(2009) Brides of year 2009

ahsren

June BTB falling in here

Mine is on 5th June 09

strawberrie1983

haha..mi went to corpthorne king today and carlton hotel..as for CK, well is held at the restaurant named Tien Court..not so bad..as for Carlton realli impress me..hehe the planner bring me to their suites..so nice!! i could choose the suite that i wan as well..facing harbourm you could see the sg flyer from ur master bedrm..and you could enjoy complimentary club lounge at their level 26!! somemore is oni $860 per table nett after $28 discount..then they can cater for 10pax for food tasting..previously is oni for 6paxs..they will have 2 LCDs projectors..menus can be chosen...nt so bad lo..realli love that..jux that i am on 2nd waiting list..if i realli confirm on Carlton, planner will have chase the 1st couple..now lets jux hope i could get the date for this htl.."fingers cross!!"

sters

Praisey, yup! i was there in the afternoon when the wedding start. was peeping in outside. hehe din really go near.

Holding our church wedding at Lighthouse Evangelism.

Getting everything separately will cost more.

It'll have to be that way since we only want that particular PG. So no choice, must have 'xin li jun bei' already to pay more lor.

blurbaby

deerixp/piggylover,

had send d package to u

Suzanna,

yup i had signed up with Lam..

i think need to check on what their package consist of.. most importantly is within your budget. u will have d bargaining power; bring down d price of d whole BS package or can ask for more stuff..

as there are a few pg in d BS.. unlesss they can confirm with u that d pg for yr wedding is who you want.. then should b okay..

i'm also thinking of there's a need to have VG?? Frm what i know.. after wedding d video will b chuck 1 side.. most couple won't have time to watch d video.. What do you all think??

glamourous2309

Hi Ah Blur,

I beg to differ. To me, I think VG is impt too as its able to capture moments LIVE that PG cant.
Its just watching the entire wedding all over again!
If you think that it will be chuck aside after wedding, the same will also works for PG isnt it? =)

Do let me know if you need help for any PG or VG referrals. =)

mashi_mashi

Glamourous,

Thanks for ur offer. I will PM u if i need help... but then mayb i go visit eclarity first then c hw it is..still dun knw wat ring i want so far..

sunqian

Hi Shice,

Please help to add me in, many thanks.

Wedding date: 11 Jan 2009 (AD), 12 Jan 2009 (Dinner)
Day: Sunday and Monday
Venue: Marina Mandarin
BS: Sophia Wedding Collection
PG: Sophia Wedding Collection

strawberrie1983

Grace -> haha the planner jux called me..mentioned that the 1st couple opt out..so i am the nx one..now is the parents side..i dun think i can get Carlton htl le..as mentioned by my bf, they think is too costy..so sad..btw anyone can tell mi, normally guys side have to gife bride how many tables? normally is abt 10 right? u know what my mother in law say to my bf, at the moment they will offer 2 tables..can u imagine what am i thinking? i feel so "cheap" in the sense that, what my mum/dad can get in return, is oni abt 2K ang bao back..i feel abit humilated and disappointed..though my bf did say this is nt final yet, but i still feel the "hurt" in my heart...

jayin_fairyland

LOL kodomo, cos i never go calculate for auspicious date, just chose the date on mine & HTB's intuition. Haha! Where are u holding ur banquet? =) Yeah, we are on the same day!

Ahsren, welcome! Lets all have fun preparing.

vy25

Hi hi...
how many months b4 the wedding do u plan to buy the wedding bands?
Been shopping ard... but dun dare to buy... worried that the ring wont fit by then... heheee

sparkless

Hello <font color="0000ff">verena</font>, we are still thinking whether to have a church wedding followed by reception or move the solemnization ceremony to a hotel venue, easier to cater for reception purpose.

Hello <font color="0000ff">glamourous</font>, wow... 1.5 carat! You must be heading to be a rich tai tai :D I was at Larry on Sat, looking for the eternity ring. Saw this huge 2 carat diamond that cost 111k.

Anyway, I didn't really like the eternity ring from Larry but I saw one that I quite like from Lee Hwa's Destinee range. Was quoted 2.5k for 18 diamonds (total 0.36carat) in a channel setting.

raywen

stella-> serious ur MIL said that?? erm..stella dun get mi wrong; im juz thinking cos the msg got passed down and mayb that is not wat ur MIL meant? Or mayb ur MIL didn't utter that but perhaps your bf felt that for personal reasons he could only offer that 2 tables etc etc and so used your MIL to state that?.. Did you hear her say that?

Don't get me wrong and think that I am siding with the guys..but this kind of situation is exactly what gives most of us BTBs here the stress..more so than perhaps the actual wedding planning. The parents vs in laws kind of situation.. Cool it first; cant ask u not to get upset cos if I were you, lim peh wont take it lying down like that but I've since learnt to toe the line and be more "moderate"..as opposed to more "hardline"..

