(2009) Brides of year 2009

fat_fat_79

Hi SS

I had the same experience. HTB no time to view the venues and BS. so I arrange for sisters to go to some of the places that I have shortlisted.

That time I have shortlisted about 8 venues and then we views 2 place each day over the weekends. After that I narrow down to about 2 to 3 venues for my HTB to choose lo. I think thats the only way liao!

In fact, I will do all the searching and shortlisting and he will choose from what I think is the best. hehehe

Like my sister said, You look, He sign! hahahahaha

frennie

Hi Joyce,

we chose the date on 18feb09 becos my hubby and my b'day is oso on 18feb, different year.
Mine is BTO, i tink in 2010.

desjo_11

dreamz81,thanks for sharing.my WG & EG also same as you.both are ball gowns to have a feel like princess ;p.WG also long train..do you find it very heavy after wearing?i think selecting gowns oso quite headache coz duno if the best?hmm..glad that you have found the gowns you want

Linda, I duno what kind of help can rendered to you.But back here in sg, htl ballrooms normally r booked in 1 yr advance,so you may try to narrow down some preference & give them a call.there are really a lot research to be done.BS should be still in time.u got any idea what u want?

thebsea

SS,
The only cons about carlton ballroom is that they got 4 columns inside the ballrooms. Besides that, we are ok with the ceiling height and we liked their centralized location. Very convenient for guests. AD- 28/03/09 =)

fatfat79,
For me since my banquet is already indoors, solemnization decided to be outdoors. Can see sunset also. haha... Anyway you can arrange ur solemnization at 630-7pm. and since most of my invited frens will be bros/jiemeis/helpers, they can start to help out for the banquet after the ceremony. This way allows no late comers!! Wahaha...

starskyz

after reading your comments, it's quite true hor.. some guests may not appreciate the solemnization ceremony..

mayb i should convince my htb to change it to just b4 the reception like you all mentioned..

SS/fatfat, i understand how u two feel/felt.. my htb has limited access to the internet to do all the research during working hrs, so i'm the one doing all the "homework" now.. sob sob..

cheekrene

i totally agreed having solemnisation before dinner. Nobody would want to see our moments as they can't hear our exchange vows.

starskyz

cheekrene, thanks again for your PG/VG contacts, but the VG service is not available on my AD.. so, gota start searching for one again.. hahhahaha...

pinkjolli

Hi mscupid11, i am with Yishun branch..
have not fixed my 1st fitting yet..how abt u??
i am thinking of going for my 1st fitting (OTR) in Sept09 and PS in Oct09..would it be too rush?? Any advice??

pinkjolli

opps sorry, should be Sept08 and Oct08..

Hi frennie, u can check out the threads in this forum on your desired AD venues to view the various feedback..can learn abt their service provided, food quality, perks etc..

tksl

i'm staying thomson but bf staying bedok.. and my venue in town.. haha.. i will be travelling like everywhere on that day.

fish? can choose one meh? thot usually soon hock issit?

mscupid11

Hi frennie, i've just sent you the consolidated pricing.. happy sourcing & update us on ur final choice ya..

pinkjolli, i am with GHA tamp. Already went for my 1st fitting for WG, this month going for 1st fitting for EG. I may also take OTR gowns, but good to start selection early, just in case u cant find anythin u like u still have time to go for MTM..

coris264

Hi Pinkjolli,

if you intend to have PS in Oct 08, then u shd start browsing the gowns earlier... cos after you confirm the gown, it has to be alter to your size and length and then gotta try again before yr PS.

My PS is in July and I had my 1st Fitting in Feb. Cant decide my gowns yet but still have ample time to go for 2nd Fit next wk. Wat I mean is go earlier so that u can have more time to try and decide at a comfortable pace.

busha

hey all march brides-to-be :
(1)when are u gals taking your photoshoots?
(2)which are the locations you have in mind for phototaking?
(3)When do you intend to visit the BS , if you are taking MTM or OTR gowns from the bs?

So exciteddddddddddddddddddddddd

blurbaby

piggylover..

good for u.. u stay so near... yr il n parents also staying nearby?

suz...

me too.. i b travelling.. but not as far as yrs.. =p

we r given 4 different kind of fish to choose from.. but not sure of the name as all in english..

fat_fat_79

Hi Busha

I have booked my PS on the 4th and 5th Sept. Accordingly to my BS, Im super early for my PS lo. Normally for my AD date, I should take my PS around Nov or Dec.

Still thinking of where to go for my PS le! I think I will ask the BS for ideas first. Any idea?

