(2009) Brides of year 2009

tksl

teddy.. i see ur msg i also pengz.. once in a lifetime leh.. got figure muz show! too bad im fat, if not i sure reveal everywhere.. haha :p

my friend was also worried abt his wife's revealing front.. but when he heard everybody commenting on her "ahem" chest.. he was super proud lo..

ah! i forgot all about AD photography leh.. ask u all ah, roughly how much ah?

jaimegal

hihi. My reno is ard S$23k (including air con). but mine is resale flat. Did the whole kitchen,the master-room, add in a few wooden plateforms, toilet and a couple of things. I kept the floor or else its going to be even more ex.
My area is at 121 sqm and 5th floor. It is one of the oldest in Sembawang area, we had quite a bargain then cuz i think owner trying to sell and the mkt not that good. We pay S$275k. 5k on top of evaluation (S$270k). We sign for 30 yrs loan... even longer than urs.
Had been wishing hard to strike TOTO also. you shld see how much i gamble for the new yr 10 million prize, haha.

elstrial

opps! so paisey. sorry for the wrong info given. i calculated backward but miss 1 day. 19 Sept is 1st day of lunar 8th month indeed.

apr_piggy

Hi Chuababy!

Oh so u are the one who approached Orchard Parade Hotel eh? haha was it ERic u spoken to? No wonder they hurried us to place deposit liao..wahahaha!

So u decided to change ur AD liao? How many tables are u taking?

krystal80

teddy, *grins ur welcome...hahahaha

but if haven't done the design yet, how come u say ur wife gown front n back both slow? *scratch head...as in the gown she wants is it?

Suz, hahaha typical guy =)
My AD PG is $1500 but dunno if they going to increase yet

blurbaby

teddy.. do u knw i'm nw doing whatever i can to reduce my weight.. exercising, cutting down on my intake...

ROM time... i can't choose the gown first time.. n i was upset..!!!

so if can reveal surely will... hahahaha.. once in a lifetime..

taime81

My ad vg & pg is 1.2k, now they've increase to 1288. Quite comprehensive.

Me also fat, guess i'm the fattest here. LOL...
Trying to lose weight for my upcoming rom on mon...hopeful can lost more for AD. You all design so early, mind is appx apr next yr.

Btw, according to my colleague soon hock is better cause i ask him b4 for opionion. He quite familar with food.

Hi Angel, I have booked my banquet at Fort Canning the Legends. My coordinator is James. He's very friendly and flexible. You may wish to look for him.

Just read that you intend to hold your solemnization at the arts museum on the same day. Is it of special meaning? Otherwise, you can consider holding your solemisation at the place where you will be holding your banquet. Save some $$ and your guests need not travel to 2 places.

jemalene

Hey Charmine,congrats. Do share with us your photos yaz.
I have a lot of fats to shed too. My rom in Dec 2008...half yr more to go

journey

Hi Piggylover,

i'm new! just got my wedding dates selected
my info!
Date: 20 Dec 2009
Bridal Studio : Digio
AD PG : 1950photography

mscupid11

hey jaime, how was ur fitting? decided on ur WG & EG already?

Angel, agree with Ying. I have a couple of frens who are doing their solemnization at the hotel itself, either before u start the banquet u do it at a function room or by the poolside, or straight after the 1st march-in then u solemnize on the stage.. If u are doing tea ceremony on the same day, it can be very tiring to go many places within one day.. guess most impt is to look fresh & pretty during the banquet mah.. hehe.. just my two cents worth..

piggy_cheng

I am so glad that I've found this Forum! Pretty new to this and need some advice frm you guys.. My AD is going to be on 20.09.2009. My HTB's mum already verbally booked the AD luncheon at Hotel Intercontinental (Bugis). Do you guys have any reviews (good/bad) abt this Hotel?

As for the BS, my HTB and I only went to Whitelink. The package they offered costs $3988 and was pretty flexible. Looks good but we would like to look arnd for more. Any recommended BS?

