(2009) Brides of year 2009

vallous

haha...thanks mrs ang,

yup should probably get ready after the AD. My hubby also believe that I should be in a pink of health to conceive. I will prepare my body first like get all the jabs and then eat lots of fibre and so on. By the end of next yr then try for one.

vivienne

didnt go last sat as something pop out and already postponed to this sat. hopefully it turns out alright !!!!!!!! so headache of my weight, so envy those gals who dun need to headache for their weight !!!!

candy84

well the reason is that we will only get the result for the balloting on 5 Nov and we are unsure if we able to get the flat. If there is no flat, we might postpone to 2010.

I know bout the limited venues, however we were afraid that if we can't get the flat and the dinner can't be postpone... actually we are looking for venues too.....

Hihi Sharlene, ya lor, so super qiao! Actually, I had not met them yet. My hubby's fren knew the chap there, so chop that date (and i havent confirm no. of tables or anything). *bleh* Need to tidy up some other stuff first before settling this. Lol!!

Swissotel... is the swimming pool still as nice? :p Did my solemnisation there then moved to function rm for buffet coz it looks like gg to rain. But end up no rain. zzzz....

Mashi, Fairy's Inc does customised rings. They were quite hot when i was doing my ROM 3 yrs back. Now they are still hot, judging by the treads here. Nice to know tt. I was given option to change the colors foc. think will chg to black gold (got to pay for black gold, so am still deciding). Right now mine's rose gold whereas hubby's champagne gold.

cornygal

skywolf: haha..icic..i tot u settled already..coz they said u paid deposit already..hahaha..we juz paid our deposit..heee..

swissotel still as nice!!heee..i had my recep at the cafe downstairs..wahahah...=p..buffet hi tea..no need to tink wad to order..hahaha..

geramine

hi ahblur,
i oso duno wther VG impt or nt.. but juz to keep it as memory n watch it when free.. hee..

hi puppylove,
oic.. tink i might nt b takin moomedia lorz.. since jklyn interested.. hee.. i wil source for other alternatives.. tks for the update..

hi ferlis,
welcome to the group.. hee..

jklyn

Hi Germaine,
Pls do make an apptment with them if you are interested, ok
I had a discussion with HB, i find moomedia pricing is rather on the high side, so we will only be goin down to see their works.. wont be confirmg so soon.. im still sourcing for better rates ya..

geramine

hi jklyn,
actuali i oso tink the price abit steep.. if its oso 3000+, i wil choose coffee & tea dreamswork.. but i wil stil fix appt n c their work lorz.. dun worry..

mashi_mashi

Piglit21,
look for jimmy ba. heard tat shirlyn nt ard for the time being. jimmy is a big size but very frenly de. kaka..

skywolf,
oic. hmm but i tink rose gold is nice lei. kaka.. i like rose gold. haha...
mayb can conside abt Fairy's Inc... kaka

Sharlene/Skywolf,
swissotel merchant court is nt cheap if hv banquet there. but their suite is really nice n big. went there to view once...

next mth goin there for wedding dinner. kaka.. hope their service is gd lor. as got once STOMP got ppl post abt their bad service...

blurbaby

germaine..

got ppl comment that during their AD.. they had VG.. but after married for 8-9 yrs.. they don't have time to watch finish the entire video..

but i think is for keepsake ba.. n to show children next time..

cos when i look back at my uncle's wedding video.. i so ugly.. i jus forward the whole video... but own wedding will be different la..

blurbaby

i am thinking of engaging the service of m*owstudio (replace * with e) for the animation story..

what do u all think.. it cost abit of money la.. also for keepsake.. but i am not sure if it's worth it?

still thinking

geramine

ahblur,
reali ar.. haha.. but juz for keepsake lorz.. mayb can b entertainment nxt time.. hee.. its up to u lorz.. coz its ur AD mahz.. if u tink its worth the price, why nt.. hee.. but i wont spent the money though.. hee

cherie81

My fren have been pestering me to go with her to guozhou to get the wedding gown. According to her, each wedding gown only cost SG$100-200. Do you girls think is worth it to go all the way there to get it? Of course if I go there I will not buy only one but 4-5. The other thing I worry is the workmanship also.

Actually already thought want to settle with Digio or Silhouette de but she keep pestering me and I cannot make up my mind...

blurbaby

erm.. have second thots.. but going thru recession.. so cannot spend like usual.. 900 for the animation.. can use the money to engage the VG..

at most i top up the photo montage jus top up 150.. but i don't really need it but it will be great if i can have it!!

blurbaby

Cherie,

maybe u can have a talk with yr hubby!! But if u already want to settle for something already! then go ahead with it.. from what i see is yr fren want to go there to get the gown.. jus that she need someone to go along or purchase together..

