(2009) Brides of year 2009

chuababy

Hi Eevee,

my initial plan is to have my wedding on 21 Nov 09...now changed to 15 Nov....but still in the process of finalising my venue.
How about yourself?

finally_married

Mscupid11, thx for ya advice. =)
I called HDB and they advised since I have an existing Q number for a Ponggul BTO now, I should not look at the leftovers for other BTO yet. Anyway, my appt is next Fri so pray hard lor!

Hi Angel, which BTO r you getting in Ponggul? Maybe we will become neighbours! heehee

BTW, anyone gotta recommendations for photographer/videographer on AD?

happy_ting

Hi Eileen

finally someone with same AD as me
where are you holding your wedding at?

I have booked my PS on 01 Dec, hopefully it wont rain on that day...

Hi Busha

Tentatively we might go to maldives for honeymoon. Any other suggestion on places to go for honeymoon in march? (taking into consideration of the weather/season in different country in march)

phaffia

Wow...so many new additions! Hello Kelly, Peiling, pinkjolli, frennie, Angel!

Angel, we have the same AD date with Noti and 1199. Found your AD venue yet? Out of curiosity, why are you looking for another BS pkg?

Hey mscupid11, we're still looking and shortlisting the contractors. Currently we have shortlisted Inzen Design. Still waiting for quotes from another ID.

Hello Jaimegal, saw your reno-blog. How's your experience with your ID?

Hey finallymarried, I have engaged Daniel Beh as my PG and BrilliantPic my VG. Have seen works by Hilo Productions which is also quite good. Good luck in your PG/VG search!

phaffia

Hi frennie,

Perhaps you can look at the package and decide if there's anything else that you may need to add on before you try negotiating for it.

Some stuffs that pple usually ask for:
-Additional night in Bridal Suite
-Extension of coordinator's room from day use to full night
-Free flow of beer or an additional barrel
-Corkage waiver

happy_ting

hi angeline

not so soon... they told me to go only in august as now is too early. however, i will be gg down for a trial make up next sunday with their mua. want to see the skill first hee hee (since my package got unlimited trial make up)

how about you? when are you taking your PS?i have booked my PS on 01 Dec.

apr_piggy

been MIA-ing from this thread for some time.. hee..been 38-ing at the other thread for my BS- BLISS. Anyone happened to be using Bliss too?

Oh Chuababy,
Why change from 21st to 15th Nov? so many of us are holding our AD on 21st means is a good day wor..

Hi eevvee,
I also having AD on 21st Nov, already booked Orchard Parade Hotel. :D how abt u?

babychew

Hi meiting

i yet call to book for first fitting or book date for my PS. Maybe i will call them one of these days , see how they suggest. oh ya mine also got unlimited trial make up.

chuababy

Hi Apr Piggy...

the hotels that i have selected are booked for APEC convention meeting on 21 Nov

other hotels have huge min tables for their grand ballroom (which i cannot meet)...hence I resort to changing to a sun (lesser min table)...anyway 15 Nov (sun) is also one of my selected dates...and it is a deepavali...so next day is holiday

By the way, that day I visited Orchard Parade Hotel...the person in charge told me that someone made a tentative booking on 21 Nov...is tat you?! haha!

mrs_tan_to_be

Hey girls,
wanna get your opinion.

Orchard hotel just called me that they are willing to reduce the price per table on weekend from $1029nett to $950nett plus free thrown in a bottle of complimentary wine per confirmed table..

HIPV also called me that they are ok with my request to have a bottle of complimentary wine per confirmed table too..

HIPV or Orchard hotel? Shrugz..

supergal

Orchard Hotel gal...personally, I feel that OH is so much better than HIPV! OH is pillarless and I also think the ballroom looks nicer.

I attended one of my frens wedding earlier this year at HIPV and not sure if it is the table where she arranged for me to sit at...I can't see a thing on the projector and the stage was very small. However, not sure whether is it because she had about 38 or 39 tables that day, which made the whole ballroom very cramped.

