(2009) Brides of year 2009

vallous

hi shining hoshi,

yah manz..i did told my hubby off. Actually we got into a fight because of it cos i said supposed we agreed our house is neutral then why so many stuff now. He said to do it for a good start but this reason if he always give, then i cannot reject. Damm not fair lor.

But then again, i make it a point, if he wants to do then he do it to satisfy his mum. The last sun is my last straw that I will do it to please his mum.

But my hubby also gave in lah, after the lunch at our place, he came down to my parents home and play mahjong and have dinner with them, making them very happy. So i guess its give and take lor. Pacify both sides.

cube_cube

lol....suzanna, i think if you wanna see the gate crashing in motion then you should get videography. Check the rates for half day with kwang and see what he can offer you loh. He is quite flexi

thngs

Grace, lalaa held her ROM at SAF Yacht Club. nice hor? so romantic leh.

yalor... jus go ahead with 7th oct lor. i'll join u all the next time.

dreamz81

lucky for my case both dun really know much about the customs so mainly if wat the grandmothers say must have they will get, the rest is shui bian one. both side mother just say each other want wat must tell. our ti qing session also not so formal, we will just be meeting outside for dinner. so hopefully both side really practise wat they talk. my mil at first say buy bangle then later on change to si dian jin, dunno in the end she will buy what also. she just trying to looking ard see wat the relatives are getting cos my hubby's cousin also getting married.

for us, my IL giving my parents 10 tables then the PJ dunno will give how much cos we nv really talk about it. guess I will know all the final details only around mid october cos my mil want to have the Ti Qing session after my hubby's cousin's wedding.

the thread is suddenly moving so fast. I just completed my PS on tuesday, selecting photos next sunday. I think october will be a busy month.

In october i have to confirm my 1st rd of guestlist, get the invites printed, choose deco from florist, bring my mum & mil to see the gown rental. Anyone got a list of checklist of items need to prepare for AD?

winnie_gal

wah...juz reach office..see this thread moving soo fast man!.. i can't catch up...~

Hui: i kS mah, that y i faster go call see he got slot for 3rd jan mah..he say still have...i will update u..*no worries* hehehe~

Vallous: ur MIL very traditional. for me i never heard before hubby muz sleep w a boy b4 the wedding date~ i can see aft u marry one yr she will ask horn u faster gif birth...hehehe

shining hosi: my mum also nebr say hw much she say..they not yet come my hse ti qing le...but my mum say yi shi yi shi will do, as she know my hubby not tat rich sia.

Mrs Ang; same here i also duno hw to cook..only know hw to cook maggie mee...hehehe

4placesbride: enjoy ur searching for the bridal shop...

guinguin

morning ladies!

grace, added u in multiply and saw ur photos too.. hehe..

lalaa, u still pending my request in multiply leh

so 07th oct confirm? any suggestion wer to meet? raffles shopp mall? clarke quay?

meandtim

cheekrene> wow.. so fast... remember to share your pics with us... I will nbe having my photoshoot next month on the 8th. Hope i will enjoy it and wun get too tired.. haha..

my venue also settled, after October will be coming out with guest lists and printing of invitation cards, food tasting, these activities will spread across to december lor.. By end of Jan have to send out all my invites...

I may need to organise a sit down meeting with my parents and FMIL to discuss the GDL stuffs..

chubby_ting

Ya v fast I come in abt 1hr later 3 posts le haha..

My mum also say yi shi yi shi can le... haiz.. I also bringing both side parents out 4 dinner on children's day! haha celebrate children's day hehe.... so hope can settle a few customary things lo.. then start preparing le. Like dreamz81 I will also print my invites ard oct to prevent any error or alot of orders they have as it is close 2 dec sure alot of orders coming in de. So I guess have 2 prepare early ma.

Vallous, sometimes I will also qrgue w HB de coz MIL like request some weird weird things like gatecrash angbao have to give 199.99 la... OMG.... wat kind of logic... we can give any amt de ma she say give tt amt can make d marriage lasting...

But to me ah. I guess it plays a part la but not all lies on custom lo its lies w d couple. They must make an effort to make their marriage work & to work hand in hand in building the rest of their lives together aft marriage. That to me is the most impt thing. Custom we have to follow but don need to go to the extent ah. 2 much is 2 much le.

gracelourdes

guinguin, r u michell chong?

can we meet up at more central areas like raffles place, city hall etc? since the next day is going to be a working day also

amethystc

my PS also next month
but mine is end oct. maybe wana postpone cos i did my lasik end aug now my eyes abit sensitive to flashlight. hope by end tis mth will recover... was told it takes abt 1-2 mths to recover. actualli i am very excited abt my PS and cant wait to see the outcome of my photoshoot so if possible i will not postpone my PS

guinguin

grace, yeah!! michell = guinguin

im alright wif tat.. since raffles shopp mall @ city hall have a lot of dining place now... all ladies ok?