My first appointment is this sunday (18 May) My packages is an MTM package. Both WG and EG are MTM 1 as I think I too fat liao. If dont want mtm then will add more pixs lo. This sunday Im going to try some of the OTR gowns before deciding if I wanted MTM or not lo.

I also have some small issue. From a MTM to OTR, I only get less than 3 pixs extra but from a OTR to MTM I have to pay more than $200/- le. Although my package is MTM, Im not sure If I should just MTM both gowns or to take OTR. I worry that MTM gown might not be what I expected. but take OTR I only get less then what im paying for.

I need advise, please!! Which is better??

starskyz

cheekrene, thanks... will try these 2.. hopefully they still available for my AD...

busha, i'm as excited too.. kekekke.. no wonder they say it's once-a-lifetime experience.. kekeke..

i've signed up with golden horse (marina sq) for my BS a few weeks back.. it's a MTM package.. i must say it was quite a harsh decision as it was the 3rd and last bridal we visited that day.. we were quite tired liao so we just signed up at the spot.. hahhaha..

i was told that the PS should take place around nov or dec.. so the selection, fitting etc should only start around aug or sep.. these BS have a list of places they normally visit for PS, but you can request to go somewhere that's significant to u and your partner..

starskyz

fatfat, you are fast sia~~~~ but if u prepare earlier, you wun get too stretched later.. so it's still a good thing that u start earlier than most of us.. =)

i was also told that if i change mtm to otr, the number of pics given is not relative to the amount we pay for the difference between mtm and otr package loh.. but as i'm on the plump side, i thought it's safer to go for mtm.. hahaha.. the most, later try to "arh" for more poises, or other stuffs if change from mtm to otr loh.. hahahha..

your 1st appointment is this sun!!! must tell us abt ur experience k? i read frm the bridal magazines that we should bring a nude strapless bra etc, tell us true or not when u come back yah?

jaimegal

Pinkjolli,
we are the same outlet-yishun branch. Who is ur coordinator? actually u shld have ur 1st fitting earlier (mine is this sat) even if you are taking OTR. Cuz if u dun like OTR available that time, you can still change for MTM or the next batch of OTR (sometime they will have new series of gowns)

You should try to contact ur coordinator soon. (or they shld start arranging with you the 1st fitting)My coordinator Aileen called me last month to arrange.

Mscupid, need to bring anything for ur 1st fitting? should i wear those kind of NU bra??

mscupid11

jaime, i din bring anything else.. basically the WG has pretty good support so dun tink i need the NU bra..

but for evening gown i am definitely bringing my girdle! haha..

lalaa_27

Hey all!
Im gonna be a 200909 bride too!

haven book banquet venue yet.. at the speed you all doin things, im gettin very stressed! :/
but happy to see u all gonna be brides same mth/yr as me

Lookin for a venue for abt 70 tables.. any recommendations pls?? - indoor, outdoor, anythin..

mrs_tan_to_be

hihi..
can i join this thread? Me planning for my AD on 4th Oct 09. I am confirming with Holiday Inn Park View. Hehehee.. Im a BTB Oct 09 bride too.
Alot of hotels had increased almost from 150-200 bucks per tables,comparing Yr 2008 and end Yr 2009. Shrugs, thus we need to find venues worth the price/location. haiz...Thus, I felt it is always safter to find venues with price given as "NETT". This also prevent unneccessary hidden cost which we were not aware of.

For those who want Yr 2009 dates, beside referring to Tongshu (which following yr tongshu is only available after 7th lunar month), you can check out "Wan Nian Li" (million Yr calender). I used that to calculate for Yr 2009 auspicious dates. Hope this clear all your doubt.

Kel_Ly,
what is your budget per table? for HIPV, its 888 nett/table. Very nice ballroom with chandlier lights. they are closed for renovation of ballroom from 1st Jul till 30th Sept 09. their coordinator is not bad too. Good customer service. Alot of perks given. Like wedding cards including printing (most hotels exclude this), 9 course dinner, crystal theme, free flow beer, helpers' room provided etc.. worth the deal. Deposit:2.5K Even though the ballroom have pillars, they have 2 LCD projectors @ both side for guests to view the stage easily. Heard that they are removing the pillars during the reno, but will need to give up 3 suites. How accurate it is.. still not confirm yet. HIPV is having a wedding show this coming July (date not fix). Maybe you all can read the thread for HIPV. The coordinator, Vasanthi had tons of appraisal on her customer service too!!!

Orchard hotel is charging @ $1029net/table. Their ballroom is nice but the price is too steep. There is actually a wedding show which is held on 27th April 08. Up to 12% rebate and free flow wine (for weekdays only) provided. Sad to say I miss this wedding show cos my hubby sick. Weekend min tables is 25, max 40 tables.Deposit:5K.

