considering Wedding Matters , Heaven's Gift or Wedding Butler to help out with my prep. Any good/ bad / pros / cons comments?

IsA: I'm still doing cross stitch.. *oops* and I can fill all the walls of my new house with them.. I'm ok though.. Reach hm by 7 4 hrs before I go to bed can do a lot of things.. Me lucky bah..

Nv thot of engaging planner leh.. So I noe nothing abt them.. Only noe xiaxue (the blogger) is using eternally yours..

hihi.. i am also a nov 2011 btb... and i have not done anything yet.. omg...

IsA: is engaging the services from Wedding Matters , Heaven's Gift or Wedding Butler expensive?

happylilone: I used to have 850/950 in Degrees, So it was rather rare case that it was reduced to perfect eyesight after the ops, as per my doc. Which is why mum nags all the time.

I'll check out EY too.
Dora: Welcome here!

So far the quote that came back from Wedding Butler gave me a shock.
Its S$8000.00

=x

Dora: Nope. its Just e Planning Stages. Trust Me, I Had e Same Reaction Like You. Unfortunately I Choked On My Water And Had To Reprint Boss's Emails. Haha.

Anyway I've Already Booked My BS/AD PG..

Happylilone: =) But I Guess Have To Go Back Soon. I Gained 150 In Both Eyes Already. The Op Was Back In 04/ 05.

OMG..!!! 8k juz for planning!!! *pengz* cant imagine when all added up how much would it cost. i tot of engaging wedding planners too as i gt no ideas wat to do..

Dora: I have no ideas, HTB and I are up to our necks with work. Honestly need someone to followup on behalf.. I think better start saving for the WP now. X_x"""

IsA: take good care of your eyes yar? u seemed like u're being crushed by work and buried in papers *in my imagination*

Dora: Welcome! mmm.. most of us will start off not knowing wad to do bah.. well.. if you have the time.. though stressful, going thru planning yourself is not a bad thing. i would say SG Brides helped a lot on where to start. Of cos, the main things are always: Dates, Studio and Banquet. Once all these are done, the rest are details which you may wish to finetune.

happylilone: wow...your good...personalizing everything...i'm also doing cross stitch but kinda stopped for very long already...hahaha...mine is a 6 A3 page and i've done 1 1/2 only....
too lazy to continue...hehehehe...

i also have a few small small one...hehehe...maybe next time will frame them up...

maybe you should try to hurry to find your restaurant or they'll be fully booked soon......

isa: welcome back....so have you finalise your date? hope everything is fine.....

wow.....to engage a WP is really expensive...luckily i've settled most of my stuffs alreadi....

dora: welcome... i think the most important thing to settle is your banquet...once you settled that then you can slowly settle your PG/VG and your BS you can settle during those wedding shows where you'll get better deals...

lilone: there's alot of liaising work to do, so we never have peaceful dinners *imagine trying to chew food and talk to the ang mohs* haha

chloe: hey thanks! and congrats on setling most of your stuffs!
=) This week more time as the uk side are having long easter weekend *phew*
And yea.. a WP is darn exp... But given both our schedules, we have like no other choice.. =(
As I am typing now, I am still at work. And I dont think much vendors would be keen to entertain our calls at this time..

Chloe: yup yup.. Restaurant hunting is done on weekends.. FH only free den.. Been actively searching though.. Yar lor.. Tts why I compile all the packages and email to FH.. And 'for his perusal' :p hope to settle everything before he flies again on 27th..

Personalising oso save $$ mah.. Plus it's an interest.. I'm a quarter thru my ring pillow alr

IsA: Hee... I got no angmohs.. So less talking I guess.. Basically, since I'm the free one btween me and FH.. I virtually bao-ed everything lor.. All sourcing and emails done by me..

I think shouldnt engage wedding planner unless really wanna something that is very far fetched and only the WP can do so with its many sources.

Reason being, actually the planning stage is very fun ... and might be a headache to decide between A or B or C, but then that's the fun of it too. In the end when we as Bride, decided on whichever PG, VG or bridal shop.. We certainly feel happy and a sense of achievement.

Just my 2cents worth.. hee

hey gers, I juz found out from one of my fren, she also engage WP for her wedding last yr.. and her WP only charge her $400+ for services..

isa: wow...busy busy...no wonder need a WP but do try to make time for the planning too...don't want to miss out on this once in a lifetime experience....

happylilone: same here...i'm the free one and for the things we confirmed i think i did all of it except for the PG which was recommended by his manager...other than tt i was the one who compiled everything and pass 2 him aso....hahaha...

i'm sure your ring pillow is gonna be very nice...i got mine from soo kee...hehehe...they throw in for us as well...

so are you going to DIY your wedding invites? or at least your BM invites?? not a creative person and having a headache thinking of how to make the cards....think may end up doing the brother's cards as well...hahaha....