any preference food?

thai express, Aerin's?

meandtim

May> Though excited but still must give prority to your eyes to heal....
Think by end of october should be ok ... remember to share your pics leh...

meandtim

May> I will I will.. i also super excited... have you decided where to go for your outdoor shoot?? i still contemplating leh....

lettingo

wow ! scary, why so many ppl surname Huang.. i also HUANG !!! yellow !!!

can we shun bian put a list whose surname is Huang? HAHA

vallous

hahahaha...hi sharon,

You HIT the jackpot....she already say many times to give birth early. But we dont heed her advice. Cos wedding and housing already burn big hole..stil want to have baby..die lah. Our plan is wait 2 yrs. This I let my hubby settle with his own mother. Anyway giving birth concerns us...not parents.

hi shining hoshi,

a lot of things no logic but i close one eye. Let my hubby deal with his own mother and i just smile and act blur.

winnie_gal

hahaha...ya...so qiao so many ppl have the same surname..

shining hosi:look like i'm need to ask them out to discuss what they want. hehee
my invitation card is print by the rest de..so before a few week they will give u. so i can't print earlier.

guinguin

hahaha.... yup! actualli quite confusing all e nick + name in SB & multiply...

darkchocolate = chengyee
lalaa = camilla
grace = grace
chloe = pris
xiaokeai = dizonne
fish_hu = benbenfish
guinguin = michell

hehe... did i miss out any1 here? saw lalaa ROM pix! ehh, so romantic on e yacht!!

gracelourdes

wah piang...thks for the list man....knowing me, i blur sotong...confirm all kena mixed up....scarli when we meet up, i will tell chloe...hi...u r michell hor...i'm grace...malu like siao loh WAHAHAHA

thngs

grace, hahahahaha... max and alger is my dog. max ran away from home, and alger with his father now (my ex). miss alger so much.
phlubo is my friend's dog, baby sit him for 3mths.. cos my friend cant handle puppy. hahahahaha

gracelourdes

hahhaa...no wonder...eh, chloe, u said ur eyes small....pls hor....see mine first then say lah...mine so puny compared to urs...somemore, i have single eyelids

graceyong

Ladies, i done all those already. TI JIN, PIN JIN, Guo Da Li, SONG JIA ZHUANG. haha All finish
thats why i know how it feels the whole process.

I was like you all previously, stuck in the middle and got soo frustrated. So in the end, I took in charge more of it but one piece of advice, you really don't want to piss off your own mother. The guy side mother can get upset but never the girl side mother. Because the whole wedding process, the girl side mother wuold be very "kan cheong". Even at the start, she act like, ohh up to you guys, i chin chai one. But at the end, the "mothers" would come out with all funny request. And some how rather, you will get "emotionaly" effected by your own mother

So wat i did (suggestion) i go to the wedding accessories shop, got the list and cross check wtih my mom, which she wants which she don't want. One of my friend, her mom even take the list and go ask around her friends (which resulted addition items). But at least you got one final list. Once set, then no changes to be made. Same with guy side.

As for the girl side return what, usually we would return half or more. For eg: Fruits. Oranges we would request 18 then we return 9 (Nice number) Seafood, if they give 1kg we return at least 0.5kg.

Shice, since your mother is taking 8 tables, that is a about $5000 already so it is fair the PIN JIN should be the normal rates (4 digits). Try your best to explain to her if she ask for 5 digits, it seems like she is "selling" daughther lor. 4 digits is normal and won't lose face already. hope this helps. =)

jadyn

Wow... u all so fast... i just wake up.. now reading the stories... haha..

One good news, i will be collecting the raw pictures by next week then i can share with u all le.. =)

vallous

Hi mrs ang,

tats great. Love to see ur pics.

Hi 4placesbride,

yup I agree never offend your own mum, cos they will stand up for you if anythng happens. Mummy is the greatest. I also gave her the list, then somehow she went to call relatives and ask and ask. Then add this and that. So come up with additional items. But now the point is to get the male side to give us what we wants. I hope to get things moving. So far so good. A little unhappiness but still manageable.

thngs

grace, my friends and collegues all laugh at my small eyes de. i have single eyelid also. thinking of doing double leh. but scare pain. hee...

chubby_ting

Grace you went to the wedding accessories shop... ok... mayb I shd go & get one list. Or you can share the list? Is it applicable to all custom? Or it defers 1? So during my meet the parents can discuss abit.. Thanks for giving me this idea! hehe

Alot of mummy is like that de. Mine also say simple can le then aft that say wedding car have to fetch them to & fro la wat not la.. which I am having difficulty as we may b driving our car ourself. So there is a prob here. My mum got reli pissed lo & she say have a gal no use la grow up le no use la wat la v hurting to me lo i feel. So i reli understand the annoyment. Sometimes it can get reli pissed. I believe if a mum is close & dotes her daughter she shouldnt make things diff 4 her lo. No doubt is PIL who is getting ready all the cash but the PIL will b pissed with all sorts of funny requests & who they target to attack infuture? Its the DIL & their own daughters who is going face the ILs. Sometimes somethings pop up when u nv expect it to happen.

