(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

Mrs Chua> Where are you going for your facial? I'm sure there will be quite abit of promo lately due to X'mas Season...and lots of tie-ups with banks too!!!

Ellen> Did you sign up your Hongkong shot with your AD bridal studio? Or you outsource by yourself? When are you leaving???
Anyway, you are not alone..think the only payment I've made is for my bridal studio package too!!! HaHaHa.....

Mrs Chua & Ellen> I will go to the shops that you guys recommended and buy the polishing cloth. My ring is white gold but I saw my colleagues' solitaire, the ring like abit tarnish, no more shine. Worried mine will be like that too.....Think I will polish my ring but later on, won't be so hardworking liao. HaHaHa.

Blur BTB> Thanks~ Hopefully they are really efficient to do that. Haha~ I have not decide where to take outdoor. But in my mind I have shortlist my poly and sentosa where I meet my HTB.Any suggestions?

Have u girls start thinking of outdoor venues to take PS? Care to share??

maoushroom> Long time no see~~ Thanks~ Maybe u can look into these kind of designs too~
I am thinking to go to my frenz's as she has sensitive skin and been their loyal customer for few years, so far so good. I think it all depends on the beautician. Other than facial, this week I gg to sign up Amore~ Yes! time to tone body (use money to force myself to keep fit. *Pengz*)

My gown selection also same month as urs!! Maybe we can post our selections during that month here to share. =p

The food quality is hard to control. I have mentioned previously in the thread that food tasting session can choose the same day whereby another couple is holding their dinner, and u ask the banquet manager to prepare the same food from the same banquet team. Cooking one table is easy, but when mentioned 20+ to 40+ is totally diff. From there then u r able to know their standard. =)

Mine include free spa, free 2nights stay at their selected overseas hotel in asia and free wine for every confirmed table.I personnaly feel that a free flow beer and wine is very impt. If urs is barrel,maybe u can negotiate for more or free flow. If not, no one there to control, they will just open and charge to the bill. Must check for the price too just in case. Have u confirm the banquet venue or still looking ard?Maybe u can go for comparison.

For my proposal ring, I went to Soo Kee to polish which comes out like a brand new. Think pay abt $10 as it will wash the diamond and cover the ring holder with a thin layer of white gold. I only do that once last year. This year thinking of doing it again.LOL.

Mrs Chua> My fengshui master haven't give me the list of An Chuan items. He only mentioned one month before the AD then call him to ask for the procedure. Anyway, the later the better, if not my HTB have to sleep the floor. LOL... Ohh.. I told my mum that my frenz spend $500+ for GDL, she super shocked and tell me that she will go with me to choose and buy outside.She feel that we are being hacked if gg to buy from that shop(one stop service). Well, still months to go, see how ba. Hehe~

Wah, ur hubby really good lo~ Mine ah, dun say liao, keep asking me to DIY myself and go just few mths before PS and AD. But I will go during Jan for the facial. Oh ya, I am intending to buy Fancl tense up from a spree organiser, he gg japan, which is much cheaper than spore. I trying 2 box first to see the results. LOL. Like that can save a bit for facial. wahaha~

I agree with Ellen. Maybe u can consider to cut down the no of guests. Dun forget, not all will able to turn up, so must give some buffer.

maoushroom.. so far, I only saw cosl@b. not sure whether it is good for me, still checking.. any suggestion??

Ching Ching... I haven think of any outdoor venues yet. but found this webby (woyaojiehunle.blogspot.com) very useful for us. so would like to check with u girls... so do check it out!

below is what I extracted from the webby for photoshoot...

Come here for your photoshoot !
One of the highlights of preparing for your wedding would be the all important photoshoot! An entire day of experiencing what it feels like to be a model! The skills of the makeup artist and the photographer plays the essential role in making the photoshoot a success. But where you take the photoshoot is important as it sets the background and mood of your album.

Here's a list of photoshoot locations for you to consider.
Do bear in mind that there is limited time for your photoshoot, so it is advisable to plan for just 2 to 3 outdoor locations if you have your studio photoshoot on the same day.

Breakwater at Beaches

Changi Airport

Changi Beach

Esplanade

National Parks

* Bedok Reservoir Park

* Bukit Batok Town Park

* Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

* Esplanade Park

* Hindhede Nature Park

* Labrador Nature Reserve

* MacRitchie Reservoir Park

* Mount Faber Park

* National Orchid Garden

* Peirce Reservoir Park (Lower & Upper)

* Seletar Reservoir Park (Upper)

* The Southern Ridges

Taken at Hort Park

* Toa Payoh Town Park

Fort Canning Park

Fullerton Hotel

Kallang

Marina at Keppel Bay

Marina South Pier

Merlion Park

Mount Faber

National Museum of Singapore
# A nominal fee will be charged for doing photography indoor. For more information, please contact NMS directly.

Punggol's End

Red Dot Traffic

Registry of Marriages

Rochester Park

Sentosa
# Get ready for the sunset scene about 6-7pm at Sentosa Palawan beach

Singapore Botanic Gardens

Singapore Flyer

Singapore Art Museum

Streets with ethnic look

* Chinatown

* Geylang Serai

* Kampong Glam

* Little India

* Peranakan Experience

Tanglin Village

Others

There are lots more places to take your wedding photos ... along old shophouses/colonial buildings, at bridges, roads, schools and wherever holds memories for you!

An Chuan -> saw some comments from some btb, they mentioned they had their GDL few days b4 their wedding. think as long as the date is auspicious den it shld be ok..
ur friend spent so much on GDL? omg.. what she bought? what dialect? maybe diff dialect needs diff things, so that is y her so exp? ya, we shall take care of this later

Fancl tense up ah.. what is the use of it? how is the taste like? for those drinking one, I very scare I dun like the taste den dun wan to drink, den wasting $$$ again.. hehe btw, how much cheaper it is to get direct from Japan? if price ok, I would like to give it a try too.

Guests part -> think I will wait till the dates nearer & guests list is more or less confirm, den see how...

Mrs Chua >> My HTB told me he went for a wedding before @ a restaurant in Raffles called Noble House.. He said his fren also din have many tables and they attended to walk in guests.. Their section was just seperated with those short partition stands.. So maybe it's a norm for some restaurants..