Sapphire n Chloe: yeah yeah! Maybe can moonlight as WPs next time.. Haha..

Chloe: u noe wad? I tried making wedding invites for sale.. Hee... I will be making invites for my ROM.. So when I was siao-ing to do invites for sale.. I bought the embossing equipment and all.. Did a few.. And my fren's guestbook with it.. V happy with the results..

Wow i reli feel that you gal are reli gd manz, can 'du dang yi mian' for me everything i must drag my fh to go just in case ppl bully me cos if onli 1 person then cannot think of so many things mah.
Eventually seem like everything tat we got is still more ex when compare prices with the rest who have the same packages. sob sob Due to this kind of things we oso quarreled but afterwhich i think we kind of noe each other even better bah.
If you leave everything to the WP then wats the fun of it? moreover when can you do this again? even if you do but it is not your wedding and you cannot have the final say le. so i still prefers to do the preps myself bah, some more if so ex then wats the point might as well throw in the the packages and BS they will be happier and might give you better service, wahahaha.

Btb: ok la.. I oso drag my FH down to wherever it requires decision (and transport).. He demands to be there anyway.. Cos he being the businessman has the instinct to ask for better deals.. I just compile list only..

Take a recent episode for example: we met our PG, and FH asked me to confirm him at a discount.. So I emailed him.. And too paiseh to ask for so much discount lor! Cos he already gave us v v good rates, considering I'm a v v amateur PG and his photos are really worth his price..

In the end, I got scolded for not asking for more
but only for a while la.. Since my PG's rates are already v reasonable..

happylilone: wow....that's amazing...no wonder you can DIY everything...hahaha...and you must be very very creative....maybe will just end up buying a ready-made blank card instead...hahaha....

my guestbook i'll be getting from the hotel i suppose...maybe just decorate it later on loh...hahahaha....coz since already in the package i see no point in buying another one....

btb: well...maybe pay more will get better service?? think unless your really busy like Isa or if your really going for ala-carte maybe getting a WP would be better...but i think since going ala-carte might as well do everything yourself already....hehehehe...

Chloe: thanks for the compliment! I'm not super creative la.. After all, how creative can a boring engineer get? It helps to see wads online.. To get some inspiration..

Btw, if u wanna use ready made cards or nice material for invite making, try this brand call mixit.. It's sold at spotlight.. But not cheap.. Bought 5 pieces of paper for $15.. Product can be found online at www.fredhosking.com.au.. There's loads of ideas there too!!

Yar there sure will have conflicts bah,
o ya but rom needs invitation cards??? cos i'm onli thinking of smsing my frens, wahaha. can save up and no need to do all the work.
wow happylilone u r a engineer *surprised* cos to me the impression for engineer is more practical and will not waste time on handicraft. haha i'm wrong, hee....

happylilone: ya...i'm surprised too..thanks for the tips but it's really way way way too ex...hahaha...will get inspirationg from the webby u gave...
thanks...

Sapphire: I have my ideas but sometimes its not easy trying to juggle work and email the vendors at the same time. Cant concentrate on work, made a few mistakes previously. I do understand its really fun and once in a lifetime thingy, so much so I wanted to go for this job before, BUT, I'm kinda paranoid, and really want someone to take care of everything while I enjoy the AD process. Just hope I wont be a bridezilla to my WP. Haha.

Dora: I guess your fren picked the alacarte menu?

Eternally yours got back to me. Price stated below 6k. O_o""
But at least they were more sincere in asking for my specific requests, themes, ideas and stuff. Another WP merely forwarded me their SOP rates, and asked me to call them back.. which I though was pretty "cold" or "un-friendly", considering they are in the service industry..

lilone: I was searching for embossing equipment too!! Which one and where did you get it from?

chloe & Btb : I ain really creative and also HTB is really very concerned about work and we only have weekends for personal time, so alot of stuff he leaves it to me, then if required, he will go down and showcase his haggling skills. I'm also pretty paiseh, but he told me, everything is definately marked up, cos the vendors have to give allowance for "discounts". With the money saved, we can afford to spend more elsewhere..

Like the pkg i had for Japan.. Months later, he suddenly asked me if we're paying too much. Cos we din sign up with other couple, naturally the costs are higher.. Then he was like ... "oh okay.."

Hais.

Btb:
any way oso can bah.. Just tt I'm really set to do as much as I can.. I love wedding stationery! Yup.. Sometimes I wonder if I'm in the wrong line..