Also, half-way through the dinner, I heard "Yum Seng"...not sure is it due to the ballroom on the same level. However, think you only don't have enough tables, OH will have the same problem cos they will partition the ballroom into 2 and if there is also another wedding at the same time, you may experience the same thing as well.

littlebride237

Hi Meiting,
My banquet venue is Holiday Inn Park View. I've yet to book a date for PS, but mostly likely it will be ard late Nov or early Dec. Ya lor, hope the weather will be fine. Keke...

smartkel

Wow Hui Ling,
you got a good deal from OH. I suggest you go for that rather than HIPV. The customer service sucks big time man. The Wedding PLanner promise to check and get back to me for my ROM event but waited in vain.
It's a blessing in disguise too. I think i will regret if i signed up with HIPV

jojy

Hi Chuababy,

The packages you send to me does it mean you alr tried & all were not available on 21st Nov?

mscupid11

Upz..

Carlyn: AD-07/02
Mscupid11: AD-12/02; Venue-Swissotel Merchant Court; BS-Golden Horse Award
Mawie: AD-14/02; Venue:Club Chinois; BS-Flamingo Bridal
Joyce: AD-14/02; Venue-Le Meridien; BS-Bridal Concept
Pinkjolli: AD-14/02; Venue: Noble House; BS-Golden Hourse Award
Jaimegal: AD-15/02; Venue-Carlton; BS-Golden Horse Award
Frennie: AD-18/02; Venue-TBA; BS-Golden Horse Award
Yan: AD-21/02; Venue-Marina Mandarin; BS-Digio
Pauliyanna: AD-21/02; Venue: Peony Jade (23/02); BS: Volan Couture
Joess: AD-21/02; Venue - Singapore Expo; BS-Bridal Zone
Ah Ying: AD-27/02; Venue- Legends @ Fort
Canning; BS- Thomson Bridal
Kelly: AD-27/02; BS-French Bridal
Phaffia: AD-28/02; Venue-Swissotel Merchant Court; BS-Digio
Noti: AD-28/02; BS- Bliss Bridal
1199: AD-28/02; Venue- M Hotel; BS- Julia Wedding News
Angel: AD-28/02; BS- Z-wed (Looking to sell)

mscupid11

Seems like we have 3 popular dates here.. 14th, 21st and 28th.. must be really auspicious ya..

Angel, where is ur AD venue? Any prob faced with Z-Wed?

Frennie, have already replied ur email on perks to ask from hotels..

Phaffia, thks for ur reply on Ho Bee thread.. i've just emailed Patrick.. it seems dat he is a very busy man.. did u get a quotation from him?

blurbaby

piggylover..

sbw.. got nice place for great food... yummy..!!

cheeky_chick/suz.. haha...

cos i seldom eat fish so not sure of the pricing.. if i can choose sashimi would b better...

Shir.. i agree but d taste also plays a part too.. n size?

i'm reducing on my diet.. sad to say now only left with 1.5yr to our wedding... if now is 09.. everyone will b so busy with their wedding stuff

elstrial

Hi Lalaa,

Perhaps you can consider these places. They can cater more than 70 tables.

1) Ah Yat Abalone Banquet Hall - max 80 tables
2) Meritus Mandarin - max 100 tables
3) Orchard Hotel - max 100 tables
4) Orchid Country Club - max 120 tables
5) Shangri-La Hotel - max 100 tables
6) Suntec Singapore - max 150 tables
7) Swissôtel The Stamford - max 180 tables
8) The Ritz Carlton - max 100 tables

For outdoor, maybe you can check with Fort Canning Park. I have seen this 60 tables outdoor wedding at Fort Canning. You can check whether they have hold the number of tables you required.

frennie

Hi mscupid,

Thank for the info. I had rec'd ur email. I have not go for my first fitting yet. Cos wanting to slim down my tummy first and my acne on the chest. haiz..

icecreamscoop

Sorry, i seldom got time or got chance to come online.. in office now actually.. At home, laptop keyboard spoil.. take me ages to type.

Hey finally married, i'm balloting for the north & West areas, was thinking of trying out bt panjang.. the appointment date is somewhere in june..

Hey phaffia, I initially signed up Z weddings and regretted it after hearing all the comments from frens, colleagues and online forum. I signed up at glamorbash in march. Z weddings dragged me to sit down and listen. And my fiance and me was talked into signing. Do you know wad? Z Weddings was the 1st BS that we sat down to hear the details. Nv saw their gowns and other BS. Haiz.. kinda of a rush decision. I'm looking to sell and get another package where i can really choose a nice gown.

