(2009) Brides of year 2009

gracelourdes

u noe ar, when we went to check out AD PG n AD VG, we also have our fair share of such ppl...sibei buay tahan...even better still loh...die die must ask u to go to his studio....

guinguin

the fellow from LightHouseStudio. a very young guy. as Chloe said, no1 heard their name b4 lor.. i cant even find any comment about his VG...

ya lor, we pay to engage them but still need to past thru all this kind of nonsense and shits, damn mad..

sun_tan

Wah Guin, you forgot me le..so sad:

darkchocolate = chengyee
lalaa = camilla
grace = grace
chloe = pris
xiaokeai = dizonne
fish_hu = benbenfish
guinguin = michell
sun_tan = leisuretime

Was spending almost half an hr reading post for Wed and Thurs!!

Dance Class-
Haa..me also 2 left feet leh..tried Salsa before but that was a few yrs ago liao..but mostly the class would be on weekdays? Cos due to my job nature..weekday seems impossible for me leh...

Hens night-
I am ONZ for this!!! Haa..was still wondering if my frens would do a Hen's night for me or not..but even if they didnt we can do it ourselves! Maybe we can have a pyjamas party at Oothique! http://www.oohtique.com/ Haa..can learn extoic dance there too (crash course)

Xiaokeai,
Since your htb's frens so thick skin, you also must be thick skin with them, just tell them straight loh. Like wat others said, no ang bao, no entry. lol..

Meeting on 7th Oct:
Me stil cant confirm where i will be on 7th. If in office, then i would be able to join, if at client, then cannot le. Let you gals know nearer to the date bah.

Guin,
Me spend the whole day yesterday, meeting up with 3 VGs..all not quite up to our expectations..hai..so have to source again...sian..

winnie_gal

wah...so fast this thread moves~ i'm try my best to read the above post..

thanks gals, i will dye my hair 2 weeks in advance..thanks you all for the advice!

for me my mil also got gif me SDJ but for pian ji..i duno hw much they giving, but i tink more or less, will be my hubby fork out de.haiz...

normally is 2 week before AD then GDL izzit?

wen_kel

Hi Rain,

Actually have shortlisted a few hotels but after the wedding show @ Grand Copthorne, i kinda like the atmosphere & when signed up that day got additional freebies.. so quite worth it..

Anyway thanks for updating my info into the table...

Additional info : BS - My Bridal Room (MBR)

dizonne

haizz, reali envy those who managed to get their VG...im oso cracking my head..They sound so GOODDDD ova e pone..but once u see their works..@@..*faintz*

my turn to go VG hunting 2nite..

Btw, anyone going for motor show 2mr??

chloe,
u r nt e onli smoker la..i oso casual smoker..go pub then smoke.if nt, then dun hav..keke

cheekrene

starskyz ->

me too.. aileen and my htb always joke whenever we go there. she is really a cheerful and fun person.

ya, nancy is really great. i leave the decision to her on everything.

mine is steven. he is great.. he make us feel relaxed..

for my opinion on outdoor shoot, it is better to choose 2 places which are nearby. my initial plan was to go hort park then to changi but time is really consuming. but luckily hort park is not really where i want to take so i chose tanah merah and changi boardwalk

guinguin

sun_tan!! OMG!! i'm sooo sorry! sigh.. u MIA quite sumtime liao mah
and old liao, memories serve me badly... dun mad hor..

aha, the oohtique very cute leh!! and i din knw SG have this kind of parties eh... *wink wink*

sian rite, spending so much time searching around.. meet meet meet, end up nt up to expectation or price steep... si bei sian..

dizonne

darkchocolate,
depends on u leh..im getting dresses for them, so i wun b giving so much ang pow..my ang pow is more for covering their transport..its e tot tat counts..Furthermore, bf will b giving another angpow to them during gate crash...

if jiemei make noise y so little ang pow, then ask them go bang wall..Close frend still wan to make $$ out of ur wedding...diaozz..

gracelourdes

WAHAHHAA....sun_tan, u damn cute lah....ur name is leisuretime!!!! serious ar? wahahaaha

guinguin, got such AD VG meh? Lighthouse?? u can try wowmedia if u want...definitely lower price than lighthouse's...qualitywise, it's up to ur own definition...

