(2009) Brides of year 2009

natalie06

emily> sorry i din managed to get any pic of my the bouquet but shld have one aft my rom which will b on 22 nov. will show u aft dat k.
yes, i agreed w u that those on e websites r usually v ex n aft i found this, i act find e rest not really worth it..

ixoral> yeah man, htb n me also love tk n bayshore area partly becos its near east coast n we dun wana stay too far away from my parents. afterall, its still in e east. hehe

shjeans> ya man, tk n bayshore area r really ex, its like one of e ex in e east. but both htb n i love e peacefulness in e area n e fact dat its near east coast so m putting e area as our priority at e moment.

popprincesstrin> cool! u r looking at tk area as well? we r oso taking our time to shop ard. ya man, e earliest TOP date for new property is in 2010 which is too late for us. we wanted e house to b ready b4 our AD. so at e moment, preparing to purchase one early next yr, not later than jun. guess we shld b working ard e same timeline. hehe

blurbaby

Cherie...

i neber bought the Flaunt.. but jus those sticker.. cheaper.. cost bout 12.90 for 3 pairs.. was my ex-colleague who intro to me... without wearing something inside was better.. have a break..

kv24

hey girls.. any one know any websites or shops that do live drawing of people in cartoon style one (Big comical head, small body style)?? i don know wat this kind of art is called so cant surf the net for it. can someone give me the "magic word". 10s

kv24

Motning Jaslyn, I have msg them both for their availablitiy and Rates. I just getting for the mothers and maybe my sister..

Anyone got any more contacts? Since the MUA is not for me.. but the "pei jiao" i don really need very li hai MUA.. mainly is cheap with reasonable service can le..

saggiegirl

I bought the triumph maximizer stick-on bra at robinsons (using voucher)...looks good

just also went to chamelon to buy a simple tiara and hairband..somemore is my hubby who drag me to buy ... price for tiara is $39 and hairband is $19..quite ok..and somemore is he who choose the designs for me...

desjo_11

Hi Kervin,
Me also engaged a 'reasonable rate' MUA for my mom & sis.I engaged Joey Khoe cn:82821768, recommended by Mrs Ang.Think 2 pax @ $75 ea, if just 1 pax is $80.U can chk up her multiply http://joeykhoe.multiply.com
The other MUA Tin is recommended by Joey khoe.I enagaged her for my mil at $70.Her contact is 96497588.

lalaa_27

Hi Kath.. nope the lunch didnt materialise la!

Pearline.. Im so sorry! I saw ur PM too late
cos I cant access hotmail at work.. n i hardly go online at home..

anyway galz.. we shud organize a meet-up soon!

Miow Miow - Welcome to the Sep'09 group!

do update ur details in the table.. or juz post the details here, n 1 of us will update the table for u!

aaronjas

Hi Miho, we're not taking photos too but have gotten the package from the bridal shop. Hence, we will be getting MTM wedding gown and suit, evening gown, flowers, car deco, make up. All at an estimate max of $3k

saggiegirl

hmm..no lar..coz hor..the tiara looks pretty used (according to my hubby which he took a peep when he was at WL)..and so my hubby suggested i go and buy a simple one lor...and then he drag mi to the chamelon shop at vivocity B2 and choose for mi..
the tiara that he chose is one with heart-shaped de..

Hi Janine

But I only want 1 tier of the cake so would they be able to do it and roughly how much? Where is Pine Garden? If they are ok then I was thinking GDL cakes also get from them easier for me leh...

Hi PK

I dont think I want to distribute the cake since lunch should be quite full maybe I will just distribute to the VIP table or bring back home. What do you think?

sssc

Hi, how's everybody doing with their wedding prep? I have been missing in action for a few months...

I went for my first fitting, was not very pleased with my selection cause I was not in the mood to pick and choose, besides i was just feel I look awful on all gowns cause i had put on too much weight...anyway, I selected my main gow, ne which I look best in from about 7-8 selected by my co-ordinator loh...By the way, I completed the selection within 1.5hr...amazing right?

Then for the evening gown, after trying a few, I thought I should MTM instead. Went for first fitting for my evening gown, looks quite nice without ken-ken but when designer ask me put on ken-ken, the whole look just become a bit out...but on the whole, I am quite satisfied with my evening gown lah, phew!!

cjkookie

Hi DesJo .... if you placed deposit already, dun worry ... it should be you! maybe I heard wrongly or something about the ROM, keke
Tin hasnt replied yet but dun worry wont 'steal' her away from you! ;) I will prob use one of the makeup artists that Joey recommended.

Hi Kervin...
if you can get Joey Khoe for your date... do so! She's the best and cheapest I 've found so far.

