(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

Michelle> I have purchased mine from Poh Heng. You can go Soo Kee or Love Co if not wrong which is located at Raffles City Shopping Centre, near to taxi stand. Most impt, ur budget and ideal design that you want before purchase. =)

Mrs Chua> I have added you in FB~~

i tok to him many times, even threaten once, n still the same. anw lets not bore u all n go further into tis issue.. it will juz make things worse if i keep dwelling. thanks gals~

michelle> wedding bands r personal. choose something both of u like because it is a lifetime thing. soo kee, citigems, etc. got some nice designs. if u have the budget, u can try tiffany too. shop ard n see wadz best for u n ur htb.

Mrs Chua: hahaha... good that you have nice HB... I rather mine not contribute too much lah.. he always wind up suggesting some nonsensical stuff like DIY pre wedding shoot and actual day video.. its kind of scary...

EL: Dont think about it too much... just go with the flow bah... maybe if he see u enjoying the process so much, he will want to get involved!

Michelle: My wedding bands are made of stainless steel. We got them from Fjord Steel Expressions. We both like the pair and to us, its just a ring bah... what matters is the life after the marriage.

EL... It's okie de
This is a place not only for us to share our tips, but also for us to share our problems
From time to time we will get frustrated with different problems, I'm sure all of us will get upset at one point or another. It must've been difficult for you... Add oil~ Hope your HTB will help you more soon

Mrs Chua, good la you no need to worry about printing then
As for AD stuff... Actually I'm looking for a budget AD package (i.e WG, MUA etc) and this website's packages seem quite affordable le... I think I will go down some time next month ba~ Haven't called them up though haha.

btw, added you on FB liao~

Blur_btb > The printing price I mentioned earlier is for T&T. Erm as for layout... I am only going for PS next year, and I'm not going to have any layout done by BS (I think I can do better by myself hahaha).

For layout, most importantly is you must like the design and overall feel of the album. The BS can do a world-class layout but if you don't like their style, it's still useless... Maybe you can tell them your preferred style and see if they can accommodate your request.

Yes by this stage the photos should be edited liao. You may want to check for some flaws that you couldn't spot during photo selection. e.g. got one person pass by in background ah... one eye big one eye small ah... shirt not tugged in properly ah etc. You can ask them to edit away the flaws, but if they are too major, you may have to change to another photo... Some nego might be necessary depending on BS. You can also check with your BS on how many times can you review and change the layout before confirmation.

Sounds like my HTB... He will suggest really weird stuff... like... He ever suggested to do pre-wedding shots in costumes from 4 ethnic groups with some very oh-biang background... Faint...

Michelle > I haven't looked at wedding bands yet... Waiting for sales!
actually, so long as you like the design and it meets your budget, any reputable jewelers will be just fine... I do heard before that don't get jewelery from T*k*, but I don't have details on why.

If you girls willing to pay more, can go and customise wedding bands. Initially I want to do so, but my HTB not willing to spend too much on wedding bands. So abit wasted after all my research on customization of rings.

Ching Ching.. added u too

EL.. we are ok to be ur listening ears anytime.. so if u have anything u wan to say it out. Do share, dun keep to urself. We undergoing the same process now, so will understand ur situation better
maybe for now, step back & relax awhile b4 u continue with ur planning. who know maybe in that way, ur guy see u seem to relax & heck care of wedding preparation den he might ask u.. how come u not doing anything? perhaps ur ans to him is, seems u nt bother, y shld I? lols... teach the guy a lesson haha

blur_btb.. ya, I'm glad he is willing to contribute & help.

Ytd after u all say abt assigning guys some work to do, I suddenly rem my hubby still owe me something. He was suppose to write out the storyline for our cartoon animation. I know he got the idea on how he wan the animation to be liao but jus duno how to type it out in words.. so I tell him, tonight type it out.. haha.. but of cos la, he will say his ideas out den I do the typing haha... I was telling him, it seems writing a compo, seems like back to school time
so guess I will have to spend the next few days typing out the storyline to make it flowing... next is to find songs to go with the cartoon animation & video highlight. any suggestion girls??