oohtique is damn kewl lah...just tat i'm not sure if tis is the one where the dancers do lap dance or sth....

darkchocolate, it all depends lah....like wat xiaokeai says, if u give them sth like pay for their MUA or dress or sth, then ur angbao lesser lah...if not, during gatecrashing give more...

anyone not doing gatecrashing like me??

dizonne

grace,

im oso contemplating nt doing gate crash..find it abit bo liao n no meaning leh..bt bf insists on having it?? Dun understand y he likes to be 'tortured' bt pple...Tink he abit sadist..haha

chubby_ting

Sharon, abt there 2 weeks b4 AD. Mine is abt 2weeks also. But have to choose a date de. You have tt date ma? Ur AD date is from shifu ma? If yes then they will provide u with the date de. Otherwise, choose a date suitable for GDL then ok le..

thngs

i think jie mei jus giv $20 each lor, cos they will get another ang pao for gate crashing.

as for bros, those following car de, must give ard $68

children, im giving $4
PG, MUA, VG $20 each

sun_tan

Xiaokeai,
I went to the car show yesterday le..nothing much..think the last one was much better. You know the funny thing in car show is that..ppl or rather MEN are more interested in the models than in the cars. When u see a group of MEN surrounding an area...u know that the models are there..and when the models move to another car, you can see the whole group move with them! duhz..

Guin,
Ya, was busy out shopping hehe..i just went to do a mani and pedi on Wed and the lady says i got brittle nails. They sold me this base coat nail polish. Says to be able to strength the nails so that it wont chip so easily. Must start to apply from now, so that next yr during AD, at least the chances of my nails breaking will decrease lol...As for VG, normally i will check with them the prices first before meeting up with them..at least i know that they are within my budget. But my budget quite low lah for VG..so cannot ask for too much too.

dizonne

chloe,
*eyes wide open* WAH!! u giv xiongdi so much?? i tot onli those providing car then giv more coz of petrol??

Btw, hav u gals heard or went to venus at Tanjong PAgar??

sun_tan

Chloe,
Why children also must give.

Btw, for those AD PG, VG, wedding singers (if any), do you gals gg to give them a dinner seat during the banquet? Hmm..cos dun think they would have time to eat..and they also wont give ang baos..but if dun give, like very mean like that leh...

sun_tan

Grace,
Haa..leisuretime is my nick for multiply...have this account way back..and tat time childish lah...my real name is Jacelyn. You wont wanna know what i use as my msn address..think u would fall of your chair laughing!!

Oothique also have lap dances. Think u can either course dance class there if not employ the dancer there to lap-danced to the "hen" of the night.

dizonne

sun,
dun need to giv them seats de..coz they wun hav time to eat..bt if u paiseh, can prepare some food for them lor...

guinguin

grace.. wowmedia ah.. ok, will go see see..im nt doing gate crashing, morn is church then dinner banquet..

chloe, thanks for the guideline for the angpaos.. haha.. nw i knw a bit liao..

haiya, common lah, those road show always crowded with MEN, esp those beh beh... hahahaha...cars not as attractive as sexy body leh..

sun_tan, me too! my nails always chip easily.. nowsaday bcome more jialat... have to b more hardworking to apply coating liao...

as for the dinner seat, i dun tink i will provide to the VG/AG, coz they wont have the time to eat though, muz concentrate leh! but is it a muz to give any pao?? tot we oledi pay mah for the package??

starskyz

cheekrene> hahha.. i agree, she's truely fun.. tat's why my htb always look out for her when we are there.. else, he'll be bored waiting for me to change in and out of different gowns..

i'm not sure which MUA is assigned to me, but judging your comments, i hope i'll get nancy as well! as for steven, we have met him during our sign-up wif GHA, my htb and i felt quite comfy with him so i hope we'll feel the same during PS..

i'm having headaches over the locations, cos the places we initially planned for are quite far apart.. think i shall choose locations closer together to reduce the travelling time.. thanks for your advice! =)

btw, did you get to choose the flowers for the PS? are their choices limited? me love peonies and hydrangeas but dunno if they provide these flowers..

sun_tan

Hmmm, prepare food for them? Like from where? Then they got to stand one corner and eat? Also funny right..

