(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

jessiemel

arlo doragal..i have it too..max can cater 12 tables..will go down tomoro to take a look..

had one of our D & D in Megu before..but the food......nothin to shout abt leh..

queenie82

Jessie: I went for wedding show there... Food by K***ton Catering and ya~ not that fantastic... they serve chinese sit down too i think~~~

cherrypudding

hey gals! wah, i mia for 2 days nia and come back to so many updates! good good! lol..

@ jessie - if u're considering restaurants, u can try peony jade. one of my close gf has lots of rave reviews about it.

@ girls who have given their views re staying with in-laws. i'm moving in with my MIL after wedding.. coz my fh is the only son and his mum is quite old already...i didnt mind at first until i hear all the horror stories at bridal forums..
hahha.. hope my mil can be 1 in a thousand type who would treat me like daughter and not give me headache.

anyway, I'm heading US in 3 days!! excited!

kittydora

Jessie: if u wan really good food, i think Grand Shanghai has it. yummy! or u wanna try Singapore Museum. That day my company held a seminar there using Smiling Orchids, its good. I also thinking of using them for my lunch buffet at my mil house on AD.

kittydora

Jessie: btw, u muz find a place that can allow u to increase ur tables in the event ur parents wan to invite more pple. I initially wanted to take Pan Pac orchard max 12 tables, but luckily i din cos my tables expanded! Looking at 18 tables. but think 1 or 2 tables of pple may not turn up as the date gets nearer. it's always this case.
Mandarin Orchard has a small function room near the pool and the check in area. I have the package. If u need i can forward u that.

kittydora

X chua: not all mils are bad. i have a fren whose mil is super nice, wont "force" her to have babies, do all the house work chores. of cos there r bad ones around. most important is ur hubby. if he is reasonable, he wont side anyone. ur hubby wont be a sandwich if he knows how to resolve issues and not run away and hide from issues. Communication is key to understanding as u and mil are from different backgrounds.

sherlynliang

I've had a wedding dinner at MEGU. And my opinion is luckily I didn't shortlist MEGU. Food was really catering food, or some same tze char food. Service staffs are those china peeps and don't know their stuffs. Place isn't beautiful, so I don't see what's the plus point there.

There's also SiChuan Doufu at Park Royal at Beach Road. Not very fantastic layout, but if there's not much choice left, Jessie you might wanna have a look too? :)

To me, my conclusion is, MILs are pain in the ass. Pain but cannot tell her straight off. Very irritating! My MIL don't need me to do housework, I already have a daughter, so everything that could go wrong wasn't there, so I thought that since she's such a nice person (before marriage), and also I am respectful, then why not. But then she proved me wrong, hands down. My husband talk to her about my issues, but she change for like 2 days, then back to normal. I also know it's hard to change overnight, but we say her a zillion times, end up always back to square one! And my issue is always to do with my daughter, so I don't get it why she can't change for the better.

Anyway, enough of MIL rantings, they will never end. I've been through this shit, so I hope none of the BTBs here get all these. :)

jessiemel

Doragal..I love humble house..but it's fully booked..Grrr..

Thanks sherlyn..will check it out..

I always believe in 相è§å¥½ï¼ŒåŒä½éš¾ã€‚I've heard of colleague who is very close to her MIL, and 1 fine day, her MIL took colleague's Si Dian Jin and pawn it off to pay off her debts! My colleague only realized it after she saw the pawn tix. It was a gift from her own mum. She was so upset and till this day, she still hates her. Her MIL is staying with her, and they have not spoken since then. It has been almost 3 yrs. And my colleague dread going home and alwiz finding excuse to stay at her mum's place instead. Sad lah.

melody_fav

Jessie: yap I agree with u on tat.. Ofc we do have responsibility for them as one day we will definitely like them old aged.. Nt saying tat dun stay with them is unfilial.. I do have frens whom had in laws conflicts before n end up also patch things up. So really dun have to worry too much.. Jus do our part as dil lo after wedding as afterall we married in to the family.. Marriage is nt jus 2 of us but both family..

@Jessie: Grand Shanghai is good! I like the place. My friend holds her wedding there and the food is GOOD! It is good for a small scale wedding as there is limited tables.

queenie82

Sherlyn: Really? Luckily i decided to give Megu up coz hubz really hates the pillar~ i like the solomnisation area~

regarding the MIL issue, i think 家家有本难念的ç»~ also depending on how's the relationship btwn hubz and family~ my FMIL quite easy to get along.. plus i influenced her son to be more homely~~ she's quite grateful for that~~~ hubz listen to me more than her also, so i dun foresee a problem with my FPIL~~ In fact, she was the one who encouraged us to move out~

i haven step on her toes, she also haven step on mine~~~i guess PIL's relationship is on a thin fine line~~ anytime can snap de~~ if can i will wan to move out as soon as i get married too~~

jessiemel

aiyo..peony jade (both Keppel and CQ), Grand Shanghai, Noble House, Humble House all full liao..sianz..

i'm quite comfortable with Park Palace..though i've not seen the place..hehehe..will check it out on Sunday...

queenie82

Jessie: apparently, Oct 2011 is a very good mth to get married!~ i received 2 bad news this morning that 2 of my close frens are tying the knot next October!! 2 couples down from my invite list~

confusex

Queen : I m going down to Chinatown this weekend to check out price to TPE n Hotel stay.. If I got better offer I let u know k
I flying over end Apr..