Is there a high possibility you will be spilling over the the 3rd function room? Frankly, even if u do, I dun see why they wana bother about 6 tables when ur dinner shld be the one they are concentrating on.. It seems abit mian qiang to put out 6 tables like tt lor.. Maybe have a further discussion with them to see if they can be pushed to forget abt tt idea..

Yea lor, ur hubby so nice! haha.. I bought alot of masks from Taiwan but haven used yet lehz.. =P And he also nv suggest he wana 'sponsor' my facial trips... Maybe it's time to hint.. 'U know hor, in the forum right.. Alot of them going for facial oredi leh..' Wahaha..

Credit Cards >> The fastest approval one is Citibank.. They got immediate approval if I din remember wrongly.. And their credit limit is higher than the UOB, DBS etc..

Rings >> The SA @ Love & Co told us to buy a baby toothbrush then twice a week just put ur ring into hot water to loose the dirt on it.. Then use the baby brush to gently scrub.. Especially if got diamond there must be extra gentle.. If u wear the ring everyday, there are bound to be scratches on their plating and becomes a little less shiny after some time.. So can only bring back and ask them to polish for a minimal fee..

Ching Ching >> Ur mum was shocked because $500 is alot? I also not sure how much the items will cost rougly.. I tot go those one-stop service if u buy more, they give more discounts? That's what I always assumed.. Haha..

Anyone of u going to provide ur bridesmaid with dresses? Or just going to give them a color to wear?

maoushroom > nope not with AD studio... haven't even found one yet haha... the HK PS was bought in HK when my HTB went home in Sept. We'll have our PS in Feb when we go home for CNY ^_^

Ching Ching > You'll be going to Amore at Tampines 1 rite? If you go to other outlets maybe we can exercise together hahaha

My banquet package got free barrel of beer and free flow wine... i think it's enough la. Agree with you that nowadays, free flow of beer or wine is very important... alcohol can add up to a big chunk of cost....

Talking about GDL, normally it's near AD... Pple will pick an auspicious day about 1 or 2 weeks before AD... But for my case, we will have it super early - during CNY period, cos that's the last time my HTB and I will both be at home before AD leh. Is $500+ GDL a lot? I dunno le... Mine will be in 4-digit range... *sobz*

My friend is full of praises for Tense-Up... but she stopped liao cos too ex haha... Anyway Jpn is cheaper really. you try and let us know your result

Mrs Chua > envy you le.. my HTB that day asked me actually what's the difference b4 and after facial -.- then he asked me to do for him lor!! win liao...

Dione > Your facial mask from TW... is it the "My Beauty Daily" one? Heard this brand is very good

I'm not really going to have a color code for my jiemeis. If i remember correctly, Mrs Chua will help her jiemeis to get dress? And one of us going to make t-shirts for the jiemeis (who ah? sorry I forgot liao haha)

Dione> I think I'm paying for the bridesmaid dresses. But ultimately depends on your common understanding coz I know some bridesmaid are fine paying everything for themselves....I wanted my bridesmaid to wear coloured dresses but they seem to want to wear white. So I just leave it. Ultimately everyone is happy and my bridesmaid looks good, I guess that is more important....Unless you strictly have a coloured theme, then I guess shoudl let the bridesmaid know.

I have to agree that Citibank processes cards very quickly. If approved, you urgently need it, you would be able to get it very quickly too

Mrs Chua> You have done so much homework about your outdoor shoot!!!!! Very good
I think it is an extensive list.

Dione> Thanks for sharing how to maintain the ring

Mrs Chua> Ya lo, my frenz is Hokkien. I was taken back when she tell me the price. Haiz, so much money to spend. Sian.

Wah, the list of places for outdoor shoot is alot. Thanks for the info!! =)

I have not try the taste before, but few frenz try it and say just sweet taste. The effect is real good and all of them keep taking it. It's a collagen drink.
http://www.fancl.com.sg/product_detail.asp?p_id=101
I am now taking it from the spree organiser first time. If he's reliable, I will jio u all next time. Now with the exchange and handling fee he charge, after comparison with the price here,is 20% lesser. Hehe~

Dione> I also dunno why they charge so expensive. Maybe not much ppl doing it or they just package with all the unneccessary things together too. Not sure.. maybe near to the date then we girls share the info again. LOL

I have decide pastel yellow for the sisters' dresses.I think no money to pay for them le after knowing so many things to take care. But the angbao that day will give bit more to cover for their expenses. Hehe~

Ellen> I going tampines one branch. Can ah~ We can arrange to go one day at other branches. I heard from the sales personnel that I can go for city square branch de. Urs can? If can, we can meet there as it's brand new and can see their facilities. Hehe~

Ur GDL is 4 digit?!?!?! U include the Ping Jin too? Gosh, i think i must eat bread liao le la. Hmm.. sorry, is to ask my HTB to eat bread. LOL..

Ya, tense up really diff.I will try and let u all know the results. If works, u all can go and try it out too~

I am using 'wo de mei li ri ji' masks too!! Not bad. The chocolate mask is the most unique, but I prefer the red wine and truffle mask. Nice~

$500 is for both sides or one side only? if one side is which side? depends on wad u r getting too coz different dialect got different things n the quantity. i assume tis amount excludes wadever jewellery needed.

understand fancl tense up going to change packaging... is only change packaging or change the ingredients too?

bridesmaid dresses is depending on whether u asking them to all dress the same, etc. if got special requests de, couple should pay for them. same thing for the groomsmen. for me, i'll probably subsidize a little. like not so nice make them pay everything... plus my bridesmaids not very rich (like me!) n i think they probably get the dress purposely for my wedding de. subjective~

Hmm.. I am not sure lehz.. think i find out more from my frenz. Maybe lo as diff dialect need diff items,so prices also varies... Maybe can check first before purchase.

They are changing the packaging,ingredients still remain the same. But what I understand is the drink is better than tablets as it is easily absorb by our body.

EL, from what i know, GDL is for groom side to bride side. The one from bride side to groom side is called "hui li", literally means "return flavour". Actual details in the "package" varies for different dialect groups...

Ching Ching, my GDL of 4-digit includes pin jin, a pair of gold bracelets, fruit basket, and i think gift vouchers for chinese wedding cakes... can't remember liao... anyway pin jin alone already mid-range of 4-digit *sob sob*... last time my BIL gave pin jin of 5-digit... i salute him LOL...

