(2010) 2010 Brides

its no-pay forced leave. 20th march + 3 months ... also, i got an implementation project that i need to run, so i have to be in LA for at least 3 weeks in the june-july period as well. so better not to commit to any jobs first.

only one i have is a very good friends one. that one is slightly less than 3 months. but my wife said its ok. anyway she's the pantang one, not me.

pinklady > the corsages considered half made half bought ... Half bought cos I bought the top part and the ribbon for tying separately, half made cos i just stick the 2 together and become a wrist corsage. Aniwae i bought it at People's Park there.

Darrel, my wedding is in Oct which i think by then u'll be free. Haha... Any more work of yours that i can view?

Eve, which part of people's park. I tot of making mine own as well but not sure where to buy all the accessories.
I agree with xfz that ur WG is very nice.

but i'm a bit confused? there is a ds_gerl in oct brides and there is darrel and geri here?
are they one and the same? but the wedding dates are different. '~'??

val > if only i could ... but then, i think i'll tell my wife to bring her evening dress when we go honeymoon... then can do a shoot there

pink > photos ... mmm the static ones are at http://weddingsbydarrel.com/portfolio.html click on the link [Large] and it will show the slideshow.

the more "recent" ones (before leave) are on the blog. http://weddingsbydarrel.com/blog/tag/weddings
click on the header to drill into the blog post.

considering that i never shoot for so long, sure got discount one :P

val > ermm .. i think not very nice disclose cos he also run his own photography business. he doesn't formally teach me, but i learnt a lot working with him and getting tips from him.

The technical stuff I have to learn myself, but he is the one who says .. "cannot cut here, must look out for that ..."

Val, i can confirm with u that they are different ppl. Cos the DS_gel is a girl and Darrel is a guy. Haha...

Darrel, how do i noe if the photos are purely taken and no effects are added to them. I quite like the way u take the photos but...$$$ haha...
Need to discuss with my htb.

pink > actually every photography (well, maybe except the $300 ones) will do some kind of touchup on their photos... colour correction, sharpening, etc. so its really hard to tell. besides, if you see the photo and like it, it doesn't matter if there are any effects in it. think about the final product, dun have to worry about the process.

anyway, i can tell you straight out that my photos are processed. and its a tedious process. imagine going through hundreds of photos one by one. thats what adds to the cost of the photographer. for every 1 hours spent shooting, i spend about 1 hr processing (but some steps are automated).

Darrel, thanks for the advice. I'm ok with the touch up, colour correction etc. I always find photos that have edited colours like half red half black looks nice. But usually in those package, do they inlcude photo editing?

Wah the thread moves very fast today... weekend mood coming liao haha....

Thomas, nope not US... you guess where la haha... answer can be easily found in the July BTB thread :P

Darrel, yea touching up photos is damn shag~ :S some touch-ups like what you mentioned is okie and common, but the composition, framing and how the PG captures critical moments are something that cannot be changed or touched up --> these are the things i look for in a PG.

pink > i think you should be talking about sepia toning... the photos look brownish and have an aged look. problem is those photos look nice on screen, but not nice on print.

editing for packages, it varies. some will include, some won't. Even the process of editing is different. so end of the day, just look at the final results.

anyway, photography aspects, i can always share my opinion (barring conflict of interests), but its only my own opinion lar... cos everyone's taste is a bit different.

actually you can don't have to search very hard for a photographer you like... but hard to find one that fits your budget. I had problems looking for mine cos my 2 of my photographer friends are going to be my brothers, plus, like everyone else, i'm also on a budget. had to ask another photographer friend to do it for me as a favour, and give him an ang pow that is within my budget.

Alicia > haha nope not HM place... Thomas was trying to guess where my parents are staying now.

Darrel > Upper Segaroon? Hahahahaha that's a good one... i like haha

Oh sepia... At first I thought she meant those desaturated or b/w background with the main characters standing out in a different colour tone.

can you get "staff discount" for AD PG? :P

Ellen, I think i meant those u were saying. Are u in this line as well?

