(2009) Brides of year 2009

noknok

Lalaa.. Bollywood dancing in as well?? haha

Has anyone been to a wedding withough wedding favors ah??? I've been collecting different wedding favors and it all jus goes into the bin during spring cleaning leh.

dizonne

noknok,
wedding favours not a muz la...last time i work banquet,so mani peepz didnt even rem to bring hm their favours lor...

i guess u can either do wif awae wif it, or leave them in a prominent place, so tat whoeva wans can juz help themself..

dzxz

Wuuu thks pudding....ya got to discuss with them see what they say lo....

hmm pudding remember to add me in the mutiply hee...

lalaa_27

yea i also find weddin favors a bit redundant.. most of the time its juz thrown 1 corner wen reach home.. n like Noknok throw away durin Spring cleaning!

was thinkin of givin small piece of cake as weddin favor.. so at least guests eat it immed lor..

w33lp

Either that, or give something useful like this:

908840.jpg

desjo_11

wow..all the sweet & lovely wives..we got our own house own kitchen but I'm lazy to cook..anyway also duno hw to cook..after cooking the thought of washing really a dread..
CNY i be away for my honeymoon..so abit wasted cant enjoy the CNY mood..

Hope u gals hv great fun after a hectic Jan

lalaa_27

XiaoKeAi lucky u.. hope i dun stumble or make a fool of myself in front of 600 ppl!!

elyse mine is restaurant.. no favors.. got invitation cards.. n free flow beer, wine n liquor.. so im not complainin.. hehe

w33lp

Wah, 600 guests... Even if you get the cheapest favours - $2 each, you still need to fork out $1200...

Then might as well forget about favours, lalaa...

I've only got 50 guests for my ROM, so I can afford to get pricier favours...

lalaa_27

yea lor.. dats y was thinkin juz get cakes.. n get nice boxes n wrap it DIY.. got family members to help out wif dat..

oh urs is a small n romantic weddin.. for me & HTB we always wanted a grand wedding

ecarg1310

desjO... u cook, ur hubby wash or vice versa lo. That's what I always tell my hubby if he asks me to cook something for him to eat

Oh yah... enjoy ur honeymoon! I Simply love Japan the last time I went there!

lalaa_27

noknok.. thinkin of gettin only 1 tier real cake n puttin it on the fake multi-layer cake.. but the restaurant say we cant do dat.. so still decidin wad to do..
but for catholics, its some kinda tradition to haf fruitcake for weddin.. i also didnt noe until my FMIL say lor..

w33lp

But cakes are not cheap either. Some more you need enough cake for 600 guests... That'll cost a lot too.

Yah, mine's a small simple wedding. We had to use the excuse that it's only a ROM, so that we do not have to explain to friends and relatives. Most of them don't expect us to do anything for ROM, so we'll just have a small party for close friends and run off for honeymoon.

If we have done a proper banquet, then it'll be something large scale like yours... Coz you know relatives, once you've invited a few, the rest will expect to be invited or else all hell breaks loose... =p

noknok

WAT!!! I act as if I nv read ur comment... I dun like the traditional fruit cake..

Thinking about that, maybe I'll jus have a wedding cake during lunch reception after mass. at night no cake. I love e cake tat i tasted at BOWS... super nice..

Was jus reading back, XKA, wat kind of homework for gowns u need to do?? tat day e coordinator ask me if I did any homework, I was like.. huh.. wat homework, what am I suppose to do?? I won't know which one is nice on me if I dun try them on right.

lalaa_27

haha.. i like fruitcake.. so i dun mind

yea agree wif u Noknok.. no point researchin too much into gowns.. den later the BS cannot meet our expectations! haha.. im juz gonna go n try n see which looks nice on me n take lor.. for now im juz workin very hard to lose my tummy.. so dat i can fit into all gowns! hehe

yea true elyse.. dunno wad to do for favors..
yea la mine also same case.. its relatives n frens of relatives n relatives of relatives.. pengsan liao!
we haf decided to do 2 days.. sat nite banquet.. den sun afternoon buffet.. sure no 1st nite on sat for us.. hahaha

dizonne

elyse,
i beg to differ leh..to me, its all 'face' issue lor...for us, we are not inviting all our frends and relatives oso...Coz mi family veri extended...i got total of 5 grandmas leh, & furthermore i used to stay in kampung...so u can imagine hw mani tables i need..haha..

for us, we are onli inviting those close to us..I mean its my wedding..i wldnt wanna to celebrate in a ballroom whe most than half of them, i duno or recognise...I find it veri silly and a waste of time n $$....

so i guess its whether u can live wif e fact tat (in future, if anione finds out) they will point finger n tok beind your back lor...for us, we dun reali care...

lalaa,
mi cake cost me abt $250 for 2 tier, for about 150 peepz..i tink urs will cost at least a thousand ba...WAH!!! can have 6 tier leh...mi dream cake..haha...

noknok,
she told mi to collect pics of gowns i like lor...then at least roughly she koe wat sort i like...bt of course, be open to wateva she might show u lor..coz they are more experienced...they koe wat sort can bring out ur figure lor...