As what u had mention.. workmanship is an issue.. u can select many gown.. but u neber know what will happen till the last min..

i believe that if get a local BS will be better anything happen can always check/call them or ask them for help etc.. this is my thots.. cos i will always call de.. If neighbouring country still okay.. but if in China.. then u still have to worry bout the rest of the stuff..

like PS, bridal car etc..

cornygal

mashi: i think the ROM package for SMC still ok..i spent ard 2k for my ROM..inclusive of venue booking..hi tea for 43 pax..and a room to stay overnite..heh..

geramine

hi ahblur,
900 for animation abit exp lehz.. but hw mani mins wil the animation b?? actuali photo montage is nt a bad idea.. tght no movement, but stil nice.. a fren of mine use photo montage to let the guests c wat happen durin the day.. quite unique oso.. normally its vid mahz.. hee..

cjkookie

HI johra,
those links you sent me are more about photobooks and albums.... but i was going to get a photobook for my wedding album anyway so it came in handy ... tks!

I was actually looking more for a software / website that is targeted towards digital scrapbooks ... but most of the software i found, i have to pay to print them out and I am actually looking at printing them out on my own printer. I'm planning to do 2 scrapbooks per table and with 15 tables, It will cost around $2K to print them out as photobooks! To Expensive!! hehe

cjkookie

BTW, I will not be doing the traditional morning pick up from house, tea ceremony etc.... will be doing the tea ceremony during the dinner. So bascially will be just the solemnisation followed by dinner.

Can you guys advise me on how much I should give my jie meis and xiong di for ang pows?

I was thinking of $68 for those who helped out more, like 2 who are the emcees and another one who will be the main coordinator. The rest I was thinking of giving $28. I am planning to give them a small gift and will be treating them to a dinner as well. Do you guys think the ang pows is too little? I will have 8 jie meis and 8 brothers.

jadeite

hey candy i think i balloted for the same flats too.. the half-yearly release? yupp
also waiting on the confirmation of a flat.. but for us, we are going ahead with the wedding anyway...come to worst we will rent first. won't move in with parents as we feel it is right for couples to live by themselves and avoid clashes with FMIL

blurbaby

recently saw the tv ad for #OKTO on channel 8...

the grandmother with 2 granddaughter.. the music behind...

was thinking of having it for my 2nd march in or montage.. Actually i heard it at a wedding but nt sure of the title...

hpc

Hi girls, i spent my weekend making wedding band and then house viewing on Sun at Punggol for the first time and found a very nice flat there! So will buy that one and settling the loan process now. Really thank God. Nice house without reno needed.

As for photoshoot, I was thinking of the Seletar Airbase area....nice old colonial houses. Not sure about any other places. but I am not particular about landmarks lah.

Glympse, I don't really know what EG design yet cos I communicate some likes and dislikes to the designer and he will design to propose. But I think Cheong Sum style doesn't suit me even though my HTB seems to like it. Now i need to source for a church for the actual day. Which church are you using for yours?

vallous

hi cheryl,

bo lah where got little..i think you gave a little too much.Mine is $28. Only bridesmaid i give more because i have to sponsor her whole attire. I limit to only 5 jiemeis and 5 brothers. Those who help i gave a token of $8 nia. Its not the amount, its the thought that counts. Its better to give more for your own siblings as ang pows. If you like then give them a treat after your wedding.

vallous

anyway economy going bad, if can cut on extra..then cut. Dont overspend. I guess we all have to be mindful that our guests angpows will shrink also.

Also just a one day event, dun need to overdo things. Saw another thread in the sgbrides so just share what the thread says, one said that one should focus more on the marriage that last a lifetime and not just the wedding day. Which i felt so true..doesnt mean we make it so lovely and perfect that our marriage will last forever, focus on the union of the marriage.

Remember...marriage not wedding.

footprint

Lorraine,
me going to meet up with Wenz coming sat.
My collg had met up with her.
Though his concern is age and that's she's a lady.
But I saw those photos she took, not bad le.

johra4

hi cheryl,

they got nothing much to help except tea ceremony and dinner and all actually done at venue will have the venue staff to help.

Like mine...everything - tea, solemn, dinner at hotel all the hotel staff will help arrange nice nice, the hotel coord. even say tea helper the waiteress will help.

i giving only $8 oso, (hi5 vallous), and i only got 2 xiongdi & 2 jiemeis, so that it looks presentable for the parents.

