(2009) Brides of year 2009

Hi Emily..

Sorry didnt reply earlier..

to me the date 7/11 is so unique.. like what u said.. 24hrs.. hahaha.. and 7-11.. u'll neva forget the date.. anniversaries etc etc..

hi cardith! i did consider chijmes before but after reading reviews (i cant rembr if its here or another forum), seems like they are very strict with their perks. You may wanna check with them for the details?

No doubts that the place and ambience is very very nice thou.

Cheryl, are you doing ROM at labrador park Glasshouse/seafood villa galleria?? me too.. mine is on 17 Jan. how you planing to decor the place?? any DIY?? i stil not sure wat to do yet..my DIY invit cards, pic poster stand, gifts, wedding "monkies" all not prepared yet..infact everything not done.. scare scare..

Hi Rynn,
No prob. I told my HTB about you sharing the same wedding date as us and I told him you are thinking of having a Tentage..guess what he said...heehee...
He said "waa...tat is special.." and he talked abt us having a Tentage too..wahahwhw..but we can't cos we already booked IC
Anyways..do let me know on the venue for your Tentage..cos I think a Tentage will be a beautiful setting especailly at nite.. heehee...

Hi Tulips,
I see...so which Church do you intend to book?
Are you having your ROM in Church on the same day too?
You need not worry about your Wedding Prep...mine is far worst than your and my weeding is like 2 weeks before yours! *Sweat Sweat*
I won't be having our lovenest so soon...need to ballot and all..so...most likely I will be staying with my in-laws first. :|

Wah Jolin, perfect timing you have there.but wouldnt it be too rush for you? you and your HTB stay very nearby? Tea ceremony will take quite a while right??

hi mashi,
thanks for your advice

haha, me just gan jiong spider, and there are so many BS around, hard to decide.

hi Christy,

Mashi> Oh Melvin Ho was in our top list until now we got our ROM pic... my hubby say can spent more a bit to get 1950 Photography as our AD. We have not paid any deposit with Melvin yet but he help us to block the dates first... until now we have decided to go with 1950 Photography. Well, we are still very greatful with Melvin in blocking the date for us.

Wow Yan, good for you. 6 attires is quite a lot to change into. I'm looking forward to selecting my photos in end Nov too. Hehe.

hi emily,

me going for methodist churches... so see which one is available. ya, going for the solemnization in church too. everything in one day.

then how long u need to stay with in-laws?

Hi Cheryl,
My AD also on 11/1..haha..think I may be the one who took her away fr u.I engaged Joey Khoe as MUA for my mom,sis & my hb.She suppose to arrive at the hotel at 4pm..cant possibly be referring to me ba coz mine is not ROM le..she indeed cheap.It was recommend by Mrs Ang

As for VG, I'm using forest production.Thou I may not seen it often,i just want keep it for sentimental value..keke

Hi Kervin,

Yeah, I'm having the ROM and dinner there on the same night. Tell you the truth ar.... I also never do anything yet!!! Havent even pay the deposit yet .. still nego. with the magement cos I dont want to use any of their package stuff, like the invites etc ... However, I more or less already know what i want to do so just have to get my jiameis together and do all the DIY stuff with their help

BTW, Are you going to have a dinner at the chinese restaurant? I think decor wise, that's the hardest place to do cos the ceiling is soooo ugly! Planning to use fabric to drape from the ceilings. I've contacted Love Droplets, they do venue decor and I saw from their website that they have done alot of decor at Villa RainTree. Still waiting for their quote.

check out their gallery ..photos from someone's ROM at Villa RainTree ... http://moks0002.multiply.com/photos/album/34/Precious_Moment_theme_Kavy .... you can 'steal' ideas from there!

Oh ... and this 11th of Nov, there will be a wedding there. May, the manager, told me tat the couple spent $7k on decor itself! I'll be dropping down to have a look at how they decorate the place. Maybe you can check it out too.

For me, I plan to use lots of candles to light up the Glass House area and also have floating flowers and candles in the swimming pool. My FH husband's God Mom made 1000 origami cranes for us (supposed to bring gd luck to the marriage, hehe), so I will hang them from the small tree nr the Glass House entrance.

You should check out the Martha Stewart web site ... lots of decor ideas and they have alot of free templates for DIY stuff.