I have this problem to bring up the question abt keeping the Ang bao .. Cos I know usually female relative Ang bao portion is to parent.. But haiz.... We pay all wedding expenses on our own I not sure how to start off to tell my mom abt it.. Haiz...

piggeekgirl

Amy: I'm sure your mum will understand? That time my BIL's ang baos from relatives were all given to my FIL and MIL also. Then after they calculated and noted down everything, they gave the money back to my BIL 'cos he paid for the wedding themselves.

queenie82

Amy: thanks! but i've already booked my hotels alrdy~~ going to do the tix booking today/tomorrow
if u got better deal, dun tell me! =) Lol~ actually i dun like to go travel agency to book~ coz troublesome and i like the flexibility to do myself~~ air tix + hotels in Taiwan and Hongkong adds up to 1350 per pax for 13 days (6 in tpe, 3 in hkg, another 3 days provided by BS)~

for the ang pow part, my mum actually took the initiative to ask me if we are paying all by ourselves (coz initially we din wan a wedding dinner but FPIL wanted)... when i told her that we should be paying out of our own pockets, she told us that they will give us the ang pows collected.... sooo touched loh~ then my hubz say if got surplus we will give them angpow~~

piggeekgirl

Jessie: Actually to my knowledge from what I know from my geomancer, he said the attending of clashing functions affects the attending party and not the inviting party. Which means if it's your wedding, the couple attending your wedding is the one affected.

Personally for me I will be pan tang so no choice. Luckily my best buddies decided to hold it way later than ours so we can attend each other's wedding.

queenie82

Jessie: not the youngsters but more of parents.. like wat kat say, i dun mind them to come for my wedding if they not pantang... but i definitely cannot go for theirs (my FMIL is quite strict on that)

Kat: no choice.. all the 82 doggies are rushing to tie the knot next year coz 2012 dragon year clashes with us doggies~~

pocarisweat

Amy: haha .. u can tell me . dun tell Queenie! lol .. as i am also looking for tw tickets and hotels. . lol ..

Think best to speak to ur mum is when u check with her how many tables she wants for the relatives .. is she wants to keep the angpows, then u can honestly tell her whether how you feel ... own parents mah ... shld understand .. wedding shld be a happy occasion!

piggeekgirl

Queen: Hehehehez. Yah. That's why initially we wanted to hold our AD in 2012 then the geomancer said my hubby born in year of dog so no choice, got to do it next year.

queenie82

Vivi: tsk tsk tsk~~ it's ok lar... i prefer to book online though~ plus i am very very fussy when it comes to overseas hols~ so better to do myself~~ =)

Kat: yup~ and both me and hubz are doggies! i gave him 2 options 2011 or 2013~ his reply: ASAP! lol~ i nearly 'pengsan' hearing his reply

michi

Thanks lovebliss...may be i'll try to diy my ang bao box

X Chua, agree with doragal..nt mil are bad. Actually my mil is considered quite nice & understanding...she does all the house chores...only some superstitious stuff that i need to take note & also to adapt to their way of living

Queen queen, my in-laws also encourage us to move out :D For my side, my parents will need ard 10 tables, which i've informed both side ~ my parent don't mind us giving them an amount as a token, so we'll take bk all the ang bao to pay for the banquet though my mil offers to help us on the banquet bill too

Jessie, heard from the master for my date calculation...eg if we attend a wedding within 3 mths, before & after... the bad luck will go to us..so if our friend who is attending our wedding, the bad luck will goes to them. This is for those who are superstitious or ban dang. For me, i'll have 3-4 weddings to avoid next yr end

melody_fav

michi: u are welcome =).. enjoy the DIY..
ya lo me too, my best friend wedding was nov.. 1 mth away so she cant attend me as her MIL very particular n strict so too bad lo. abit sad but wat to do

pocarisweat

Queenie: ur hubby so sweet .. can't wait for you to marry him .. but 2013 is a really long wait! lol ..

