(2009) Brides of year 2009

strawberrie1983

Yea..i jux dun understand why parents cant gif their heartful blessings to their children?
luckily my dad is much more supportive..cause my dad had went thru this b4..so he understand..thank God lo..
as for my mum, she is ok now..is jux that i chose my path, so i gotta face it...
at least she nbr show her face to my bf, i noe some parents do..they will show that kinda face to other pple if she do nt like that person lo..luckily she is nt that bad...

benbenfish

Hi stella,

Mi too...gone through same experience b4 also... my HB's family not rich at ALL, and can say, even need get $$ from the children...so, when I decided to be together with him, my parent rejected it too and we had a very terrible arguement... the reason, they want me to get someone who is not worry for $$ issue and give me a better life after get married becoz i'm the onli child... but I refused to break up... and we prove to them we can have a good life after married. Now, we are working hard to save $$ for the wedding coz we are paying for our own wedding, I dont want to parent giving any $$ since my in-law is not giving too...

rayrachel

haha... 7th June is my birthday... i wonder how i got into this thread... hehe...

anyway... my PG is www.melvinho.biz

min0511

sabine...have u fixed ur AD venue yet?

btw, where would u all be staying after marriage? i'll be staying at in-laws hse...wat to do..."love nest" still building...haha...

Hi Min

Me havent fix my venue le... a bit slack to go for dates calculation for my AD here...

For me I am staying with my hubby already together with my dad. My hubby is a Malaysian so no in laws here hee hee and the flat is me and my dad so at this moment, have no made plans to shift the name over to my hubby.

strawberrie1983

Fish -> well yah same situation as u...jux that parents in law is able to support my bf..well my bf side may offer 6 tables lo as my mum requested..the rest i will pay..i think is ok la coz in the end i will still get in return..dono is loss or profit oni..dun worry gal..we can make it!

starskyz

Diva> sorry can't help.. me haven got my VG/PG yet.. hahhahha.. bery bz, no time to meet up wif the VG/PG..

As for the rings, me and htb intend to get frm soo kee cos he got a frd working there.. wad abt u? found ur ideal set of rings?

starskyz

hey ladies.. wana ask if any of you know where i can get those postcards/message on the "save the sharks" program? me and htb tinking of taking the sharkfin soup dish out of our menu..

lareine

Hi AD080809!
According to some other threads, it'll be out in Sept. I'm in the US right now anyway, so I haven't been bugging my grandma to check if it's been published

maybe can ask people at a temple if they know when it's out? personally, my HTB and i are not pantang at all. but to respect my granny... wanna just let her check before we book anything

mashi_mashi

Christy,

yaya.. i also here... n lotsa other oct brides as well..

the BTBs here sure join afew threads that is related de lor... haha.. like me lor. very gd example.
haha...

fat_fat_79

Hi Vy25

I have been looking for my wedding band since the Jan. Decided to give up looking and go for customsation. Most likely to get my wedding ring next month. Just in time for my PS.

Hi Diva

My PG is Edmund Leong and VG is Mirror Creation. You can visit his website when I have post above to see his work and rates.

I went to eCarity to customise my wedding bands. I think the price is similar to Goldheart or Lee Hwa. How about you?? Where will you be getting it??

princess_

Hi Starskyz / fat_fat_79,

Infact i just got my wedding band over the wkend at Lee Hwa. Do most of you get diamond ring or platinum?

Btw my AD is on 28 March 09. Realise quite a few have it on the same date too! Heez..

roomfulofstars

glympse - do try them! I really like their service. I went shopping at other bridal boutiques but they had the best service and nice big dressing room too. Think depends on what kind of design you like coz different boutiques, I hear, have their own specialty.

I haven't decided whether to rent or buy though... are u (or the other July girls, for that matter) intending to buy or rent?

glympse

femme, wow I'm so excited to go down and check out the dresses now!!! Can't wait to see them. The dressing rooms sounds good too hehe. And yes, service is a big consideration lah. Glad to have your recommendation!

I think they have 2 packages right, one where u can choose to rent WD and buy the EG + tea dress, and another package where u can rent WD and EG (but no tea dress). I am likely going for the 1st one, i.e. buying the EG and tea dress, mainly because I'm having another wedding celebration in Sweden also (my HTB is a Swede
), so need to bring the dresses over
Having said that tho, if I were to only have the wedding in Singapore, i'd rather just rent everything (save money) hehe.

min0511

ya lor....i also have to wait for the tong shu to be out then can fix ROM solemnisation venue...think have to wait till Sep...

concert

Hi Esther, I chose Marina Mandarin eventually =P But even if i take swissotel, would be the small ballrm, can't make it for the stamford though.

