Banquet Venue: Swissotel the stamford-Raffles Ballroom
Ballroom Deco: Impact Florist
Live Band: WeddingInHarmony(TBC)
Emcee: WeddingInHarmony(TBC)
Wedding Car: Own Car-Edix
Wine Supply: WineBoss(TBC)
Wedding Band: Cartier

ecarg1310

Wah... I only get to read the forum when I get home from work. Stupid office block this site. They don't block it when I am in office!

It's interesting to read all at one shot! But hard to digest who's saying what. Anyway, really interesting to see the thread moving so fast. Yea, guo da li, my major headache.

Like most of you here, PIL don't want to give this and that. I manage my bf. Although sometimes I know it's hard on him, I don't really have a choice. Cos' everything on the wedding paid by us, his parents fork out zero. According to my bf, MIL got the cheek to ask him to ask my mum how many tables she want. I ask my bf to ask her, how many tables she paying for? Zero right? Then ask my mum for wad?! I will manage my mum, tell her how many tables I m giving her! Ridiculous!

Next thing, I said I want Pin Jin. She ask how much my mum wants. My mum told me to tell her she's not selling her daughter. It's up to them to give. Again, I manage my bf. I say minimum $3888 but, I will only return $88. Let him know first. I told him not we greedy, but no tables given leh! Your parents lose out big time lo.

Next, I ask for the pair of bangles, cos' we're Hokkien. His mum say oh... buy one pair about $500+ can le. Don't have to spend so much. Again, I manage my bf, I say min. $1500. Else, during Ti Qing, you will see both families black face. You go manage your parents.

The thing why I always do this to him though he's stuck in between is because I dislike the way his parents do things. They told us to get married earlier. I am only 23 when they said that. Now I am 24, how much savings can I have since I only worked for 2 yrs? So they said, go ahead, we will help you all. First thing book banquet, need $5k deposit. We take from his dad first. His dad say Oh get from my parents! He said that right in front of me. From then on, I told my bf, are you marrying me? Or am I marrying you? From this moment, I know I don't depend on them. Luckily, I still have a substantial amount of money.

Take Pin Jin from them, you know what they say? They say you did not tell us you're getting married. Suddenly, out of the blue, tell me to fork out the money, I go where find. I was like WTF! They were the ones who ask us to get married. Now they talk this kind of cock, say they never ask us to get married.

Final straw: They go tell their guests who are coming for ROM, oh just come and see see and eat lo, no need give Ang Pow. Why must they say such things? Our money not money ah? We need some Ang Pow money to cover lo. Else, we would hold it at ROM instead man! Kaoz...

But till now, I still very nice to them. I only show colours to my hubby and manage him. Cos' i need to live with them till we find a flat. Must act guai and nice to bully first. Next time, they will know what they get back from me! Hahhaa... I sound like I am taking revenge. Not so bad la, but don't expect me to be super filial or what la.

Enough ranting... hee... feels good to say all these out!

cheekrene

meandtim ->

sure, will share with everyone when my photos are ready. most probably in a month.. very anxious to see... =)

now got to work out with guest lists.. booking of bridal car as i opt out from BS.

Starskyz ->

I am with yishun and my co-ordinator is aileen. my experience on PS was great and tiring. i like my make-up artist, nancy. she really transformed me until i couldn't recognise myself.i could tell my photos were so different from what i am now as my PG do let us see a few shots of us.

when is your PS?

mystiobes

hi babes!

wow.. this thread is moving so fast and it has been so long since i last logged in. =p

well, i went for my first gown fitting at WhiteLink last week, have selected my WG & EG.. Still deciding to take KUA or CS, cos KUA is...quite warm.. hee.. PS will be in Jan 09.. = )

min0511

well, coz some say Apr is the Qing Ming month....i mean i'm okie with it but i'm afraid that the elderly would mind...
by hook or by crook, i have to confirm a date by this weekend....i dont have much times to spare already, consider i havent even confirm a restaurant for my ROM+lunch....