II,
would like to recommend my BS to you: My Bridal Room. Good customer service too. You can refer to the thread in SB forum for reference. MBR couples seem like a big family thingy. Still rem during this yr CNY, MBR even sms us to come and join a day of CNY celebration. So cool! Look for uncle quek if you are interested. Tell him Huiling (No:2092) recommend you there..

mrs_tan_to_be

Some pictures of Holiday Inn Park View to share.
Oooh.. forgot to mention, beside serving mixed nuts during cocktail reception, they also served mini pizzas, samosa and spring rolls too!!!

\popjpeg

happy_ting

hi starskyz

i actually quite like the gowns from golden horse. but i heard the yishun branch has more choices, maybe u can try it out.

any btb here who signed BS with sltr broadway? Mine package is from there...

eux_eux

i am June2009 BTB as well. but have not fix a date yet. Nice to find so many jun09 brides here. ;)
Now, i'm still sourcing for venue. Will be checking out RSYC.

cheekychick

I tink fish is usually seabass, garoupa, red garoupa, soon hock & codfish....Seabass is the cheapest. I tink red garoupa, soon hock & codfish around the same price tag...

jayin_fairyland

I am new here! Looking forward to be a June BTB too! Looking around for venue now, know nuts about other stuff such as BS or PS at the moment. Want to check out venues first before i start my "research" on the others. ;) Anyway i am not gg to calculate date cos my HTB is a christian. He dun believe in such things. LOL.

sahdeau

hihi..just some updates....as a Kiasu oct 09 bride...im still sourcing my venue....but ive booked my photographer and videography yest...haa haaa. paid deposite...happy...now left venue lo....if u gals need any quotes for hotels i may have...hee

mrs_tan_to_be

Hi II,
I have already ROM on 17th Nov 07 @ Merchant Court Poolside. Hehehe..

Below are my details.

ROM: 17th Nov 2007
Bridal Studio: My Bridal Room
AD: 04th Oct 2009 (Sun)
Venue: Holiday Inn Park View
Love Nest: BTO Punggol Central
PG: TBA (Might look for my friend who is photographer)
VG: TBA (Might ask friend for help)

Sahdeau,
Which hotel you looking for? What is your budget??? Any criteria??

pinkjolli

Mscupid11, Joess & Jaime, thanks for your advice..

ya, come to think of it, should have my 1st fitting earlier just in case i did not manage to find my "Dream" gown..Opps, that means i must start to shred those fats soon..

Jaime, my coordinator is Veron. So u taking OTR or MTM?

rizzz

Hi flutter,

I'm getting married in 2009 too.
And looking for a muslim wedding package as well.
So maney ideas. so many choices. only one wedding. hehehhe

what kind of wedding do you intend to have??

jaslyn288

Can go for master long (long sifu)..
He is very good.. explain very clear to you.. tell you what shd and wat shdnt...
His contact is 90675008.
Wat he need is both birth date n time.. =D

busha

I was told for March wedding, ideal period for PS would be NOV/DEC but then its the rainy season . i dun wanna ended up postponing/last min changes due to unforseen weather. Maybe i will arrange mid OCt then to take PS ...... cos they said the album will be ready in 2-3 mths time, correct anot?

well,mine is MTM package but thinking OTR ..hence can go BS fitting later..but dunno when is the best mth to go ...

Hey all brides to be, going anywhere for honeymoon after your banquet? N have you all gotta your house / renovated your house?

mscupid11

Hye Jaime, wats the company name of ur contractor/ID? Am shortlisting a few currently.. although not sure when i can get my keys.. hehe..

Phaffia, any recommendation too? thks.

cheekrene

hi busha,

i am taking my PS in this coming sept as i am avoiding the rainy season from end oct-dec. i dont want anything to be cropped up since my wedding is at next march.

i heard the album will be ready in 1 to 2 months depending on the peak season.

eternal_mates

Welcome LSL and jayin_fairyland!! So happy to see more June brides here. Keep us updated on your progress. It's about a year's time from now. Got to be quick and settle for the major wedding stuff like wedding date, wedding venue and AD photography/videography. Happy sourcing!!

icecreamscoop

Hello everyone!

I'm glad to find this thread! Congrats to all!

I'm a Feb 09 bride too.
AD: 29th Feb 2009
BS: Z weddings looking to sell and get another one. (Anyone got lobang?)
Lovenest: Balloted queue no. 1097 in june. (Most likely can't get)
Lovenest :