(2011/06) June 2011 BTB

rinoalyn

Wow, purplebottle that's a lot of fittings! I've only went down 2 times to settle my gowns, and 1 time for my fiance's suit. Final fitting and photoshoot will be in Jan and I've been so busy I hardly have time for my workout and I only have less than 2 months to lose weight. =\

purplebottle

Lyn: Hahaha yes, I realised that I'm going for quite a number of fittings. I've had 2 fittings so far and the gowns aren't exactly fitting yet so I wanted 2 more before my PS in Dec ;)

I curbed my eating but I've been losing weight at the wrong places

rinoalyn

Lol, curbing eating will lose overall weight, but not at the places you want. Should try on a work-out or exercise routine for the target areas. I'm also losing weight as claimed by my colleagues, so starting to worry a little also that my gowns won't fit. Am considering to arrange for a final fitting 1 wk b4 my PS, so there'll be ample time for alteration if necessary.

I guess juz 1 final fitting should be enough, as I doubt I'll lose that much in 1 wk b4 the PS. haha...

purplebottle

yes, unfortunately
i think 1 week before PS is good! mine is slightly more than 2wks before PS. hope i don't put on/lose weight during those 2wks.

hui yun: there will be! just be more mindful of diet ;)

pinkglove

purplebottle: why not u have fittings just 1 week before ur PS?

btw girls, have u all started looking for mua for ur mum / mil?

moon_light81

hi purplebottle,

i'm trying to pick up new sports to get myself moving again. >< 7 more months to go!

hi pinkglove,

i already booked a mua for mum/mil/jiemei.

girl05

Hi ladies, anyone getting married on 11.06.11? I heard it's a bad day to get married.. Didn't ur went to see any master? I abit panic now..

purplebottle

pinkglove: i'm having my trial makeup 2wks before PS because I'll be flying off for a holiday with my family so I'm having my final fitting on the same day as well. I guess I should ask TWP for an additional fitting after I come back from my holiday to make sure my gowns still fit.

i haven't booked a MUA for my mum yet but i'm thinking of getting my MUA to do it for her. Need to check with my MUA when I meet her though. My FMIL has found someone on her own so I don't have to worry about it.

hui yun: i'm sure you can do it! i always tell myself that i need to look good on AD to motivate myself ;P

girl05: we didn't consult any master but just went ahead with a date which is convenient for us. have you booked your hotel? if you're really bothered then perhaps try to see if there's an alternative date?

girl05

Hi purplebottle.. I booked my hotel already.. Actually at first we didn't really care abt the date but I happened to flip the calendar few days ago n saw the bad day written on it.. Haha..

moon_light81

pinkglove: My mua is Xiaoqi (under BS), for mum, mil &amp; jiemei is Jace Ang. I kiasu...haha so booked mua early.

Jace's updated price list as below (from her blog):
1 person makeup and hairstyling: S$120
2 person makeup and hairstyling; S$100 each person
3 or more person makeup and hairstyling: S$90 each person

purplebottle: thanks! will work harder!

modcoaster

Hi huiyun, I'm a may btb n happen to chance upon yr posting. Is it possible for u to pass me yr Mua Jace's contact or her blog? I'm looking for Mua for my pre wedding shoot n finds her rate quite reasonable. Do u happen to know if she charge the same for pre shoot?

moon_light81

hi mo,

she charges differently for ps.
the rate i copy and paste earlier is for normal dinner hairdo.

Bridal Pre-Wedding Shoot Makeup &amp; Hairstyling:

1. One Makeup and Hairstyling: S$350
(*Inclusive of ampoule and fake eyelashes)

2. Change of Hair and Makeup: S$100 per change
(*only applicable on the same day of shoot)

her blog:
http://jaceang.multiply.com/journal/item/12

joaniki

hello all the btb
i'm new in tis site...
i'm BTB in 19/06/11, Sun. Anyone getting married on this day?

Do you all happen to have any good wedding planner to recommend, i am tired of planning my own wedding due to my business work schedule. So far all my wedding related stuff are ala carte because i don like the dresses I have tried at all the bridal houses.

I know I don have much time left.

The only thing that is in the midst of completing is my wedding dress and my wedding cake haha (i am quite doom man) Everything else not done!!
I cannot sit still so I cant do a formal sit down banquet. I want it to be fun, comfortable and not solemn because i like to mingle and eat with my fingers from trays that waitresses/ers are carrying.

Think you all can see why i need a planner to take over this so i can concentrate on work. So help help help! Know any good creative planner, please tell me.

sharonsg

Hi there fellow btb! Newbie btb over here! Not easy to follow all the wedding-based acronyms...

I'm hoping to get married on 23 July 2011. But am currently based overseas so have to do everything via the internet - hail to technology!

Fiance &amp; I will be back in SG for 2 weeks in Dec - hopefully can settle venue, etc...

