(2009) Brides of year 2009

johra4

cosyouaremygal,

I so agree with you...when we are not their parents, pat pat backside can walk away! haha.

gohkelly,
yeah i told my bf that most wedding dinner soooo soo sooo boring, so i wont be having the usual cheesy thing of march-in, cake cutting, champagne, toasting, video montage, table to table photos etc.

I only have relatives and 2 tables of frens (1 each for us - so its really those super close ones!!)

I saw a bad experience during my best frens wedding. This classmate of ours (quite good fren of bride) need to go off early slighlty before 10 because she travels to/fro JB. So she went up to bride to say bye and wanted to take photo. But just happen the couple was taking the table photo thingy and was ushered by the xiongdis to another table and say "later". The bride was apolegetic but nothing can be done coz everyone waiting for her at the table. In the end of coz the photo wasn't taken at all.

So sad...i don wan my wedding to be so arranged and rushed such that i can't even talk to my own frens...that's why only small affair

vallous

oh mrs ang,

your gynae from which hospital..i dun intend to go private hospital. Cos i civil servant..intend to just stick to what i can claim. Must be mindful if i choose class A or class A treatment, subsquent follow up all must pay class A fees..no subsidised. So better just stick to B wards.

zerochristy

Verena> Wah the half-eternity channel design ring so ex ah¡­ we got it at about S$1200 from Love & Co le. But I know Tiffany & co their ring is ex la¡­ cause my younger brother and his wife got their wedding ring from there lor.. design simple but cost a lot liao. My hubby ring is a simply and we got it st S$800 plus nia.

Mashi> Tiffany is you are buying the brand name that¡¯s why ex la.

Skywolf> I also like Rose Gold¡­ but hubby dun like want it to be plain so I got to follow him¡­ if not not matching.

Sharlene> Hahah we also want our ROM cert to be nice so we had it at Marriott.

ROM PS> My ROM picture are ready and will be getting it this Sunday, excited :p

cheekrene

hi christina,

your wedding day is one day earlier than me and we happen to hold wedding in same hotel.

dont worry about your PS. I believe your PG can do a little bit of photo-shop. but for AD, just like sherry79 said, you can use shawl to hide. but i dont think there will be looking at your arms. everyone will just focus on how beautiful u are on that day.

mashi_mashi

Sharlene,
ya. together will save. but my ROM will b a small affair. b4 the dinner if doin on the same day. if separate will go to ROM then after tat go eat wif relatives ba. kaka...

Christy,
ya lor. buy the name lor. lol..
oh is it? muz post up n show to us ok? wan to c ur pics... keke

stacey,
congrats. finally confirm your venue...

footprint

huh?

raine, send out so fast??
tot shld b 1 mth b4?
or i too slow le?

jialat.. think Dec i should go meetup with my hotel planner to see their design, then send out by Feb?

Hehehe... my ROM cert will have my LoveNest Address

I agreed thst buying Tiffany is only buying the brand. I've been sourcing for Wedding Band. However, all rings look funny posted online. Must really go down to shops to look at physical items.

Christy - Will U post your ROM Pics online??

zerochristy

Mashi, Sharlene & Iris> Hahah we have our wedding website and will be posting it online. I will let you all know once I post it online, ok? If you are are in my Facebook contact list just see my header than you all will know I posted it online liao :p Really excited on it. Geeee!!!

mashi_mashi

iris,
i agree,
muz c the physical ring then can. c online cannot de. lol..

Sharlene,
me also. trying to keep it small. still waitin for my AD timing to b out then can decide wat we wan... lol...

Christy,
I nt sure whether m I in ur facebook or nt lei.. kaka.. juz keep us inform here. definitely will go in to c.
haha

zer061zer0

Poohsie,

Save the date invites are not the actual wedding invites. It's like just a note to friends and relatives informing them that you will be holding your wedding on that date, so they will be able to block that date to attend your wedding.

