(2010) 2010 Brides

ds_gerl > me also from jwn ... i paid abt $100 for 2-ways transport for morning n late afternoon ... plus got ampoule and 1 hr OT ... for JWN, anything before 9am is considered OT at $10/hr ... i din pay extra and ask her to stay for 2nd march-in ..

I can recommend the MUA that did the make-up for my mil, mum n my sis ... den she also did hair-do for my sis's hubby, my brother, my hubby's dad, brother's gf and hubby's sis .. all for $290 ... she did quite a good job ... initially was $70/pax for only my mil, mum and sis ... den end up all wanna be handsome n pretty also ask her do ...

ds_gerl:no I paid $180 for 2nd march in style. MU for others is $80 per pax...do early lor..she start doing both mothers 1st then we went rehearsal while my SIL do the MU then my turn when she finish...
transport n before 9am fee is compulsory de..mine is 4am reach my house n 4pm reach hotel..so v early..overall think I paid $500+

eve, jaq> ohhh... b4 9am is consider late leh... usually is b4 6 or 630am then charge transport & OT de...

think i better ask again and make sure mine charge me for $150nett

eve> can gv me the MUA's contact?
she's wonder woman leh... can do for 8pax and is charging very cheap only lor...

Thomas: Both our parents also not in SG, so not really "ru zhui" lor haha. Anyway, even if "ru zhui" also no big deal... it's more about practicality :P

Eve: your MUA really super! Can do for so many pple!

ellen: oic...both ur parents staying overseas? then that's good, can have some privacy haha

val: so long no see, MIA?

my BS MUA charges OT if u ask her to reach yr place before 6.30am

Morning everyone...

Eve, i dun get to see ur photos in ur FB. Anyway, i've added u. Thanks.

Jaq, can i have the details of ur PG & VG? I dun wan to spend too much but i wan the photos to be nice and unique. The $1200 package is cheap but their work is very simple. Simple till i think i can do it myself. Haha... Just kidding.
OR do i've to pay more to get nicer work?

DS_Gerl / blueystar / valerie / randyce > i PM u all the contacts tonite cos I forgot to bring my phone out today ... Basically the breakdown of the cost as follows:
Mum / Mil / Sis - make-up + hairdo : $210 ($70 each)
Sil / Bro's gf (hair-do): $70 ($35 each)
Bil / bro / fil (hair-do): $15 ($5 each)
Transport + eyelashes inclusive
Eventually she round off to $290 loh .. And she also FOC help me spray more glitters on my hair cos I did my make-up quite early ..

Overall I think is very value for money and we gonna engage her again for my sis wedding in Oct this yr.

Pinklady > added u in facebook le.

All > check out my actual day fotos and give me some comments k. Hehe

thomas > i signed up my pg + vg in end 08 for only $1288 (add $200 for highlights) I think not bad ... of cos definitely not those journalist style which will cost a bomb ..

Hi ALL!!!

Thomas - I also have to tied ribbons to my wedding invites... tie so many until I expert liao haha... already sent out some of my invites and distribute to my colleagues... since my wedding date is on te 15th of CNY, seems like quite a handful cant make it.. I think my guest list is falling below the required 35 tables... duno wat to do...

My MUA also charge me OT fee to come before 7am... i nv ask her to stay for 2nd march-in cos dun wana spend extra $$...

xfz: ur GDL done? I have to wait for my GDL to be over then only can send out

yeah usually ppl take long leave for CNY, esp those msians. if u fall below the min required, u will have to pay for those empty ones also lor, no choice.

my wife also not intending to ask her MUA to stay for 2nd march-in, she told me no point wasting that $$$ cos ppl not going to notice her hairdo too.