If you havent done your invite cards yet, you can check out the MS office site, they have a wedding section, have lots of templates for invites cards and more. All free.... http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/templates/FX102580041033.aspx

wats your email address? maybe we can share ideas! I've done up a 'jiameis' newsletter with ideas on what i want to do for the wedding. Can send to you if you like

I also have lots of emcee speech, actual day schedule, budget templates, DIY suppliers, etc etc if you need.

So dun b scared okie! I'm sure we can pull off a beautiful wedding!

Hi desjO ... So you're the one!! Lucky girl!! haha .... it should be you cos she said she have to be there at 4pm.

She's very nice also, when she found out she couldnt do my session, she gave me contacts of other MUAs that she thinks can suit what I looking for. I think other MUAs might not want to do that in case the other 'steal' biz from them hehe.

whoa cheryl,

i damm impressed manz..i guess i am the laziest bride on earth. Definately not the decor and arts & crafts person. Ask me to spend $7K on decor..i think i pay the money for my own house renovation haha at least it can last for 5 yrs and more rather then a day.

But i think the effect will be very different lor then the normal wedding. But really a lot of things to do on your own, for me i rather pay for packages and just laid back and relax.

my emcee speech, AD schedule stuff all done by my hubby already. Cards already done, cakes ordered, wine ordered..only wait for the day to come and send out invites.

Vallous ..

Heehe ... Maybe I very vain la! cos I want to have this vintage glam theme.. and my evening dress will be a vintage style so i wanna do those 1920s haistyle to match... It's finger waves... use fingers to style the curls .. so not all MUA might know how to do it. Plus thinking of doing a 'geisha' kinda look for the qipao i will be wearing ... Once in a lifetime ma ... how often will I get the chance to dress up like this hehhe

as for the VG, I think I wont use la ... all my frens only watched their dvds only once or twice and then put in the cupboard collect dust .. my sis cant even remember where hers gone to! haha

hi desjO,

Those GDL is given by in laws. But my family is particular abt the cakes, so my in laws just give us the cash on our GDL day and we purchased it on our own. This way, we can take our own sweet time to order and deliver to our relatives any day we wanted. No need to wait till last minute -1to 2 weeks before wedding then rush to houses. My GDL most of the stuff we settled by Ang Bao..so whatever each family needs just buy on their own. Less conflicts.

I bought extra 30 bottles of red wines. Its definately enough as Conrad Hotel already complimentary us with one red wine per table and 30 litres of beer. Its actually more than enough.

Hi Cheryl,
So sorry that I took her..but she told u is ROM ar?think i better confd with her again.skali not me..keke..yes,she a nice lady,she also intro other MUAs for me coz I still need one more for my MIL.I engaged Tin.$70 only.
Btw u really cool..hvnt do anything yet ar? ;p

I am gg to do my Guo da Li and An chuan on the same day which is about 1 week before my AD...

By the way, is there any photos of ya PS.. I am doing mine on the 13 Nov.. wanna 'steal' some idea.. hehehe

hi cheryl,

no lah not vain. I felt you are very bold and advanturous. I am more conservative. Perhaps both my hubby and I are the elder daughter and eldest son in the family. We pretty much adhere a lot to the family customs and respect the elderly a lot. So we also dun wan to 'shock' the old relatives so keep it conservative and simple.

To the older folks, it is just a dinner, nothing fanciful is needed. My mama and MIL warn us to behave ourselves and not be too 'over'..so we have to be kuai. We chose grandeur and sophisticated classical theme. Plus also my hubby having military wedding..so also knt play play too much. Tend to be more solemn.

Actually hor..nowadays Dinner and Dance at companies are getting bolder liao..some ppl have the 'geisha' and 1930s theme for their dinners..so dun worry lah..got chance one.

Vallous,

Vallous, wah ... you very to schedule! so many things done already! I must start to do everything also... will be out of town for one month from mid nov to mid dec somemore! Stresed!

For me, I'm not using a BS at all, when my sis got married, I planned her wedding for her cos she's based in HK and the experience I got with the BS has put me off them! Never again!