My AD venue is not confirmed yet~! Argh.. some problems with my family side. They are not keen to marry me off so early. Coz they say i'm still very young. Din have a good in-laws meeting. Now everything is left hanging. I'm looking at The Legends Fort Canning to hold my banquet. Having a tentative booking with them. I'm also tentatively booking to hold my solemnization on the same day afternn at the art museum.

Haiz, abit messed up now..

teddy_mac

I am expecting like 45 to 50 lor. So the minimum requirement is not a problem lah.

My photographer is my shi fu from a makeover studio. I went for this makeover then I got to know her. (Yes, she is a lady) I am paying her to teach me photography. So she agreed doing my AD PG for me. Hehe...

phaffia

Hiya misscupid11, yes he's a very busy man. We've decided to drop that option as we are concerned that his work will be distracted by the huge no. of jobs he has to deal with. But all in all, he still has very good reviews about his workmanship and attitude. Maybe you can try calling his wife to make an appt.

Hey angel, sorry to hear about that. Don't fret. Give your parents some time and perhaps they will learn in time to understand and accept your decision. Jia you gal! We're all here to support you.

Have you been down to Z weddings yet? If you haven't, maybe can try doing so before you sell your pkg. They do have some nice gowns. Out of curiosity, who's your coordinator?

chuababy

hi JO&JY,

not that lah...i think sheraton and pan pac and hyatt still available, shangri-la i din ask for availability...

chuababy

JO&JY,

the hotels that i selected but are not available on 21 Nov due to APEC meeting are 4 seasons and conrad....hence i din send you the package...

blurbaby

teddy... so good for u.. remind me to check with my PG on d pricing.. cos he had not got back to me.. even like i sms him 1 mth ago.. had ask me to sms to him.. not sure if he had forgotten bout me?

suz.. yeah! shake leg.. but at least we plan earlier.. we can schedule out the things evenly.. so not to rush at d last min..

mrs_tan_to_be

Thanks gals..

OH perks are much lesser compared to HIPV. My concern is whether will I make a great loss as the price per table @ OH is 950nett compared to HIPV 888nett. I am already mentally prepared to make a loss but the percentage of making a bigger loss falls on OH.

Will you gals compare the ingredients for the WB as well when deciding the venue? Both the wedding coordinators are also good in service. Headache..

Supergal,
HIPV only have 1 crystal ballroom in level 2 if im not wrong. As for OH, if on the same day, 2 couples are holding WB, it will be very messy. Even though there are ushers standing @ the escalator, directing the guests, its not consider private anymore.OOoh.. a comment for you all, if possible take ballroom 1 & 2 (not sure if can anot) rather then ballroom 3, its definately bigger and more spacious..

Also, my friend had informed me that orchard hotel is only 3.5 stars. So isit worth to pay so much for a 3.5 stars hotel?

teddy_mac

Yah. Plan earlier better.

Aiyah. My gf gown a bit revealing lor. In front low, behind also low. So if my PG is female hor, still ok what. Wun let other guys' eyes eat ice-cream what. My shi fu is also doing my pre-wedding shoot, so nothing to be scared.

me0wz

think we should start to work hard on the venue.. i finally got some good dates for AD.. but i called a few venues like HIPV and NCQ... all booked!

thou some of my choices are still available.. but my MIL seems so uninterested in the venues like Furama City Centre, Park Royal Beach Rd.. York Hotel, etc..

blurbaby

teddy.. it's once in a life time putting on d beautiful gown... u won't want to put on something revealing 10 to 20 yrs later.. aniwae she is yr wife.. =>

if i can i also wear something revealing.. but i too fat..!! ={

lalaa_27

thanx so much elstrial!
since im havin so many tables I must budget lor.. so can forget abt the more ex places like Shangri-la or Ritz Carlton..

will check out the other places though..

haf u booked ur venue oredi?

anyone attendin the Weddin Fair @ Burkill Hall on 25 May? me will be attendin..

jaimegal

pinkjoli, my package is OTR, but i told Aileen already that if i dun like their OTR, i will top up 300 bucks for MTM.
mscupid, Kenneth is from ideal Hse.
Phaffia, I quite like working with my renovator, cuz i really find the service very good. the quotation they give me is the most value for $ and we have some friends who also use them. so quite reputable. Call him to ask for a quotation. No harm to have more comparsion.