Its norm to give them ang baos..not need too mych..just yi si yi si can alr..gg to give $12.

gracelourdes

dunno leh...heard tat kids also must give...during tea ceremony after all u jing cha alrd...then the kids will queue up to get angbao from u...tat's wat i heard...at first, i told my mum...wah lau...u tik wat? santa claus ar? then she bcc...so bo bian loh...just give bah

hey gals...my AD VG is less than S$1k leh...but for mine, i booked ard march...n then i dun have morning express so deduct abt $200...so mine only $800...not bad leh his works...if u interested, can give u his number then u go check out his works....he's a v nice guy....shit lah...better dun say liao...wait ppl tik i'm promoting for him :p

wahahahaa....xiaokeai, since ur bf likes to be tortured then give it to him loh!!! WAHAHAHA...i tik it's also cos he wants to marry u properly lah, take it as a good thing

for us, since my htb is chin-dian, his family dun care...then i was telling my mum tat since i was jiemei for so manyyyy times liao...tis gatecrashing thing to me damn sianz liao

sun_tan, we tot abt tis issue also...decided tat we'll be giving AD PG n VG those empty seats whereever they can just sit n eat abit...no matter how also, they also need to eat abit mah...but before tat, we'll also be ordering room service for them....at least they eat liao, they obligated to do work properly mah...hehehe

as for wedding singers, i dun tik so lah...cos ours will be thruout the dinner...if they sit n eat then like abit not pro lah...

dizonne

sun,
i gt special meals for them frm mi beach bistro..at least, they can concentrate working rather than concentrate on e food..haha

grace,
which vg u using??

sun_tan

Grace,
wah if like that i will die man..my htb got a lot of younger cousins and those older cousins also have kids!! Who is your VG? Got any website to view his work? Room service for the PG n VG? Then they eat in the suit before starting the night? I scare we dun have time for them to do that. Cos am planning to have my solemnisation before the dinner, so would also require them to come earlier. Then after the solemnisation, we would proceed to the recept alr..so scare they wont have time to eat. Which wedding singer u engaging? Me thinking of getting Dream a Little and taking 2 sets, ie 45 mins each. So it means that there would be an half hr break in between for them. So was thinking for this half hr...where they gg to seat if we dun give them any seats.

cheekrene

starskyz ->

most likely will be nancy since aileen is in-charge of your contract.

steven is good. he will see what poses u really want. then he will advise u on places. btw outdoor shoot is much more tiring than indoor shoot. so my advice, choose 2 places that are nearby... =)

we are not able to choose the flowers. steven will provide real flowers for indoor.. outdoor shoot is more on fake flowers.. my advice is to get your own flowers for outdoor. i still find it acceptable for fake flowers even though i dont like... but i bring my own roses so that i can pluck the petals.. hehe

thngs

okie... following car drive $68, brothers w/o car $38

kid open car door $28
hotel coordinator $18 or $20
solemniser im giving $68

kids ah, i also dunno y must give leh. i tink its the same meaning lor, heng heng.

gracelourdes

so clever, xiaokeai...hehhee...my AD VG is wowmedia....for us, we prefer to spend more on AD PG cos i'm more particular on photography skills...AD VG a bit hard to have variations or styles cos we just need basic videographing only...dun have morning express mah...

sun_tan, i tik u better ask the elders lah...if they insist, u also die die must do mah....quarrel with them on ur AD ar? not good rite? anyway if alot, then each just bao $8 can liao or lesser loh...it's just for good luck anyway....

my AD VG is wowmedia...he doesn't really have a website...but if u want, can email me at gracephua@hotmail to request for his details...dun want the moderator to tik tat i'm soliciting business for him lah...

btw, sun_tan, our wedding band would be weddinginharmony...wanted yours truly or dream a little...but both also taken up for my AD liao....sianz...hmm...i guess they can have chairs to sit ard the stage there bah....i haven't really tot abt tis yet...will ask them prob...strangely, the gal frm weddinginharmony tok to me macham like we 2 v old frds like tat...dunno y but feel v warm whenever i tok to her...

