(2009) Brides of year 2009

cheekychick

Charmaine, i agree with Andrea. I also booked my AD PG & VG but i worse than her..i booked in Dec '07...to secure 2007 pricings. My PG is Foto-U & VG is ZEproductions..for $2360. I paid $300 deposit already...Actually, im now sourcing for MUA already. If my PS next mth turns out well, i may try to sai-ko my MUA to come sg to do AD makeup for me, lol!~ Cos my BS is at JB....

supergal

KaiStarz,

Did you change the free flow of beer to champagne because most of your frens or relatives are non-drinkers? Thought free flow of beer in a package is usually quite an attractive perk

claudia_lim21

hi Kel_ly,

Juz mit up wif huiling. very true that NCQ very strict wif their perks. unable to nego much wif them. haha..

But understand fr Huiling tat they will give another barrel of beer free if u exchange it wif 1wine per confirmed table. they dun hv the rule to exchange for free flow.

so to me, i tink nt so worth it lor.
if i intend to take, i will stick to the original perks. but she willing to lend me 1 small function rm for my ROM b4 the dinner..

but i like their ballroom n bridal suite. the view in the bridal suite is nice. ballroom n the foyer also very nice.. foyer has cosy feeling..

haha...

supergal

Hi mashi,

Are you considering the Phoenix Grand Ballroom or the Cinnamon Room? As far as I remembered, think most of their function rooms (for your ROM) are located at Level 5 right? There is one small room right beside the Cinnamon Room when I went there 2 weeks ago...think can accomodate about 20 people if I'm not mistaken.

So, are you still considering NCQ? Read in the NCQ thread that one of the BTB actually managed to get either free flow of beer or 2 barrels of beer + 1 bottle of house wine per confirmed table! That's really good..but think she signed up with NCQ at their wedding show last year...maybe this year don't have this kind of perks le..

Not sure if I can wait till NCQ wedding show around August this year to make the booking..but remember Huiling mentioned that the perks will not have free flow of beer still but maybe additional anniversary stay or a lump sum off the total bill...

Btw, thanks for sharing with me

~smitten~

Hi Jasmine, hope u can get the jacuzzi room =)
Me signed up with Furama Riverfront instead cos my ROM was held there too

My AD is on 28 May 09. What abt ur's?

pringirl

hey fifteenmay, i signed up during a wedding fair & got 39 poses/26 pages @ RM4088. but i opted out for niang jia ben. paid a deposit of RM1K. supposed to hold our wedding in dec this yr but postponed. how abt u? is the deal u got from venus good? =)

claudia_lim21

hi Kel_ly,

I considerinf Phoenix grand ballroom. yup. the function rm is at level 5. huiling mentioned tat can cater up to 30 pax tat rm..

I still considering lor. Wow. Really gd. if can get tat i happy liao. haha...

tink so ba.. i also dun knw lei. if can wait til tat date is gd lor. mayb i check wif huiling when is there wedding show. haiz...

mstomrs

hi joleen,

haven gone about signing d contract yet..but m serious bout it.. Will u b considering other dates (same hotel) or looking at other hotels..?

My fmil is very fixed on the date so we decided not to wait for the wedding show anymore despite knowing it will have much betta perks (who knows..mayb cash rebate even?)

akino

went HIPV yesterday. not bad but bridal suite toilet abit small. but not everything is perfect ma. our 1st choice is carlton. and we just discuss most probably planning next yr end. so tat we can save more money. * furama CMI, LE meridien looks like chalet- plus service KNS make us stand there so long while waiting. we are going pan pacfic n inter conti. nxt.

tulipmelody

according to the MOM website the date will be confirmed near the end of 2008 but whether is it a deepavali day i will still prefer that date.

hoonie

hi angel, eventually i gave up orchard hotel because the same level as 3 ballrooms so I'm pretty afraid that night will be messy if there are 3 weddings going on.

oh ya i went to di gio and yvonne creative last nite with my hubby's mum and sis. as hubby working night shift so will bring him down next wk to see which bridal shop gowns are nicer

supergal

Hi mashi,

Think Huiling mentioned that the wedding show will be sometime in August later this year...cos I remembered quite clearly that it will be at the same month as the lunar 7th month

Hehehe..maybe NCQ scare no couples may want to sign up during that month...so purposely put in August..hahaha

taime81

Hi Cheeky, i can recommend you a MUA, who is my beautian. She is very experience, used to free lance with many bridal shop and she just start her beauty salon and she conduct courses for grooming & markup for companies. My sis have check with her the rates before, quite reasonable, so my sis and relatives will let her do the markup and hairdo for my wedding.

http://splendior.wetpaint.com/page/Makeup+Services

claudia_lim21

hi kel_ly,

mayb ba.. haha.. dun knw wan to wait til then. ard 3-4mths more.

haiz.. nvm. c other places first then decide ba.
seems like the package got abit of changes hor.
muz start to take note liao.

hopefully can get wat i wan or like ba.
haha

pauliyanna

hi ladies, i'm a btb in feb 2009, looks like its a popular month. haha glad to find a place where the like minded are at least for the next few months. =)

supergal

Hi mashi,

Just to share with you that the food at York Hotel is actually not bad...hehe! Went food tasting for my sis fortcoming wedding in June...but as the ballroom is currently on renovation, can't view it...a pity la.