Chloe: dun let the $3 per sheet of paper scare u.. The papers are really worth it.. Cos it has a fabric texture.. And a whole A4 sheet can do abt 10 invites cos only for design.. Most of the invites I've done before cost me less den $1 per pc on materials..

hehe ISA its not easy to be a bridezilla.. i watched american channels they r realli horrible!

destroying their cake cos they dun like it.. n demand a new cake on the spot..

i planned my weddin to be held on 111111 at intercon but its taken le..

my nex choice was mandarin oriental but u noe wat?
there was a premium of $5000 nett jus for tt day!

wld u believe? haiz.

IsA: not sure if they took alacarte.. wats the different? i only know apart from PG+VG and BS they did everything.. 6K is still expensive sia... which WP was cold and unfriendly? heavenly gift? I was thinking of getting a WP too cuz my htb is also busy and bo chap.. hahaha...

happylilone: how much time is needed for the diy cards? will it save more if you diy and not taking them from the hotel?

helovesmi : I Know.. I really wanted MO too cos an ex BTB from WL was gushing away over the hotel. But it couldnt accomodate my tables.. =(
Everyone is marking up for the special dates but i think its gonna be more for 12/12/12 since its the last possible day for repetition (no way to have 13/13/13 ma)
so we're still lucky..
Haha!

Dora: not nice for me to broadcast which was the unfriendly WP, but I guess I wont be using them after all..
Believe Ala Carte is like the Ala Carte Dining Menu, you pick and choose the services you require the WP to help you in and they charge for what you "ordered"

Dora: it's a lil crazy to diy your AD cards actually.. Unless u do tt for a living.. Imagine 300+ cards! I would suggest a month in advance depending on design..

Hotel normally give free cards mah.. So in tt case diy will cost more..

IsA: there's 2 kinds of embossing.. Powder or embossing using cutz machine.. I have the powder embossing one.. Which to me is more flexible.. Cos the other one u have to buy the die cut template..

Powder embossing and tools can get from made with love at PS.. The diecut templates and machine from a small shop at orchard central.. Can't rem name..

lilone: I was pretty into the embossing machine. It looks so pretty! Maybe I'll try to do an ROM invite for my guests.. If can squeeze some creative juices out. Haha!
Thanks for the info!

IsA: loved tt too! But it's not v flexible and each template cost $18++ for even the most basic cuts.. The 3D results are really elegant and beautiful.. But yar lor..

Btw did I say orchard central? Sorry.. I meant central Clarke quay one.. Tucked away in a corner..

Dun kill me if I say I gonna diy again :x

I'm thinking of getting nice glass containers from ikea.. Print stickers, tie ribbons... And put tea leaves or cookies in them.. Can do both! Den the guests can swap if they dun like either..

wow happylilone u are so gd with diy now even cookies. haha.
I'm thinking for my rom's favor and my fh says rom no need favor de. but wat do u gals think?

lilone: sounds like a great idea!! i wish i am as arty and have more time on hand..

Btb: ROMs hardly give favours, usually a buffet lunch/ high tea.. But you can choose to be special.

hmm okie, cos for mi it will reli be onli rom then buffet dinner at the hotel itself.
So i'm thinking if i'm the guest then will it be weird. come all the way down just to see the signing and eat dinner a bit funny? then if got gift then maybe better rite? or even weirder?

hmm... happylilone so within your family tree are all diy experts.

Btb: let's just say we are good at different things

IsA: it doesn't take much time.. Say the tea leave favour? The jars can slowly prep.. The leaves just pour in 1 or 2 days before.. Which is rather fast.. Stickers.. Find printers to do it.. They charge abt $30 for 500 depending on number of colours..

btb: i think it ok because your providing buffet for them already..so there's no need to give wedding favours for ROM...how bout AD itself?

happylilone: wow...so envious of you DIYing a lot of stuff for your wedding..then i'm sure it kinda cost a bomb? even for your favours? i'm using the hotel's favours of chocolates...and i think it's the most practical gift because guest can either have it there and then or bring it home....haven't seen their chocolates...hopefully will be those heart shaped kind...hehehe...

Any of you ladies doing your own montage?

Chloe: yar.. I may wan to do it.. But at the end of the day prob no budget.. Hee.. Ok la.. At least got idea.. So if want to do oso know wad to do..

Yup.. I'm doing my own montage.. In a scrapbook layout form.. Which can be done digitally and saved as jpeg for showing.. U gals can try scrapblog if wanna see how it looks, v simple to use and fresh idea for montage!

Yar yar.. So nice right? So IsA, there u have it.. Packaging settled! No time oso can do! I may trade my glass jars for one of these.. And just do a lil touchup