If you get good friends, they shouldnt mind the amount! I don even have gift or dinner...and if my good friends mind...then....er...wat are friends for? Next time they marry I will sure help them with info and stuff wat!~

As for the photobook...sorry i mistunderstood I thot u wanna print haha. I deisgned my own guestbook but i used photoshop which is a bit intimidating for a newbie. Lemme search for those free online ones for you....

candy84

ya, is the half yearly release... also thought of renting but is kinda ex now for the current market... actually we did discuss on this issue, worst to worst is to stay at his place for the time begin... but that is my last choice. dun really wanna stay with FMIL just in case unhappy stuffs happen... so have u got ur venues?

kittykelly

Hi Babyeve,

haha.. i guess we will lor... who is your co-ordinator for Whitelink and when is your wedding?

Where is your wedding banquet held?

mashi_mashi

piglit21,
pai sei. never notice that u say marina sq outlet. i dun knw who will be at there. as i sign up wif at their HQ at kaki bukit.
at MS outlet, only got 1 sales person there. so i nt sure who is it...

Sharlene,
hmm. 2K still ok. meaning ROM package nt tat ex.
kaka.. nw still tinking wan to ROM on the AD itself or ROM earlier
kaka

goh_kelly

Johra HIGH FIVE!! i hate kids as well and my HTB also hates them.

My AD is on 22jan, hw abt all of you?
Can add me at multiply, my ID is gohkelly54.
I would like to view all of your photos.

I only have some snapshots posted, actual photos not out yet... i am very excited.

I am also having solemnization, tea ceremony and dinner at hotel. I think it will be good as all the relatives dun need to travel to your hse early in the morning.

For me, it's a simple affair with only relatives, cos i attended friend's wedding before, alot of comments frm friends, and i dun like it.

glympse

Des - My photoshoot's going to be more of places in Singapore that are special to HTB and I, e.g. places that we always go to to eat and talk, where we're regulars at, where we spend most of our time etc. Prob one/two scenic photos at Botanics or Siloso Beach... or my own house garden (seriously)

hpc - yeah i know what u mean. There are so many possible designs for EG, but yea, in the end u must feel happy with what u'll be wearing, cos no matter how beautiful the dress may be, it's the comfort and confidence of the wearer that makes the whole outfit work
as for the church wedding, I'm having mine at my own church Emmanuel Assembly of God. I grew up there, so there's nowhere else I wanna have it in
which church are u from, and which church are u considering?

pigpig_61

me long time didn't visit this forum liao till yest..juz found out that fat_fat had took her PS..how time flies..i had not done anything for the past few months, thus now im a bit nervous liao, seeing many of you settle down most of the preparation...i got a whole list of preparation need to be done, and im getting worried, sigh...who to blame for my laziness?

Btw, I'm a plus size bride, and im now having headache on my gown to get...i had my gown selection last sunday, but im not really satisfied with the ones i choose..im not getting a MTM WG or EG cos its quite expensive, 500 per pc, thus im getting off-the-rack..can anyone enlighten me how to choose a nice and suitable gown? My arms are big and flabby, so i guess i need to cover up bah...

Fat_fat, below is my info, do rem to update mine into your excel, hehehe..

Date: 13 March 2009
Venue: Grand Plaza Park Hotel City Hall
BS: Style Bridal
PG & VG: Still searching (will update you once confirmed)

vallous

welcome kelly,

haha too early to say so of hating kids. Put it this way, I hate kids that are ill discipline and throwing tanthrums and fits ard at shopping centres and yelling at their top of their voices. These i hate them to the core.. usually i will stare and then give a nasty look to their parents.

But if you can discipline your child well then its can be really good.

My AD is on 01 Jan.

Will add you at multiply. Feel free to browse.

I do agree the normal structure can be really tiring..keeping it simple is what I trying my best to do already. Esp at dinner..i eliminate those toasting as well..i mean you "YUM Seng " so loud until no breath and no voice..in the end the crowd dun join..so bo liao. So i axe it out.

mashi_mashi

Sharlene,

Like tat also can ar. me also dun knw lei...
tinking wan to go to ROM there to rom or do it my my AD hotel. haha..
still cannot make up my mind yet. haha

sherry79

hello christine ,i know some of my plus size friends put a nice shawl around the shoulder area so as to 'hide' the arms a little... otherwise, maybe can start exercising to trim a little before the photoshoot... plus from now till actual day still have about 5 mths ah... so start to work out ba..

raine24

Yups I am, I already have one design from a friend, waiting for another design from another friend before I make my decision which to send out (or both to different people..
) Would prob send out by first week of November or so.