janine

Hi everyone! My AD is on 25th Apr! Looks like it's really quite an auspicious date since quite a few of u chose this date as well!!!

celinetan

Mine is as follows:

BS: My Dream Wedding
Photoshoot Venue: Hong Kong
PG: Big Day Pictures
VG: TBC
Banquet Venue: Furama Riverfront - Venus Ballroom
Ballroom Deco: Not Sure
Live Band: NO, bf playing piano
Emcee: My sisters
Wedding Car: From Friends
Wine Supply: Own Wine
Wedding Band: Soo Kee Solitaire & Lee Hwa Solitaire
Lovenest: At the same estate where I am staying now and is near both our parents. " )

poseidon_gal

Nai Thiam Hock, I book mine in June. During their wedding show.
Took me some time to find a hotel i like coz most of the hotel in my selected list are already taken by then.

cherlinjo

Wow... you're fast! I have yet to settle on my bridal studio! Haha but tmr i will go down to GHA and will sign with them. More updates soon! =)

winnie_gal

grace: ur are very great..i like ur style wor~
i have the same sitution as u...when i rom 2yr back when i was 22yr old. i say i wan to hold my customary a yr later..in the end my mil disagree..so we drag until now which is 3yr later. so this ur i told my hubby by cope or by hook i wan to faster end the customary cuz my flat cuming soon..i dun wan to crash them together as we dun have so much spare cash... i told him anyways ur parent is not forking out any $ y should we see their face~ so in the end we juz go ahead and hold it next yr jan. now they can't do anything to us.

talking bout rom my mil invite her friend to our rom too, when her friend wan to gif angpow she say no need.. i was like ARGH...~ my hubby go and tell her y she dun wan to get anypow from her friend she say next mind next time customary then they give also same. ~ i was telling my hubby next time also no double mah~

cosyouaremygal

Hello, girls... I am trying my best to read the updates!

My food tasting is on 22nd Sept, which is coming monday. Will Ti Qing on that too. Future IL changed the menu. My mum was more than happy to agree to it. MIL said she will give me $5000 to buy things I like as PJ. And they will be giving my mum 10 tables.

As for GDL and the rest, I shall just do as according what the parents say lor... Let them do the research themselves... haha... Anyway, we already did out tests with both parents and roughly know that they will not go through too many procedures but keep it simple.

I don't think we should be leave to stress over these issues but to the parents. Cos we will be happy when they are happy. Also, maybe we are more fortunate. Both parents are very easy to pleased, no hard and fast rule... Plus, I am only child, he is only son.... Haha...

BTW, we will be new Mr and Mrs Koh.

natalie06

hi tinkle_fel, i just signed up w MBR today! ya man, so coincidental. they r really gd so if u r free can pop by n speak to uncle quek, v nice ppl there.
choosed MBR over digio mainly is bcos i find MBR ppl really nice n they dun hide any cost frm u, tell u things that u might not even think of e gowns there r pretty nice as well. dats my opinion so if u go down, u just look for uncle quek, say natalie recommend one. hehe..
keep me update ya. 1 more task done!

taime81

Hi Suzanna, have email you the taiwan guide.

Below are the link of the 2 teacher product only available on their website. I've try the skin care, pretty good and it is cheap. They takes few days before they send to the 7-11 near yr hotel so best to order before you fly.
http://www.payeasy.com.tw/niu/
http://www.payeasy.com.tw/BeautyMaker/
Personally i think their skin care are ulta cheap, nt199 for mask and cleanse i feel really good after using. Suntec push cart is selling at 3 times the pricing if not mistaken.

Hi Glamourous, i don't think anyone from this thread spree with me before.

jadyn

Sharon,
Oh, then perhaps 1-2 days earlier will do le.

cosyouaremygal,
you so fortunate... still got $5k to spend.... Haiz... every family different lor...

tksl

cube, i tempted to take up the package, but bf keep niao-ing, saying we'll never view the video after marriage. *sigh*

did u ask kwang how much's the price for half-day video? meaning to say the dinner part no video issit?

jiajun

Wah! This thread is finally alive!!!