Ellen... ok ok, will add u later when I go in FB.
oh ya, do update me how ur experience with them... so far those comments I heard is good so dun think there is any prob ba
ya, their packages prices are affordable.. so is good for budget brides like us

u mentioned u wont be getting any album layout from BS, how come? u onli arrange for PS with them? den photos they jus give u raw is it???

wow.. ur HTB realli can suggest weird stuff... but guess he wan it to be different from others ba.. *wink*

Ellen: Thanks much for your advice. Seriously I wonder how much editing they can do. I only told them that i din want fat arms to be seen... hahaha...and ask them not to use too airy fairy kind of patterns like clouds, stars etc.. just to keep things as simple as possible...

I shall look out for it then... but they say should be able to collect album by Jan.. I think thats like super efficient.

I sick of the HB making funi suggestions liao, so to make things more efficent, I am the research person and he just have to view a few of my final choices.. that makes things faster also.

Mrs Chua: hahah... thats nice, you have animation too.. i havent tot of the flow for the actual day.. just settling the big things for now... i was just trying to get a credit card to sign my banquet deposit but the bank is like killing me with the number of requirements in terms of documentations... arghhhhh

Whos is doing your animation? I just confirmed PG and now looking for VG... Meeting Ideal Productions tonight.

So exciting... we are all progressing well!

Mrs Chua, i took my PS package from HK... It has everything I need (hard & soft copies, big + small albums, big portrait etc), just that for the album, there won't be any layout. It'll simply display one photo on one page... I prefer this... I'd rather use the money for layout to buy more soft copies haha.

My HTB hor... he will first ask me what are the pending items, then he'll write me a to-do list and ask me to complete all the tasks lor... he still "contributes" but i still end up doing most of the things haha

Ching Ching, my friend went to "customise" their wedding bands... They saw a design from an expensive brand that they like, then they just asked the goldsmith to copy... You can say that they save money in the end cos it's definitely cheaper than getting the real branded one hahaha.

Blur_btb, with Photoshop, a lot of things are possible
some common things they do are removing eye bags, pimples, messy hair, and extra flesh on arms... Haha... btw when did you have your PS? By the time you collected your album, we still haven't gone for our PS yet... LOL

blur_btb... we are getting C&T for our cartoon animation, PG & VG. All in 1... save the trouble of coordinating all together.. we prefer this kind of 1 stop service.
I have not realli think of the flow but somehow it shld be.. photo montage - 1st march in - morning video highlights - 2nd march in - cartoon animation - yam seng & table to table photo taking... anything I left out?

I oso wan to get my credit card.. but hor.. haven have the time to do it.. btw, what are the documents they need?

Ellen.. u mean they will give u all the pics after editing but jus no artwork layout?

from what I see hor.. guys realli can tok, but when it comes to work is still we, girls who do it... my hubby oso like this ah.. but in some way, I think we shld feel happy that at least they do contribute right? not like those who simply dun bother.. I have come across some pple from this forum too complaining that their htb simply dun bother... & to them, everything ok la... realli duno what they wan..

Mrs Chua> Thanks for adding~ ;)

Hmm... just a suggestion. Why not put animation for your first march in to intro how u and ur hubby met till together, then 2nd march in for video highlights showing morning gate crash n etc? =p

Blur BTB> Same here.. I doing the research, final review and endorsement is my HTB. But one thing abt him is he want to involve the final decision and must be agree between the two of us. If I make decision myself, he will bit angry as wedding is between the two of us. Well, sometimes really hard to understand guys. LOL

Ellen> So u intend to do ur own layout and print another album in Singapore? My sister's hubby also do that for her ROM pics at fotohub ==> http://www.fotohub.com/fotoWebPortal/fotoHubPortalV1.portal

Must download their software to do the editing an layout before send for printing.

Ching Ching... but what abt my photo montage? u mean put together with the animation? I scare it will be too long leh, I received feedbacks from my manager that she went for a wedding, the photo montage abt 6-8min b4 the couple's 1st march & food to be served..

She even heard some guests complaining that montage do so nice for what, so long & draggy.. see liao oso sianz.. the guests even commented that if to play the montage while they are eating, that is a better idea at least they can eat while enjoying the montage.. nt too boring...

So based on this, we came up with the following conclusion....
guests were already too hungry -> food can only be served after montage & couple's 1st march in. so if montage is too long & draggy, guests will complain more.. even if montage do very nice, guests dun appreciate so it seems a waste of ur efforts...

as long as guests can get to eat, they dun mind watching anything.. jus dun hold them eating cos by 8pm, they already hungry... haha

Haha gals let me clarify... My PS package includes one big album, which doesn't have artwork layout, just simply putting one photo per page. I don't mind cos I don't really like those BS layout too. The photos will be touched up. I'll get 33 soft copies, 19 of these will be going into the album.