1st things 1st, regarding tables/ wedding for your mum, have both parents met up alrdy? They are supposed to, to discuss like for male side to ask the bride's side what they need or require for the wedding.. So if haven, like what your bf said, it aint final yet cos your mum or dad would request for what they need too..without you asking.

As for nos. of tables, stella, no fixed number ones leh.. it realli depends. eg, bride side ask for 16 tables and pin jing, they will tell the groom's side that up to them to decide to give how much and usually bride side on the actual gift ceremony day, will "return" aka Hui2 Li3 a portion of the pin jing.

Then another eg. is bride's side takes 6 tables and pin jing, the also say up to groom side to decide, then pin jing wise, of cos, bride's side has the perogrative to sorta "take more" n return lesser..

Hope I'm not confusing you.. but example of how this kinda thing goes la.

To be honest, these day, most modern parents seldom specify exactly how much pin jing they want.. unlike our parents and granny days where the pin jing was essential for the bride's family to pay for some wedding prep. In any case, the pin jing is in today's terms, a token of appreciation to the girl's parents for bringing her up and some says the amt reflects the girl's value too.

Honestly, it realli depends on how well off the groom is. In our era abt 6, 7, 10 years back, wedding expenses for majority ppl was still fully borne by male side.. these days, more couples sharing the burden cos more women working liao. You need to take it in your stride 1st, keep it cool..

The most impt factor is, who is paying the bill for the wedding? If not all the expenses, then majority payor is who? Parents-in-laws? Bf? or equal share between u and bf?

That alone will determine who decides abt the banquet and all u see? If parents-in-laws, then they have every right to object to whichever place you guys want and decide on somewhere cheaper..cos its their money. Of cos, I don't think there's a right to decide and utter so fast that thr's only gonna be 2 tables provided for bride. There may be a reason for it? Perhaps they hv intentions to only provide 2 tables for bride side and pin jing will be more generous? I dont know what kind ofpossibilities are thr..but you know what I mean right?

if expenses fully paid by bf, then I don't think you need to worry abt it.. angry yes, upset, yes but don't let this affect ur relationship with ur bf or with ur in-laws.. If they realli did say that without understandable reason, at least you know what they reali are like so so, in future will take extra care in interacting with them. If fully paid by bf, then o need worry. cos Im sure if you communicate with ur bf and he loves u and understands u, then I'm sure things can be worked out.

If expenses shared equally between u and him, then up to you guys to work it out. motto here is to reach a point where both parties are just nice just happy lor..

Realli hope this will help you.

cheekrene

Hi vy25,

it depend on u when u wanna plan to buy. it need time to find the wedding band that both of u like. it took me 3 or 4 months before i confirm purchasing. i just bought it in may 2008 although my wedding is in march 2009.

i do worry that it might not fit. the sale executive told us we can change the size but need to pay a little bit more.

sparkless

Hi <font color="0000ff">mashi</font>, thanks for the email. I emailed to Raffles but so far, they haven't got back to me.

Oh <font color="0000ff">glamourous</font>, thanks for offering the hotel list to me. If u dun mind, can forward me? [email protected]

Hey <font color="0000ff">aggiegal</font>, yup, agreed that Larry staff was friendly. The sales guy remembered my bf enquiring on eternity ring and when he saw me kept looking at the 2 carat diamond, he offered to take it out and let me try on. But no lah, too shy. In my mind, i kept thinking "so this is the size that Christopher Lee proposed to Fann Wong" Haha

I am also curious if you wear your solitaire with eternity ring on same finger, won't it be overpowering? I am thinking of eternity ring on left 4th and my solitaire on right 4th. If i am wearing both rings together, i might just get a simpler wedding band to match. Aiyo! Cannot make up my mind.

sparkless

Good thing that <font color="0000ff">xiang</font>, you brought up about registering the ROM date 3 months beforehand. Because i completely forget about this part. I hope by next year, this time, I can still remember. haha :D

glamourous2309

Hi Mashi Mashi,

No worries, always good to shop and look around first. The setting of diamond, or choosing of the ring setting should be the last thing. Whats more important is choosing a good stone first, then U worry about setting. =)

Hi Twinfairy,

U can shop around first before deciding. Look out for workmanship of the ring setting too. Perhaps you can look around for what U like first, then customised it to your perference.
The Canary @The Delfi is also good for customised ring setting. The Boss of the The Canary is Larry's Ex GM.

Alternatively, U can try Je Taime @Ngee Ann City for their isee2 diamonds too. U should go in see and witness it for yourself. =)
www.isee2.com

I've noticed that for most SG gals, a good majority of them wear WB and PR/ ER on different hands. Rightfully, following the western culture, it should be both of one the same finger. EG indicate that you are already taken and have accepted someone's proposal. WB with it indicates the marital status of the gal.
Im wearing both on the same finger tho.