Stibes, same like you. I went for my gown fitting already! What is CS? My PS will be in Dec 08.

nat > wah..u very fast.. i think will confirm by early next month. last fri went gown shopping with my gf then planning coming sat bring my bf to see la vie..if he dun like then we go for MBR... but actually my bf prefer MBR so chances are will be going there too...

which package did u opt for? i shld be taking their MTM package if signing up with them. they only have 2 packages izzit huh?? manage to bargain for more things that was not already throw in by uncle quek?

did u get to try their gowns before confirming the package? one silly question, need to pay GST for the package anot huh??

pai sei... so many questions...

ahrainrain

Hi Grace & Excited btb-

I nearly chose Sheraton too,I also like the stairs in the lobby(can take very nice pic),the waterfall where i wanted to hold my solemisation ,the spacious foyer with plasma tvs where u can show ur pre wedding slideshow..i heard the food is nice too!the price are reasonable considering there r 12 seats per table..i think i can be a banquet sales exec here! but in the end we still choose oriental.htb really likes the food there,and i like the long march in..

ecarg1310

Mrs Ang & Sharon, sometimes got to show a bit of colours, then they will know what we want. For me, I always do it through my bf. We always discuss what will happen during Ti Qing if all these not ironed out. E.g. PIL say want give PJ $x, my parents say they want $y (more than $x), are they going to fight it out and end up with one person one face? I don't want that to happen. So what we did was to sound our parents out, say what we want etc. We'll have a list b4 Ti Qing, so Ti Qing is just a formality. Actually everything ironed out le, just need to repeat what is listed on the paper.

Actually my parents don't know anything about traditions and what to ask for. I am the one doing the asking. I read through forums, blogs, pages etc to determine what to ask for. Then I ask on their behalf lo. After which I turn back and manage my parents, say oh bf family not as well to do as us. Got give good enough le etc. Then I say I already ask according to market rate le. So don't ask for any further. They also quite nice la, don't further make things difficult for me.

Hey Sharon, you dying your hair ah? Just an advice, you should dye 2 weeks before. The color on your hair is not the nicest until after 2 weeks of washing. This is what my hairstylist told me. You can call and ask your hairstylist. Say you going to take wedding photoshoot, how long in advance should I dye then the color will turn out the nicest on the photoshoot day. Usually it's 1 - 2 weeks before. You have to keep washing your hair and your color will shine. My hubby and I did that, saw our photoshoot photos, indeed our hair color is very outstanding and nice! My 2 cents worth...

cosyouaremygal

Hey jadyn... don't sigh...

It's like what you say, every family is different.. everyone is different...

My mum wants to take the ang pow money for the 10 tables. On my part, I am also trying to let my mum knows that we will need that money so much to pay for the tables.

Suddenly, I am quite confused. I understand that the my HTB and IL will also give my parents a sum of money. Is that PJ? What about the money for Jia Zhuang? What is it called?

jadyn

Grace,
My Ti Qing session already over. Now we'll see what the ILs will do. Waiting for the Guo Da Li session then know the true colour from them lor. But i have asked my bf to try fight for my family for more PJ, i gave him a target at least 2k cos i don wan to let my parents to feel unhappy or sad cos they feed me so big liao only got 1kplus of PJ. If ILs don give, guess i have to secretly top up le lor.

cosyouaremygal,
I giving my parents 10tables, but my daddy told me tat he will return me the angpow collected on the day. However got one condition, i cannot tell ILs or my bf tat i will be having the 10tables $$. My daddy told me to keep just in case. So now i kept numb for the 10tables though my bf did try to sound me out whether my parents going to take all the $$ collected.