Ching Ching, thanks for the link
but i think *if* i ever want to print another album, i will do my own layout instead of using their software so i can have it the way i want... and may print in home town cos cheaper. but hor actually i think i will be too lazy to print another album again LOL... See how la

Mrs Chua, how about just show the animation for 1st march in? if the montage is too long pple will just zzz.... and actually almost all montages look the same, can be quite boring...

btw came across this very funny wedding video... sure the guests were very entertained :P

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zLCy0wKH-zo

Ellen... my friend is doing for me the montage le.. so cannot dun play.. anyway, our montage & animation very short one.. even the video highlights oso very short... we wanted animation to give something special to our guests...

Mrs Chua>Maybe u can play the photo montage during the waiting time when all the guests are sitting and waiting for your first march in? I think the guests will not be bored while waiting for the wedding dinner to start. That's what my relatives did often for their dinner, not bad.

Ellen> Where's ur hometown?? Oh, for that software need to be use due to the printing format that they need for their production. Haha.. anyway, u got the big album, so the making of another album will be redundant.. lol

Yesterday I read the style magazine. It mentioned that advisable to do facial and tonning of body at least 6mths in advance. Which means we only left 2 months to slack. Gosh~~

Mrs Chua > oops if it's done by friend then no choice liao you've gotta play the montage haha... i think Ching Ching's suggestion is good le, you can consider

Ching Ching > Oh my home town is HK... Ya lor got big album liao think i'll be too lazy to make another one LOL... Anyway, by the time we collect our photos, we are probably very busy with other wedding preparation stuff haha

yea actually facial and exercising should be consistent one... but dun really feel like spending anymore on facial package le
sighz.

btw, anyone ever thought of not having photo montage at all?

Ellen> HK~~ my favourtie country to go shopping~ I am thinking of going during next year March, is it advisable to go during that month? As previously i went during end of april, keep raining, so bit sian.

Ya lo...but I super duper lazy de. I dun feel like spending, but no choice if wanna be a pretty bride. Haiz.. money money money... please drop some from the sky for me~~

I dun want photo montage, but my hubby wants it.Anyway it is included in our PG package, so will decide again later. We are now negotiating with my PG for the pre-wedding videography. So if successful, we will play that during 1st march in, then photo express highlight (morning) for the 2nd march in. Hehe~~

Will check with hubby how he wan it.. cos I leave this to him... hehe..

hmm.. facial ah.. recently I saw some promo from cosl@b.. wondering is it good.. anyone tried b4??

ladies.. hubby & me thinking of changing our banquet venue.. after seeing the banquet & gathering of advices/feedback from family & friends.. it seems their contract too rigid.. haizz...

Ellen.. the contract details too rigid liao..

alot of friends told me their hotel no restrict the timing for the free flow of drinks..

NO additional fee to pay if staff have to work after 11pm..

the package we taking is exp... cos with the same pricing, we can get a better place with better perks..

I jus called up OCC.. our very 1st choice (did not take them as their minimum is 40 tables, initially we thought we dun have so many tables, cannot meet their minimum but now, hubby say can meet their minimum... haizz.. I called OCC up, they told me 3rd July 2010 already taken up.. haizz.. but 2nd July 2010 still available.. wonder if we wan to change our wedding date to 2nd July...)

Ching Ching.. got trial session??? when? if got, I wan to go...

ya, contract terms abit nt to our advantage.. will try to nego with them again..

OCC = Orchid Country Club @ Orchid Club Road (@ Yishun...) budget ard $700. now table is $500-$600

Ching Ching > Aiyah just now forgot to reply. March in HK will start raining de... kinda similar to Apr's weather... I also dun like
maybe that's why it's normally cheaper to go during Mar/Apr?? and should be a bit cooler than end Apr...

Mrs Chua > Actually a lot of places also state free flow for 4 hours, but additional OT cost for staff, normally happens for restaurants but seldom for hotels...

OCC is a nice place le... have been there a couple of times for company functions. Also 2 Jul will be same as your ROM date wor
btw, how about Seletar Country Club? It's around that area too rite?