Btw, if you are interested in collagen drinks, you know the Meiji one selling in Watson's? It's half-price in Japan and cheaper than Tense-up... Actually hor Japan has a lot more choices for beauty products really... So many brands just for collagen drinks/pills alone haha...

Dione.. I will speak to my coordinator abt it again. my colleagues kept telling me to tell my coordinator that we are their biggest guest for the day, so they shld place priority on us, nt walked in guests.. haha as for now, I crossing fingers that we dun need to use function room 3 cos too many tables, very hard to manage.

ya, maybe u can hint hint him to see what he say.. guys at times need some hinting one haha

Bridemaid's dresses -> I'm bringing my sisters to bridal closet to rent gowns. colour wise, I'm thinking of using pink or white..

Ellen.. yeah is me... I'm bringing sisters to rent gowns.. hehe

from what u saying, u mean both u & ur hubby are from HK? GDL 4 digit??? that's alot leh.. I thought those things very cheap one, din know need so much $$$ one haha

dun envy me in facial, hint hint ur hubby like what Dione said.. hehe

Facal tense up... ur friend full of praises of it? what kind of praises??

maoushroom... I jus happen to come across the webby so found that all the info there are so detailed
anyway, I had given u all the webby link, let's share the info ard ba..

Ching Ching... ur friend hokkien ah.. hubby & me oso hokkien... but GDL stuffs, we will leave it to our mummy to take care... we totally have no idea hehe

EL.. I oso think my sisters are onli getting the dress for my wedding only. probably after that, they wont wear so I suggest to them that I will pay for the rental of the gowns for them so it wont be so wasteful on getting a dress to wear for that one occasion. after which, keep in wardrobe.. haha

Ellen> Wah, ur BIL really li hai... 5 digit lehz, dun play play. LOL... You so fast already know how much pin jin to give liao ah. Mine till now still dunno...

My colleague who is into collagen products say that Fancl is still the best with the effect after consumption. And my frenz who take it got radiant n firm skin. Super envy lo. So I gg to take tense up before PS. I am also now asking ard for the price of bird nest lo.. so far malaysia is the cheapest to buy from. Must save save save le.

Mrs Chua> Same same, my HTB and I are Hokkien. Good la, at least ur mum will take care of it and u can put ur attention on other stuffs. Hehe..

Anyway, now not gg to headache le. I am now super involve in reading 'Twilight-New Moon' before the movie release in Singapore. Keke

Ching Ching/Ellen: U 2 joined Amore ar? Me too leh! I normally go Park Mall (near my office) or Bugis Junction one (near my home).. I din know City Square has a new branch! Ask me along too leh! During weekends I might got to Tampines One Branch too cos my bf lives in the East.. Hehe.. I normally only go for New Body, Yoga and Pilates..

Yeayea, that's the one, My Beauty Diary.. I bought 6 boxes in July.. Haven 'open ceremony' yet.. =P Think need to start using le.. Recently my forehead got breakout, I also dunno why cos I din use any new products or stop using any products.. Hmm..

Hmm I would prefer to have them wear the same lor but my budget not high, around $40 each dress.. I was also thinking of Bridal Closet to rent cos can rent dresses of same design over there.. But if I can buy a dress @ $40, I'll buy instead.. I recently saw this very nice Tonga dress @ Little Match Girl on 20% discount @ $41+ but it's a little to early to get jie mei dresses now since I haven confirmed most of them.. =P I'll probably choose white if I buy the dress (so they next time can wear) and pink / blue if I rent.. But then, correspondingly, I think my AP to them wun be alot liaoz.. For xiong di, my HTB going to buy white shirts for them (prob G2000) then ask them to wear jeans.. And we'll get those thin ties (those wear for fun kind) so they will be wearing their shirt un-tucked.. Like semi-causal.. Theirs would also cost around $40 each guy lorz..

GDL stuff, we only bought the 2 bottles of liquor from DFS, I think the guy side will have more stuff to buy right? I saw the list my FSM give, I wana faint.. Candles la, baby bathing tub also have.. For pin jin, my dad say watever amt the guy side give, he take yi si only and majority return back.. So at least tt point my HTB no need to worry too much..

Weddings got alot of those small-small cannot see items that cost $$$.. Scary leh.. So far, I already spent over 10k in deposits etc oredi.. =|

Mrs Chua > bingo~ But we both in SG for many years liao. haha... As for Tense-up, my friend was saying that there was visible improvement in her skin... Radiant and firm like what Ching Ching said, but really ex haha so she stopped taking, changed to Meiji one instead.

Ching Ching > Yea lor my BIL very li hai... He spoilt market le! Luckily my mom is nice to my HTB and never demand the same LOL. The pin jin was already "negotiated" and confirmed when my HTB "ti qin" to my parents... At the same time they discussed the GDL items, that's why we settled so early haha.

Anyway like what you said... no need to headache now... GDL still far away haha.... btw, heard indonesian bird nest is quite cheap too? also, other ways to take in collagen include eating pork leg, "phoenix craw" etc...

Gals> I don't know if I want to take in collagen though they do have very good effect. Chemical.... Perhaps can use natural products? Besides what Ellen suggested, pork leg and "phoenix craw", strawberry and blueberry got collagen too. But these fruits seasonal lehz...Haha. Are you guys still going to consume collagen after your marriage?

Mrs Chua> How much is the rental cost of the dresses? I was thinking if the cost is quite significant, I might want to buy dresses for my bridesmaid, at least they can keep it and wear it for other function...

Ellen> Indonesian bird nest quite cheap, you are right

Anyway, the pinjin is usually 4-5 digits one right? Have not heard of 3 digits yet. But I think all this is case by case one.

Dione> My dad also said the same thing as your dad. The Pin Jin is only for symbolism purpose. Think my parents will only keep abit and return the majority. Otherwise, think the guy side will be super duper stress '_'.....HaHa

So happy to see this line added into our contract by our coordinator...
-> Complimentary one table food tasting (whole menu) for 10person

haha.. we asked for it that day & she gave it to us
yeah!