P.S. Btw, what's MUA?

icecreamscoop

Hi Ying, the guy i'm liasing with from the Legends is also James. He is really quite friendly. I'm still having some phobia about signing up packages, after signing for my BS. My friend is a member of Legends and he told me to be careful with James and make sure everything is in black and white before i sign. btw, do you know if we can get 10% discount through a member? My friend did it for my other friend 2 years ago. I sort of brought it up to James, but he was like "erm.. i don't think so.." Anyway, what are the extra things he threw in for you in your banquet package? I'm looking at the indoor ballroom.

As for my solemnization, initially i attended a solemnization at the old parliment house before. I totally love that place. Its super nice. However, the rental is also very ex. So i found out another "ok" place, which is the Singapore Art Museum Auditorium. I was also thinking of saving money by doing all before the banquet at the same place. However, as i have alot of friends, some young adults, I don't want to risk suffering a loss if i invite them for my banquet. My draft guest list came up to about 40+ tables. Trying to cut. So, if i hold an afternn solemnization, i can invite more guests and only invite the closer ones to the dinner. If held at the same place, abit hard to invite them for solemnization only though. Anyone got any other suggestions?

sunqian

Hi Linda Kam,

VG and PG stands for videographer and photographer. Have you fixed your actual day (AD) date yet? If yes, you have to start checking with the hotels on the availability of that date, some hot dates are already booked by other couples, so have to be fast enough to confirm with the hotel you prefer.

As for the bridal studio (BS) and photoshoot (PS), I am not sure whether you want to get it done in HK or not since PS will be done normally around 4 months before your AD. If you live in HK, it would be easier for you to do PS in HK?

Hope the above helps. =)

fifteenmay

Looking for Videographer now.
Shortlisted these few to meet them to see their latest works. will let you all know who we chose in the end!

1) Vocare Media
2) Foto Werke
3) Forest Production

Any others you would recommend?

honeybunny

Hello all BTB, i am also gonna hold my AD in Dec09. Still waiting for my shi fu to consult the date.. he mentioned that it take longer to calculate for 09. can I check if you gers consulted for date or just chose yourself based on preference?

gracelourdes

to be honest, fifteenmay....out of the 3 u listed above, only vocare media's works r better...or rather, more worth your $$...also, u might want to try The Wedding Paparazzi or Damon Low Videography as well....one of the few better ones, i must say...

of cos the above is just my 2 cents' worth...

jaimegal

hihi all..
I just finished my 1st fitting yesterday. So glad that I have invited 2 of my jie meis along cuz they really gif gd advices and together we have so much fun. Anyway i decided on 2 gowns for my PS.
Too bad we cant take photos.
Aileen said will arrange another appt for EG so as not to confused me. Couldn't wait. But i really muz lose some weight in order to look good.

pinkjolli

Hi Jaime, happy for u that u have settled your 2 gowns..
How long were u there to choose yr gowns?
I guess it must have been rather exciting to try those numerous gowns available and finally decided on the one that caught your heart rite??
Did yr coordinator give u any advice?

fifteenmay

Hi Grace,
Many thanks for your feedback!
So far, i really like Vocare's sample clip and he is my top choice at the moment..

Damon have yet to get back to me. i will try again!

Hi Angel, did you ask your friend why he/she said that about James? I find him quite nice leh. I have not heard of the 10% discount..

He gave us more parking coupons and invitation cards.. Also gave us 6 bottles of wine even though we didn't sign up using the preferred credit card.

Actually I don't know whether we could get more things like 2 nights stay if we bargain harder. Hmm.. U try and let me know lah. ;P

poseidon_gal

me also a Oct 09 BTB..
got my date from FS master last wk..
3rd oct 09.. realise it is mooncake festival..confirm very popular date..
still sourcing for venue..hopefully can find the venue i like soon..

glamourous2309

Hi Fifteenmay,

Hope my recommendations to Vocaremedia earlier do help you narrow in your VG search as well. The other I would recommend is Yang from Substance Film. But both of them have different styles, so best to go down view their portfolio and see who U prefer!

My VG from Vocaremedia though. =)

taime81

Thanx suzanna. Yeah lots of things to do. Just got my ring engrave today. Nicely done up. And my medi and pedi, so tired running ard today.