I'm also a Jul'10 btb! so glad to see this thread is so active.

~hope to get some advice from fellows btbs here as haven been doing much for my wedding except research and research only.. I've yet to select my gowns as BS said next mth and most prob PS in March~

Ellen> Ya,that time is so cold that i have no mood to walk the Xing Guan Da Dao... seeing the cafe like saviour, rush all the way in to avoid the coldness. lol.

Mrs Chua> Maybe u can consider Noble House as ur alternative choice. Within ur budget and the food there is nice too.

Dreamer11> Welcome~~ My gown selection is on March, PS is on April. Hee~

Mrs Chua >> Noble house nt so nice to hold such a big wedding..we went there to recee too..but coz we have at least 40 tables, some of the tables will b along e walkway den will be blocked by e pillars...very isolated...so we didn't wan to take it...did u try conrad? It's nicer but review got both good n bad.. Can try Grand Park too...it's pillarless...price also quite good

Me chose my gowns for PS liao!! So excited. now going to buy shoes...my friend recommended Anna Nucci at Far east...I dun see any at URS anymore...

Hi babes,

Been a long time since I posted.. Hehez..

Anywayz, went into JB to day to visit my BS and topped up another album + softcopies of all picturs for my PS.. But many other freebies too.. Lolx.. I've also decided to engage my BS's MUA for my AD makeup..

Btw, does anyone know where I can rent a kua?

Seems like all things major pretty much done for me.. =) 1.5 mths to my PS!

How's everyone's progress? Going well?

Ladies.. I just came back from the discussion with our banquet coordinator..

Can say is another load off our back cos our coordinator is very flexible in the terms of the contract.. we were very pleased with the outcome of the negotiation.. I would think it is more of discussion than negotiation as whatever we discuss, they are ok with the suggestion, most importantly, everything is flexible =)

So what can I say now... we had confirmed them as our banquet venue =)

Nevertheless, thanks ladies for giving me ur advices. Finally, we can sit back & relax alittle before proceeding...

dreamer11.. do u have any mtm gowns? if no, I think next mth u go down for selection of gowns is still early. there shld not be a prob... as our wedding is on Jul'10, so PS should be ard Feb-Mar'10...

but if u have mtm gowns, u would need to give 3mths allowance time to the designer to sew the gowns for u.. therefore, I would advice that u go down 4mths b4 PS to the BS to try on some gowns & discuss with designer the design u wan etc etc..

Dione.. maybe u wan to try checking this webby to rent kua..

http://bridalcloset.multiply.com/

wow.. u top up another album is for ur overseas shoot?? the pics must be very pretty so u simply cannot resist topping up more pics.. hehe..

EL.. glad to hear that things are looking better now.. as a couple, we realli have to sit down & tok abt our ideas & feelings... I would say, guys are more of slow in knowing what we girls wan.. so we got to drop hints here & there.. haha..

Mrs Chua> That's good, at least no need to headache of another location and start all over again.

Ellen> Ya, the weather during that time is really dammed jia lat. Yesterday my family are discussing to go on Oct instead to avoid bad weather and also can buy summer clothes.Hehe~

EL> Happy for u as things turn better btw u and ur HTB. =) The webby has info on the Guo Da Li!! Really diff things for diff dialect group.

Are u all ladies gg to purchase on ur own or get all from one shop? My mummy say buying from one shop really burn our pocket compare to buy the things ourself seperately. But hor, I also scare later miss out anything.Haiz..

Dreamer> To have PS during march still ok de. I think ur frenz's suggestion is to allow u to have more time to do the album layout editing and photo selection. This also has to depend on the BS on the duration they need to do the album. For my case, when I tell them I wanna earlier, my BS say april is already quite early and they oni need two mths to do the album+editing. I am bit shocked as most BTBs' BS need at least 3 mths. Till now still bit doubtful. Haha

Hi gals, back from a hectic weekend. Was jiemei to my good friend and oh boy, it was a mad day.. .started at 4.30am and ended at midnight.... there were so much things to do and take note of...

Hope all you gals getting a VG.. cos my friend say she cannot really recall what has happened on the day already.. just following instructions.

I will be going down to Grand Park to sign my contract with them tomorrow as well. After that, it will be a great load off my mind!

Mrs Chua: I a bit lost.. so where in the end will ur banquet be? The flexible folks are from OCC? or Safra? Congrats that you have finally settled on the venue!