Wow Ching Ching... u gonna invest in bird nest ah.. a super $$$ investment

I only say will let both mummies to help but whether they will help or nt, I nt sure.. hehe

maoushroom.. from what I saw from their webby, they have rental of $100 for 3 gowns.. which I find it relatively worth it. but nt sure by then, will it still have such good promotion or nt..

think I would like to try to take collagen too.. my office area got one shop which sell collagen ramen but do not know how true it is.. had went to try a few times, dun think can see the result as not taking it regularly..

Ching Ching + Dione > my Amore package can go to any outlets... you mean some packages are restricted to certain outlet? I used to go pilates at Bugis on Sundays but stopped after they changed the class time
now only regular at Woodlands on Tuesdays for KB and Stretch Fit. And... I very mountain turtle... where is City Square?

Dione > you're right... so many extra $$ to spend besides the big items... ahhhh... and... i also having break out on my face for no reason too... ahhhhhh....

maoushroom > i didn't know strawberries have collagen... haha good i like strawberries... ^_^

Mrs Chua > wah good wor you seem to be getting more and more perks for your banquet package~ haha~ i saw the collagen ramen before too... i also wonder how effective is it haha

Ladies> I heard abt the effect of Tenseup as well.. sounds like it really works..
but of course not very cheap.. if any of yr friends or relatives gg japan can ask them to help u buy cos it's cheaper there... hehe.. i think i'm gg to try them out for my ROM and PS in mar.. My BS just confirm my ROM selection in late Dec.. said my actual gown selection can come later cos mine is from OTR..

Ellen> when should HTB "ti qin" to parents? what are the procedures?

Good morning~ ^_^

Wah seems like a lot of good feedback for Tense-Up... Hmmm I am now a bit tempted (never a fan of beauty products/food etc)....

dreamer > erm actually we didn't follow any special procedure to "ti qin"... We simply arranged a meet-up session for both our parents, and my HTB formally asked my parents permission to marry me... Then they "shun bian" discussed the items for GDL...

Ellen... as long as I have not sign their contract, I guess I still can negotiate right? lols.. but hubby say he will be looking the revised contract den see whether anything not clear b4 we sign & paid the deposit.. my coordinator oso had stated in the contract for us that min deposit is 1k as we requested for that. we told her we need more $$$ with us so cannot pay her the deposit they mentioned in the contract & she say no prob, will include in the contract for us & she agreed!

btw, we oso requested to pay the balance of the banquet 1-2days after our AD. Reason : we wan to sleep with the hongbao money for a night b4 we pay.. & she oso agreed! haha... yeah!!!

Collagen ramen... now we in diet plans, cannot eat too much ramen so onli can drink soup but soup is oily.. very fattening too.. oso cannot drink so I guess we can eat strawberry which I think is cheaper & more more healthy...

I oso wan to try the tense up liao.. so tempting to try.. hehe.. I think one of u girl oso mentioned that the collagen drink from meiji oso good right? maybe can try that too if we find tense up more exp...

Dione> U also amore member??? I going this week to sign up for the membership. Hehe... Ya, maybe we can arrange one day to go together.. =)

Ellen> Pig leg and chicken feet not for me~~ I see already wanna puke.. =p
Huh, stil have to 'ti qin' ah... I dun even know that. When is the most advisable time for the guy to come over to 'ti qin'? Indonesian bird nest ah, maybe will ask my relatives to check for me.

City Square mall is near to Farrer Park MRT station if not wrong.Very ulu as heard from my colleague that last weekend he go, no much ppl lo.

Dreamer11> I am getting it from japan, which is cheaper after include the handling charge from the spree organiser. I try already, if reliable, next time we can order together. =)
maoushroom> I will still take collagen drink if the effect is good. Married already must be even more hardworking to maintain ourselves,if not hubby's heart dunno go where le.

Strawberry has collagen?!! That's my fav. Great, think I gonna have strawberry feast. lol

Mrs Chua> I am thinking la, depends on my self control of spending. Hehe~~ If can,of coz better. LOL.. That time nature farm got sell one big bottle for the price of fifty plus for members, but I din buy. Maybe next time got promotion will go and grab one bottle to try.Kekeke~

collagen ramen?? I heard before. They say the soup is full of fish oil (which they say is collagen) and good for skin. U try already and let us know ya.

My colleague try meiji and fancl, fancl visible results is faster and better. I have a male colleague also into tense up, gosh, his skin is really nice lo. Cannot tahan~~

Mrs Chua > Yea I would think so... Actually even after the contract is signed you can still nego... only that you can't put them in black and white anymore, so no proof to show that they agreed to your request in case of any dispute in future... but if your coordinator can keep to her words and is quite flexible, i guess it shouldn't be a problem ba~ just make sure that the important perks are all recorded in the contract.

Ching Ching > seriously i have no idea on the timeline and procedure for "ti qin"... we just anyhow whacked in our own style hahaha. i suppose if your family already know your HTB very well, and everyone is already very much into wedding prep... then no need to "ti qin" anymore liao haha.... a bit funny to "ti qin" when everyone already knows, rite? :D

Oh... Farrer Park... The only City Square i know is the JB one hahaha

maoushroom > yea i will still try to diligently upkeep myself after wedding... for gals... if dun "bao yang" really can age very easily

hmmmm my colleague is going to Japan for holiday soon... maybe can ask if he is willing to help me get Tense-up there hahaha

Actually no much ppl knw abt the City Square Mall shopping centre. Ya lo,initially I also thought is the one at JB. haha~

Ya, bao yang very impt.... that's gd if ur colleague gg to Japan. For the price of one box here can go there and buy one and half box. Hehe~

u all going to follow the traditions of 'ti qin'? actually if already confirm getting married no nid to really 'ti qin' la.. coz in olden times the couple's marriage arranged by parents n nid to 'ti qin' to get the 8 characters, etc.. now, i think all these done in a less formal way or along the way liao. jus have a session together so that both parents can meet up to discuss will b better ba.

yes, city sq @ kitchener rd is a new mall.. not alot of ppl even on weekends (currently).

anybody got member card for eu yan sang, dragon brand, fu hwa, etc.?

Such a long long and active thread leh... I read till I ma boh! Here is my feeble attempt at replying...