I have not sent out any formal save the date invites, but I informed friends who have to travel frequently ie stewardess or people who work overseas so that they can arrange for either leave, or to be in Singapore then. I also smsed friends who love to go on weekend trips to inform them, cause my AD falls on long weekend.

daffier

quite comprehensive to us though we hope for a few more perks like: red wine per table, waiver of red wine corkage, day room, LCD projector..

after negotiations then only we got red wine per table, waiver of red wine corkage, day room, LCD projector..

standard one include:

A delicious 8 or 9-course Cantonese menu

Free flow of soft drinks and Chinese tea, Tiger Draught beer

An exclusive wedding theme with floral arrangement and decoration on stage

A sumptuous breakfast or lunch on the following day after your wedding night

A memorable one night stay in our Bridal Suite with a complimentary fruit basket

or Two nights’ stay in our Deluxe room
A specially designed 5-tier wedding cake for cake cutting ceremony

An elegant guest signature book

Elegant gift packed in specially designed boxes for all guests

Choice of two invitation card designs for up to 80% of your invited guests, excluding printing

Pre-dinner snacks with two drinks for wedding couple in room

An easel stand for wedding portrait at the foyer

Complimentary parking for 20% of guaranteed attendance

Pre-dinner c*cktails with snacks at the foyer

A splendid food presentation for first course

One complimentary bottle of champagne for champagne pouring ceremony

Waiver of corkage charge for all duty-paid hard liquor, excluding beer, wine, white spirits and champagne

“In-laws Get Together” lunch or dinner for 10 persons based on confirmed menu

A first Wedding Anniversary Dinner for two

piglit21

now then i know the ROM venue will be reflected on the ROM Cert..haha
anyway my ROM & AD will be on the same pl
to save cost..

mashi , anyway i will walk in to view the gowns & packages at WH & those at Marina Sq, let those uncles "pull" me in..hahaha

babyeve

hi kelly,

my co-ordinator is Jinn, who aso is my designer for my gowns..how about u?

AD is 2 Aug..when's urs?

Holding at Rasa Sentosa...think its nice and a good bargain..

zerochristy

stacey > what do they mean by ¡°A splendid food presentation for first course¡±

Sharlene> Sure sure no problem. You can PM me your email/ID for your Facebook than I add you tonight la.

surelylook09

Hello to all the MAr bride to be here......

Hi Christine,

Our wedding date same leh.....me like you have not done anything yet leh... only juz confirmed our VG & PG only...Goin for PS in early NOV.

sherry my date oso chose by long shifu, seems like quite number of the brides here go to him hehehe....

ruachgall,

My AD is also Mar 13th 2009. Me and hubby dun care since the date is given by the shifu shld be ok. more over my shifu say i am a lucky girl, have are the lucky star sign in my sheng cheng ba chi, i think i will be blessed.Don't worry so much that is and ang mo date mah, so wont have much effect wan lah, cos we holding a chinese customery wedding hehe...

desjo_11

Hi Mrs Ang,
Thanks for sharing.I hv added u into my msn..more to chat ya.what u mean u hv to rush?is the injection a must?then u must really ensure within 6mths u dun conceive wor?

Hi Vallous,
I totally agreed with you..now economy going bad..better refrain spending alot on the wedding.
As for those kids,i also dislike those that are so ill-pampered or brat...running & screamming like no ppl biz n the parents simply bo chap.To make our own kids more loveable,we need to take into own hands..haha

Hi Cheryl,
I also think ur ang pao is alot,not considered little wor..imagine $28 X 16 ( bros & jie mei )already cost a bomb, exclude those help more give $68.what abt gate crash ang pao?u still buy gift & treat dinner?must calculate ur cost carefully le..dun wori, ur token is more than enough.they are ur frens, wun matter this $.
btw u oredi start to get 'careless' liao..maybe u need to set aside some money for ur bb le

Hi cosyouaremygal,
Thanks for the info..we are going central Japan,so will be visit Osaka & Kyoto.coz is HM,so we dun want to rush,we extend another 6D on our own at Osaka & Tokyo.Alot things to buy there huh?keke..

Welcome Kelly

raine24

hi poohise - yups its just as zer0 says, its just a save-the-date card, not a formal invite. A simple save-the-date card's wording includes bride & groom's name, "save the date", AD date, "formal invitation to follow". Of course its up to the couple to customise their own save-the-dates.
I'm sending soft copy out through email to my guests, and giving my parents & parents-in-laws to send out to their guests too. Save-the-date cards are usually sent out 6-8 mths before the AD.. to allow guests to keep that day free for you. Especially cos my AD falls on a long weekend, I tell people early so they don't make plans to go overseas on holiday.