My colleague who know suan ming, calculate for me and my htb with our ba zhi 1-2 months back and he only took less than 1 day to get back to me. Guess the shi fu you look for is pretty packed thus takes long time.

Today my mum get a feng shu shi comes my home, i double check with him, he say actually not much diff for marriage, any day also can one. A lot people go calculate also end up in divoice. He say xmas is ok thou calender say not suitable and my colleague also explained that he knows about that but he calculated, xmas is the most suitable day for us, so felt quite relief. The feng shui shi say marriage is EQ. But he did mentioned my current hse is not suitable for couples, cause it is a widow or single flat. So i got look for a new flat main door face south blah blah.

Anyway the feng shu shi is actually pretty good cause my aunt after consulting him, the entire family improve quite a lot but quite pricy, $538 for 4 room. For my family, cause not much issue so might not see great improvement but what he say is really acurrate so far. Quite impress.

mashi_mashi

hi poseidon_gal,

welcome to the thread...

any venue that u hv short list? or u hv any budget?? need us to give suggestion? keke

if u really wan the venue tat u like, tink u hv to act fast. some of the popular dates hv been taken up in various hotel le.

chuababy

Hi Apr Piggy,

I went down to visit the hotel last week, it was Eric who tok to us. But we told him that we think about it (cos we are booking another hotel), so dun need to alarm the other couple. Huh, he hurried you to place deposit liao? Paiseh....

Ya, changing my AD to 15 Nov. My tables are 32...

poseidon_gal

yoz mashi_mashi
yah i have shortlist quite a few hotels..my budget is ard 800-900 per table.. HIPV is taken.. Amara got tentative booking liao but i am going down to take a look at their ballroom this coming thursday. Emails to all my shortlist hotels and waiting for their feedback..
I am also thinking of country clubs but then either the location is very far off or they dont provide one night stay..
For those BTB that book resturants or country clubs..u guys go home straight after wedding dinner??

poseidon_gal

when should i book AD photography and videography?? I realise some BTB book liao..but isnt it a bit too early to book now?? still got 1yr plus to go ley..

mscupid11

hey jaime, mus have enjoyed ur 1st fitting rite? hehe.. i also reserved 2 WG for PS. How come Aileen din allow u to take photos? My hubby took pics of every gown i've tried leh.. guess Jessie is really nice and easy-going.. now looking forward to my EG fitting! So which cutting did u decide on?

Angel, guess if u wana do solemnization & banquet seperately, maybe split into 2 different days, otherwise may just tire urself out.. Another suggestion is to do lunch+solemnization instead of dinner. Lunch banquet is cheaper so if u invite ur young adult frenz, they may still attend since the "angbao" shld not strain their finances too..

mashi_mashi

poseidon_gal,

for those book restaurants n country clubs without 1 nite stay, they will go bk after the dinner.

if u really wan to hv 1 nite stay, tink u hv to search for hotels...

there are quite afew tat is within ur budget.. can PM me if u need help. haha...

my venue, is also within ur budget... haha
hmm. they bk nw is to secure the AD PG n VG tat they like to b available on tat day, as well as secure the price in case tat they increase price next yr.

so if u have any pg n vg tat u wan to hv for ur AD. can bk early. no harm in doing tat.

for me is still looking for my pg n vg.

icecreamscoop

Hey ying, i'm not sure why my friend says so. Maybe he had some bad experiences with James. He is good at seeing ppl. As for the 10% discount, i'll try to push for it as i got afew friends who are members there. Hmm, as for the night stay what did he promise u? He got mention about the place building some hotel rooms? or confirm going conrad for a night stay?

hey mscupid11, i'm weighing the pros and cons of holding the solemnization and banquet on same day and on 2 days. Holding on 2 days may cost abit more due to the rental of gowns and make up etc.. hmmz.. guess i need to go find out the costs. But, up to now, my fiance still prefers holding it on the same day to cut down the inconvenience.

icecreamscoop

Hey phaffia, may i ask hows the gowns at Digio? and hows their package? Is it ex?