PJ is a sum of money given to our parents from the ILs side lor. Jia Zhuang which we call dowry, is either jewellery, monetary gesture and those lucky lucky items (if i not wrong) from our own parents. =)

chubby_ting

Wow this thread is getting more & more interesting! haha... feels gd to read it as part of my job in the morning! hehe

PJ is given by ILs?? It seems 4 my case that me & HB were to give my mum.. jialat & we still have to keep ample $ for the banquet. I wish my mum can return me the 8tables she is requesting for but sure have conflicts with her one. Now she is saying le have daughter for wat grow up still have to "tiap" $.. haiz..... v sad lo... If me & HB were to fork out the PJ $ i think I were reli give yi shi yi shi since me & HB nt v well 2 do.

ILs say help us but then hw much they can help.. v headache lo thinking of all this custom. Why cant like give tables can le. Still got what PJ la drowy la... aiyo..... 1 thing heng is my ILs giving me SDJ la which I rather convert it to $ & use it on something else. If got remaining then I go get somehting i like. But they r Teo Chew they wan face so they wan something to show off during our AD. Jialat...

It seems like from all tt u ppl have said nowadays gals side mother also ask alot ah. But on the other hand alot of wedding is fork out by both the couples. Not PIL anymore. So all the burden have been passed to the couple. Poor us. have to crack our heads on $ issue.

I guess more to come more....

I agree to dye hair abt 1week b4 PS will b a gd guide lo. Then the colour is more natural. Have fun Sharon!

mashi_mashi

Hi Nai Thiam Hock,

Ok. where u ROM? at the registry there or outside?
also can tell us where u get ur wedding bands? tink some btbs here like me are looking for ideas where to look for the wedding bands...

so hv u start u preparation?? like source for BS, venue, PG, VG??

hopeee

HI,

This thread is gg too fast since i last logged in. =p

I am a bit slow now, i haven't started preparing yet for my wedding yet. Just decided on the venueof the dinner.

daffier

Went down to negotiate with the hotel for banquet but some unhappy events occurred..

We wanted to change some of the dishes without any cost, go to their wedding show next month which have some perks but the coordinator said if book at wedding show, we can't change the menu at all.. but got perks like red wine per table..

The cooridnator said they can only reserve the date for us for 1 week afterwhich they will open the date for other couples.. They will contact us if any couple interested in the same date as us..

Feel a bit pressurized into committing.. my 2nd SIL advised us that we should sign the contract next month after the wedding show and negotiate with them on the perks in the meantime.. but it seems this cooridnator wants us to make a decision within a week..

We went to the Bridal Suite but feel like it is jus an ordinary suite..on the 14th floor.. instead of the 20th floor which Theresa / QQ had her wedding in 2006..

Who can advise us?

guinguin

hi morning ladies!!

choloe, no... cannot say NO!! coz u the big jie jie here!! haha..

hi serynn! welcome to here!!! haha...

mashi_mashi

hi stacey,

when is the wedding show? is it coming??

seems like the co ordinator wans u to confirm immediately. any other hotels u considering??

Huh Min

I thought Qing Ming is in March? I am confused le but my dad is also relunctant to have it during Qing Ming so I am getting my geomancer to calculate the date and make sure that it is an ok date on 12 April 2008. I am now worried that this date is no good leh.... If it is I will be very disappointed because it is my ROM date as well so it has a significant meaning to it.

desjo_11

Hey gals,is really moving like bullet train..super fast..breathless..

Thought Vallous,Mrs Ang IL was tough, grace is even more..

Grace, how could they ask u get ur own parents ( girl side ) to pay the deposit? hmm..lucky u r STRONG & BRAVE?no wonder so angry..
btw u spent so much on photos hor?unedit also very costly le ;p

Shining Hoshi, dun get upset over ur mom's request..can talk to her nicely?
so-called customary? nowadays, is the couples who squeeze out the $$..explain to her ur budget is tight?

