(2009) Brides of year 2009

hi gals! this is my first post. my wedding will be on 27 Feb. wondering whether u gals check out the auspicious date before confirming with the hotel?

I understand the tong shu is not out yet..

Here's a list of banquet pricing.
Have fun deciding.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/banquet_price.php

phaffia

Welcome ah ying!

For my case, I did consult a geomancer to get an auspicious date for my AD. The date, it seems, can be calculated without using the tongshu.

Have you decided on your BS and/or banquet venue? Or still in the midst of deciding?

How much did you pay for the geomancer?

I've just signed up with Thomson Bridal because I simply fell in love with the gowns. Even though my heart will always be with MyBridalRoom. Their service is excellent and sincere but unfortunately I didn't like the gowns.

My banquet will be at the Legends, Fort Canning.

mscupid11

Welcome ah ying.. =)

I also went to a geomancer to get my AD date.. understand that they are still able to calculate even thou tongshu is not out yet..

So ur banquet gonna be a romantic outdoor event? hehe.. i ike Legends too but hubby sweats too easily lor.. so gotta abort this idea..

Jaime, so surprised that we actually have common fren.. hehe.. gotta meet up someday to continue our brides' talk!

blurbaby

cube cube..

no choice.. got to book early.. cos at first wanted NCQ.. but was reserved by another couple... sob sob..

For Parkroyal @ Beach Road i will b taking d bigger ballroom... sorrie if u also need d bigger ballroom... ~

phaffia

Hi ah ying,

I paid $38 dollars for my consultation last year. But I did overhear that she's increased her rates to $68.

Thomson Bridal has some nice and unique gowns.

Hi mscupid11 and phaffia

I guess I shouldn't be looking for a geomancer since my date is already fixed? Ha.. seems that my family members, hubby's family, and even hubby are not very pan tang about the AD date. -_-"

My banquet will be an outdoor event. Hopefully it will turn out to be romantic and dreamy.

Are you girls nervous and excited about your big day?

xixi0310

wah so fast can go 1st fitting already.. my side still no news from my BS

BTW for ur AD rite, will u all sponsor any dress or accessories for ur jie meis??

glamourous2309

Hi Elstrial,

It depends on the kind of VG package U've signed up for... some comes with express highlights, some don't... Normally there will be top up required if you've just signed for a basic package.

I've signed up for both the VG Express Highlights and VG Wedding Movie package. Other than Sam from Vocaremedias, another gd recommendations is Yang from Substance Film. PM me if you want the contacts.

glamourous2309

Hi II (weddingII),

I've not heard of that before... normally the videographer needs minimum 4-5 hours turnaround time in order produce the express VG during your event. Dinner shouldnt be a problem. For lunch, unless your AD is a split day event then possibly.

mscupid11

ying, i guess since u already fix the date, then better not find the geomancer.. since u not pan tang then just leave it.. its up to individual actually..

welcome joyce! wow.. another bride in this thread.. so when is ur AD and venue? Maybe u shld ring up ur BS, esp for MTM gown u will need to start fitting soon..

mscupid11

ying, my colleague also signed up with Thomson Wedding and her album is very nice.. the indoor shoot is more candid while outdoor shoot focus more on posing.. i must say her photographer is really good.. i almost wanted to sign up with TWC but its way too far as i stay in the east..

lavend3rmist

hi all! tentatively fixed the AD on 090809, venue yet to decide, but we are only looking at a simple function with ROM+reception.

Have already signed up with TWD last yr during a wedding fair.

piggylover

cube cube, where else u shortlisted? 26/12 really alot hot date in dec09. so advise to book earlier as to secure the date n pkg (pkg price will still adjust de). gd luck!!

Hi all Feb BTB,

So happy to see this thread. I'm oso a Feb 09 BTB. My WD is 28 Feb. Seems like it's a popular date.

Some updates on my preparation. I've only decided on the venue, BS and VG. Have not gone to try on the gowns yet. But, I'll have to do it soon as my PS will be in mid July. I need to decide on my PS gowns, think, by end June.

Venue: M Hotel
BS: Julia Wedding News

weddingll

Hi Glamourous, thanks! Yes....its indeed quite hard to source for someone who can do the express VG by lunch time. I managed to get one, but it would cost me about 2k!! Sigh.....

tksl

yeah.. tell us where u shortlisted.. as far as i know, holiday inn big ballroom taken, novotel taken, parkroyal@ beach road taken, orchard hotel small ballroom taken... orchid country club taken...

glamourous2309

Hi II (weddingII),

Please check for quality of work too as it will be a extremely rush piece of work to produce within a short time frame honestly.

blurbaby

cube cube..

all d best to ur selection of venue... act fast.. if both of u agree on d venue n price..

it's only a nite.. but gals tends to b more particular with regards to d venue, feels, etc etc.. but guys will only look at price, EX.... ahahaha

jaimegal

Welcome 1199... your PS is so early, mine is september.

Same as you, mscupid, my hubby sweats easily too so we cant have a outdoor event. Ah ying, so nice to have an outdoor event. I saw the wedding venue at Legends. It is so pretty.

Mscupid, we really must arrange to go out someday, great talking to you the other day.

Mscupid, I feel more reassured hearing that you colleague had nice wedding album from TWC

Jaimegal, I haven't actually seen a real wedding event held at the Legends. ;) Will find time to go n have a look. *excited*

Have you gone to select your gown at GHA? I saw their bridal gowns during Her world wedding show. Pretty!!

