(2010/01) Jan 2010 BTB

chercher

yeah, aeriss u doing fine
dun stress...

apple>> yeah, juz relax urself

wendy, as my wedding is on 3rd, my al will start from 30th dec... most prob return work on 5th jan.. haven replied my jan leave yet.. still thinking

apple_lee

hahha we all have to remain calm, the date is getting nearer so i am sure everyone feel the stress huh.. but breath in, breath out.... =)stay cool....

yeah, so its not a romantic, not those dreamy rom haha.. thanks wendy..

i am taking 3 days leave for the wedding..

wendycsk

Hehehe.. me just submitted for 3 days, 2 days before wedding and one wedding after wedding.. But feel like taking another day off before wedding.. hahahaa.. my honeymoon sure not enough leave to take de.. must take unpaid liao..

piger

haaahaaa.... all talking about leave thing liao arh?? mmmm.... me is 2 days before and 1 week after wedding.... March's trip will be cancel... but htb was saying he'll bring me somewhere on June... =P

apple: ohhh... u've forgotten... tot u say maybe can join us for dinner??

wendycsk

wow eelynn, one week after wedding!! Wher you going??

Hi aeriss, my company giving me 3 days marriage leave which i had applied for 2 days before and 1 day after lor.. hehe.. i calculated, after saving my leaves this year, till next year april (honeymoon period - not confirmed yet), i will have 15 days annual leave accumlated so far.. Hehe.. My honeymoon will be around 15 days ba.. So should be enough.. haha.. but i will be very poor as i dun have much leave left!

piger

wendy: i'm going HK first for a relax trip.. heehee.. initially going to Perth on March one.. but htb cannot.. then got change of plan again... heehee....

chercher

eelynn>> i cfm not goin le... my hubby cant leave for so long... if last min can, then i update u.. coz most prob will wait till ad over le then decide on my short trip

coffeebunny

omg you girls are making me gancheong! my date just got set for 16/1/10 and i've not done anything yet lol. both our parents are shaking their heads. i have some questions though, appreciate some comments:
1. what are the usual GDL gifts? my parents don't want to ask anything of my FMIL but i think something small shd still be requested as tradition since my FMIL will likely not be giving me the gold.
2. is anyone not going with traditional wedding gown and tuxedo? my fb and i want to do something simple and resort like.
3. thinking of doing away with the table phototaking too. any alternatives to fill up the time instead of phototaking?

actually we wanted to hold something very small and intimate but this is more for our parents than anything else. guess some of you also have this same issue?

starfrost

lisresonance: i'm also undecided on where to get my cake vouchers from.. hope we'll decide on one soon!

chercher: where did u get ur GDL stuff from? =)

eelynn: bought anything from ur JB trip? hehe..

jajah: are u able to find other pple to be ur jiemei? hope u manage to find some other pple to help out

apple: congrats gal!! ^_^

wendy: i'm planning to take like 3 days before and 2 days after wedding...quite short huh..

aeriss: ur co is soo gd! mine wld only be giving 2 days

piger

hihi coffeebunny.. welcome to our Family... =) Actually the GDL thingy right.. u have to check on your dialet.... if really no need to buy the stuffs... maybe just put the cash in angpow... write the purpose on it... But most importantly... i think you have to confirm your venue first.. cause Jan is a HOT MONTH... alot of ppl getting married... hope it help... =)

starfrost: heeheee... bought alot of things... =P heehee....

princess_shawn

where did some of u get the pyjamas? I could not find it in chinatown earlier.. I saw alot of female ones but there are no male pyjamas le..

chercher

starfrost> i bought at chinatown, smith st.. those shops behing shuang yu

princess>> i bought at chinatown, smith st.. ull see it when u go in from the shuang yu der.. first shop before the shops selling gdl stuff

coffeebunny>> welcome
agree wif eelynn, quickly set ur venue + gowns first
the rest can come later... those gdl stuff, can check wif the aunties selling

wendycsk

Hi Princess, i had brought at Tiao Xiang Wedding & Gifts at Block 335 Smith Street, China Town Complex #01-77 Singapore 050 335. They specialise in traditional chinese customary wedding preparation needs. You could contact them at 6222 2572 or 6224 8848.

wendycsk

hi coffeebunny, welcome! Me also same date as you.. hehe.. Where you holding your dinner? Here is my comments to your questions:

1. what are the usual GDL gifts? my parents don't want to ask anything of my FMIL but i think something small shd still be requested as tradition since my FMIL will likely not be giving me the gold.