Thomas > actually wad attracted me to Simon Video is their morning express highlights .. very funny and well co-ordinated ... All my guests gave thumbs up for my highlights .. Their photos is ok la ...

mooooooooorning all =)

quick question. if the makeup artist need to do so many people, what time does the MIL, sister, etc etc need to reach ?

pink > actually, don't equate costs and quality. there are always newcomers to the market that are good, but cos of the lack of experience, they can't charge too high. end of the day, depend on what you want in your photos.

lemme ramble on a bit, since i'm bored :P

here are some of the things that I would look for in a photographer (minus experience).
1) getting the technical parts right. Exposure, sharpness. no handshake.
2) getting the "standard" critical photos. Family portraits, tea ceremony with parents.
3) getting the non-standard critical photos. (e.g. parents entertaining guests, siblings, etc in non-posed photos)
4) knowledge of customs. Know what is happening, what will happen, and able to advice the couple on what they need to do. Having the knowledge of customs also allows the photographer to anticipate what will happen next and put him in a good place to take the photo.
5) going with the flow. some photographers do pose the couple to get the shots, some don't. some couples are fine with it, some are not. I'm the type who doesn't like posey shots (except group photos). I'd rather go for a photographer that captures things as the happen.
6) capturing the atmosphere. not all the photos need to revolve around the couple. getting the mood, guests mingling, laughing, candids.
7) Getting the details. Rings, deco, invites, menu, table setting, the shoes you wear, the details on the gown.

the list goes on... but i need a long time to write :P

haven't been shooting for a while so i think a lot of these i also forget liao.
its easy to write, but difficult to actually achieve when doing the actual shooting.

xfz > i also have the problem with guests falling below the required tables... cos i just see the relative list my dad wrote, and i anticipate quite a few won't attend. now digging out all my contacts. to try to push my table count higher first.

spent yesterday writing out my invites. It actually took longer than i thought. cos need to write on the card and envelopes (in my ugly handwriting), then fold the insert, slot into the card and trim the ribbons. :S

pink: need chemistry with PG n VG also prior to 1st meet up n on that day...definitely u pay more for quality...I wanted substance films for my VG n CLing for my PG..but way way beyond budget n after wedding, all these will be in the tv console cabinet else storeroom..so I think better spend the $$ to reno or go honeymoon lor..hahaha

pm u the details liaoz.

thomas > actually the term "journalistic style" very vague ... and plus perspective of a photographer very different. my shifu who guide me on wedding photography said that the term is just something that wedding studios cooked up to jack up their photography prices. =P

the best definition of journalistic photography i came across is "one photo, two (or more) stories". The common motto we go for is "every photo should tell a story". Even so, at best, i can achieve "1 photo, 1 story" in about 30-40% of the photos only. I don't consider group photos, posed photos. Those are what we call the technical shots, and the bread and butter of the photographer. considered as the minimum skill level required for a wedding photographer.

long story short... my benchmark quite high, so
1) very hard for me to pick a photographer that i can afford
2) i dun really like to comment on other people's photos

:P

Thomas - MY GDL not yet over, will be on 10 Feb... but both side parentssay ok to give before GDL plus my wedding at end Feb so its high time to send out...

Darrel - Me also trying to push my guest count higher but very tough lor cos I dun feel like inviting some peeps just for the purpose of inviting... As for MU, you need to see in total how many pax... if more then 4 likely MUS has to ask anoth MUA to come in otherwise she hav to start MU very early... I got 5 sisters and my mum who need MU, including myself will be 6 so MY MUA is calling in another MUA to help and the first slot will start latest 3.30pm becos some of the sisters have to meet up with my banquet manager for briefing at 5pm... FYI, MU + Hairdo for 1 pax is ard 45 mins...

jaq > actually photo and video, dun need chemistry one lar. i think that requirement a bit overrated. if both are experienced enough, they will know how to siam each other. =P

Hi Darrel, Thanks for the advice. I agree with wat u said and tats wat i'm looking for as well. But how do i see all these in the photographer's work? Cos i believe they'll definitely show photos that are nicely taken. Guidance pls... Hee...

darrel:I meet up with a few but damn 'dead' 1 lor..u ask question then they talk..else is silence..then juz show u pic in lappie not hardcopy..then some like juz wan ur $$, discuss charges 1st..duhz

sometimes also heng suay hahahaah there is a risk~

DS_Gerl> my sis getting married on 10 Oct.

Darrel > actually more time is spent on the ladies. Guys very fast de. Less than 10mins can create the wow effect le ...