Some other makeup artists with reasonable rates:

Sandy Ho (Very Popular makeup artist - try her first)

Candy Low
[email protected], Hp 91082839
http://candylow73.multiply.com/

Sharyln Neo
www.kylnbeaute.com
[email protected], +65 9671 2250

Violet
[email protected], 96946188

Tin
[email protected], 96497588

Michelle

Fionna
www.fionnalau.com

Jane Tay
http://makeupartistjanetay.com/

Andrea.
Hp: ********, [email protected]
http://mymakeup-1.blogspot.com/
http://mymake-uppart-2.blogspot.com/
http://dramaticmakeup.blogspot.com/

Have fun choosing the right one!

janine

Hi Sabine,
My colleague bought a 2 tier cake for about $300. Price will depend on how big u want the cake to be. They are located at Blk 529 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10...

goddesss

hello all...
my AD is on 13thDec09.. its a Sunday.. and I have yet to book my banquet yet.. =( bit late hor...

anyone same AD as me? "D

desjo_11

Hi Cheryl,
Thanks,I hv checked under her calendar indeed is me..keke..Hope u can find ur MUA soon
btw I hv engaged MUA Jeannie Yong b4 for my ROM 2yrs ago.I find her quite good also.Her mk up natural & hair styling was gd which my guest tot so too.You can find her in sg brides too.
http://www.singaporebrides.com/makeup/jeannie_makeup.htm

Btw anyone have any tips on making ang pao box or where to get materials for DIY? thanks

vallous

hi desjO,

i guess johra say can buy from some arab street right.

I lazy i just buy off shelves.

Hi Cheryl,

woa thats a really long list of contacts. You damm hardworking wor.

lorrainec

yap i realise alot of ppl are not taking up the PS any particular reason to that? just curious.

yap yap so excited 6more mths to go....

taime81

Hi Cherie, i have my rom @ Yum Cha, the feedback from guest and family are pretty good. You can consider that too. Their tim sum are really good, i love it myself. You can go blush take a look, i recently bought 1 low back corset with bra cause they're having 80% sales. More sizes available @ paragon. Quite cheap $119 less 80%, paid $20 plus only. They have a strapless bra very good support also on sales, hold very well and antislip. If yr rom dress not low cut, you can wear normal bra i suppose.
This is the one on sales if not mistaken, very good, i'm wearing it myself. Less than $20 after 80% discount but limited sizes left, better go see fast.

https://www.maidenform.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=70772&categoryId=14&wtlCategory=Maidenform®%20Bras&parentCategoryId=1

andyneileen4eva

hI Louanne & fellow aug brides!!
my weddin dinner will be on 2nd Aug 09 at River City (Excelisor Hotel), deposit paid.
my BS is Bridal De Couture (At Club street)..

Feeling rather stressful.

Any suggestion on:
-Design of gowns( I'm a plus-sized)
-Suitable shoes... (I have a big feet though)....

Email mi at elin_xiaozhutou@hotmail.

taime81

Hi Saggiegirl, you so fast bought yr tiara. I thought bs do bring in new accessories regulary. Cause i went digio for my rom makeup, i saw they bring out new veil and accessories. Was told they update every few months. BS told me not to purchase any accessories, they will provide. Bra and corset also don't need, cause their dress comes with fishbone and bra they will tape to give it a firm and push up effect. I tried it personally, really good pushup effect by taping. Don't need nu bra unless yr bust is small, some of my colleague put on nubra cause they want added flesh ontop of the padding in the grown.

saggiegirl

hmm...my hubby ask me to buy lor..he say what 'u wear tiara with nice hairstyle look nicer' and dunnoe wat.....he practically drag me in and choose for me.. yup usually BS would provide accessories but hubby ask me to buy for myself to use...but luckily chamelon's pricing is not those expensive type..tiara is less than $40 and hairband is less than $19..so still within budget... hee hee...

for my ROM dress i did not even wear bra coz the back is almost transparent...or rather translucent..:p but would bring along all the stuff for gown selection in mar 09..to see how is the effect then decide whether to wear bra or not

cyntwy

Hi Melody, we share the same AD! Where are you thinking of having yours? Mine is at Holiday Inn, Park View. Better book your banquet venue fast as quite a few hotels are booked for that date, including Fullerton. What's more, since it's a Sunday and if you do not intend to invite many guests, some hotels will not entertain your requests as you do not meet their minimum no. of tables.

Saggiegal, most gowns come with inner padding or a corset, so actually you do not have to wear a bra at all. Do check with the boutique assistant.

taime81

Hi Saggiegirl, all the tea dress i tried on come padded so no bra. During trying i never bra or tape. Coordinator ask me to remove. Mua tape on the day of my rom. Maybe you can try but don't buy first. If need then go purchase loh, then won't waste the money. I've got a more detailed planner which i'm typing now. Will upload when done.

Cny, mine also in holiday inn park view.

Who's yr coordinator?

winnie_gal

hi.. wah me so long never login again this thread move very very fast! i can't catch up leh... hmm.. i'm having my PS next tues very excited! any place to rec?? juz have my have invitation card print!..i'm slow liao now wedding date is so close, not i hav not done so many things!!

my AD photographer is the same as Hui --> cuz she rec me de...hehehe..have confirm with him everything liao... only left montage photo..

ixoral

Nat, Popprincesstrin> Just a few months back, i've 2 friends who bought a studio apartment each at Telok Kurau for 500+++k. And the area is extremely small. Like abt 62sqm only.

What kind of housing u girls looking at? Condo, walk-up apartments or landed?

lettingo

sharon... glad that you like simon too leh!!!
did he show you his portfolio?

any places you like?
for example, punggol beach? there got lallang field.... and the beach rocks looks so natural...