I think have to see wide wide man. Somethings we can entertain somethings cannot do it means cannot do it de. We just have to explain to them & hope to get their understanding. It can get upsetting sometimes preparing for AD stuffs. All the customs, all the "MIAN ZI" issue. Can get out of hand if no one puts a stop to it.

Mrs Ang I will b waiting eagerly to see your pix! hehe so happy 4 u! faster settle 1 thing n move on to the other le.

This is reli qiao alot of BTBs here share d same surname hehe so glad I am one of them!

gracelourdes

aiyah, chloe...just leave it lah....be contented with wat our parents give us

my mum did the double eyelid thingy leh...no use one lah....after a few yrs also will revert back to single lah...

tell u ar, mine somemore, single eyelid tat's puffy type one...so all the eyelashes like kena hidden inside....sianz man

chubby_ting

Mrs Ang, true when u get d soft copy can do le. When I got mine I waited lazily 4 a few months then do de. Hehe.... so once u have it faster do ma!

Why u just woke up @ 133pm?

shice1

4placesbride.. envy u.. finish everything liao.. now waiting to get married only.. haha..

I also wish I could take all ur ideas.. put 80 cents behind.. or change to rupiah or we fork out without my mum's knowledge.. sigh.. we see how things goes first bah.. as of now, it's a standstill.. both side haven make any action yet.. haha.. so i can still take a breather.. =)

winnie_gal

hi gals, wanna check with u all. do you go dye ur hair for PS?
I'm thinking of gg but duno hw many days in advance should i go and dye wat color...haiz

jadyn

Now i not working mah... so can sleep till very late wake up.

I dye my hair a day earlier before PS. Cos i got a patch of white hair hidden on my right hand side, if too early dye the white hair grows back...

If ur hair is healthy, then do it 1 week earlier for the colour to be more natural.

amethystc

my BS at JB. There's a theme for my PS. They will arrange so i dun nid to have headache. I've chosen the outdoor places based on their sample photos frm the theme

graceyong

shice, different dialect has different items; and from diff country (even same dialect) also different items already. haha

shinning, as use the list (got to 2-3 shops and get their list) Some shops are not so happy to share. so maybe u have to try a few (or can get from website also) Better don't follow my list as mine is Malaysia list so quite diff with sg style. *msia don't have pig trottles in can* haha FOR SURE, one thing is the same for all (no matter what dialect / country you from )THE PIN JIN hehe

Well, if you parents are local why they need to be driven around?

Ladies, don't even think you take it easy now as both parents are not bother about it much. I do suggest the earlier you get it clear the better. And trust me, once in a while one side would think of adding one item here and there. ha ha Ohhh i can share with you all, mine side requested to have the Guava fruit stick together one. Meaning i have to find a guava fruit which sticks to gether as part of my HUI LI. haha NOW that is something hard - but there is places that cater for this and you have to "place order" for it haha

Basically items for this trational aer not that diffucult. so ladies don't worry. But the PIN JIN has always been a sensitive issue - so work it well.

Vallous, there is the tradion that on the night before the wedding, if the groom want to sleep on the wedding bed then a boy should sleep to company him (or else not good etc etc) If you don't like , then ask your hobby to sleep on the floor or in another room (that is the other alternative tradition) Either he sleep on bed with a boy or he don't sleep at all on the bed. This is widely practice. *but some ppl don't care and the groom happily sleep on the bed* for my own brother, he had to sleep on the floor with a matteries =)

Shice, alkl this custome i finish but I haven't do my Church Wedding .. haha so now sourching for WEDDING GOWN with long trainn haha

vallous

actually was thinking why need to sleep..just go back to his parents place to sleep lah. If not where got time to rush from one place to another. Damm bo liao u know.

as for the GDL stuff I agree to start early to discuss, then once in a while update with ur hubby or bf. Mothers dont ask for the sake of asking ,actually the more they ask they actually acting on our behalf. They want us to marry off well. But of cos, sometimes they dun understand they make things difficult for us.

Hi Nat... am considering My Bridal Room too... had also shortlisted La Vie ...so considering between the two so coincidence leh... same date also... btw, my fren just sign with digio n she has 2 thumbs up for them...

popprincesstrin, can update my mutiply id, ferfercia in the list. small typo in my nickname. should be tinkle_fel ... thanks

mashi_mashi

paradise,

oic... haha... but do remember for wkday wedding, u hv to start dinner on the dot lor. as i heard fr my fren who attend a wedding on monday, the dinner start ard 9pm. end at 1130. make her so tired after tat..

poseidon_gal.
oic. mayb tats the reason lor...