Dione: You are finally back! So you have not done ur JB PS rite? Then so fast start bargaining le ah... Where u taking ur PS in terms of the outdoor locations?

JB MUA is quite expensive rite? I got quoted S$700 for mine.. no bargaining... But I dont really want to keep long hair leh... i drop lots of hair when its long... so a bit lost now.. most of the SG MUA say cannot do much with short hair.. *worried*

As for Kwa, i think other than Golden Happiness and Bridal Closet, there is also House of Etiquette (not sure about webby, have to google for it)

How about ur VG?

Ching Ching: I think mar for PS should be enough for a SG BS.. for JB ones, they need longer, about half a year in advance. Thats why I very kiasu already taken BS and selected pic.. hehe...

Good to see all the July BTB working hard!

fellcy > for shoes, think many pple recommend Leaping Lizard at International Plaza too... When's your PS? ^_^

Dreamer > Haha don't kan cheong... You can check with your BS what is a good timeline for gown selection, PS etc. They will be the best pple to advise you

Dione > long time no see~ So your MUA will need to come from JB rite? Your BS charge you extra for that?

Mrs Chua > good that you have your banquet venue settled
it's important that the coordinator is flexible... cos in future you may still need to ask them for other favours haha...

EL > glad that things are better now
then you can focus more on all the preparation work hee hee

Ching Ching > which part of Oct are you looking at? by mid Oct not much summer clothes liao. better to go in Sep for end-of-season sale or Jul/Aug for the annual great sale, but Jul/Aug is really very hot :S For your PS... maybe becos your BS is big, so they have more resources to deliver things faster...

My GDL will be simple one... Will only consist of: pin jin, a pair of gold bracelets, and a fruit basket. Nowadays, GDL can be quite flexible de, and many pple just replace the GDL items with ang bao... It depends on whether your parents/PIL are flexible to accept changes

Still looking for AD packages... Went to some BS lately to discuss on prices etc... Hope to get this settled soon

Blur_btb > Me too going to Meritus Mandarin to sign on the dotted line this week... Hee.

Talking about VG, a lot of pple told me they never watched their AD video after wedding, but they do look at AD photos a lot... So at first we were thinking of not having VG... Then later my HTB decided to have VG so we can show our AD happenings to relatives in our 2nd banquet back home... But most prob will get our friend to do it.

and... Why is it that MUA can't do short hair? I have some short hair friends who got married but didn't hear any problems about MUA and hairdo from them... hmmm.

Blur BTB> Wah, u must have a tiring day to help up ur frenz during her wedding... Can imagine that as I just finish my frenz's too. LOL.. Oh,my PS is on april wor.. march is only for gown selection,so dunno enough time or not. Tin Tian You Ming...

Ellen> Thanks for your advice!! I will discuss with my family. Can't wait to go there for the newly opened mango and coach factory outlet at city gate... Hehe~

Fruit basket?? I thought only oranges? I also not too sure.. but my fengshui master give me a list to follow, which seems bit diff from the Hokkien GDL preparation. Hmm......

Have you check whitelink? Maybe u can go and enquire them. I intro my frenz there, the package that they offer not bad, can consider.

I maybe having VG for half day for the reason to show for the 2nd march in, but still in the mid of negotiation. Long hair will have alot of styles to do.. For my case, my MUA say I can only trim my hair and stop cutting short, if not no much style to change. So no choice have to bear with it....

Ching Ching.. ya, realli headache if have to hunt for another location.. luckily now is settled.. realli relieved.. *phew*

As for the GDL stuffs, why would ur mummy say if to buy from 1 shop will burn our pocket liao? thought if to buy all from 1 shop, it would be cheaper since we can ask for discount? I'm nt so sure abt this.. hehe

Blur_btb... sorry for the confusion.. my banquet will be Yishun Safra.

OCC was initially our 1st choice but their min table requirements is 40. We had to give it up as we estimated abt 30 tables only.. Yishun Safra is our 2nd choice. Recently hubby told me, we will need 40 tables due to both of us coming from big families.. so 30 tables confirm nt enough one.. but is already too late to choose OCC liao as our date is already taken up by another couple.. though a little disappointed that we can't get OCC but nevertheless, Yishun Safra oso not bad. Yesterday had confirm with the coordinator, they can hold up to 57 tables so dun think there is any prob with our demand of increasing table... hehe

Ladies, would like to check with u girls esp those who are holding ur dinner @ Restaurant... do your restaurant still attend to walk in guests on ur AD? my coordinator told me that they will still attend to walk in guests on my AD. my concern is not on whether they have enough manpower for my dinner but... the place where they would place the tables for walk in guests.