Anybody has videographer, MUA to recommend?

purplebottle

joanne: hello! i'm sure the hotels can accomodate your requests. just got to check with them

slow: welcome! so i guess you've done all your research and are ready to make all your bookings when you're back ;)

as for VG, you can check with your PG to see if they have such a service?

Your BS should also have a MUA?

moon_light81

hi love_asa,

xiaoqi is doing freelance now, but she still got partner with jwn if the couple request for her to be mua. if you are jwn btb, maybe you can check with your coordinator about it.

pinkglove

joanne: u may wanna check out Vernetta Lopez's wedding planning service called Eternally yours. I've not have friends who engaged them but have seen her service interviewed on bridal magazines =)

slow: it's really not easy planning from overseas..u have not decided on any vendors at all? are u planning to go ala carte or just find a one stop BS? and yup, if u have found ur PG, it'll be gd to find their working partners for VG

joaniki

Thank you Purplebottle and Pinklove. Will check out Vernetta's.

Forgot to mention I am having trouble (or giving myself trouble) because I don want to do it in a hotel. Prepare restaurants that serves Italian cuisine and most of them don have huge capacity. HaizZ... will keep looking! Thanks again!

rinoalyn

been so busy lately with exams, but am finally free to continue with my plans and preparation...and wow, this thread is getting more active... ^^

purple: i think you should change the final fitting to 1 wk b4 yr PS, at least it'll be safer so you don't need last min alterations...

huiyun: got slightly more than 6 months to go...aim to lose 1 kg each month...hehe...i'm also trying to discipline myself so i can lose my tummy by my AD...

joanne: how many guests are you looking at, as most western restaurants tend to be small...

sakurabloom

A few tips for you when you are going to take pre wedding photo shots:

1) Bring a pair of sandal to change so that you can walk around easily especially when you are going to beach area to take photos.
2) Bring wet tissues along to wipe your feet if you need to go ard barefooted.
3) Do not go for facial 2 or 3 days before the photoshot because you won't know if your face will get some sensitive reaction from the facial.
4) If you want to cut your hair, better to do it around 1 or 1+ mths earlier before the shot because in case you are suay and cut into the hairstyle that you don't like then hard to do some image that you want to do during the photoshot. Same goes to the groom too!
5) Don't drink too much water before or during the photo shooting day because you won't want to hold your big wedding gown (maybe with can can) and go to toilet. Is very cumbersome!
6) Can bring your oil blotter also.

This is what I can remember for the moment...hehe..

For Photographer, personally I like Chris Ling but he is very expensive. Edmund Leong also good too. I just like their styles keke.

As for MUA, I recently went to attend my frd's wedding and I saw her makeup not bad. Think she engaged MUA Jophiel. I went to kaypoh to see her works in fb, not bad lor...

moon_light81

just went for photo selection over the wkend and didn't manage to stop myself from topping up ><
got some discounted rate but still heart pain after kenna chop carrot head. ><

purplebottle

moon light: wahh, is that almost double of what you were initially given? hee!

i'll be going to emerald hill, changi and barrage.

rinoalyn

moonlight: woah, that's a lot more...so in total how many did you get?

purple: yr PS is this month right, mux be very excited abt it...I have 1 month to go till my PS and I'm still having problems searching and deciding on places to go for my PS. =(

Yesterday finally finalised our banquet booking with the hotel and placed the deposit after a long long negotiation.

purplebottle

lyn: yup, mine's this month
i had a discussion with my photographer and told him what kind of shots i wanted and he suggested the places. your PG might be able to give you suggestions as well?

congrats on settling your banquet! when's your AD? end of 2011?

rinoalyn

purple: hmm, have yet to met up with our PG yet coz we're busy settling our housing, the banguet and ROM prep.

haha, thanks gal...my AD's on 10th June (psst, we're in the June 2011 BTB thread =P)

purplebottle

oh yes!! wahahaha, silly me!

what are you preparing for ROM? my ROM will be on the same day but I haven't thought about it yet.

rinoalyn

Oh, my ROM will be in March and will be held overseas...so a lot of planning and decisions to be made with the coordinator over there...I'll be doing some dig deco and getting my own bouquet here..so sourcing for a nice bouquet design and centerpieces for the reception...

Will your ROM be in the hotel juz before your banquet or at a different location??

rinoalyn

welcome yvvonne!

hmm, schedule is more of a personal preference...most of us here are planning for the PS in dec/jan as the albums will take at least 4 months to complete, just in time for the wedding dinner in case there are any changes we need to make such as reshooting etc...