Not sure if it is always the case that the food portions at food tasting session will generally be larger...there were 11 of us today and all of us ate till very full! Food was fresh, especially for the fish and we were impressed by the sharksfins portion...hahaha!

Anyway, hopefully you can find your ideal banquet venue soon

weddingll

I booked mine at Orchard Hotel, they are also having a roadshow soon. Maybe you all can check it out. Perks not bad, price is consider cheap. Hahaha!

fat_fat_79

Hi Jy27

If you got the latest Style Brides Mag, you will find the details there. If not you can go the the style wedding website to know more detail. The closing date is tomorrow. so you have to act fast liao.

supergal

Hi II,

Is Orchard Hotel considered cheap? Think I remembered it's about $1K plus rite? For weekend dinners..their ballroom is quite nice

blurbaby

unable to secure 26/12 from NCQ.. it was taken by another couple.. nw left with PPR.. tmr going to view d place..

will update here after that..

cheekychick

ahblur, is ur date with PPR still available? Do have an alternative juz in case PPR not to ur liking
Btw, i rem reading somewhere dat Holiday Inn Atrium has pretty good packages as well. Hw abt Parkroyal Kitchener? If u have 42 tables, do visit Hilltop Garden Restaurant at Bukit Batok
The ballroom at the top level is simply gorgeous...

Andrea, have PMed u :p

blurbaby

Cheeky_chick..

tks for yr helps in recommending d venues.. actually had called on Mon to tentative book d venue... should b no problem.. jus that tmr official go down to check out d venue n clarify some details with d coordinator.. normally ppl don't confirm on d venue on d spot rite? will have to go hme n think bout it first?

For Holiday Inn Atrium, they will b charging $888 for weekend wedding in 2009, only free 1 barrel of beer.

For 2008, there r 658 for 8 course, 818 for 9 course..

Hilltop Garden also not bad.. heard that d food is very nice.. but dear dear still prefer a place to rest.. after d dinner..

mscupid11

hi pauline, welcome to this thread.. though it seems pretty quite recently.. guess we have all been caught up with the preparation work..

when is your AD and where will you be holding it? Decided on ur BS already?

taime81

Not sure about the norm. I call a few hotel asking abt the ballroom looks, they just ask me go up and take a lot and they will arrange with me another day if i'm keen to discuss. I shortlisted 3, Orchard Parade Hotel, Novetel & HIPV. I took up HIPV on the spot cause we quite like the place and that is the 2nd last day for the perks, too tired to go other place on that sun night then.

emeraldbride

Hi Charmaine

I did the same too...so i supposed is the norm! See on ur own, no one tailing u is better..

u see liao, u like it, u schedule to discuss, dun like, dun bother..hahah

sugar1937

Hi all ladies,

I'm new here, hope to join you all.Nice to meet u.

My AD is in April 09 but I haven started any preparations & now seems like there's so much sourcing preparations getting panicky.

Can someone give me some advices on any recommendations on bridal shop? On the AD day, does the MUA stays with u whole day & do we get to see her 'standard' before the actual wedding day? I'm worried what if she's too fierce or her make up doesnt suit etc....

Pls give me some tips & Is there a meetups where brides to be meet up? I really very lost in directions. What's the lead time usually to start sourcing bridal & hotels & photographers? And usually how much deposit is the norm?

What other things need to prepare? Thanks!!

jaimegal

Welcome Pauline to our thread.

Hi all, from the previous entry, i mentioned that i am getting the GDL cakes from my uncle shop. well, i got the pictures and pricing.Please let me know your email address and i will email you guys the pricing and pictures.

mscupid11

hi jaime, my email add is [email protected]. Pls send me the pics and pricing. Thks!

Btw, GHA latest collection will arrive on 21 April, my gown designer already arranged for my 1st fitting in end-April.. hehe.. maybe u can check with Aileen too. =)

tksl

hee.. me too.. though i signed up at the wedding show.. see the nice deco, fall in love with the set up.. den sign up liao.

ahblur, sorry ah.. but wat is PPR? have u consulted long shifu for the date? hope 26/12 is good for u.. den we all have the same wedding date and anniversary! hee
hope you find that perfect venue soon!

taime81

Hi emeraldbride,

Ya loh, some places you see like you know immediate you don't like kind. Lol... have you decided which hotel?

Btw, i just saw carlton price list, quite reasonable too, $828 nett for fri - sun, 8 dishes.

blurbaby

suz..

Parkroyal @ Beach Road.. d weekend is at 828 nett.. plus free flow of beer.. min is 25 tables..

nope i neber contact long shifu.. jus base on our preference date.. for our ROM also neber choose.. MIL not particular on d date.. jus don't fall on d month of birthday or anniversary of any died relative can already..

althou my mummy wanted to check on d date..

but some hotel r over-priced..

Orchard Parade Hotel was one of mine choice then.. but my SIL had her AD in 06.. i also don't wana hold at d same venue..