(2009) Brides of year 2009

ruachgall

hey dottie

we not comfy with the date leh... anyway, our master gave us another date liao...

fat_fat: Please update me in your excel list as well..

Wedding date: 22 March 2009
Wedding venue: Amara Hotel
Bridal: Sattine
PG & VG: TBC

cherie81

saggiegirl> Thanks for your suggestion. My friend actually recommend Kam boat at marina sq (dim sum). But dont know good or not. MAybe next week will go down.

Do you girls think its worth it to get a 5k PG for actual day only?

jklyn

As mine is a wedding lunch, i intend to have only the childhood photo montage and express morning highlights.. Keen to get a VG but trying to keep within my budget..
By the way, do u all have any emcee script and thank you speech to share?

To Cherie,
Just my 2 cents, I find that 5K to get a PG is abit ex.. I have engaged a PG for my AD at 1.3K which includes express morning highlights.. Is a freelancer though

cornygal

skywolf: oo..u took half day leave to sign?sighz..they really quite strict lo..sighz..u managed to get the beer frm them?how much is a bottle of wine if we buy frm them ah?

emilyng

Hi Charlene,
Heehee..we negotiated with Jane and she said we didnt have to pay on the spot..and yea..we were supposed to pay this week..but Jane called to tell me that the contract is not ready yet..so we going to pay next week.

You mean you paid after negotiating with Stephine? Hmmm...

Hi Rynn,
Yeah I also like the date...You noe..my friend was saying..7-11...is like the store 7-11...and I was telling her..yea..our love is like 24 hrs...heeheee..abit mushy yeah...whahwhwa
Any particular reason why you like this date?

emilyng

oh by goodness...I was looking through the list and my my...you ladies have already confirmed at least 1 of the few impt things beside the venue...now I am starting to feel stress... shshshhh....

lynnnie

Hi to all 2009 BTB,

I'm also a 2009 bride but am contemplating between Nov or Dec to hold my AD.

Can anyone send me their banquent package for reference? Thanks in advance.

candy84

Hi Sun

well, will it be kinda weird if stay separately after the AD? coz AD we had done all the ceremony so find kinda weird to stay apart... I just hope things will go well for all of us..

So have u book for the hotel/resturant?

octo

Hi Andrea & Pebbles,

Yah.. to have everything is just too much.. maybe I need to look into combining some of them / throw some out. Hee.. don't want my guests to be bored by all the montage and video.

I went to a wedding lunch last week. Hardly speak to the couple, just a 'congrats & thanks' moment then watch childhood montage, lunch served and off we go. Kinda of set me into thinking, is this how most wedding lunch/dinner had 'evoluted' into.. shouldn't it be a time where everyone is there to celebrate the union.. and have fun.. I wonder how to make more time to interact and have fun with the guests.

I was also thinking, is there a need to let everyone know how we met etc.. not that we have something to hide.. just feel like.. ummmm... don't know how to describe..

Pebbles, I had my rom photos in those binding albums during my solemnization. They are really heavy and difficult to bring around. Hence, I am half-thinking of just getting softcopy from the BS for my PS. hehe.. just thinking only. But I don't think I'll display the album (if I have one) outside, as the PS slideshow is screened on looped mode in the ballroom. So I don't see the need to have them outside.

Hi jklyn,

I heard most vg need minimum 5hrs to do up the morning highlights express to be screen during banquet. You might want to check this out with them first since you are doing a wedding lunch.

krystal80

hi shir, I had a friend who didn't show any montages because she wanted to do exactly that...mingle with her guests and spending time with them...I feel that how you host the dinner is entirely up to u...and since it's ur big day, it's up to u how u want to spend the day...=)

charlenefmj

hi emily,
no i didnt pay on the spot. i paid the deposit after the contract was ready for me to sign... so good leh you. can drag so long...

vallous

i guess just let your bf now you will like it less stressful so will not aggravate your condition.