If you gals are looking for bridesmaid dresses and all your Jiemeis are like average size, an consider Z-Style. They got 2 outlets, one at Far East Plaza and one at Citylink Mall. They have a lot of short dresses of different colours at $28 each. I got myself 4 pieces already for all functions. haha...

And goodness, everyone is very good at bao yang.. I think I m the worst.. Eat like no tomorrow, very long no go gym and then never use beauty products... I am so dead...

For the GDL stuff, i think I will keep it as simple as i can since both sides the parents are not very particular. Hopefully can replace as many of the things as possible with Ang Pao so that no need to buy and clutter up the storeroom with it.

I am waiting for a list to come through from my friend about what to buy during GDL, I can share with you gals again when i get it.

By the way, I have finally signed on the dotted line yesterday and placed a deposit for banquet at Grand Park City Hall. Its quite a relief.

Mrs Chua: I nearly missed out the MUA list that you have given... yes, I will try and compare around. There are a few MUAs that I have asked but they din reply anymore the min i ask about short hair... anyway I dont koe how to define short hair as well. The most I can endure is when it hits shoulder blades.

Your banquet coordinator sounds quite flexible. Why dont you pay by card first for the banquet and then use the cash to pay the bills. We have used the Standard Chartered Manhattan Card to pay for our deposit as it gives up to 5% cashback every quarter (max of $3000). Perhaps you can check that out.

Is there anyway you can dun take up function rm 3? Then at least your guest wun think its funi to see the tables of walk in outside the place. I am sure the walk ins themselves will feel odd to be sitting outside the restaurant.

Anyway, for your outdoor shoot, do consider the places that are meaningful for you both for the outdoor shoot ah.. then its a special touch to your pics!

Ellen: its me, the BTB who will be printing Tshirts for the Jiemei to wear.. think more fang bian for them to move around also. Still thinking cos have no time to source for suppliers yet.

Dione: Wah i think 2 of us photography is not bad. It is highly difficult to get the Husband to do something, so what I did is i shortlist about 10 VGs and from there, do another round of selection based on video and I just let the husband see the last 4 finalists wo knowing the cost. He just tell me which he like best. So, we are meeting Vocare and Forest Productions on Friday to see how.

I am going to my BS on 19 Dec to see layout of album. I also ended up topping for 49 more pic... paid another RM5888. But they gave me quite a lot of freebies, so quite satisifed. How much did you top up for yours?

Wah gals...the way you all discuss about the collagen stuff sound like miracle stuff!!!! Is it really that good??? If yes...I'm soooo tempted to try. HaHa...

And yes..strawberry has collagen. So can eat without guilt or fear...

Blur> thanks for sharing the name of the shop. Sounds like good place to shop for dresses. I hope to find something nice yet cheap, if possible.

Mrs Chua> I'll go and check out the place you recommended too. 100 bucks for 3 pieces seem affordable.......
And your banquet coordinator super flexible lehz. So gooooodddddd
So envious

waaah... long lengthy threads... haha... i only got time to surf this forum at night, after 1 day it's like one page long.. hehe.. seems like we are all 'working hard' on our wedding plans!

I've tried the Meiji collagen in powder form in a container.. bought last yr still havent finish..it's kinda troublesome and if u mix with cold stuff it doesnt really get dissolved.. after consumption for like a week i stopped.. cos i dun see any 'improvement'.. only drink with it sometimes when i've time.. ha..

Ching Ching> yap, if your source is reliable we can buy in bulk see if it's cheaper.. haha..

Ellen> my HTB also haven so called asked permission from my parents thou we have been talking abt the preparation for abt a yr!Ha.. No wonder my mum asked when to meet the in-laws to 'discuss'.. i thought prob the parents can just meet for their first time during our ROM in Mar easier...

Wow, u all really post very fast.. Lol.. I can't access Sgbrides forum in the office so only can reply in the night.. Hehe..

Ellen >> Not sure leh, my package also can go to any outlets but when the new one is City Square is set up, dunno can go anot.. Shld be can right?

Ching Ching >> Yes, yes.. Hehe.. Let's meet some days for classes.. I signed for my package before my Taiwan PS.. Really toned up quite abit.. Then after I came back I slacked.. =P So now become flabby again.. Must jiayou now.. Jan got another PS.. Lolx.. Planning to go like 5 times a week.. Haha.. Planing only.. =P

I went to City Square when it just opened.. Quite big.. Got Metro and some interesting shops.. The place is kinda ulu but the mall is quite decent, like Tampines Mall, just not much crowd..

Mrs Chua >> Ur office near Tanjong Pagar? Last time I worked nearby, International Plaza there got a shop selling Collagen Ramen.. I tried before.. Quite oily leh..

The way u all review abt Tenseup like very good leh.. But expensive is how expensive ar? Must drink how long then can see the effects?

Blur btb >> Is the $28 each a sale price or it's their usual price? I saw their dresses before, not bad, but I sure cannot fit in.. My bridesmaids shld be able to tho, all ard S-M size one.. Shall go see see some day.. If it's $28 and nice design, I think it's a good buy, they can keep and wear also..

Yea, the Manhatten Card gives good rebates.. I used tt for my banquet deposit also.. But sadly, for Qian Xi, they only accept cash when we settle.. So cannot get more rebates back..

Lolx.. that's what I did too lor.. I researched, source out some that was within budget and with the style I like then I show him one by one.. It came down to 2 PGs so I went to their gallery, download a few photos, jumble up and ask him to choose his top 3 favourite.. That's how we came up with 2ofusphotography as our choice.. Lolx..

Oh, I topped up another album which has another 30 poses.. Then she added more pages and poses to my original album + upgrade my pages to silver print + return all softcopies + some misc freebies like posters and crystal apples (we keep pushing her and asking for more stuff lolx), we paid ard an extra RM3500.. But we bargained like 4 hrs (till she cannot tahan us) + we brought a couple fren there to sign up with them.. So I think that's why she was more flexi with her discounts and freebies.. So I'm ovearll very satisfied also hehe.. Rememeber to share share ur pics when u get them! =)

Ching Ching... nature farm got sell bird nest? Thought they only sell health supplements? Kept thinking they are jus like GNC, selling health supplements.. hehe

Collagen ramen ah.. I tried a few times with colleagues.. did not see result maybe does not eat very often so can’t see the result..

