(2009) Brides of year 2009

pekochan81

Jascmy> Can share which was the local tour agent that u signed up with? Actually, we did check out with Chan Bro. Prob is, we need to extend in London, meaning our last stop has to be in London. Their current itinary doesnt stop there. Even if it stops, high chances we have to come back w the grp due to the air tix retrictions. The coach issit the 51 or 41 seater? Thanks.

I see.... Did Saggiegirl has any contacts?

piggylover

Hi Junel, u can gather ID design n ideal n compare with contractor quote. im usng contractor n it save alot as compare to ID.
ID is nice but workmanship may not b as gd, as for contractor they will not giv u any design but wit gd workmanship (u gotta provide them the design u wan). do discuss wit ur hb as reno will b a very busy for planning to go through.

saggiegirl

littlewoman> for me i used contractor
as mine is really minor reno...just repainted the whole hse, replaced 3 bedroom doors, replaced main door grille, and do up a 6 feet display cabinet and installed lights, under the same contractor.

octo

Hi Junel,

We also used a contractor for our house cause we found that ID tends to mark up their prices and the differences can be quite alot. With the contractor, we can do more and use better materials. Because the ID's price are much higher, so with the same budget, can only go for lower quality stuff or to cut down on the items.

But like what piggylover mentioned, for contractor, you got to know what you want as they don't provide those 3D design layout.

Do remember to ask them how long will the whole reno takes to complete and the handover date.

saggiegirl: I see... Is it ex in a way?

I am also taking into this aspect for my new flat that will be ready probably next yr but as my HB will likes to do his own design, I probably getting contractors too... probably different one for different purposes... Wonder if the overall rates might be more ex than using one contractor..

saggiegirl

littlewoman> my mino reno is about 4K
of coz excluding buying lights, furniture, appliances etc
all in hse set up is about $20K ba... similar to those new flats... my SIL her flat at fernvale...simple reno about 30K and then buy things also come up to 10K...

emeraldbride

For my house, it is oso done by contractor..we are quite lucky in a way cos tat time they are not that 'famous' yet so he still provide us with hand-drawn 3D layout and everything given is good quality stuff..but now, they are GST registered comp and everything is ocmputerised, so more expensive..hehe

Good to say my hse still look quite new after 2 years and after reno, almost no rectification is required..total spent abt $40K including furnitures n we hack almost everything!

sun_tan

I think i dun wanna commit so soon..wait scarli like previously, last min due to work and cannot make it or sick (which i am very prone to nowadays)then got to fly u guys areoplane again. You guys set a date and when its nearer, i will see if i able to make it or not.

alxhan

Well, for my case, i used a ID. In fact a quite famous one. Keke! Coz, it was referal, we got quite abit of discount too.But we still spend quite abit on the reno. But we have alot of built in stuffs and platforms.

Hmm... if you gals are looking at cost saving i would say, contractor will be better. If you are looking at less time consuming and more relax way of getting your hse done with less effort on your part, ID would be better.

When i was doing my hse reno some 3 years back, we practically do not have to worry about anything. Just drop by once in awhile to make sure things are done properly. Even for air-con installations and piping, we don't have to worry about it being ugly and all, coz its all being supervised by my designer and there are no ugly pipings, no wirings. All concealed. Its not true that ID charged higher with bad quality stuffs. Its true that they do charge slightly higher, but quality wise, if its trustworth IDs, their quality is still good.

jascmy

Hi, anyone have good news to share???

I do have a good news to share. I'm 11+weeks pregnant now. Hehee..... That time my period nvr come bcos I'm preggie. EDD in end Aug 2010.

jascmy

Thanks cheer and stacey, my BB do come very fast. I'm successful in my 2nd mth try. 1st mth failed then 2nd mth successful.

I'm sure your BB will come soon. Try hard during CNY holiday.

Ling > Serious? Can calculate using Lunar Year age???

I don't mind trying ... i am 31

Me ah, i hope to have a girl, then follow by a boy then a girl, follow by a boy again, LOL. But wife prefer 2 will do.

Many thanks in advance.

junel

Garfield, i think that website is for your wife lei... not for you.. hahahaha.. try harder ar!!