Darrel, any qn, do u think its necessary to find PG and VG from the same studio? Will they work better in this way? Cos i've seen some PG that are very good but they do not include VG. Wat is ur advise?

xfz: oic...if both sides parents are ok then no prob. mine I have to give out after GDL only

darrel: ur benchmark high bcos u are a PG urself mah hahahahahhaa...somemore friends with CL also leh, dun pray pray =P

pink: imho not necessary must be from the same studio then they can work well. like what darrel mentioned, if they are experienced enuff, they will know what to do

fyi mine's not from the same studio hahaha

Haha Darrel, sure your requirement will be higher...
For the criteria you listed, sure almost everyone wants a PG like that but most likely will be expensive :S

Agree with you on the chemistry between PG/VG... it boils down to their experience... they will know where to stand one.

Yeap price and quality don't necessarily equate, but i guess when engaging a cheaper PG/VG, we need to adjust our expectation - e.g. do not expect a $2k quality from a $1k PG.

Thomas, yea both sets of parents not in SG... have been enjoying this freedom for years until now i not used to staying at home with parents LOL

ellen: well said! they migrated long time ago? wow u must be very independent all along

pink: we met up with them first to see their works before we decided.

yea if the PG/VG are experienced should be okie de... They also won't be so stupid to stand in each other's way... haha

But sometimes hor, also difficult to siam if there are too many friends trying to take photos... In my friend's wedding, the couple has so many enthusiastic friends that came with full photography gear etc... end up having some 5 or 6 pple taking photos and 2 pple taking video... end result was during solemnisation, the guests can't see the couple properly cos all blocked by photographers hahaha~

pink: think u gotta work based on trust =) if u dun trust them, no point asking them out to view their portfolios. my 2 cents

Thomas > no they did not migrate overseas... we "migrate" to SG lor LOL

pink_lady > i guess it's quite easy to compare the technical part for a PG/VG. It's more about whether you like the style of the PG/VG. You can have 2 equally good PGs but with very different styles. Look through their works and see which type you like, for e.g.: funny/ serious/nostalgic...

i think nowadays, hard to find photographers who show hardcopy any more... even i don't show hardcopies, except for 1 sample album. hee..

pink > when looking for a photographer, look out for the following things
- how they show u the photos. is it a slideshow ? a folder of photos ? how many photos ?
- are the photos from the same wedding ? (mixing shots from different weddings, minus 100 points).
- see at least photos from 3 different weddings. each wedding should have at least 80-100 selected photos. look out for photos that you like in the presentation. how many are there ? usually the photographers already pick their favourites, then when you see his favourites, and you don't see any, then fail liao.
- in the presentation, how many of the shown photos are posed photos ? how many are details ? how many are candids ?

things to ask
- how long they have been shooting ? when was the last wedding they shot?
- what is their shooting style ? (most people will say "journalistic")
- ask them to define "journalistic". different people will have different ideas of what the word means.
- ask about their equipment. most photographers will hate this question though. but what you want to know is what camera he uses, and if he brings along a backup. Given the costs of camera these days, I wouldn't trust my wedding to a photographer that uses a entry-level camera. not that using pro-camera photographers produce fantastic works, but it tell us how committed the photographer is to his job.
- ask about the flow of events on that day. where he will start shooting, what time he will start.

takes very long for me to write these posts :P

one couple more things i look out for
- in the photos, do you see the videographer, or the 2nd photographer (if any).
- how is the payment structure ? don't pay more than 20% deposit unless the person has a registered company. ask for an invoice.

normally I've shot weddings with videographers that I've never ever met before. When I show them the courtesy of not getting into their frames, or telling them where i'll be standing, they usually will look out for me as well (e.g. not walk across my shots). Thats the professional courtesy that we show each other. so chemistry between the photo and video should be the least of your concerns.

anyway, i think ellen is right also, have to see what style you like. but the base requirement should still be technical part. if technical fail, dun bother, if technical pass liao, the compare styles.

thomas > thanks for the advertising =P

now I'm still "on leave", cannot take wedding photos until July. thats why can say so many things about photography. If i'm still taking jobs, i won't say so much one. :P