These are the normal things for Betrothal 下娉/过大礼/纳彩 (Groom's side to give):
- One whole roasted suckling pig/ Canned pigs trotters (depends on dialect)
- è˜é‡‘ (Pin Jin) - $ to be put into Pin Jin Red Packet
- 2 pairs of dragon and phoenix candles (龙凤烛)
- x boxes of Chinese wedding cakes (喜饼)
- x bottles of brandy/liquors (烈酒)
- Gold (Depends or put in Ang Pao)
- Even No of Tangerines or oranges
- 冬瓜糖, 冰糖, 喜糖, 龙眼, 红枣,白和 etc(depends as well)
- x banquet tables given to Bride's parents

2. is anyone not going with traditional wedding gown and tuxedo? my fb and i want to do something simple and resort like.

It is up to individual.. You could have wear simple evening gown etc if you are looking at a different theme like beach-style. Some sort like Balinese wedding. =)

3. thinking of doing away with the table phototaking too. any alternatives to fill up the time instead of phototaking?

You can fill up the time by having stage games with your guests, ask your bridemaid's or best man's to give speeches, you can have "cheers" to do away with yum seng etc. You can ask your bridesmaid or bestman to perform or engage a live band to have live songs performance.

Hope it helps! =)

wendycsk

hi starfrost, me also short haha.. 3 days before and 1 day after! =p Cos i am planning to take 3 weeks off for honeymoon in april.. thus must save my leave as well! =)

wendycsk

Hi winterpolaris, same here but you do take care k..

Hi girls, i managed to insert the inserts into all the cards and already wrote out all the invites for my and my htb.. hehe.. His parents also wrote finished theirs today, and i will send out my ones next week.. hehehe.. This weekend will be writing the rest of the invites for my own parents! =)

His parents and my parents will be starting to hand deliver the cards as they are those traditional ones which dun RSVP through calls or emails de.. Haha.. The old traditional way is to give everyone whom is invited den those cannot come will inform accordingly. =p

chercher

morning all

wendy: wah still increasin ah? can ur venue accomodate? anyway u're fast hor... now already half way done wif ur invites

pinky_dris

wendy> slow down slow down...we need to catch our breath...haha...u r v fast!

i have 5 days marriage leave. using it for e honeymoon after wedding

princess> shd be a simple dinner meetup w my jie mei, then discuss on e games n things to prep if needed....shd be no hen's party for me. my friends not v happening de leh...lol

odie24

Princess --> My cards are not ready too..

Starfrost --> I asked 5 girls and none are avaliable to be my jie mei .. I had to resort to asking one of my hubby's colleague for help ... Hope she say ok if not I think will have to do away with the gate crashing..

winterpolaris

Mine card design are done. and now waiting to go to printer to start printing

Dun think there will be a jiemei or hen's party. These days i hardly have time to sleep. I only slept 2 hours last night and i was off to work
I will be the ugliest bride on my wedding day

There will be briefing though for our helpers. Then we will call buffet in to treat all of them after the briefing.

For the gate crashing game, i arrowed my friend to be the jiemei head. I trust my HTB is in good hands.

Only next month then I will get the GDL stuffs. Next week i am bringing my F-MIL to buy clothes and shoes!

hi Wendy and cher, thanks....

starfrost

jajah: dun be sad... hope she'll agree to help out.. in the event that you decide to do away with the gate crashing, don't let it affect ur wedding mood okie

princess_shawn

Hey Pinky, hehe ok..i am tinking of buying them dinner + cosmetics from those branded counter etc..still thinking le..u buying them dinner?

Jajah, dun be sad..mine also not ready yet..probably next week

Winter, high 5, am quite tired too..hardly have time to sleep.. u calling mini buffet?

wendycsk

hi chercher, my ballroom min is 35, maximum is 120 tables.. so luckily is no problem!