Or u can try hort park? Terrace Garden there... i went there walk walk, the place is nice... got old staircase too...

dreamscape

I realised 28/2 is such a popular date!!

My AD 28/2 too!!
Venue: Four Season
BS: Dawn's Wedding

Im looking at farmstay for honeymoon. Any one has recommendation?

johra4

hi desjo,

how do u want it to be?

Box - I just took a box which looks nice on its own, mine was a mooncake box. You can use any suitable box and wrap them up with nice wrapping paper so the outer look nice. But my friends say the A4 paper box not so good, coz too big to go into hotel safe.

Just cut a hole for the angpow to go in. Make sure not too big. I thot mine was a bit too big wahahha. Start small and if too small can still cut bigger. Happy with the hole size then add decor.

Decor - I added 2 ribbons which can be bought almost anywhere (you can check out raffles city b1 got a shop selling those nice paper near MPH). For me I bought them at textile centre.

Wedding bears/Flowers/Stickers - These are the most popular items on the box. Wedding bears those gift shops will have. I had leftover fake flowers from my friends wedding, so I just used those.

Tools needed: double sided tape, scissors, ruler.

Time needed: do together with your guy - should be less than 1 hr.

Reference: it's in my blogspot blog which the link can be found in my multiply (johra4)

ene

There are many bridal studios who do a la carte without photography. I just signed up with Bridal Veil last night but I got the package that includes pre-wedding photography. WOOHOO! Can't wait ;)

cjkookie

desjO --- thanks for the link... Saw her site... her work like not bad ya! have contacted her hopefully she dun charge too high.

Vallous ---- not hardworking ... think i just super kiasu! keke.. wanna to get the best MUA at the lowest price ... sent emails to about 10 MUAs today. wanan go thru their portfolio and hopfully confirm one by this week

geraldine0982

Hi all, i'm new here...

ruachgall, my wedding date is also on 22nd March 2009 which is the 8th year anniversary with my FH.

Fat Fat, please add my info as well.

Wedding date: 22 March 2009
Wedding venue: Singapore Marriott Hotel
Bridal: My Bridal Room
PG : The Peeping Thom Wedding Photography

I offically started preparation since last month... And i think i have settled quite a lot of stuff... But i still have the kinda feeling that there seems to be things that i have overlook... That feels scary... Argh...

Btw, i have went for my 1st BS Appt on 24th Oct(Fri) and selected my WG & EG (after 5 long hours)... that was tiring, BUT happy... haha...

Actually my BS package include a MTM WG & OTR EG... but since i manage to find a OTR WG that i like and instead couldnt find a nice OTR EG which is suitable for me... In the end, i went for the OTR WG & MTM EG...

In order to make my money spend worthwhile, i requested for a complex EG design... haha... Will be gg for the next appt on 27th Nov... LOOKing forward to see the outcome of the MTM EG...

geraldine0982

Some master also told me the same thing, saying that the tong shu 2009 is not release yet... therefore, unable to check for me & my FH...

I was thinking, cannot be what... if that is really the case, what happen to those who intending to get marry between Jan - Mar... Right?

I believe, if the master is pro enough, they can actually refer to another thicker version of tong shu which is like a 10 years series... it is very difficult to understand unless the master is pro enough...

Anyway, whatever the advice that the master is giving... the decision lies on the couple itself... it is your wedding... And whether the marriage works or not, depends on both of us... If both are not working hand in hand to make the marriage works, no matter how good the date is, it is totally useless...

Sorry if anyone of you feel offended by what i have said... it is just my 2 cents of advice...

I am also a BTB in March 2009. And i have chosen a date with is meaningful for me & my FH, which is our 8th year anniversary...

Lastly, it is gonna be our big day... So other than ensuring that both parties parents are happy... Make sure that you & your FH are happier...

ryanmel

Geraldine,i doubt you are referring to the tong shu.
What you just mentioned, should be another type of 'reading' of dates, where some believe that the 'yun chen' of someone's life starts after the lunar new year. therefore, it will be more accurate if the 'calculating' of auspicious
dates starts after the Lunar new year.

Example: As for 2009 january marriage, it should be pick during after 2008 lunar new year. etc etc.. The calculating should starts after the local year's lunar new year.

Every family have different culture, maybe yours is lucky that both side are not that superstitious tehrefore you n your FH can choose the date.
Futuremore, some couples are not such believers of these type of 'calculating' auspicious dates, but end of the day, marriage is about both parties and their families, so inorder not to complicate matters some choose to listen to the elderlys.
Im sure some of us here wont feel offended by your thinking, but different couple have diff backgrounds.

raine24

My PS is in two weeks!! WOO HOO!! terribly excited I could burst!

and yes, my gymming and diet worked! lost a bit of weight, body looks better.. and.. I can fit my gown!! :D

saggiegirl

hee hee
yup gowns and dress wld have inner padding...

but dunnoe leh..wear liao like "nothing".. :S haizz i think i lose weight again...hubby scolded me...
now i m only 44kg...hopefully to gain some weight back..