Already going to be husband and wife, in the future there are even more things to settle and talk it out such as PILs and children , work and so on. So must always maintain communications. Marriage is really not a rosy picture like happily ever after, if one to read the rest of the probs..i guess most of us are only at our tip of the ice bergs only.

kittykelly

hi babyeve,

i am still not sure wow.. cse i am still settling my hotel. once it is confirm then i will inform the BS and see when they wan me to go down and discuss about my gown.

so when r u goin to choose your gown and photoshot?

sure. once i know when i am goin will let you kw or u can let me kw when you goin also.

sg_sc

ooh...tats wat they meant wen they said they needed abt 6 or 7 hrs to do up the highlights? i.e. MIA for that 6 hrs?? hmm...weird. If so tat means all couples would have to stop taking video by 1 or 2 pm, which im sure most couples would still be in the midst of shuttling ard lei...Was tat wat ur VG told u? IF really like tat then yah a bit rush for us just so they can finish early to do the highlights.
Not sure abt hw tis works though. But im sure they can accustom to our timing coz different couples different schedules! speak to ur VG n inform him of ur preferred schedule. See wat he says...shld be can one. I would need to go do more research on my PG/VG soon too..

sg_sc

yalor yalor...since oredi there..take pics wif the doorman too...very cute-they wear the uniform like WWII soldiers...hehehe..

Tink i too stressed abt my house reno cost, jiak lak, resale too old, now need do major overhaul got nitemare last nite tat my angbao box still not wrapped hrs b4 the banquet, accessories n costumes stil undecided!!luckily my alarm rang at right time, jolt mi up or else tink i'll cry in my sleep man

mashi_mashi

stacey,
ya lor. tats wat i hope so. pray hard will b smooth on tat day...

but i got trust in my co ordinator lor. keke..

Christy,
World is soooo small. haha...

saggiegirl

hmm...for me my hubby say he want to do up a simple montage of our dating photos (not many) and then ROM photos
we have a LCD screen in front of the ballroom to show our PS photos..so that one we can "save" our montage effort :p

actualli i want to do up a cartoon as to how we met (through SDU) but the cost is too high...

we wld be also showcasing our ROM album and PS album on the stands/tables...

oh ya..i have done up a wedding plan
u girls can use that as a sort-of guide and modify a bit (perhaps incl ROM planning (e.g. looking for JP etc), church ceremony, etc...)
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
Wedding Plan
Wedding Plan 6 Dec 2009.xls (31.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

daffier

lynnnie,

below is my package:

after negotiations we got red wine per table, waiver of red wine corkage, day room, LCD projector..

standard one include:

A delicious 8 or 9-course Cantonese menu

Free flow of soft drinks and Chinese tea, Tiger Draught beer

An exclusive wedding theme with floral arrangement and decoration on stage

A sumptuous breakfast or lunch on the following day after your wedding night

A memorable one night stay in our Bridal Suite with a complimentary fruit basket

or Two nights’ stay in our Deluxe room
A specially designed 5-tier wedding cake for cake cutting ceremony

An elegant guest signature book

Elegant gift packed in specially designed boxes for all guests

Choice of two invitation card designs for up to 80% of your invited guests, excluding printing

Pre-dinner snacks with two drinks for wedding couple in room

An easel stand for wedding portrait at the foyer

Complimentary parking for 20% of guaranteed attendance

Pre-dinner c*cktails with snacks at the foyer

A splendid food presentation for first course

One complimentary bottle of champagne for champagne pouring ceremony

Waiver of corkage charge for all duty-paid hard liquor, excluding beer, wine, white spirits and champagne

“In-laws Get Together” lunch or dinner for 10 persons based on confirmed menu

A first Wedding Anniversary Dinner for two

ahrainrain

wah..u must be very stressed preparing your wedding and renovation at the same time...but sounds like the next 6 months is going to be very fulfiling for you...how i wish i can move in to my new house after wedding,,my house is still under construction.. will be ready only next year ,maybe mid year...so keeping m fingers crossed..regret buying new place..waited for 2 years liao...but good thing no need to overhaul so much lah...so no pain no gain..haha

my VG is one man show..he does the editing and video..so he got to excuse himself..my friend VG actually did work with another VG who will help to do the editing..while he continue to follow the bride and groom...so u can request for that..remember thomas? the contact i pass to you,i think he was the one lah..if u happened to meet up with him,ask him to show you the express highlights under "wanjun and keong" 22 dec 2007..its my friends wedding..very funny one..

sg_sc

stressed abt $$$ n wat designs, we just got keys only, so still blur abt wat to do...yah, no regrets la. No matter wat, brand new house still better than older ones. Trust me!! But too bad, coz we wanted to stay near parents house (which ended up really near!! frm whose ever house to the new house is only abt 5-10 mins drive away...) which will be adv for the AD coz can save travelling time. ;p

yah, tat makes alot more sense. Then y dun u request for tat?? Thomas? frm where? hmm..neva receive lei...u send to mi again can?

zerochristy

Skywolf> Not worried le... I just felt sad or ruther upset for you if you have bought the ring and than pay good money on it.. things like this should not happen.