So my whole wedding is DIY. Anyway, I'm a bit of a control freak ... I prefer to do everything myself hahaha

I feel wedding is once in a lifetime, tats why I want to do it differently lor ... want it to be a really good time for both me and my FH and the guests as well.

But I also wont spend $7k on decor lor!!! I think that couple have too much money to spend! ;) would rather spend it on entertainment ... at least the guests can enjoy.

Hi Tulips,
Heehee..same as me...as in having the ROM on the same day...My church is Grace Assembly of God at Tanglin Road there..just next to Crescent Girls' School...

I think hor...going to stay with them maybe 1 year? I also not sure cos now my HTB takes care of the balloting and I am pretty particular in the area where I wan to live in..I wan to stay around cck where I am near to the niang jie..heehheee..or I wan to stay around Bukit Batok (near my sis's place) or Jurong East..troublesome rite? So tat is why I don't really noe how long I will be staying with my in-laws... :|

Any good florist to recommend?

My AD is estimated to be next year (2009), have to wait for CNY then able to get the actual dates.
Just want to check with all of you, anyone planning to get titanium wedding bands? cos we are quite interested, but plan to get online from USA due to the low supply in singapore.

Any couples did that b4?

hi Ladies,

A little update from me:

Done:
1. Selected pre-wedding photos, collect on early Jan 09
2. Montage on the way
3. Draft for Guest list and sitting arrangement
4. Draft for invitation card insert
5. Draft AD Wedding Schedule
6. Purchased angbao box, left decoration
7. Draft Guest List for Bride's side
8. Selected some wedding songs for march in, montage and during the dinner commenced, but not yet finalized
9. Confirmed AD photo & videographer

To be done:
1. Schedule date for Food Tasting
3. Collection of Invitation Card and 2nd payment to hotel
4. Selection of bridal bouquet
5. Marketing for wedding stuff (GDL, stickers, etc)
6. Gown fitting for AD
7. Looking for wine supplier
8. Chalet or hotel booking
9. And many more...

hey desjO, she said that the girl alreay put a deposit down ... so if you didnt put a deposit yet, you better check if it is you!

BTW, I also contacted Tin, waiting for her reply to see if she can do my wedding... hahah seems like we all going after the same MUAs!

yeah manz..

entertainment is important. I attended one good friend wedding at the NUSS alumini at Suntec City. Got those outdoor BBQ buffet. Got live music but only got one person singing. After a while..a bit super boring then hor very loud so guests cannot hear each other chatting and many left early. Not good. Besides entertainment..make sure the food is good. People just love to comment on food..not many ppl will comment on your decor.

I used to be a control freak like you, but i felt wedding is between two persons and even 2 families. So i allowed all to come in and contribute. When i see my mum happily choosing the gowns for me and the cakes, i am happy also. My hubby doing all the paper work and video pictures and emcee stuff..he felt the mood to get married too. Then i get less to do and less stressed.

My hubby also out of town for a month. We hope to clear all stuff so we can focus on our work and not to come back rushing like mad cows.

I do agree that some BS can be a pain in the ass. I had some of my fair share too. But i maintain communication with them and praise them often enough and they did quite well then.

By the way, ladies, do you have any recommendation for wine supplier? I am looking for small number of order (around 15 - 20 bottles). Thanks to advice.

Hey vallous,

I don't work so wont have chance for DnD! my FH's works in educational line so they also dun ave DnD... no other chance for me to dress up! haha

You know, actually I didnt even want to do the dinner but in the end decided to do it for the old folks... but want to do it my way hehe .... I'm the oldest daughter and my FH is the only son, But we are lucky cos my youngest sis already got married and did the BIG wedding/Dinner thing so I got allowance from my parents. My Future MIL is also very nice.. She says that we can do anything we want. She always say the only important thing is that our relationship is good and she will be very happy already.

I even plnnning to wear a black evening gown ... but i also didnt want to make my A-ma faint with anger! so i will be making a hot pink qipao to please her as well cos the tea ceremony will be during the dinner.

haha our mothers are okay lah...usually its the ah ma...better dont make them get stroke..

i am in the educational line also mah..we have yearly D & D..this yr at Park Hotel..theme is Crazy Hats..haha..i tell you it all depends on the organizing committee.

I do agree with you that the first one to get married..quite suay... everything must do.