Darrel, are those consider as editing? So i've to check with the PG if they charge for such photos?

hello.... can anyone share with me.. i went to take a peek in harvey norman stores for white goods.. front load washer is so ex as compare to top load.. i know front load washer is better.. but how come so ex? over 1k for 7kg washer.. is this price too pricy? Wat brand is better?
Fridge??? what brand is better?

ave > welcome to electronics shopping =P

front load washing machine, the ones that are almost always recommended is bosch and electrolux.

however, the one i'll be getting is prob Elba. Elba was bought over by fisher & paykel so it comes from the same production line. the lowest end goes for about $500-600 (according to my dad, who went to ask the neighbourhood electronics shop).

fridge, i'm getting a hitachi. i dunno good or not, i look for a 4 tick rating. 335L R-Z451 or something like that. best price i got was $700 incl delivery.

there are a few other brands with 4 ticks around the same price range like panasonic... but the freezer is below. i want the freezer compartment on top one... put below, my nephews+nieces will keep stealing my ice cream

amanda: hi hi! LTNS! been busy?

ellen: zzzzzzzz dun wanna guess lah...u tell me better lah...

ave: the notti one is here today hahaha...front load is always more exp than top cos its better...washes cleaner also. depends on brands as well, some cheaper, some more exp. ur 1k+ for what brand?

btw I bot 6.5kg Samsung, latest model...also front load...$499 only =P

fridge I got panasonic...got it in a bundle price of $999 together with 2 other items (chose printer and vacuum in the end)

I got all from Best Denki last mth when they were having promotion...not sure whether now still have cos I compared prices and they were the cheapest...u go ask see if now still have?

pink > orrrr ... you mean that. that falls into effects/editing liao. have to ask your photographer.

my very personal opinion is... i find it a bit cheesy, and the fact is experienced photographers don't do that anymore. look at the big names in the market... lightedpixels, joho, 39east etc.. they don't do that. The idea of doing that is to bring focus to the subject, and good photographers can do that without using effects.
... again, its my personal opinion lar.. a lot of couples like it, but i make it clear to my couples when i meet them why I don't do it. =)

thomas > i predict the only things in my fridge will be ice-cream, milk, vitagen... so both compartments equally unused...

so the next in the equation is which will get stolen first.

hey chrissy, u back from wedding? LTNS...tot where u MIA to haha

u also engaged him?? thru my lobang or ur own? forgot liao haha...good to hear that, hope he does a good job on my AD also

erm, darrel's freezer compartment is on top, not at the bottom...mine's at the bottom hee

hahaa thomas- i engaged him before u leh for PG ....he really know his job and will tell u what to do etc... my parents are impressed by him too.. what's LTNS.. yup back from wedding it was damn fun!!! hehehe

thomas - opps ok.. same as u then but i got ME :p

Pink > nope me not photographer... but used to be graphic designer so did a lot of photoshop editing... like what Darrel said, those effects are editing.

Darrel > agree with you that good photos dun need a lot of editing~ my PS album also no layout too cos good photos dun need layout... haha.. anyway, think those desaturated editing does gives photos a different feeling...

i like the steal ice cream part haha... Actually i thought it makes sense for freezer to be at the bottom cos cold air sinks.. haha

Thomas > no offense... but i heard Samsung's built is not as solid as those continental brands and hence the cheaper price. Maybe you try out first and let us know hahahaha

chrissy: lol...I see...but he's my VG, not PG hahaha...LTNS = long time no see

congrats on ur smooth wedding!

ellen: none taken haha...of cos, I paid for samsung price I dun expect Bosch quality...but to me its good enough!

Thomas: dun say me notti lah.....

I also want freeze on top.. so 1.5k for washer and fridge shd be enuff hor... i saw this LG washer+dryer...woohooo... 2k!!!

Darrel: ya lor..when i was a child..i also took chair... ahah...

ave: u are notti wat...

if u looking at continental front load brands, I dun think enuff. those I saw easily ard 900-1k for 7kg or 7.5kg.

see lah? u confirmed urself as notti liao, take chair somemore....