Ladies, contractors will tend to delay right? and without referral, they will charge higher right?

piggylover

wow.. Garfield so u n ur wife already started for ur family planning? tat sweet of u! =)

Junel, hmm... there are still pro n con de. no matter it is contractor or ID, it is depend hw responsible they r. if the reason for delaying is acceptable n within ur time frame shd b okay.

mayb u can check thru reno.com n from them u can see alot of feedback between contractor n ID. i shortlisted mine from there too, i tik it is really useful as there are alot of conman doing business without a license. shd u gotta verify they r under HDB reg license before confirming.
always rem black n white as they may ask for unnecessary cost for u to top up.

bliss_bb

Garfield> Yes, can calculate thru Lunar Year age...Need your wife age (according to Chinese reckoning).. It only apply to mum to be..heheee

alxhan

lw> i spend about 30k for the ID excluding the aircon, lights and changing of switches.. all the misc. if all is included, i spend about 60k on doing up the hse.

Junel > Opps .... that's for girls, can show me the sites?
So coincidence, me and my wife the same age.

Piggylover > We are not young le, how abt u? Start planning liao?

Ling > Ok, how u actually do the calculations?

1353155.jpg

Wishing all a happy Chinese New Year!

reine

Hello all!

Happy CNy!

Congrats Jacscmy! I'm also trying now. :p

Pekochan, I went France and italy for holiday, got a wholesaler to buy train tics and accomodation then we travelled on our own. It was fun but cold.

Hello Everyone.... Gong Xi Fa Cai....

Jascmy.... Congrats to you and your Hubby...

Wonder who will be the second one here to have good news... Hehehehhe.. All must "jia you" ok..

CNY no time to "hey seo" lah.. Busy with foods and games,, wahahahhaah...

rene3

Hi Jascmy,

Congrats. Guess lots of Oct brides r trying.
My hubby and I r trying to save up abit more b4 we plan for bb.

Oh yes, we r planning to go Hokkaido this Oct. Is there any places to recommend or must-go?
Do pm me thanks.

cheer7

Happy CNY!!!

manage to rec'd some ang boa while givin ang boa for e 1st yr?

eggy: we gg hokkaido in end may/early jun... keep u update aft we go...

junel

Happy New Year!! how's everybody's pocket?? mine burn a big hole!!

Garfield you can check Ling's post for the website.

saggiegirl

Junel> hehe... ok lar... not really a big hole
... coz we catered for a lot more extra...so next year dun need to spend so much

of coz after the new year, we are trying for a bb
... heaven will decide when a little angel will descend to our house

hope that the tiger will bring new developments...

Junel: I am rather okay, my relatives still gave us red packets (being the married couple for the 1st yr)... I suppose I will "burn" more after this yr...

Saggiegirl: for me, if everything goes well, I hope to try for a rabbit / dragon child next yr... Hope the tiger brings me luck this yr...

pekochan81

Jascmy!! Congrates to You!! So I guess you'll be 'migrating' to Singapore Motherhood forum? hehehe

reine> Wow! You just went? You guys did all your own planning? My hubs wanted hassle free, so we took up the inbound tour with insight vacations. But doing F&E in UK. Hehe...hopefully can try for a honeymoon BB.

Wish everyone good luck with many eggs & a Healthy bb to come soon! :D

supergal

Jascmy, congrats to you too! Hehehe...actually i'm following this thread quite closely but waiting for some gals to announce their pregnancy first before i announce mine!

my EDD will be a month earlier than yours..will be in July this year..think we are successful on our first month right after our wedding...perhaps due to timing factor as well. in fact, i was already pregnant when i went for my europe honeymoon in December and my tour guide was so stressed about looking after me cos afterall, that was still in the first trimester back then..

i will be going for my scan this Sat and should be able to know the gender by then!

junel

we also still receive ang bao from relative. lucky for me, we were late for my grandma side hence save a lot on ang bao hahaha..

jascmy

supergal, congrats to you. Wah, u are so lucky to strike the 1st month. As for me, I'm only successful in the 2nd month after wedding. Many ppl tot my bb is made in Europe in mid november, but I think is made in Singapore just a few days after we came back from Europe. hahaa... so good that you can see gender liao. I have to wait till mid april then can see. Yesterday went for scan and can only see a white spot covering that part (like those nude photo with white circle covering the impt part). Sian, even the sonographer also don know what is that white spot.

pekochan81, Thanks. Jia you! Hope to hear good news from you after you came back from honeymoon.

daffier

We stil receive some ang baos n give out some ang baos cos mil say no need to give ang bao for 1st yr..

Supergal, Congratulations!

piggylover

Hi all!! Back to work today! so lazy as having a long break since last fri. haha..

i didnt giv out any ang bao due to some reason. but still manage to collect some. hehe..

Garfield, hb is not ready for BB nw. mayb will plan aft half yr ba, alot of things to worry once BB come out. guess we gotta plan well in finance side especially.. =)