Lovebliss: if our diy cannot make it, we know who to buy from .. sell us cheap cheap okie! hee. .

jessiemel

hello Michelle..my geomancer already taught me how to prevent all the 冲 stuff..so i can attend any functions..unless the other party mind lor..but i'm ok with all these..

anniequeen

Hi Jessie,

Can teach me how to prevent all the 冲 stuff? Cos my sis is getting married 1 mth after me (Her hubby to be is a Malay) so she not tat bothered. But on my side, HTB a bit pan tang la.. As for my parents, they okay with it.

melody_fav

the geomancer told me infact there isnt any 冲 de.. its 冲 to $$$.. cos a couple tat holding a wedding alr spent bomb mah.. so after the wedding, they are like healing their pockets tats y came to have this myth of 冲 to avoid the wedding invitation.. lol.. we heard it also think sound logical..

well sometimes its jus for the good sake to believe than not to rite?

jessiemel

ya lor..å®å¯ä¿¡å…¶æœ‰..

annie: my geomancer ask me to write a 5-word couplet on red piece of paper and paste it on the wall above the main door on all both parents' house and our house before the AD. He said that this will ward whatever zodiac signs that 冲. this is to let relatives and friends who are coming to our house 平平安安. but seriously, i'm not a supersitious person. but why not, if this can give my family a piece of mind?

my 2 cents worth..

michi

Haha looks like diff geomancer, diff people has diff way of saying...and it's really up to individual to believe a not :X

Jim, i attended a sunday wedding lunch at conrad in jul. I did check out the price..it's about $888 nett per table, if i'm not wrong
The wedding lunch was great, luv it!

kittydora

Gals, I'm so excited!! my htb mum wants to meet my mommy. She looks forward to meet my mom. so thrilled to hear that. Hopefully my mom dun gif attitude. i'm thinking of booking a private room in restaurant for the meeting. any gals have ur parents meeting up already? any advice for me? heehee

@Lovebliss and Jessie: Same same! I am also from Master Long... =)
@Doragal: can let us know after your parents meet up? My future MIL and FIL met my parents at my grandpa's wake 2 months back. It is the first time they met up. Not a good one somemore... I do not know how to initiate these type of meeting leh...

melody_fav

doragal: tats gd.. happy for u.. can feel your excitement.. i had mine abt 6 mths ago.. actually the first time that the both side parents meet up during the selection of our flat ( jun 08) but bf was on his oversea detachment)..so kinda awkward cos the absence of my bf. lol..

they came to my hse instead. we just leave the folks to chat lo. my bf's parents's agenda was like to " test water" n see wats my parents' expectations on the wedding style/format etc.. =p

Well nv know that just 3 days after the session, my paternal grandma left us suddenly.. im the last person that chat wif her before the incident. n words already in my mouth, but i tot of my dad wld tell her when he go n visit her the next few days.. but it become my forever regret that i din tell her personally and unable to serve her the tea during my AD =(

melody_fav

Ellen/ Doragal: Its the guys side shd initiate not the gals side lei this is hw i think la.. mayb im still quite old fashion thinking

piggeekgirl

Parents meet-up is a rather interesting thing also. My in-laws met my parents during our solemnization since we had two families seated together in the restaurant, separate from our friends. Hehez. So it was good for them to interact.

michi

My parents & in-laws only met during our ROM & they sat together for dinner at a restaurant...hehe it's rather quiet, everyone just concentrate with the food as dunno what to talk about hehe

Doragal, any reason for meeting up?..to discuss on 'ping jin', customary stuff etc..or a casual meet up to know each other? Meeting in a private room sounds abit formal & serious to me hee..perhaps a little corner in a chinese restaurant with nice ambience?

kittydora

Ellen: I will reveal more after the meet up. Hope both sides parents can have friendly chat.

Lovebliss: ya, it's my htb mommy initiate. but i din expect it to be so soon. it's next wed.

Kat & Michelle: We dun wan our parents to meet during the banquet cos our rom also on AD. Kinda weird that they meet on AD. haha

Michelle: ya my htb mom wan to have a friendly get-to-know each other and discuss pin jin stuff, know my mom's expectation. cos my mom keep saying everything dun need, wan to be simple. htb mom insist of buying the long feng bangles now cos the news say gold price increasing next yr. so she wan to know if my mom ok with that. hehe

michi

Doragal, hehe so sweet & thoughtful of ur fmil
Good to have some discussion earier..so that next year we won't need to rush =)

jellycheese8

Hi doragal! My parents also wan everything simple dun wan to have all the customary things. My htb parent come to my house last month. His parents is eager to come my house for "Ti Qing". Hmm htb parents buy alot of expensive stuffs to
My house such as bird nest abalone n scallops n wine etc (which I dunno they prepare so much thing) Dun worry about anything about the parents meet up they can talk very well!! I think it's better meet up at your house. Becos my parents treat them dinner as a return for the visit!!

altiora

Hey all!
Haven been to this forum for ages... no update ever since I booked my hotel. Is this normal? As in we didn't do anything until now, only book the hotel. Both of us pretty busy so we didn't do much. Now that 2011 is approaching (today is Dec liao..) so I thought maybe should start to consider what to do next.