It's best to consult yr bridal studio and make arrangments soon so there'll be ample time to get the shoot and album done... ^^

purplebottle

Lyn: oohh, you've lots to prep for your ROM then ;) Mine should be a simple poolside ceremony before the dinner at the hotel.

yvonne: yep, some of us are taking our pre-wedding photos this month that's why we've gotten the gowns ready. Are your gowns OTR? It shouldn't take long for the gowns to be ready if they're OTR.
I know some PGs say that photos can be done 3months before AD

rinoalyn

purple: haha...yes, really a lot due to the exhorbitant prices quoted for the deco...i'll probably just get them to do up the deco for the pavillion, while the other deco should be diy and i'll bring over to get my family to help on that day...

hmm, gd for you...a simple ceremony, less things to prepare and worry about...

oh ya, muz share the places u went to for your PS...i'm having probs searching and deciding on places for my PS... =P

moon_light81

purplebottle/Lyn: Total is 59pcs, heard that usually people will top up more than 30pcs. ><
HTB's colleague top up 40pcs for hers.

I went botanic garden, chruch &amp; barrage, is very impressed with the barrage shot. :D

rinoalyn

wow, that's a lot...hope i can control myself from selecting too many photos...coz i'm having another photoshoot in US, so might be having another album for the shots taken there...

hmm, how're the barrage shots like?

huiya17

Hi all.. I am a BTB 12th June 2011

Banquet: Grand copthone waterfront

Bridal: Rico -A-Mona ( Formerly known as Golden horse awards @ Tampines)

Wedding bands: Soo Kee Jewellry

AD PG+VG: Jimmy from Focal Point Imaging

purplebottle

Lyn: it's good to DIY as well. I don't have the artistic touch so must leave deco to the professionals ;)
I'll be going to emerald hill, changi boardwalk and barrage.

moonlight: i hope i'll get many pretty photos to choose from as well!

btmy: welcome! how's your prep so far?

i went for my final fitting today and i'm glad i'm happy with the gowns. I've been worried for the past few months because the gowns are mtm and my WG wasn't turning out the way i thought it'd be. It still didn't turn out the way I thought but I think it's good enough

Also went for my trial makeup and hairdo and I like my MUA!

huiya17

1. Bridal Wedding gowns
My WG+EG are MTMs and is in the process of making.. will be going for fitting for the final product in 2 weeks time. I'm kind of worried for my gowns coz as mentioned they are MTM..have no idea how it will turn out. *fingers crossed*

2. Bridal Makeup
Have decided on my MUA but not yet fixed a date for my trial makeup. will decide in 2wks time.

3. Bridal Photoshoot
Have not decided no my Photographer and venues for phototaking yet. date not confirmed yet. Most likely looking at end Feb.

I'm left with Wedding car rental and making appointment with solemniser for AD and of course some knitty stuffs..

Did i missed out any other things?

purplebottle

hmmm, you didn't go down for fitting during the process? my gowns are also mtm so i know what you mean about feeling worried about the end product. i went for a fitting each month so i could tell the designer to make changes.

i guess you've covered the major items

rinoalyn

purple: haha, i don't have artistic touch either...but don't have much of a choice as the deco there is really very expensive...so all i can do is try my best...

sounds so exciting! my trial make-up will be in 2 weeks time, hope my MUA is gd as well...wow, mtm gowns, I bet your package is very costly...i thot of having my evening gown mtm as well, but i don't really have an idea how i want my gown to be like...where did you get your designs from?

btmy: welcome welcome! seems like you've settled most of the major preparation for your wedding...

what kinda wedding car are you looking for?

moon_light81

lyn: took evening shot for the barrage, the pg play around with the colour of the sky (htb says pg change the camera setting to get that effect, but i can't remember what was that,not pro with camera ><). I brought balloons and rose petals along as props.

purple: I'm sure you will have many pretty photos too! Initially I thought that mine sure turn out very bad, so I shouldn't be topping up but who know... haha.

Btw, do you gals have any recommendation on mattress? Not too sure which brand to get yet but I quite like Simmons backcare series, so far is the best that I have tested so far.

Next to do list:
1. Start to shortlist names of solemniser to call
2. dresses for jiemeis
3. continue searching for lobang for the pork leg mushroom cans, i think so far ntuc sell the cheapest.

rinoalyn

did you bring normal balloons or hose with helium? i thot of bringing helium balloons, but the helium rental is ex...not too sure if i wanna bring my doggie along for the shoot as well, but might be bringing 1 or 2 of my stuffed toys along...keke...

hmm, i've been using king koil and so far i've no complaints about it...had wanted to use back my bed at our new place, but our parents keep insisting we get a new one... =\

where do you intend to get your dresses for jiemeis? as for the cans, ever tried the neighbourhood convenience stores coz may be cheaper...

huiya17

Purple: i went for fitting twice and tried a couple of gowns. I'm not worried abt my WG.. im kind of worried abt my EG haha

Moon: YES i need dresses for jiemeis and ties for brothers. Pls share ur cheapest lobang for pork leg mushroom cans k.. i need quite a number. How abt ur wedding cakes? i should be getting from bengawan solo.