For now, my booking of 40 tables would occupy function room 1 & 2. Function room 3 will be reserved by them for walk in guests. but if we would to increase our tables to more than 40, they will open up function room 3 for us. But then... they will have to place 6 tables outside the function room for walk in guests. we simply dun think it looks nice if my guests arrived, they see the 6 tables there where people are eating. From what we saw yesterday, they placed the 6 tables at one corner of the lobby outside the function room with some partitions to block the area up but is not those high up kind where we cannot see what is inside. eventhough it is not blocking our cocktail area, but jus think is nice if guests would to come & see such scene. any advice on this???

Ching Ching.. my fengshui master oso gave me a list of items for my GDL & an chuan.. but I had yet to go see, furthermore, we can't even rem what he said liao.. haha will have to go back check the booklet he gave us.

as for VG, we had engaged C&T for their services. for me, I think I would play the video to see whenever I have the time. if wan to see photos, have to dig the whole album out which I think abit too troublesome, video jus a pcs of cd/dvd so shld be much easier *wink*

Short hair indeed lesser style but think shld nt be much of a prob.. I'm nt sure if $700 is abit exp to engage a MUA.

Blue_btb.. how abt checking with more mua for comparision? Here is a list of mua which I gotten from an online friend...
Dana Chang
Contact number: +65 92477093
e-mail : [email protected]
http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/muadana7-muadana7/gallery?

Jeannie Yong
Contact number :9737 1918
Email : [email protected]
www.glamis.com.sg

Sandy Ho
Contact number : 9005 5210
Email: sandy@makingf@ces.com.sg
http://www.makingf@ces.com.sg/
*replace the @ with a*

Stacey
Contact number: 91124545
http://staceychan.multiply.com/

Angel Chua
Contact number: 96569231
Email : [email protected]
http://angelchua.multiply.com/
http://www.angelmakeupartist.com/index.htm

Tin
Contact number: 96497588

Vivi Wong ( 1 of the makeup artist from Precious Moment Bridal)
http://viviwyc.blogspot.com/

Website with lots of hair styling looks
http://verywed.com/makeup/index3.php

Ellen: Wah.. mandarin worr.. so shiok... For my side, I dont have much confidence on the MIL's relatives... they form the bulk and yet known for the "stinginess", so I dont dare to go for an even more expensive place in case I make a terrible loss.... thus Grand park is the best I can afford.

As for VG, bo bian bah... I am into pic while the husband is into video... but i think might as well... i can watch the gate crash that I will miss and then show to my kids the next time... hahaha...

So meeting 2 VGs and then should be able to decide le...

Ching Ching: Apr to Jul.. should still be enough... they should be quite efficient... :D Must enjoy okie.. where u taking ur outdoor?

Mrs Chua: Good that you got it sorted out lah... Dun be upset.. i looked at both Safra and OCC and i prefered Safra leh..the place looks grand and yet cozy... OCC not as accessible.. but that time Safra's chinese restaurant just shifted and I didnt want to wait, so went ahead and put deposit for Tang Court.. then now change mind again.. Husband's criteria was that it need to be near MRT, so both were eliminated...

As for the walk in guests, i know places like Noble house still do that unless u hit a minimum stipulated. I dont think it affect the walk in guest but rather does it make u uncomfortable? if so, can negotiate or not to see whether arrangement can be changed.

Thanks EL and Mrs Chua for the webbie! =) Will check them out.. =)

Blur btb - I haven taken my PS yet.. Taking it mid-Jan.. Hehe.. We decided to top up first cos we are expecting ourselves to be topping up (based on experience in Taiwan) so we tot if we top up first we can bargain for more stuff.. If not when we choose photos, they know we wan, they more reluctant to cut price.. Hehe..

Yea, my JB MUA from the BS is $680 (supposedly she;s $780 now but when I signed in Feb, I managed to lock in $680 which is the price then) THe price is inclusive of ampoules and eyelashes.. Hmmz, do they provide wigs? Some MUAs provide wigs for short-hair brides so they can have more styles..