And for those using Golden Horse Awards, are there any reasons for the popularity? =p

tksl

Jiaple.. for me, i consulted a shifu.. think he took less than 3 days to get back to me leh. den even offered us many many dates to choose from..

atually wad charmaine say is true.. if both parties dun put in effort in the marriage, no matter how good a date.. also end up in divorce.

for my case, MIL more pang tang.. so i bo pian follow lo

charmaine: how's ROM? any pics to share? :p

helpzme

hi all mar brides,

has anyone confirmed any BS already? can share?

Hi belinda,
You booked yr BS in JB right? have you seen SG bridal in JB as well? heard tat their photos are gd... any recomendations?

emeraldbride

Jiaple, the shifu that some of the brides went too took few days and provide us with 3 years of suitable date, we chose 26th Dec 09! Hehehe...

Congrats Charmaine on ur ROM (abit too late but better than never!).. share ur pix ok..

gals, u all hv multiply? Add me kathkhor

phaffia

Hi Angel,

WG from DiGio emphasise their design on details such as embroidery and crystals, and some can be quite elaborate. Their EGs are mch simpler. From what I know from the DiGio thread, I think their normal packages start from 3988, which may include MTM gowns. However, I think the packages may differ in this aspect.

apr_piggy

Hi Chuababy,

Its okie, no need to paiseh, hhahaha! anyway my hubby and I were expecting their call as we also wished to settle the dinner soon. Now that I learnt you not interested in Orchard Parade, think I can bargain with them for more perks before we place the deposit hehe..

Oh u need 32 tables eh? Anyway I personally feel Orchard Parade Ballroom is too small for 32. I had seen their floorplan, even 25 tables is too squeezy I felt..which hotel are you looking at now?

Hi Angel, if the wedding is held this yr, Legends will promise 1 night stay at Conrad if you signed up during their show. I am not sure whether they are offering Conrad if u sign up subsequently.

Since our wedding will be next yr Feb, Legends is quite confident the new rooms would be ready by then.. so I was offered 1 night stay at the new hotel room.

piggylover

hey all! im back le!! hehe.. my holiday was over le. sad n tire..

Charmaine, congrat of ur ROM!! do show us ur nice nice pic okie? hehe..

hi Yvonne & Jiaple,welcome joining Dec09 BTB!!

Jiaple, do keep us update of ur planning. so we can update ur info into the table of all Dec09 BTB & HTB.

Yvonne, ur info hav been add below:-
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Day</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>Room</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>Renne</TD><TD>04.12.2009</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Hotel</TD><TD>Anitica Ballroom</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teresa</TD><TD>05.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Le Meridien Hotel</TD><TD>Margaux Ballroom</TD><TD>Jazreel's Collection</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teddy Mac</TD><TD>06.12.2009</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Raffles Town Club</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>MooMedia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Andrea</TD><TD>12.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Crystal Ballroom</TD><TD>Vaughn Tan</TD><TD>3Some</TD><TD>Skyworkz </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheekychick</TD><TD>12.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay Hotel</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Printemps</TD><TD>Foto-U</TD><TD>Zeproductions </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shir</TD><TD>20.12.2009</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>20.12.2009</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Digio</TD><TD>1950photography</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charmaine</TD><TD>25.12.2009</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Crystal Ballroom</TD><TD>Digio</TD><TD>simonvideo</TD><TD>simonvideo </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piggylover</TD><TD>26.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Orchid Country Club</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD>Mojoideas </TD></TR><TR><TD>Suzanna</TD><TD>26.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>Ballroom 3</TD><TD>LaBellle Coulture</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>ahBlur</TD><TD>26.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Plaza Park Royal @ Beach Rd</TD><TD>Plaza Ballroom</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lam</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emeraldbride</TD><TD>26.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Not taking</TD><TD>Andy Lim</TD><TD>Wedding Paparazzi </TD></TR><TR><TD>cube_cube</TD><TD>26.12.2009</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

taime81

Hi emeraldbride, thanx. Waiting for my bf buddy to edit and pass it to us the photo, took quite a bit of photo with different pose set up by his friends after everyone has left. Quite cute. Will try upload soon

chuababy

Hi Apr Piggy,

ya, cos we have 32 tables, and OPH's ballroom can't accomodate it...hence there is no way we can take the ballroom.

I am looking at intercon now...hopefully can ask for more perks before finalising...