Mashi> Hahaha yap world is so small¡­ but prefer to stay it this way so we got more to talk over the forum¡­ if meet up liao later got nothing to say¡­. Kinda of shy when 2 person sees each other... Hahaha

Chris &amp; Raina>

emilyng

Hi Charlene,
How long did they take to draft out the contract? Did you have to go down to sign or could you just sign and email back?

Sharlene: ya lor. Got some off days to clear. Else forfeit lehz. So just take lor. But hor, my hb kept the contract. I dun remember. Lol! He's handling banquet part. I'm doing the reno part lehz.

Mashi: Ah! *bang wall + read miore treads*

Christy: Used to it liao. But it's quite loose. Lost weight after tt. Now wash hands must b very careful. Cannot shake hands too hard. Wait ring will roll. @@

charlenefmj

hi emily,

they took less than 5days to draft out the contract and i actually went down personally to sign it coz they will explain the details again

mashi_mashi

Christy,
r u hving ur AD banquet? in my list, never state.. u nt having rite? i seems to forget liao. haha...

ya, tis way is better. juz say hi when got chance to c each other. lol... provided i recognise u. lol...

skywolf,
no need like tat lar. haha...

pigpig_61

hi, thanks so much for the shawl advise...i'm now trying to see if i could work something out with my BS cos nothing look great on me till now (went to select the gowns two times liao)...if not, maybe maybe i will have to get a MTM which i hope i wont need to...

btw, i would like to say a very big thank you to fat_fat..she's a great help to me on my BS and gowns...she is really damm helpful to me lor, although we had not seen each other and we just know each other thru here only...she's really wonderful gal..

emilyng

Hi Charlene..
I see....if tat is the case, then I think I will go down to sign the contract.

I think after we settle the Hotel Deposit, I will starting making appts with the bridal studios..

Seeing you gals getting prepared is starting to stress me out.. hhwhahaha

sparkless

This thread is lively! I'm also a 21 Nov bride but nothing confirmed except for bridal.

Now meeting photographers for pre-wedding and actual day shoot.

I haven't got my venue confirmed yet. haha...

sparkless

Hello Emily,

Nope, we dun intend to have any banquet. We are planning for a church wedding and then a dinner reception. But the church is not opened for booking until next year march/ april.

So if we cannot book a church, we will then source for hotel. but then, i dunno which hotel will be left for us to book by then. haha

emilyng

Hmmm..I think you can start calling them up and ask for the Wedding Package...some Hotels will increase their prices next year so better to secure it soon with this year pricing.

I am also having a church wedding and a lunch reception. Then in the nite..I will have my dinner banquet in IC. Heeheee..
I will confirm be freaking tired..but I feel that is better to have everything settle in 1 day.

sun_tan

Candy,
We are ok with staying apart, thats the last resort. Yup have alr booked my banquet. You can see the information on the table above.

ahrainrain

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I got a recommendation..my colleague and my HTB 's brother is using him -$2k (after negoitation)for AD PG+VG+photo montage+express highlights
Thomas Chua-9687 8155 [email protected] the express highlights is quite nicely done

ahrainrain

Alamak..from my previous post when we talk about VG..he is a free lancer..thats why can charge so cheap..if u in tight budget,can consider him.though his pric cheap...his quality not bad one..but i saw yang's work..its quite different..more romantic kind..thomas is more funny and humorous one..

sg_sc

super tight budget- 2k sounds ok for everything lei...quality wise u feel is ok la?

But dunno if he can follow us round whole day or he has someone backup to do the express highlights..nvm, i'll check wif him. Tks rain..

jadyn

Vallous,
No use de la. Even he allows. his parents wont understand also. They will start saying they are the biggest we have to listen to them.