Tense up -> from what I see hor, I oso very keen in getting it.. think we shall together buy to get good discount

Anyway, this afternoon I was @ Watson.. went to check the price of meiji amino drink, 75ml x 6 for $25.20. oso saw those powder form, selling $50+ (can’t really rem the price) den the staff oso recommend me meiji collagen pills, 350 pills for $39. The staff oso told me, 1 day eat 25 pills.. omg.. so much..

Ellen.. noted.. thanks will look through properly b4 signing the contract, anyway she no rush me to pay yet. In fact, she oso no ask us pay any deposit, is jus that we worried they will give the place up to someone if we no sign the contract. Hehe

Ti Qing -> from what I heard is that normally is the guy together with his family or the guy alone will go to the girl’s parents to ask to marry their girl. As in when, it can be anytime, last time is like they must ask the girl’s parents for permission b4 they start wedding preparation.. but unlike us now, we started the preparation liao, yet hubby haven come over to ti qing.. haha.. anyway, think now all simplified liao so it ok to ti qing later. Few mths back, my mummy made the remarks to me.. “dun think he (hubby) no need to come ti qing hor.. he needs to come one b4 get marry with u.. “ haha.. that is when I know abt ti qing this matter.. but had checked with my in laws, they will come ti qing after cny.

Blur_btb : is ok.. u try to make some comparison b4 confirming ba.. I think for those MUA u check, they might nt have done or do not have much confidence in doing short hair bride but I’m sure there are MUA who know how to do it.. so check with them, see what they say den confirm them.. ïŠ hope u find one soon so less worry to worry abt ::P

Ya, my banquet coordinator is very flexible. Even in contract, she even state everything is flexible haha.. hubby & me laugh when we saw that. But we are always glad that she is so flexible in the things.. if nt, it will be very difficult liao.. hubby & me dun carry credit card.. the only one we have is the $500 credit limit one from Citibank. As we dun wan to be burdened with credit card bills, so we dun wan to carry one.. but recently I signed up for UOB ladies.. still in process duno when will approve.. so got to wait..

Discussed with hubby le, he say we shall wait till nearer the date den see if our guests is over 40 tables, if less than that, den simply no worries abt it but if has to be more than 40 tables, den we will again check with our coordinator abt the walk in guests part..

maoushroom... I think I will call or email the lady boss to check with her whether the promo is on going or nt.. I’m thinking of going down to her place to take a look. U wan to go? Maybe we can arrange a day to go down.. think Ellen oso wan to go down to check out for her AD gowns. We can all go down together to have a look.. ïŠ

dun envy of me la.. I’m sure ur coordinator will work along with u to help u as much as possible too ïŠ

zstyle on sale for 1 whole year liao.. all dresses $28 n sum r quite nice. yea, should ask my JM to go there to get the dresses else my pocket burn big time. but hope no one else turns up at the wedding wearing the same can liao.. else will b funny (self volunteer extra JM??).

from wad i no, mahatten n dividend cards currently has better rebates than other cards.

sigh~ i cant access the forum for a few weeks due to work... think cum back sure nid sum time to ketchup all your posts de.

but keep posting gals~

Just came back from Meritus Mandarin... Signed the contract and paid the deposit. Huh? Manhattan card got so much rebates?? Why when i asked my HTB he said dun have?? I'm going to question him tomorrow grrrr.... Anywayz, ended up i used DBS black card, which gives 2x points... Well, must make sure i use a good card for the actual banquet bill...

Blur_btb > actually i also never control my diet haha... i eat 3 full meals + tea daily... but at least i got exercise la... :P btw, hair touching shoulder blades is not so short liao le. My friend got "mushroom hairstyle", not much styling option but at least she looks quite nice during her wedding la...

My PS package got 33 photos, we are trying to limit the top-up to max. 10 photos, let's see how it goes huh...

dreamer > that's the same feedback i heard about Meiji collagen drink, but i guess most pple still keep drinking cos they feel that it's better than not drinking anything... haha...

can i KPO... where are you having your ROM?

Dione > 5x a week to Amore? you very on... i think my knees will break if i go 5x a week hahaha... i still feel healthiest and most toned when i did pilates regularly... really miss pilates le.... sigh now no chance to go.

new Metro? i thought it almost extinct liao haha... For Tense-up, my friend said $7 per day. I'm still wondering if i heard her correctly....... so ex???

hmmmm i must have seen the collagen ramen at international plaza too... i m there weekly....

Mrs Chua + maoushroom > i still yet to discuss with bridal closet on the AD package (need to change some stuff), but if the package they offer is good, i will most prob go there some time next month. update you gals again

EL > i remember reading in this forum that dividend card doesn't give rebates to wedding banquets, better check with citibank first~ so you will be away for work next few weeks? jia you~

Dione.. my office @ Raffles place.. the collagen shop I'm toking is near china sq. beside the shop got sushi tei.. I find the soup ok la.. that time nt dieting so find it ok.. den dieting, find it oily haha.. anyway long time no go liao.. cos me & my colleagues will go for cheaper food if possible.. haha.. budget tight la..

I know credit card has alot of such rebates thingy but I jus dun have any.. so sad..

jus check the price for tense up on its webby... is $61.50 for a bottle of 10, 50ml each. 1 bottle selling $7. I really feel like trying too hehe.. oh ya, must drink how long to see the results?? drink this, dun need go facial hor? haha

http://www.fancl.com.sg/product_detail.asp?p_id=101

guess I can't get dresses from z-style for my JM. a couple of them bigger size so dun think got their size ba..

wow.. Ellen, u finally signed the contract.. congrats.. 1 worry down.. hehe

bridal closet -> u discussing the contract with them? ok ok.. do update us when u going down

Seems like Tense up is a HITO in this thread. keke~

EL> No worry~~ Jia you for your work. =)

Dreamer> Sure!! We shall order together if the source is reliable.