no lah...usually newly weds still have to give angbao for ur 1st yr after ur AD...just tat u can also receive angbaos then...after tat, u can give but won't receive one...tat's the thing

dizonne

grace,
im juz blabbering..dun listen to me..haha

for my wedding band, i didnt get e famous 3...Actuali there are alot of bands out there tat are not tat bad as well. Jus tat they dun advertise themselves..In fact, i managed to get a 4pc jazz band for 3 sets of 45 + solemnisation music, for 1k, which i tot was a steal.....

dizonne

got singing la...i specially requested for female singer tat can sing both mandarin n english, n able to take in dedications.

Bo webbie leh...I actuali contacted a drummer, told him mi requirements, and he in turn contacted those players tat fits mi requirements. Not sure if u koe wat i mean..

gracelourdes

ya man...tat's a good deal man, xiaokeai!! haiz, i wanted to source more...but then, he couldn't take it anymore....not after our AD PG n AD VG spree....so tat was the 1st we saw n we took it...hehehe

dizonne

sun,
yup..coz its nt e usual band he plays in, so i requested for a recording of e singer..Not too bad, so i took it lor...aniwae, mine outdoors...gt alot of 'noise'..haha

they do take in dedications, but of course provided tat they koe e songs la..those common songs shldnt b a prob..oso, i requested tat mi guests b allowed to sing if they wish too...

roomfulofstars

Anyone else wanna give their opinion as to whether you are wearing your actual day wedding gown for your pre-wedding photos?

I'm just wondering isn't it nicer to have yr hubby see u in the wedding gown for the first time on the actual day? Plus might get dirty during the photo shoot leh.

I really can't decide, so would love to hear some opinions.

vallous

Aiyoh...shining hoshi, dont say tat about your mum. No matter what she is still ur mom. She will never replace your MIL. Bear this IN MIND.

Not that I say MIL will treat u nicer..but you never know when tables will turn esp in events where MIL suddenly say you are an outsider. So no matter what, love your mother more. She is right that she will be losing a daughter., She might be facing her own mid life crisis of you leaving her.

I know tat because my mum also like tat. SHe ask for a lot, but then again she did tell me she did those to make me gain status in the in laws side. Dont let them knwo our gal side easy bully. Must let them know we very garang one. We no matter what are marrying in, so even though its the son pay or they pay, they have to fork out some substaintial cash for the pin li as well as the gold.

Our dinner is also paid by us youngsters but i told my hubby not to take back the angbao from my parents as this will show that he is very gracious and that he value me. It gains credit for him.Money we can earn back next time. The AD frankly is all about a show for our parents..we are just actors and actresses for the day. Hai...

I also will deal with my hubby directly and tell him to settle his own mother.

During my ROM and PS, I dyed my hair 2 week before. It looks great.

Hi Sharon,

GDL depends on the date chosen. Mine is chosen to be in 30 Nov cos my hubby's aunt say no good days 2 weeks before our AD. So ok lor..i am fine with it.

bearbearwife

Janine: Welcome to join us and we have the same AD. So good.

updates
ID Wedding dates
Melissa 4th April 09
edazz 18th April 09
Des Loh 18th April 09
Soulsista 18th April 09
hpc 18th April 09
Khim 25th April 09
PK 25th April 09
Janine 25th April 09
bearbearwife 25th April 09
Sabine 12th April 09 to be confirm
min To be confirm

25th April is the 1st of april in lunar calendar. Before that will be qing ming month. But I heard from elderly that it is still ok to an chuan, GDL etc. For wedding day, then I am not sure. Only lunar 7th month, to have wedding then is not so good. My 2 cents worth of comments.