So have u started to choose ur BS shop ?

starskyz

fatfat> did you go to the eCarity shop at shaw centre? me oso surfed ecarity webbie before and find their designs quite nice oso.. me tinking of customising half eternity rings leh.. are their pricings reasonable?

diva> if i'm not wrong, most rings are white gold.. platinum or titanum are alot more expensive loh.. actually hor, me oso dunno how to tell them apart.. hahhahahha..

i tink an auspicious date, congrats!!! how's ur preparations so far?

ecarg1310

Hi desjO,

Thanks!! I just got back from Julia. Went for my fitting. Everything went well, so happy! Also, met up with Ah Liang to discuss where to go tomorrow. He also asked us about our expectations, and gave us his opinions and views. Prays hard that tomorrow does not rain and everything will turn out well! Yeah~ Will update you tomorrow when I am home.

tksl

ahblur, juz some thoughts wrt VG.. I feel that there is no need to engage an expensive one.. if really got limited budget, maybe u can get one of ur hubby's xiong di to do the deed for you.. my friend did that.. and the video turned out ok.. even got well-wishes from close friends while the groom and bride went to change clothes during dinner banquet..

that's my personal opinion la. but i do agree with the rest.. i wanna see the groom being sabo (we will be in the room mah~)

sigh.. i got limited budget.. so i think im not employing VG le..

ask u all ah, $500 for PG issit very cheap?

catty08

Suzanna, i think $500 is too low a budget to get nice pictures. If you do not want any albums, maybe you could get at a rate of around $800 for a good PG?

weddingday

Hi Diva, Thebsea, & Vy25,

Our AD Same as u all 28th Mar 09, so happy to meet so many ppl same AD as me, haha,

We already got our wedding bands because Me and my hubby have just ROM in May, we bought our wedding bands in Feb,

We are looking for AD PG & VG, any recommendation?

vy25

hiya..
i started shopping for my rings since feb... it turned out that my HTB very fussy... want something different, yet simple... urgh....
liked 1 from tiffany.. but very x coz i'm looking at platinum ones... same across one from van gleef something..its opp tiffany at ngee an city.. so, still considering..its sooooooooo difficult to agree on 1 that we both like... he liked one from charlotte.. but was x too. and i dun really like tat... sigh....maybe can look at customising then... like u gals.. hehee

hey shjeans, i'll ROM on 011008.

Yes jaslyn, we're in the same line

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD date / day</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>Date for PS</TD><TD>Pre wedding PG</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>Multiply </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chuababy</TD><TD>151109(Sun)</TD><TD>Inter-continental</TD><TD>BV</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>csc02 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fanny</TD><TD>151109 (Sun)</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaslyn</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Hotel, Grace Methodist Church</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>JO&amp;JY</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Sophia</TD><TD>Sophia</TD><TD>Mirage</TD><TD>lichun18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shjeans</TD><TD>221109 (sun)</TD><TD>M hotel</TD><TD>The aisle</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Apr_piggy</TD><TD>221109 (Sun)</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium</TD><TD>Bliss Creation</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>wendyzhou </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piggy</TD><TD>221109 (sun)</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>popprincesstrin</TD><TD>271109 (Fri)</TD><TD>Fullerton</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Avenue8</TD><TD>Avenue8</TD><TD>-</TD><TD></td></tr></table>

Did I miss out anyone?

sparkless

Hello gals,

*wave wave*

glamourous, erm, i didnt receive your email. Maybe it got lost in cyberspace. Dun mind can try sending it again? Thanks thanks :D

i think Raffles Hotel doesn't want my business. Until today, there's no reply from them.

I passed by SAM today and thought it might be a good place for wedding ceremony and reception. Right now, i am gathering all the info on hotel venues and wherever allows wedding ceremony.