Thanks for the suggestion on the kua too, I'll go search online.. Hehe..

My VG I took my PG's partner.. So also settled oredi.. =) My PG is 2ofusphotography..

Ellen >> They charge $680 which includes their travelling expense + eyelash and ampoules..

Mrs Chua >> Mine is Bliss Garden @ Expo.. They normally open for business like a restaurant when there are no weddings.. But when there are weddings, they will not attend to walk in guests..

So it means, ur restaurant if die-die must have at least 6 tables open for their walk in guests? Even if u max out function room 3 too? That's abit weird.. No room for discussion on that?

Hey gals....

So many posts over the week or so. Think everyone is preparing well
I post one comment this evening and I realized it was not posted in the forum because I forgot to 'click post message'...too long never use this forum. Forget how to use it. "Diaoz"

How is everyone doing?????

Michelle & Dreamer> Welcome to the club! Hope you guys are enjoying the planning.

Anyway..I was reading one of the threads. You gals were discussing about facial wash. Please remember to go to those reputable ones okie (though we want to save $$$$$$$). My good friend's sis went for facial wash (she didn't to those reputable ones and in the end, she had severe outbreak and had to see a specialist...and have some marks on the face). Her complexion worsened before she went for facial. So must be careful......

ChingChing> I saw those gowns that you post in the forum. Soooo nice, especially the first one picture. I absolutely love it

Gals...ask you all something. How do you all maintain the shine of your ring? Those jewellers always use a particular cloth to wipe the ring and diamond (to polish it), any idea where we could get the cloth?? Also, if water touch our ring, will it cause the ring to tarnish????

EL> Good that your relationship is improving!!!! Alot of guys are more passive when it comes to wedding planning. Most of my guy friends dont' really bother in the planning too. Only one guy is super enthu lohz...So I guess it is pretty normal? You are not normal...We will always lend you a listening ear when you need one okie
Must support each other!!!!!

Gals...I went to meet my banquet coordinator today to discuss things....Abit upsetting lehz. Me and my partner don't like to bargain for things so ask the coordinator what she can offer...The only thing she added was....a complimentary room for people who need it. Then my partner ask her to work on quality of the food (she will try). I must say, the hotel is okie though...got alot of wedding favour to choose (about 10?), wedding cards are very nice and include printing too. Just to check with you all, what kind of freebies do you all ask for???????

Dreamer> My AD gown selection is next year March/April.Think PS in March abit late right? But if the Bridal studio is confident, then I guess it is another story because each studio's efficiency is very different......

Mrs Chua> You got your credit card liao?? Think nowadays banks super competitive. If you request and say you urgently need it, they usually will do something about it one...The documents the standard stuff, like your payslip? But what credit card you applying for??????

blur_btb.. u oso went to rakee OCC & Yishun Safra for ur banquet venues?? maybe to me, OCC is more better in terms it looks more grand than Yishun Safra. Furthermore, I'm caught in love with their bridal bugging drive in.. hehe but since now I choosen Yishun Safra, I shall not regret, just be happy/satisfied with what I have/given. Frankly to say, all of us here, if not becos money is a constraint, we would have go for the best of the best, right? *wink*

actually I would oso say venue have to be near MRT so that it is accessible for guests. most of the time, guests will complain if it is not accessible for them (even we do complain at times when we have wedding to attend, we would oso hope it is easily accessible)

for the walk in guests part, hubby & me dun realli feel comfortable with the idea of them attending to walk in guests outside the function room. cos when my guests walk up the stairs, they would be able to see the walk in guests having dinner there.. so dun think it look very nice lo..

for now, they will be using function room 3 for walk in guests but if my tables will to increase to more than 40, they will give up function room 3 for us to use & place tables outside the function room for walk in guests... somehow, I think they are hinting to me that if we do not wan them to place tables outside the function room for walk in guests, den stick to 40 or less so that they have function room 3 to use. Hubby & me now trying to find out whether is it a norm for most restaurant to still take in walk in guests during such event.

Mrs Chua >> Mine is Bliss Garden @ Expo.. They normally open for business like a restaurant when there are no weddings.. But when there are weddings, they will not attend to walk in guests..