Dione> Five days per week?? Later whole body aching ah. Maybe 3 times a week can consider. Haha.. I'm still not that hardworking enough. Now tampines one has aqua fitness, gonna try it after my sign up. Keke~

I think I gonna find one day to go down and have a look. Till now, I still haven't go Orchard Central before. *mountain turtle*

Mrs Chua> Nature farm got sell chicken essence too! Their supplier is the same from Yu Ren Sheng as told by the promoter. The taste not bad. Surprising right to knw they sell bird nest also, somemore is after processed, choice of sweetened and non-sweented.Hehe~

I also dun have credit card lo, not even the citibank $500 limit. LOL.... Depends on the banquet hotel as for mine, they are bought over by UOB group. So when using UOB card, got one complimentary table. So better to check with ur banquet manager on the privileges.

Some say that after 2 months will see the results. Actually no need to take daily, take alternate days will do. So 3 box for 2 mths.

We share the expenses together,but of coz my HTB pay more. For my case,PG and GDL thingy, red packets will fork out by me. The rest he will pay.

Ellen> Glad to hear that u have settle ur banquet~ At least one thing down and no need to headache. hee~

A bit more on Z-style... Not that I earn commission from them or something but i was very high cos I actually find dresses that I can fit without gg to XL. And the material is not bad with many colours and styles.

I was shopping for my friend's wedding jiemei dress when i saw this shop. I peep in and ask whether they have anything that might fit me and the person reassure me that YES... The biggest they gave me was M and i saw that tiny piece of material n think that its a goner but amazingly it fits just nice!

If you are tinking that I am thin, no lor.. I am 1.62m and over 63 kg leh... And I got muscle bulk fr the weights training I used to do... so I think it can fit a lot of average gals... Shall post pic when I get my camera back from friend. So I think you gals can try!

And each dress come with matching straps if you want to do a spagetti style. So if you stipulate a colour, I think there are several styles to choose from from your JM.

To respond to Mrs Chua, all the wedding and house expenses, we are sharing out as much as we can both afford. Didn't keep track. For instance, if he pay for the furniture, I pay for electrical appliances. He pay for bridal package, I take on the banquet deposit.

Dione: For now, it is $28 for the entire store. I ask them how come they can keep the price so llow and the lady told me they got their own factory. No fancy paper bags or what though.

Wah, the topup is a good bargain leh... good for you.. I cant bargain very well. Leave to HB to do the job.. What are crystal apples?

Have you heard about any tax at the SG customs when we bring back the albums etc fr JB?

For the Manhattan Card, we are thinking of going to pay from time to time (meaning pay a portion of the banquet in advance) to earn some points before settling the last portion after the dinner. Does Qian Xi allow that?

And do be careful okie... if you work out 5 times a week, better get some supplements or the knees might not take it. I used to teach at the gym and I could feel my knees gg gone when I do a lot in a week... GNC has a product call Triflex which is very good. Use it to supplement. Once knees are affected, its very difficult to cure.

Ooh, also want to ask you how much deposit will VG and PG usually require ah? Trying to manage the cashflow now.

Mrs Chua: Your banquet coordinator is funi! Can the payment be flexible also?? Yup, will check out the MUAs... First to get the VG out of the way... And then the animation... Meeting up with the animator next week. :D

Ellen: Great for you.. keep exercising... the last time i was an gym nut, I never had to control.. i could eat as much as I want.... waiting for my flu and cough to be gone to go back to it again. Have been terribly weakened by all the medicine these 2 months.

Ching Ching.. ohh really? Did not except they oso sell chicken essence too.. think I'm realli mountain tortoise haha

oh ya, that day I wanted to ask my coordinator if they got any credit card promotion... forgotten to ask.. so sianz.. will ask when I go down to make payment..

tense up -> 2 mths & alternate day will do.. think shld be still reasonable but I guess after that must still continue to drink to maintain it ba
or we can start drinking 2 mths b4 our wedding? hehe

for wedding expenses, we oso shared the cost. all coming out from our joint account cos we find that wedding is 2 person affairs. moreover hubby & me do not have much savings, so for this wedding, we are taking 1 step at a time.. working toward our budget.. but I do heard from girls friends that to them, they believe all wedding expenses have to be paid by the guys. they will not spend a single cent on it...

blur_btb.. think maybe I can bring my JM to z-style to check it out. if got their size, then I will check with them whether they wan a new pcs or they are ok with rented ones.

To me, $28 per pcs is still ok for my pocket, nt so bad.. bridal closet one is $100 for 3 pcs, which is abt $33 per pcs.. $5 diff.. shld be still reasonable right? but I got 6 JM, $5 x 6 = $30, I save $30 haha... aiyo, when become so calculative? lols if hubby would to see, he would see this has to do with my job haha

ya my coordinator is funny.. I duno why she phrase it that way in contract.. shld be ok to sign the contract if she put it that way right? lols

Mrs Chua> Haha... I am getting 2 box to try out first. If works, I will buy few box before PS. Hehe~ Must drink before PS and AD, not just AD wor... we must look nice nice~~

Maybe u can call and ask before u go down. If it's other credit card promo, maybe can try to delay abit for ur application of new card. =p

I also do heard from some girls that all wedding expenses should be paid by the guys. But to me, wedding are btw both and if he alone gg to take up the burden will be super tedious. Ya lo, budget budget budget.... Wedding is all abt expenses and budget. I kno I say before le,but still can't stop asking the sky to drop some money for me. wahaha.

Blur btb> I bought my evening dress from Z-style too. The material and price are very reasonable. That's another shop selling dresses at $28 too, but can't remember the name. It's at century square. Hmm.. I'll go and find out~ =p

Hi Ching Ching and Mrs Chua

I think it is right that we are sharing the costs with our HB or HTB lah... otherwise, the cost of a wedding here is so high. Most of us are working anyway... In fact, I earn quite a bit more than HB.. so i try to pay where I can and if you notice, most of the wedding stuff are girl related... I m sure the guys can go wo photoshoot, nice gowns, beauty products etc... tsk tsk...

In the olden days I think it is right for the guys side to bear the cost since they are getting the bride mah... that time girls all not working... and they stay with in laws after the marriage... no VG, PG, animation, photo topup, montage etc.. so the burden not so heavy on the poor guys...

That brings me to the point of the gatecrashing... I tot its quite unnecessary and silly lah... why humiliate the poor guy? But at the same time, i dun want to be a spoilsport to my jiemeis, so not sure what to do yet.