Also passed by Love &amp; Co. at Raffles City shopping centre. Anyone been there? From the look outside, their rings look very nice =)

thebsea

Diva, Princess &amp; Vy25,
I'm also very happy to be on the same AD as you all =)

I got my wedding bands from Love &amp; Co. Its a combi of white, rose &amp; yellow gold band. U all can go check out Love &amp; Co store as they have a great variety of wedding bands there. Another place to customize your bands would be Fairyinc..

aggiegal

Mashi> I've pm-ed you le. Happy looking around...

Christy> But I just don't like it that he gives people the impression that we searched for everything together when I was mainly the person doing all these. He only approved my work. Unless he doesn't like what he saw, and I challenged him to get a better deal than me, then he would go and check things out. But ultimately still ended up going with my choice most of time or that people told him so, then he realised that I am right all along but refused to admit it. Only pretended to look pitiful. Sigh!

He also said that I will be in charge of wedding preparation and he is in charge of flat hunting and other stuff like renovation. Lucky him that property prices are stagnant, he can take his own sweet time to do research. But he did some on and off la. Must give him credit.

I'm looking forward to seeing your ring pics la =)

raywen

Stella, perhaps I can offer you some insights why perhaps your mum reacted that way or said the things she said when you told her what happened..

Something similar happened to me and I did the same thing.. confided in my mum cos I'm closer to her than my dad and at the end, this sorta thing, best to tel someone within the family than frens cos I didn't know how they would look at it; cos quite humiliating too in a certain sense..

Like you, I also cried.. but my situation wasn't abt tables but more about the wedding date.

- During late april this year, asked MIL to choose a date for us (she's a temple member sorta..); specified that we wanted August, September, October period for year 2008.

- 3 days later, She come back from the mtg with the shi fu and says that cant choose date yet cos lunar almanac for year 2009 not out yet.
BF n I were like, orh, ok lor.

-Then barely a week later, she suddenly told my bf (on a night when he happens to be home early at 8.30pm and coincidentally without me ard), got the date liao. It's january some day in tat month but of year 2010!!
BF called me to update me and I was so damn upset cos I find it unbelievable that how come all the inconsistencies cos 1st, said almanac not out cannot hv date (but a lot of aquaintances all got their dates liao leh, even those getting married in dec 2009???) Then now suddenly got date but almanac come out liao meh?? Which I checked and I know haven. And the last straw was, BF n I specified Aug, Sept and Oct or YEAR 2009 then she go and get january??? tats in 2010??

All of these reali happened and I was so upset cos felt like she is playing games lor..maciam like dun wan the son to marry me or not looking forward to me be her daughter-in-law.

Mind you, I felt all these angry and upset feelings cos i make it a point to please her and visit her and stay over for 1 weekend night.
Despite knowing for a fact my MIL likes me a lot cos my bf's sis, my MIL's sister and her sister-in-law tells me that my MIL gave very gd comments abt me and complain abt her son and all (afraid this relationship wont work out cos her dun noe how to take care of ppl), I still can feel THAT upset. yes that upset to want to call the wedding off. I'm serious.

Like you, stella, I also went to my mum.. I also cried like dunno wat, tears maciam the tap cannot switch off, like water is free one... lol
My mum was so upset, seriously....asked and omost said the same thing as ur mum la. Said why ur MIL like tat, why she do that, she dun wan you to be her daughter-in-law isit?? blah blah.. n then of cos, the killer line, man also you choose one la.., cry til like that for wat. If he is so bad, then dun marry him la, you go think with ur own brains if he is worth it.. ifgd character but juz that family like so kns, then bear with it, grit your teeth and just ROM asap to make him urs..blah blah.. haha..(althou my mum nvr said those "who-tell-you-to-choose-this-man-thingy, still its same meaning la n it damn hurts..)

Of cos, when I've cooled down considerably n managed to trash things out with my bf, ltr on we found out that it was miscommunication that resulted in his mum choosing jan 2010, cos she thot we said aug, sept oct onwards.. LOL

A as for the january date in 2010, ltr I understood his mum, my MIL even more..his family's those very straightforward one; doesn't think as much as me and is not very fast thinking or flexible quick thinking one. My mum said my MIL is the type juz like the son, they ask the shi fu for a date and a date means ONLY 1 DATE.. lol.. nvr think of getting1 or 2 more dates in case of backup (restaurant or ballrm full or booked liao) ^_^

And all in all, as we finally resolved the issue. i also came to understood my mother's "harsh" words to me the night I complained and cried like a pig. I know and know and know deep down, my mother loves me and dotes on me and wants the very best for me. And in hearing the situation from my mouth, she felt sadness n heartbreak in her heart too.
And so she said the stuff she said.