Hi Jaimegal... I'm doing my PS in Taiwan, that's why. Have to do it before the rainy season.

Ah ying... I have a friend holding at Legends too. She is a March BTB. You can ask your coordinator when is the next wedding and go down to have a look. I heard it is nice. My friend paying to add more air coolers as she sweats easily and doesn't want her makeup to 'melt'. She manage to get the coordinator to throw in 1 bottle of wine per confirm table. Did u get tat?

cube_cube

hahahaha...jialat jialat.....i also duno how to shortlist, cos on a budget...sianz.....still need to view some other place first...

cube_cube

haha... i tink in my case, my bf more particular...we made a wrong choice on our first visit, saw a huge ballroom with super high ceiling...gorgeous place..now my bf will just stare at the ceiling first...hahahahaha...but he wont mind if i choose other place with lower ceilings

diannahuimin

hey peeps, i went to OCC on Wednesday, tentatively booked the Grand Ballroom. going to confirm by 16 May. after that, i will be sourcing for BS.

1199, I also have the wine.

My friend told me that someone had fireworks too!! However, I seriously don't think the coordinator would throw in fireworks.. at the most I would get free sparklers only. :p

royzzz

My AD will be on 21 Mar 09. Seems a few others sharing the share AD as mine

For those who are still deciding on Mar 09 AD date better decide fast. You may have problems looking for dinner venue.

It will cost a bomb to have fireworks... Don't think they will throw in for you... Sparklers will be nice...

mscupid11

With the addition of our 2 new members..

Carlyn: AD-07/02
Mscupid11: AD-12/02; Venue-Swissotel Merchant Court; BS-Golden Horse Award
Mawie: AD-14/02; Venue:Club Chinois; BS-Flamingo Bridal
Joyce: AD-14/02; Venue-Le Meridien; BS-Bridal Concept
Jaimegal: AD-15/02; Venue-Carlton; BS-Golden Horse Award
Yan: AD-21/02; Venue-Marina Mandarin; BS-Digio
Pauliyanna: AD-21/02; Venue: Peony Jade (23/02); BS: Volan Couture
Ah Ying: AD-27/02; Venue- Legends @ Fort Canning; BS- Thomson Bridal
Phaffia: AD-28/02; Venue-Swissotel Merchant Court; BS-Digio
Noti: AD-28/02; BS- Bliss Bridal
1199: AD-28/02; Venue- M Hotel; BS- Julia Wedding News

mscupid11

hey jaime, ya must get June to link us up one of these days.. hehe.. so ur fitting on 17 may is for both WG & EG? Or just select WG first?

ying, if i'm not wrong my colleague's photographer is a Malay guy, but not sure wat's his name.. u may wana ask to see his work when deciding on ur PS..

coris264

HI LADIES,

Hope I'm not too late to join this thread. I am also getting married in Feb09.

A brief intro:

AD 21 Feb 09 (Wat a coincidence same as Yan)

BS: Bridal Zone (Anyone interested can check with me. I got lots of friends took up BZ).

Venue: Singapore Expo

Lovenest: Buangkok

PS: In July 08

coris264

Hi Ah ying,

Yes u r right, tong shu will normally release only end of the year for the next year. For me I went to Fengshui master to request for AD and GDL dates. I got my dates last year. For FS master, they calculate yr "eight characters" for the dates instead of going thru the tong shu. Hope this helps u.

yew

Hi Junvis,

Which banquet setup do you mean? You mean the M hotel?

HI Love or Money,

I am also looking for BS now.

Hey, has anyone heard about Golden Horse awards Bridal studio? My frens (at least 3 of them who does not each other) reccomended it to me but I'm not sure if it's any good. Have settled the photography part already

pinkie_nah

My fren also reccomend there .. apparently they are long time since mama time ... but i never take their package i took the sister company digio .. heard tat they are rather ok jus pricey

vastocean

Will be solemnising on 200909... AD not confirmed yet, may be in 2009 or 2010... just browsing through and realise that everybody here seems to be v fast and efficient in getting their venues, BS etc all confirmed. Gosh... Now getting abit stressed about my ROM date even...

Does anyone have a list of places/hotels for the solemnisation? Can email me at [email protected]?

Thanks much!

eevee

Hi all, I also just got my date today from the master. Also 21 Nov 09 ... Seems like this date is a hot date. Can share which hotel has alrd been taken up?

yanny5515

Hi Joess,

Welcome to this thread.
We have the same AD!!!
I still dunno when my PS is. My BS says will call me in late may to inform me when my first fitting will be.

I also went to calculate my dates, based on the 8 characters + both parents' zodiac sign.

yanny5515

UPZ

Carlyn: AD-07/02
Mscupid11: AD-12/02; Venue-Swissotel Merchant Court; BS-Golden Horse Award
Mawie: AD-14/02; Venue:Club Chinois; BS-Flamingo Bridal
Joyce: AD-14/02; Venue-Le Meridien; BS-Bridal Concept
Jaimegal: AD-15/02; Venue-Carlton; BS-Golden Horse Award
Yan: AD-21/02; Venue-Marina Mandarin; BS-Digio
Pauliyanna: AD-21/02; Venue: Peony Jade (23/02); BS: Volan Couture
Joess: AD-21/02; Venue - Singapore Expo; BS-Bridal Zone
Ah Ying: AD-27/02; Venue- Legends @ Fort Canning; BS- Thomson Bridal
Phaffia: AD-28/02; Venue-Swissotel Merchant Court; BS-Digio