Ching Ching & Blur_btb.. guess 3 of us are the same. we all shared the cost of this wedding with hubby. true, if hubby would to pay everything, it would a real burden on him. I admit wedding nowadays are really so exp unlike in the past....

Ching Ching.. I would oso hope money can drop from the sky.. let's hope that money can realli drop from somewhere.. so we dun have to worry so much abt money ba *wink*

Ya, I agree with you. Last time my mum say she and my dad only spend on the banquet (house's downstair), potrait photo and GDL (by both parents' contribution). Not like now, what banquet must be at hotel la, overseas PS bla bla bla.Sometimes hear she describe, I can't help to tell her that now is diff era + my logic/expectations for wedding and she can't tahan me. LOL..

Gate crashing still need ba.. as to me, I dun want him to 'qu' me so easily.. keke..must let him has some 'tian tou'. =p so bad of me. But of coz, I have tell my shortlisted jiemei that no wearing of undergarments for the buddies n groom. I personnally feel that it's too far n groom's parents may not be happy when they saw the photos/video. Maybe u can tell them what are the limit and ur concern,the rest let them plan themselves n leave it to them. =)

Mrs Chua> Ya loh~~ Why am I not one of the 3 lucky winners for the TOTO... lol... Let us pray hard together and we be one of the few winners or standby to catch money from the sky. wahahaha~~ *Fat Hope*Pengz*

ya, my hubby oso told my JM that he can do anything for gatecrashing but not wearing pampers.. saw some gatcrashing video b4, they make the guys wear those disposable underwear which they will write, I love whoever etc.. I find it cute but I oso worried my in laws & relatives dun like so tell my JM dun do that. oh ya, our JM & us already agree that there won't be any suan tian ku la (sour, sweet, bitter, hot) or anything that need to eat/drink. we agree that we dun wan later the guys ge stomach upset den spoil the day.. haha so we jus gonna play some simple games & that is gate crashing.. won't be long thing..

better go and check now~~ Maybe u are one of the lucky winner and ur worries will be all free~ LOL...

Urs same as my frenz's wedding gate crash.They also request us not to play anything on food, so we agree to it as the groom agree to play anything and be onz. When his buddies (experienced being buddies) learn abt it, they super shocked and tell the groom why no food as that's the most easier game to play. According to my frenz, all sound very pitiful. LOL...

Ching Ching and Mrs Chua:

Yes I agree with you that the food portion is no need de.. should not spoil anyone's tummy in the process.. I am sure there are more creative things that can be done other than the scary food... just that must think think think...

I also want to win toto.. but then again... suan le lah.. money will come back in other ways de... :D

Long wkend.. what will u gals be doing?

Haha thanks gals
now paid deposit liao, cannot regret about banquet venue anymore LOL

Mrs Chua > Our wedding expenses are shared except pin jin... We are opening a joint account and put a certain % of our salary into it monthly. All wedding expenses will be paid through the joint account... I also very calculative haha and sure it has to do with my job too :P

Ching Ching > Haha i also only went to ION Orchard last month... Tampines One's pool is v nice... but i can't swim le not sure whether can do aqua aerobics or not haha. I also didn't have credit card until i need to travel for work... Talking about credit cards, seems like so far UOB and DBS cards have the most wedding privilege...

Actually at first we wanna be on budget for our banquet, but my parents are the one that asked us to go hotel lor LOL... different parents also got different expectation siah :P

Blur_btb > wah you used to teach in gym... personal trainer or teach in class? Hope you can recover soon le, take vit C, eat more fruits and drink more water (good for skin too hahaha)

btw i m not having gatecrash too... my HTB was so happy to hear that LOL. There was once i was in the xiongdi team, ate all those funny stuff... bleah... *_*

bought strawberries just now~ ^_^ now eating haha... actually if Tense-up can be taken once every two days, it's about same price as strawberries hahaha

I'm already on leave today... super long weekend haha! Went for my ENT appointment just now... tomorrow... probably will just slack around...

how about you gals?

Dear galssssss..........

You are have sooo much to post on this forum. My goodness. I was away for one day and there are sooo many threads to read??!!! Good

Mrs Chua> I was reading your thread. Are you jioing me to go to a shop to check out the jiemei's clothes? I'm sorry ah. There are so many threads going on, getting very confused and hard to keep thread. I'm fine going down with you but we must arrange a date!!!!!

And to your question about the spending on wedding. Me and my partner will split to pay deposit for different items. At teh end of the day, we will clear the banquet with the angbao money first, then the rest split up. Of course, we try to maintain as much fairness as possible..... But I expect my partner to pay for my rings lah (that is the only thingie that I expect him to pay). Haha...though there are custom that the bride pay for the groom's ring, and vice verse...

I know there are some gals who expect guys to pay the entire wedding and there are some guys who want to do that. But it seems like most of the July babes are splitting the expenses...think our society has changed, nowadays, split cost?.

Blur> Sorry ah. where is Z style? Can you post up the location again...I can't seem to trace the location that you post the other time

The more you talk about the place,the more tempted I am to check out the place!!!!!!!!

And ladies....> I"m sooo tempted to buy Tense. If any of you are going to try soon, let me know the response k (though there are positive outcome so far)...

Ellen> If you have done your maths...strawberry can be quite ex too
Haha....

Blur> You used to teach at the gym?? Can give me/us some tips how to lose those fats around the tummy area and tigh area??? What can we do???

The gatecrashing games....I seen those whereby the elderly and relatives become unhappy coz make the guys do too funny stuff. I guess it really depends how 'onz' the guys are and the threshold of everybody (the guys & relatives).

Ellen> Wah, you go on leave today. Must be super shiok!!!! What is ENT appointment anyway???

I'm slacking too. Try to rest as much as possible. Body feels lethargic. Must be the millions and trillion bug flu that is flying around

maoushroom, Z style got 2 outlets: Far East Plaza and Citylink Mall. If their dresses are $28 each, it's cheaper than renting for $100 for 3 pcs... heh.

oh ENT = ear nose throat. So in short i went to see doctor today la LOL... have chronic sinus problem... doctor said i m allergy to tropical air wor... so i actually shouldn't live here hahaha :P

btw i never heard of the custom to buy ring for each other... i'm learning something new everyday here haha

flu bugs... i had my H1N1 jab yesterday le. hope no severe reaction/side effects~