Hi Sharon,
sometimes parents will act on our behalf..but ROM think normally relatives dun give ang pao or gift le?
As for dye hair, think 1~ 2 weeks will be better..more natural

Hi cosyouaremygal,
ur in-law very DA FAN hor?very good..

For me, when we place deposit for wedding dinner , my fil got ask if we need $,i said NO.then he nvr 'insist'.Renovation,after quite some time,he said he want buy fridge for us,told him we oredi bought,so he suggest he convert that as $ give us buy other stuff..lately ask me again if i mentioned to my hb about this,told him his son said no need, then he said "OK"..i was like..ermm :s was thinking if he sincere to 'give' or i shldnt be so ke qi? haiz..

guinguin

grace, u know raffles city shopp mall rite? the 1 at city hall mrt. take the escalator up..u will see starbuck. the thai express at the basement, there's 1 escalator next to starbuck, take tat and thai express next to Ding Tai Fung and opp Soup Spoon.

We meet at Starbuck 1st lor.. then walk down together..

cube_cube

suzanna, cant remember whether i asked him cos tok too long liao ;p hahaha...dun tell him i said that...ya..half day mean no dinner vid loh, and most prob no express highlite, but its ok cos its for your own viewing. If he is still partnered with mirage for VG, then you should go see what price mirage offers for half day VG

chubby_ting

desjO! seems ur FIL quite helpful leh.. no matter is real or ke qi @ least he still got ask some ppl don even bother & tat is reli bad... haha

Umm... me ah will try 2 talk 2 her but seems like she is a tough person & she have d mindset tt have daugther is lose $ de la... all tt nonsense hear le also sian. Haiz.... Actually I never know my mum think tis way till my wedding prep. So all the true colours all come out.... v sad to hear tis. So I cant wait to have my own plc. My own hse. Though Im stayin w ILs.. sometimes I feel my MIL treat me nicer & sweeter than my own mum. Hahaha... ridiculous rite? I guess & do agree that every family got their own sets of prob. But no matter we r still filial de lo!

denzelgrace

hi... how many bottles of wine do u expect to be consumed on a sunday night? during our meetup, our agreement with the coordinator was corkage waiver of 1 bottle per table. now we am trying to ask her to give us full waiver but she just doesn't accomodate, even though we've yet to sign our contract and when we assured her the most would be 1.5 bottle per table. she said they want to encourage us to get from the hotel.

sidney93

omg all you girls are so prepared! i only just confirmed my date for nov 09 and venue for banquet. no photographer, videographer or wedding gown! *worried*

denzelgrace

hi jolin, can share with me your package with GHA? i am quite keen to sign up with them for an actual day package, i.e. without studio and outdoor photography.

thngs

Hi Serynn... yeah... we got new member... wanna give us ur info, so dat we can add on to the table. and we are having a meet up on 7th oct raffles shopping mall.. are u able to come?

guinguin, u have all the numbers. so u do it, i know u can 1, gambadae..

starskyz

cheekrene> aileen's also my designer, think dephanie is my co-ordinator only.. aileen and my htb always joke around when we are there, cannot stand the both of them.. hahhaha..

oh ya, i've read in some other GHA threads saying tat nancy is pretty good! glad tat u had her as ur MUA. who's ur PG? mine supposed to be steven.

my PS is on 31 Oct, have not chosen the outdoor locations yet tho.. tink will be going around to view some places before we decide since we can oni go 2 locations..

guinguin

haiya, no need lah.. all jiemie here very smart 1, set the date and time & venue all will pop out liao..

btw, juz wanna share my meeting wif 1 VG yest.. so sian leh.. i quite like his work but he charge so exp and not even wan to bargain, firm and die die wif his own price.. end up both party also bei song liao.. my htb keep asking him to tolerante a bit, even $12 he also dun wan give up.

he charge us $1400 but my BF ask him to make it 1388.. even the 12 bucks he stand firm and end up bei song... so sian..