My younger sis in law gets away with it. She is holding hers at beach wedding at Rasa Sentosa. "envy" leh

hi cheryl, my makeup artist is stephanie lee (everbliss/ bridal zone uses her) I dono how much she charges though for your kind of requirements. Might be over your budget. haha

I had 2 friends who used her and both look fabulous...so i went along as well. the number is 97871227

Same here... stuck with AD and VG selection... *headache*

Sharlene - i see... my colleague said go for fullerton and i was like, so exp! Their 1N stay is equal to 2N @ M Hotel...

wow..... all is so active in this thread...
my MUA is lily from Simonvideo... i took her because she is cheap.... dun want to spend extra more than $350 for actual day makeup...i even thought of doing my own makeup in the first place, very giam right....

Ryan & Melissa, actually u can go to calculate dates now cos the tong shu is out after lunar sept which is long ago already..

I think my wedding bands is titanium which cost same as gold ring but thinner n harder..

gold ring will go out of shape..

white gold will become yellowish..

vallous... my friend keep asking me what if my MUA not good , then how? because i never really ask her for her portfolio... just take her because she is rather cheap....

i was thinking... no matter how bad her skills is, sure can do decent makeup bah ?
can't be that bad right.. the most dun have princessy makeup only mah....

Emily> if u dont mind the east, Mrs Teo from Bedok North Blk 85 market is good. I got my ROM bouquet from her. No regrets!

Shjeans, Nat> hello! my lovenest also in Tamp! Bought a resale early this year when property prices are sky-rocketing like nobody's biz. :X But no regrets la, guess it all depends on luck as well. Which area you guys at/moving to? Mine is under the 700 series.

Good luck to all balloting as well! Like the saying goes, "what's yrs will be yrs eventually".

Stacey, my FH's mum suggests to pick dates after 2009 CNY for the AD to be on the 2009. thats why.

the reason i choose Titanium over others, is bcos Ti is durable and yet light in weight. Tungsten carbide is durable and shiny (scratch free) but heavy in weight.

As what you said about gold n white gold, same as what i thought

Thing is, S'pore have limited places selling Titanium rings (due to various reasons), so im wondering whether any other couples are thinking to buy it online..

Hi Stacey & Cynthia,

Thanks for the recommendation.

Call my mum yesterday to check on the no. of tables or dowry that she wants and she insisted on having only 1 table for the girl side. Not intending to invite our relatives. All in all now, we only 140 people. Seriously dont know how to hold a wedding dinner like that.

Kinda upset.

I saw on other post that there's a bridal fair in Nov 14-16 in JB. Am going there to sign up with the BS. Am looking at SG Bridal, Venue and Dawn.

Got to see their package and perks on that day.

Ryan & Melissa, if u pick dates after CNY then a lot of hotels n restaurants already booked..

n prices will be increased by then..

but of cos if u wan to follow ur MIL's suggestion, no issue..

I bought mine titian rings at Poh Heng @ Causeway Point..

lynnnie, u can definitely find a place for ur cosy wedding.. dun fret too much..

I wouldn't be in Spore for the JB bridal fair so gotta go down after I renew my passport also as my passport is expiring jun 09 which means i can't go overseas even JB in dec 08..

Hello all, when and where are you all getting your wedding favours if not provided by hotel?I tot of giving cup cakes as wedding favours not sure whether it is all right or not? Ladies, please share.

Is any April BTBs, going to do your own Ang Bao Box or wrist corsages?

Pk, I might be ordering the cupcakes from the vendor for my ROMING anniversary. Will update you again.

jaalie, my bs's service is so far quite good. Package cost me 3k plus. You can go to sbw@AMK thread to see for details.But if you want very nice EG, then exclude my BS.

Well... initially im quite upset with her idea. cos i know by the time, most of the reasonable priced restaurants/hotels will be booked.
Anyway this is not a very major factor for me to headache over, so i just let it be

So you bought your Ti @ Poh Heng, will check it out one day. Thanks!

Lynnie hi, i might not know the whole story to your family's issue. But 1 thing for sure, holding a wedding dinner is a happy procedure and a new beginning to you n your FH, so dun be upset by setbacks. Ultimately this whole wedding dinner preparation is not your destination, its your beginning with your FH. Cheers!