Also, I'm going to be kiasu with my invites too, want to send out 2.5 mths before AD.

mashi_mashi

Christy,
I PM u liao..

Stacey,
tats gd. as long is wat u wan, its a gd deal. keke...

piglit21,
haha... u can go there to c. anyway no uncles there. tink is a lady station there call felicia. if i remembered correctly..

Sharlene,
ok. will update once i confirm. keke...

daffier

christy, A splendid food presentation for first course jus means e normal presentation of the 1st course with dimming of lights etc I suppose.. I didn't really focus on that..

zerochristy

Sharlene & Mashi> Oh ok.. will add you all tonight.

Stacey> Oh I thought that one is standard one ma. Also wonder why they put that in also

dizonne

hihi gals

been on a long break so didnt login..its a pity tat we didnt get 2 meet e prev time. Anione organising a next meeting?

yaya..wif news or recession n retrenchment, hsing prices are predicted to drop..so for those nt so urgent in need of hse de, can wait awhile.

dizonne

hihi gals

been on a long break so didnt login..its a pity tat we didnt get 2 meet e prev time. Anione organising a next meeting?

yaya..wif news or recession n retrenchment, hsing prices are predicted to drop..so for those nt so urgent in need of hse de, can wait awhile.

octo

Wow.. seems like there's really quite a number of us marrying off in dec 09. Hee..

Was thinking about the banquet sequence recently and realised i didn't really notice those details when attending others' dinners. Opps.. now i am thinking when do we show the photo montage / wedding highlights etc?

Below is what I briefly recall.. but where does the a) photo montage, b) wedding highlight, c) thank you speech and d) animation story (if any) come in? Anyone can help?

part 1:
1. Reception
2. Open doors for guest to be seated
3. Projection of BS photo on the screen (looped)
4. Emcee to start the welcome speech
5. Show photo montage (those old-times photos) at this time?
6. Couple do 1st march-in
7. Cut cake on stage
8. Couple seated at vip table
9. Banquet staff will do their 1st dish presentation
10. Couple eat 1st dish and then go to change into evening gown.
---
part 2:
1. Couple do 2nd march-in
2. Pop and pour champgne on stage
3. Yam-seng x 3
4. Couple start photo-taking rounds
5. Couple eat last dish
6. Standby at doorway to farewell guest.

footprint

Ohhh.. i see. :p

good idea hor.
Just scare my friends they might feel I'm being KS. :p

Perhaps i can do the "save-the-date" thingy during CNY or Xmas?
By then, another 3mths plus 4 to actual day?

Hmm...

raine24

actually, save-the-dates are for letting pple know quite a bit early before yr AD.. if its 3 to 4 mths.. pple usually find that it's not much use you'll be giving out the invites like 1 or 2 mths after that.. but I guess its still possible.
If doing up the save-the-dates is not much of a hassle (cos u'll be v bz with preps leading up to the wedding) and u think its still helpful, then do go ahead!

Yeah zero & raine, 'Save The Date' invites are especially good for friends/family coming in from overseas. I'm also using it for the same purpose as both of you! To make sure my guests don't disappear during the long weekend! LOL... some of my friends already mentioned their need to change their holiday plans after knowing my wedding date.

poohise, if you plan to do at CNY, I think it might be too close to AD. I thought of that too, but I was thinking, if I were them, receive a 'save the date' and then the formal invite soon after... abit KS.

meitong

Hi Sun,

I see that 26 and 27 Sep 09 are quite hot

Actually there are already projectors in the Mercury Ballroom at Furama Riverfront. However, saw in the Furama Riverfront thread that someone mentioned that the projected images were blurry and unable to see clearly.
That's why i worried loh... Haiz..

Anyway, does anyone know what is the ballpark figure for photographer and videgrapher for AD? I don't need very good ones la, normal PG and VG will do.

vallous

hi johra,

i do agree the norm is super boring. But wat to do. haii..I also want small event but i dun think its possible as the elders want to invite elerybodie...