Hi princess_s and pinky_dris, i need to get te cards done by late nov as my mum will need to travel back to Malaysia to give them the cards personally in early dec.. haha.. and htb's side dun rsvp by calls de.. need to give them by hand.. Thus, in order to get confirm number of tables, thus need to give out early loh! Hehe..

Hi princess_s, for me right, i already had my first Jie Mei meet up on 7th Nov to discuss on dress theme.. I got 6 jie meis and i treated them for dinner on that day. I am meeting a few of my jie mei tomorrow again to look for purple dress. I am intending to have a second meetup for the 6 jie mei in Dec to sit down to discuss gate crashing and things they need etc. We intended to have a simple nightout with them a few days before wedding for medicure, pedicure, spa etc.. We considered that as simple hen's night bah.. hehehe..

Hi jajah, dun sad k..

princess_shawn

Hey Wendy,

thats fast! I havent meet up with my jie mei yet..hehe high 5. I am having 6 too..

icic..r u sponsoring them the dress?

My hens night will be somewhere in the west..my jie meis dun wana tell me le..they said surprise for me..i really have no idea..

Wahaha pedicure, spa my fav!

aeriss

Winter: Don't be so stress! We must be pretty brides! Hope your workload can reduce soon.

Princess: I'm having my jiemeis meet up in dec. I'm also having 6 jiemeis! I will be treating them dinner and buying them a gift but still can't decide what to get yet. I don't think I'm having a hens night. haha

princess_shawn

Hey Jajah, cheer up..

Hey Winter, i thot of mini buffet too but i saw usual min cater is ard 15 pax so its quite tough for me..i thot of cooking myself..

Hey Aeriss, high 5 too..Wendy also 6! hehe
Yeah me thinking of getting them similar gift and let them choose their own fav colour..I will be meeting them in dec! Hey Aeriess, dun worry xmas is ard the corner and i have already saw many pretty gift packaging in shopping malls..so lovely..I love Christmas esp:p

wendycsk

Hi princess and girls, actually out of the 6 sisters right, 2 sisters are my younger sisters.. hehehe.. I will be sponsoring dress for these two sisters and my mum. The other 4 friends right,i might be sponsoring if not, i will pack bigger ang pao for them as promised.. hehehe.. I will also be paying for the manicure and pedicure for them. For brothers, we have 6 as well, and i had already brought ties that comes with cufflinks for them as it double up as a gift. I love christmas too!! =)

Hi jajah, cheer up k! Maybe you can get your cousins if you have?

Me also ordering buffet and it is for actual day after my tea ceremony. We are providing buffets for both at my htb house and my own house for everyone. Have not booked them yet.. =p

Hi winter, me also very stress.. Have lots of night work as well.. And today i just hire a temp in as my UK colleague went on long medical leave and since i am the only one in my dept in apj thus need boss suggested to get someone in to cover the UK lady job or else i will really go bonkers.. I requested another day off before my wedding ( suppose is 2 days before wedding i on ML) but till now my boss had not approved yet!! Argg..

winterpolaris

Hi Princess, haha we are holding a briefing for at least 20 odd people who are involved as jiemie, brothers, church helpers and wedding night helpers. So if i cook, i am going to be in trouble :p

Oh dear u all have 6 jiemeis... i got 12 now. hahaha! my HTB dunno have to bao how much now liao... chum~

Ya my work is loading like mad. I have to stop working on new projects in dec otherwise my jan is gonna be full! Argh~ I just need to clear my existing ones! come on!!! :S

I still haven do my ang pow box, my wrist corsages! I am getting my sister to buy the brother ties from US since she is heading there for holiday. Told me that she might can get me good quality ones for about SG$12 bucks for the branded ties. So *cross finger*

For gifts, actually most of my friends are married and we all realize that gifts are not necessary. We been helping out one another at weddings for the past few years. So most of us are very chin cai. Usually will get buffet and have a good time of fellowship with one another.

I also need to get dress for my younger sister. i need to cut hair, treat my fizzy hair..

oh my GOSH!!!! SO MUCH THINGS I HAVEN DO !!! *ARGH*