her reasoning is either:-
a) in a sense she is agreeing with you alrdy..cos dun forget you also felt tat why ur bf or family so mean, so she said the line "man also you choose one.. etc etc", Cant blame her for saying that, cos thatz a fact. Cant change it. We brides are realli the one who chose our husbands, who CHOSE to marry them.. ^_^

b) how nice or how "PR" you expect your mum's words to be... Seriously, family members being family members, all of us do take them for granted and not to mention ur mum, my mum, even ourselves, we are harder and less polite to our loved ones, to the ppl whom we are realli close to, as compared to talking with frens and colleagues. Seriously.

So think of it as a 2 way traffic. On 1 hand, ur mum feels she can speak her mind abt it cos she is agreeing with your complaints of him to a certain extent. She is helpless, no other way to help you alrdy cos already reach this stage liao.. N on the other hand, we as daughters on the receiving hand, we feel our mothers or our family members should be more encouraging gentle, more generous with consoling. And then in the end hear those words in our sensitive state, all the more we find it harsh and so the hurt lor..

But trust me, stella, i'm sure your mum loves you very much. N when you finally marry ur bf, she will wish you the best and want to know that you and him live happily and grow old together and help each other along the way.

Hope this will help broaden your mindset..and make you more open to whatever your mem says.. Most impt, just hope you can see the good thatis embedded in what we often perceive as bad.

raywen

I know its hard and I'm not a martyr. I stil do piss my mum off.. lol.. esp with the words I use. But in realating what I sid above, my sincere hope is that brides will understand that our mums loves us and just want the best for us, regardless of how they put it and the face that they give us. LOL

if someone had told me what i now know (which was obtained with precious tears and a lot of fighting in the family), I think I would not have caused so much heartache for myself and neither for my mum and dad (due to the harsh words that I used cos i was also "bey song") haha..

Reali hope this helps all of you brides.

roomfulofstars

I'm taking ala carte and not package.

But just dunno whether to rent or buy leh. Coz buy for my dress is about $500 more than rent. Must see whether got enough $. Maybe I'm too in love with my gown now, so feel like owning it, haha. Maybe by next year I'd have enough of it, and just rent instead of buy. Heheh.

strawberrie1983

yea yea raywen, ur words realli smoothen my heart..though nt realli that similar situation..but i can realli feel how u feel at that time..feel helpless and no one can talk to...tok to friends would me bery paisey and talkin to parents is like asking me to slap my face..haiz..telling bf is making him more stressful and "sandwiched"...but gd thing is that my bf is comforting me..at least he know me..understand me..i feel blessed..

well gals, we should maybe have a meet up and chat lo..hehe

princess_

Princess, Thebsea, &amp; Vy25,

Gald that we share the same AD!
How's the preparation so far?

Starskyz, we still sourcing for PG &amp; VG &amp; my 4 inch heel at the moment.. Wat abt U? Which stage are you at now? Have you tried your gown?

jenpys

Hey guys, Hi Im Jen here, Im a bride of march 2009 too.... Im new here ya juz wondering anyone of u happen 2 know any of d interior designer who does victorian design? pls keep me posted ya coz I got my hs already its at commonwealth beside d mrt stations ya.......

And ladies out there, care 2 share with me ur wonderful PS to multiply ID jenpys
n gv me some advice abt wat 2 take note of.....
anybody mind sharing who 2 look for VM and Pg?
its great 2 noe there's so many brides on march hehe Im so happy..

Hope 2 hear fr u guys soon cheers........

taime81

Hi wildwood, maybe you can get yr bf to try photo story. I play with it for ard 30 mins and can get a simple video out done quite nicely.

I took my VG + PG @ $1.4K including express highlight. The photography sample i saw was quite nicely done up actually with album and packaging. The review from other brides in the forum are very positive so far too that why i took up their package.

pinkie_cloud

thanks gals! Think I'll check out
GCW
Meritius
Marriot
Swissotel

Don't intend to get too expensive a hotel since angbao rate isn't increasing as fast as our table prices. Compounded by the number of tables I'm having, it's too big a loss to bear. sigh sigh... okie. thanks gals! will keep you all updated on my progress &amp; we can exchange some pointers. ;)