I can only say mine is slightly different as i have a military march in. Will cut out the toast..but i will make it a point to mingle with my guests during reception and post with them as many pictures as they wanted. I also dun quite like to hide in the hotel room until march in. So boring.

krystal80

Hi Shir, this is what I think is the general order of things...

part 1:
1. Reception
2. Open doors for guest to be seated
3. Projection of PS photo on the screen (looped)
4. Emcee to start the welcome speech
5. Show childhood montage before couple enters
6. Couple do 1st march-in
7. Cut cake on stage
8. Couple seated at vip table
9. Banquet staff will do their 1st dish presentation
10. Couple eat 1st dish and then go to change into evening gown.
---
part 2:
1. Couple wait outside for 2nd march-in
(Show morning highlights before the couple comes in)
2. Pop and pour champgne on stage
3. Yam-seng x 3
(Then couple says their thank you speech)
4. Couple start photo-taking rounds
5. Couple eat last dish
6. Standby at doorway to farewell guest.

Your animation story can either be played at the beginning of dinner (if you didn't prepare a montage of your PS photos), else you can show it after the thank you speech before going around table to table to take photos....

pebblydiamonds

Hi Shir,
Have u booked ur hotel for AD? usually they will provide a sample of the sequence in the contract package and even a sample of the thank-you speech right?
Actually u can consider projecting the photo-montage (old time photos) during the time while awaiting guests to arrive. cos during this time is also during the cocktail reception. i plan to do that, cos my PG&VG package has a video express highlight and also an animation video. and photo montage, we trying to do our our own.. my HTB will do. hahaha..
my coordinator mentioned that a couple she served projected their photo montage outside the ballroom instead, which entertains the guests during the cocktail reception before the doors open for seating.

and erm rest of the BTBs, sorry ah i think i over-stated my PG&VG package price. keep thinking that mine very ex. haha actually it's $3.8K la. full package -> PG, VG, video express and animation. hee.

germaine: animation is about 3 to 5mins.

cherie: i agree, for convenience and safety, i'd choose local BS since it's baokaliao and if *touchwood*, got screw ups, i got more faith in local BS to work sth out fast. n i doubt they will run away with money. not saying that in china they'l do that, but so far away, u pay already u won't get ur 5 dresses within ur holiday there lor! if i had the option of going to china, i'd opt to make an EG (cheongsam) and maybe a kua or nice knee-length cheongsam. my 2 cents worth.

zerochristy

Chris> Ok... just PM me and I add tonight...

All> Anyone want to see my ROM pic just PM me your Facebook ID/Email than once my pics are up just take note on my header I will put a comment there. My pic will be out this Sunday hor... dun later say cannot find... Heheheh!!

pebblydiamonds

oh ya and the projection of photos, can combine all ur old photos and new photos together in the montage. what a friend did for hers was to have 3 categories - the bride, the groom, the couple (which has dating photos and progresses on to PS photos and their ROM photos). if ur montage doesn't want to include PS photos, i think also ok, cos ur main PS album by the BS would have been done and for display next to reception table right??

zer061zer0

To save the hassle, you can also just announce to your friends when you meet up with them. Like when I met up with my poly-mates, I just said oh, yeah wedding date has been fixed 1 May. So please make sure you keep the date free.

And for family, I facebooked-msg all my cousins so they will be aware. Then they will also auto volunteer their services for me. haha :D

Esp like what Jiahui had mentioned earlier, if our AD is during exam period, or on weekdays, then we should inform friends and relatives earlier. Either by a simple phone call, sms, email or physical card.

Just remember, we only want to ensure that our loved ones are by our side during this important occassion of our life.

qarynz

Nick: Rynn
AD date / day: 07th Nov 2009
Venue: TBC - Tentage
Bridal Studio: PMB
Date for PS: 30th APRIL 09
Pre wedding PG: PMB
AD PG: LePhotographe.multiply.com
AD VG: TBC
Multiply: babyphatz07

Yoo.. here's my details..

raine24

I think one can always mention to the people you intend to invite, but people may forget, especially since the date is still far away. Of course family probably won't forget and would make time and effort to be there. Giving guests a save-the-date card to me is also part of the style and theme of my wedding. It's definitely not compulsory, just something nice to have. Whether its necessary depends on the guests of the bridal couple.