jing85

Wow.. the thread is really moving veri veri fast. Me will be having my food tasting and Ti Qing session later in the evening. So nervous..
I got mention before that since my hubby will be giving my mum 7 tables so my PIL won't be giving any pin jin to my mum.. But now PIL will be giving Pin Jin liao.. cos my hubby ask his parent saying:"Yi Jing ask why you all never give Pin Jin to her mother?" Tok Gong rite?? My hubby cannot tahan me keep nagging at him.. so he ask directly like that.. At that time.. i really dun know how to face his parent as I'm already living together with them after our ROM. But things didn't turn out to be wat i think.. His parent still treat me very good after wat my hubby ask them.. Perharps should really let PIL know wat the gal's side wants. My mother is also veri good to me.. she told me that she will take watever my hubby give.. no request from her.. as she dun want to make things difficult for me.. The reason i want to fight for Pin Jin is bcos my mother had raise me for 23 years.. It's time i repay her. If my PIL won't be giving my mother Pin Jin, i will use my own money to act as Pin Jin. I totally agreed with Vallous, Mum is always the best to you.

lettingo

actually until now, my ILs has not mentioned about Pin Jin at all... Even Si Dian Jin, His mum already told me No need because they are Hokkein.... So i guess more or less, they will give angbao to replace (This I not sure).. Because My hubby's mum is someone who dunno anything about Traditions....

I am not so particular about having Si Dian Jin or Not... But i know for Chinese, Pin Jin is a Must thing...But when i mentioned to My hubby about Pin Jin, he Say need meh, no need lar... I know they are from family culture such that they are Not particular about Traditions... But seriously speaking, if My hubby also dun believe in this, I also dunno how to put the topic to his mum....

Maybe his mum is Right in the first place, we should just go Honeymoon and dun do banquet in the first place... is me who die die want a banquet and now i have to forgo alot of things because they are the one who dun want banquet in the first place....

really very sad... maybe like what yi jing say, i will fork out money on my own and act as Pin Jin

footprint

<table border=1><tr><td>AD Date (2009)</TD><TD>Bride-to-be</TD><TD>Bridal</TD><TD>Hotel/Restaurant</TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>1st May</TD><TD>Benjymocha</TD><TD>Divine Couture </TD><TD>The Regent </TD><TD></TD><TD>Lightedpixels </TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Raine</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa Resort</TD><TD></TD><TD>Coffee &amp; Tea Dreamworks </TD><TD>Coffee &amp; Tea Dreamworks </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>selinachantelle</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>2nd May</TD><TD>itzbitz</TD><TD>Dreamz Wedding</TD><TD>HIPV </TD><TD></TD><TD>Lightedpixels </TD><TD>Forrest Productions </TD></TR><TR><TD>3rd May</TD><TD>poohise</TD><TD>LaBelleCouture</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>25-Mar-08</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>8th May</TD><TD>Silin</TD><TD>My Dream Wedding </TD><TD>Furama Riverfront - Venus Ballroom </TD><TD></TD><TD>Big Day Pictures</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>16th May</TD><TD>YF (deariebride)</TD><TD>Divine Couture </TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront</TD><TD></TD><TD>Eully </TD><TD>Forest Production </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>geminiger</TD><TD>Jess Haute Couture </TD><TD>Orchard Hotel </TD><TD></TD><TD>George from Jess Haute Couture </TD><TD>yappie production </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>April</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Shangri La </TD><TD></TD><TD>Joho</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>JOa</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>22nd May</TD><TD>ene</TD><TD>Bridal Veil </TD><TD>Peony Jade </TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>23rd May</TD><TD>envymoi</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>jasminetang</TD><TD>Sattine Bridal</TD><TD>Grand Plaza Park Hotel </TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>30th May</TD><TD>Lorraine</TD><TD>Jess Haute Couture </TD><TD>Paramount Restaurant </TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>31st May</TD><TD>Blinkblink</TD><TD>D'sire</TD><TD>Goodwood Park Hotel </TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>flowie</TD><TD>Signoria</TD><TD>marriott</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>stariez </TD><TD>Signoria</TD><TD>Swissotel the stamford-Raffles Ballroom </TD><TD>15-Jun-08</TD><TD>Daniel Beh </TD><TD>Brilliant Pics </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

lettingo

actually i am quite sad.. i dunno how to ask for Pin Jin when hubby dun even want to do it

I dunno how to find money to act as Pin Jin for my parents.. But i really want to give pin jin to them because they raise me up...

but now Just because I marry someone whose family dun believe in CHinese Customs... alot of traditions i have to go find out and plan myself... even GDL also do the cheapest.... i sometimes wonder how valuable I am....