dizonne

lalaa,
can help u to customise ur matchboxes...
however, i tot not everyone has use for match box...how abt chocolates, u koe those squarish pcs, or kitkat??

dizonne

thanks kath...

btw gals, came across this shop tat does figurine of you n hubby for i tink 200plus...am thinking of doing tat for my cake topper...haha...bt duno if i shld have ourselves wearing kua, WG, or bikini wif veil...

w33lp

noknok,
I guess the wedding coordinator at BS meant that at least you should have an idea of what kind of gowns you'd prefer... Or what kind of cut & design that flatters you most.

w33lp

xiaokeai,
In my extended family, there are no secrets. Once the word is out that I'm getting married, they'll start calling! So, there's no escaping unless we tell them straight to their face that we are not inviting them. Which is really bad right... when ppl already asked. =[

lalaa_27

XiaoKeAi u sure u wanna do the figurine?
my cousin n his wife did it for their wedding cake topper.. in 1 word.. it was UGLY! didnt look anythin like dem la.. so my advice is dun waste ur money..

haha elyse.. ya lor.. no choice.. cos both me n HTB r the first child in our families.. so must invite everyone.. some more the followin week will have weddin dinner at my parents hometown too.. so its 3 days in total! the 3rd one sponsored & planned by my parents so im not worried.. haha

haha juski its ok.. anywae i was rethinkin n decided betta dun get matchbox.. later kids play wif it n set the banquet hall on fire :p

XiaoKeAi.. hmm thanx.. mite consider chocs..

dizonne

elyse,
for me, i juz told them tat im having a westernise wedding...n bochup them lor...they wan sae tis, complain tat, oso i dun care..coz end of e dae, its my wedding and i dun c y i hav to invite them juz coz they heard abt it...

to mi, its definiteloy nt possible to invite everyone who koes abt it...so i rather spare myself e hassle...rather enjoy mi dae wif reali close ones...

mayb mi tinking veri diff ba..coz im brought up in a veri western style...haha..

dizonne

lalaa,
before they do it, u can hav a preview de..n if it doesnt look like u, can alwaes get them to do again till u r satisfied....also, e photo tat u giv them oso veri important...muz reali show u n hubby's features clearly, then they can make an accurate figurine...i intend to use my bridal shots..haha..

let me koe if u wan proceed wif e chocolates...i can DIY for u,but u might need to get ur bridesmaids to help stick them on...

w33lp

lalaa,
OMG! 3 in total... If it's me, I'll faint. =p But lucky your parents are helping with one, so not so tiring. For my case, lucky my dad suggested we just ROM and go for honeymoon. Hehe... I'm the eldest at home too.

xiaokeai,
Haha, I guess so. Our values are different. For me, if want to invite relatives then invite all. If don't want to invite all, then might as well don't invite at all... =p

lalaa_27

XiaoKeAi thanx for offerin.. but i wouldnt wanna trouble u la.. cos u also wud be gettin married in the same mth n will b very busy urself!

dizonne

lalaa,
its okie la...fairly easy to do de...aniwae, i do during off hours..haha...dun tell mi boss can le...

juz need 2 tell mi ur colour combi or theme, n whether u wanna include your pics,then viola!!..tink within 3 daes can le..haha..aniwae, i do in off...it will look smting like tis..i copy e pic from another site...

908970.jpg

908971.jpg

dizonne

tis not mi design la...got tis pic off some other brides site...im not e drawing person...so wat i do is juz google for cute pics lor..haha..then i add mi owntings to it...like mi Save-the-date...

aniwae, e pic is an actual drawing of e couple done by their frends..unlesss u got someone who can draw for u, or u find a caricaturist(???) to do for u...

bt i juz tot tat tis is nice n sweet lor...

dizonne

its not printed on wraping paper..e bride's colour theme was pink, and all her wedding stationery had stripes...tats y her favour looks like tis...

tats y i sae need to tell mi ur theme and colour combi lor..then can match everyting....

dizonne

yaya....e wrapper is DIY..choco is any choco lor..as long as is squarish or rectangulish shape..

haha..tink i reali can start a shop le...haha...

nok & aroh,
muz split more profit wif mi leh..haha..

dizonne

my belief is: u do not need to spend alot to have a grand wedding...

simple, small gestures like tis can make ur guests feel at hm, and oso appreciate ur effort..and oso 'show' how u feel abt ur wedding...i like to focus more on e emotional impact, rather than e visual impact ba, i would sae...

a chocolate like tis wun even cost u a dollar lor..bt the effect it brings out is sure worth more than that...

dizonne

well, if u print in e office secretly lor..haha...bt then quality might not be tat good, depending on paper used, and oso the ink lor...

if nt, go outside n print oso can...dun tink it'll cost u much if u are printing together wif ur inserts and other stationery...furthermore, it saves u e hassle of cutting e pcs out..can get e shop to cut for u...

w33lp

That's kinda cheap right? I mean, if you use it as your invitation card design, then you don't have to pay extra to get designers to design your card anymore.

roystream

saw many of u guys already done your wedding bands and fix appt for selection of gown, i have not done both yet. hmm, seem like i m very behind time.
XKA, u went to select ur gown liao? if not why have 1st fitting?