Gals, I am going to my 1st fitting tomorrow... hee excited. hope it turn up well. will update u gals soon.

supergal

Hi Hui Ling,

Yup, think I made a mistake about HIPV having 2 ballrooms at the same level...must be because seen too many venues le..hehe.

But think they have a restaurant at level 2 rite? so if you want privacy of having the whole floor to yourself, you may need to consider this point..

And of course I will compare the menu! In fact, that is the first main thing that I looked at when selecting. Even if you give me a pillarless and very grand look-alike ballroom, but if I don't like the menu, it's a no-no for me and HTB.

Also, is your fren sure that OH is only 3.5 star? All along I thought it should be at least 4 star leh..

krystal80

teddy, u damn cute =)

but so good she got her gown liao...
my BS only allow me to work on it in Sept...sigh...still got to wait so long =P

teddy_mac

Ugly but adorable ah? Thank you leh...

She haven't got her gown lah. The designer went for a Europe Bridal Show. Coming back dunno when. Next month then start with the design and the measurement.

phaffia

I think you all can tell I have more free time these days..hehehe

Thanks jaimegal for your recommendations. Will talk to Hubz about it.
Have fun with your 1st fitting tomorrow!

elstrial

hi lalaa, you are welcome (",)

yah, you will have to budget unless you can afford. if not, no point tying urself down with ex places. although the main issue is about sharing the joy with relatives and friends, but we have to work within our budget. wedding suppose to be a happy and joyous occasion, not a stressful one.

another alternative would be reducing the number of guests you intend to invite. choice is yours =D

i have booked my venue already. will be having it at Grand Mercure Roxy. Sept 2009 is a popular month. Happens to be lunar 8th month. So better source fast and book asap.

daphne_ang

Hi fellow 0909 brides! Have you all settled your banquet venue or still searching? I am still sourcing for one, wonder if we're already too late...

mscupid11

hey jaime, u have Kenneth's email add? btw, do update us on ur gown fitting tml! u'll sure enjoy the process! hehee.. i had loads of fun the other time.. =)

icecreamscoop

Hey phaffia, i've gone down to z weddings once, but no one attended to me.. sat there for 10mins, no one came out.. so I went ard n see others... as for coordinator , I dun tink I have 1 yet as that day at the bridal show,I only spoke to the marketing staff called sally n kelly... i 'm seeing if I should juz go ahead with z weddings.. or juz pray hard tat someone juz take over frm me so tat I can start choosing frm afresh..

thanks for all ur support.. i'm excited to get married! i'm arranging w my fren to go down to tanjong pagar n check out zweddings n other bs too.. any recommendations? I like simple gowns, not too beady n lac.. I like ribbons too.. haha..

elstrial

Hi Dahphe, it all depends on which hotel you are looking and whether it's on a weekday or weekend. Normally those popular hotels ballroom like Novotel Clarke Quay and Swissôtel Merchant Court, get snap up pretty fast.

Just a point to share: On 20 Sept 2009 is 1st day of lunar 8th month. Majority don't get married in lunar 7th month. So you have to act fast if you want to have your wedding dinner in Sept 2009.

mscupid11

hey jaime, thks for the info.. ok will use ur hubby's name k.. hopefully he gives me a reasonable quote.. hahaha.. how much was ur reno the other time? urs 5-room how big? my internal area is 92 sqm, but cost me $322k lor.. heart very pain.. have to remain in the workforce for the next 25 years liao.. or hopefully i strike lottery soon.. haha..

happy_ting

hi angeline

do u have frds who signed with SB as well? any idea which mua is good?

Any MM (marina mandarin) btb here in this thread by the way?

hi eileen,

have u booked BS?

zzzz

er 1st day of lunar 8th month is 19 Sep 2009... 20 sep 2009 is 2nd day le
cos im holding on the 19th
good luck finding ur banquet venue!