Dione.. ya, my coordinator told me that their boss insist of opening business for walk in guests. they dun wan to let the walk in guests come den are being rejected due to a function there on that day. so if we would to oso use up function room 3, they will place the tables outside. I think we can still discuss on that but we wan to find out whether it is the norm for restaurant to still have walk in guests on that day. if it is a norm, den we just have to accept it but if it is not the norm, den we would tok to them again to see what would be the best solution for it..

my colleagues was telling me to tell the restaurant that my wedding is already big enough for them to close that day business so one day closed for walk in guests would not affect their sales haha...

maoushroom.. welcome back.. hehe.. I applied for UOB ladies card on Sat thr a roadshow @ centrepoint. jus sent out on Sat, so dun think it will be soon to receive it (if it is approve, hehe)

regarding to facial hor.. tell u girls something.. at 1st I was wondering how to tell hubby I wan to go facial (to him, spending $$$ again & so early need to go meh etc etc haha)but who know last Thurs, he asked me when I'm going for facial.. haha.. I did not mention anything to him, is him who asking me to go.. was surprised when he said it, haha.. den I tell him actually I already doing research to see which one good & cheap den go.. he say, he wan to go with me together cos he oso think he needs some facial.. whahahaha... did not expect hubby to be so vain on facial. haha so now, since u support, I can go ahead to source & go for facial liao.. x'mas coming, shld have promo hor? hehe

Shine of our rings -> we seldom wear it. most of the time is keep in the boxes den when got special occassion den bring out to wear.. for me, I will send it to the jeweellery shop to ask them clean for me. those cloth which they use, think those shops which sell jewellery (perlini silver., bits & pieces) shld have. I'm oso looking for it but no time to go source... if u happen to see it too, do let me know..

Mrs Chua > Normally for restaurants, they will close the place exclusively for you if you have certain no. of tables. It's normal for them to do walk-in if you can't hit the minimum... But funny lor why they insist of having 6 tables?? Such an odd number...

If you are really uncomfortable with walk-in guests, maybe you can really consider to restrict your guest list to 40 tables (it's already a lot leh). Some more not everyone you invite will turn up...

Wah your MUA list very comprehensive haha... Will take a look at them. Thanks for your hard work~

Blur_btb> Yea Meritus Mandarin is nice... till now i m still a bit scared... cos already burst our banquet budget
we checked out many hotels and restaurants, but we realised that for our no. of tables, it's not easy to get good bargains. For example, at first we wanna go to Carlton (just behind my church and affordable package), but because we only have 13 tables, we have to take the small ballroom, and the hotel took out a lot of perks from the package... end up just slightly cheaper than Meritus only.

Then my HTB likes Meritus' Mandarin Court a lot... He said... if just a bit more ex... he rather go 5 star hotel... So that's how we ended up at Meritus la... and now gotta up the no. of tables to 15....

i m prepared to lose for the banquet la
but one consolation is that so far, Meritus' service has been good and quite flexible on our requirements. Haha.

maoushroom > hey you're back
the cloth you talking about, is it pink in color? That's called the silver polishing cloth, can be easily bought in shops like perlini's etc... But for diamonds, i dun think you wipe wor... normally use water/some detergent to clean. If you really need to clean, you can actually ask the jeweler to clean for you.

Also, what kind of rings are you refering to? if it's gold/platinum/white good, water should not cause them to tarnish. something is wrong with the material if it tarnishes by water~~ This should happen to silver (or maybe some stainless steel).

For banquet, actually you can check out packages from other hotels, see what you want and ask your coordinator about those stuff. I am normally very paiseh about negotiating... so I'll leave it to my HTB hahaha

Yea I have already placed deposit for my HK PS about a month back... That's the ONLY thing i've paid and confirmed so far hahaha... very slow hor? :P

Ellen.. ya is alot but becos of us are from big families & furthermore hubby is the only son in the family so my in laws definitely will invite all guests one..

the reason they onli placed 6 tables for walk in guests is becos the place outside function room oso not big, if they put too many den my cocktail will be extremely very small place..

I think I will find a day to go down again to speak to my coordinator... hopefully they can take away the walk in guests idea.. haha

Ellen.. hubby & me are nt shy in asking things from our coordinator one.. sometimes I will ask 1st.. den hubby will sit there pretending to be the good person & I'm the auntie who bargain this & that.. haha.. but if he think got the need, he will oso join my bargaining power.. haha.. sometimes, the coordinator oso cannot stand the both of us when we combine power lols