I have also forwarded U a good handful of Hotel's packages for your reference. One of them is Raffles Hotel package. Do let me know if those works for you. Have fun!

thebsea

Vy25,
Our AD is the same day! Anyway, there no timing to say when must purchase the wedding bands. But do note that u will need the bands before ur PS. I also took 3 months to search for the right one, and we juz got ours recently.

pinkie_cloud

Hi Chuababy, got it! Thanks a ton!
I've just fixed my wedding date on 14 Nov. Decided not to wait for the tong shu since geomancer had already given us the auspicious months.
Anyway BTBs, do you all know of venues that offers 60 tables?

aggiegal

Mashi> What's your email addy? So that I email you the contact. But my HB forgot the address, so you will have to call them to ask about their address.

Twinfairy> Oh yeah, my HB went back to buy the solitaire and the sales guy rem him as well. The guy is really nice and gave my HB staff discount and allowed certain credit card's discount in addition.

Some will worry that it may appear empowering. So depends on your style. Also impt is that ur eternity ring be not to thick, otherwise ur PR rock will look smaller, ur HB will look heartache one, cos ur rock size quite big, then it is made looking smaller cos ur eternity ring is thicker.

A general rule will be the size of your finger (if slim and slender, can get a thinner band, if meaty-looking, may have to balance out by getting slightly thicker.) The band that hold your PR rock is a good guideline. In total, if you wear the rings togther, the thickness should be just nice for your finger. Then you won't feel overwhelmed. Then ur FH's WB's thickness will complement ur rings' thickness.

But if you chose to wear separately, you can afford to wear a thicker eternity ring, but of course, the thicker, the more ex it will be. So think of your budget.

Anyway, nowadays SG gals have no fixed mindset that you muz wear them together or not. So no worries =) Up to you de.

joyjoy1976

My wedding will be in May 09.I am considering 2 dates which is given by a fengshui master. That is 10 May or 16 May. Depending which hotel I am taking and the available dates, then I will decide the date.

min0511

hello girls....i've signed a package with whitelink last wkend...was the 2nd bridal shop i went in...package given was more or less the same, the price just hit below my budget &amp; my HTB was feeling ok...so we signed...

yew

Hi LaReine,

Actually i am also waiting for the Tong Shu to be out. Do you know when will it be out? I heard from others that it will out around july but have not see the new Tong Shu yet.

Hi Edazz

I got mine at Lee Hwa, wow that was like 1 year ago liao....

Anyway any requirement that you have for the wedding band? If you want to MTM then you can go for fairy inc quite nice....

zerochristy

Peareys> Ok I will sent you my Wedding Band pic buy give me some time cause my home PC is down with virus have to wait for my FH to fix it us aft he comes back from overseas.

Aggiegal> Hahah seems like all FH are the same just approval can liao. But I did tell m FH that this time I do wedding matters and for the house Reno he do and hopefully I can do the approval ahahahahah!

If really up to you if you want the Nubra, I can give you the link where other brides are buying from Singapore Nubra and they can match the US website price.
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/325698.html?1215475755

No la I think its ok if you say its Rachel. Hahahah its ok if you “expose†her. Actually she is quite famous in the SG Brides forum liao. Her last ID kana logout dun know what happen… we are guessing other pple dun like her. Hahahah. Anyway she is still back.

Yap sure will sent you the wedding band pic. Just that my home com is down so got to wait a bit.

zerochristy

Update with Jacqueline’s date

2 Oct 09 - hui xiang
3 Oct 09 - mab3ru | Poseidon_gal
4 Oct 09 - Hui Ling | Christy
9 Oct 09 - Karine
10 Oct 09 - Hoonie | Verena (Church) | Jacqueline
11 Oct 09 - Verena (Wedding Dinner)
16 Oct 09 - Mashi Mashi
21 Oct 09 – Michelle Yong
24 Oct 09 - Supergal
25 Oct 09 - Queen | Blurrypinky | ada sheu | II
27 Oct 09 - Nana
28 Oct 09 - sotong_gal
30 Oct 09 – Aggiegal
31 Oct 09 – Peareys

gracelourdes

yeah, Stella...raywen has some good advice to heed here...

my give is...dun take tis personally Stella...remember tat times have changed and that it's no longer how many tables or how much si dian jin ur in-laws give u would determine whether ur life with ur future husband would be better based on the riches of his family...

gal, these days more modern liao...to be honest lah, for me, if my in-laws were to give anything, i would feel even more burdened...cos i've always been brought up to feel tat nothing comes for free...if they give u more, they will expect more frm u as a daughter-in-law...tat's just my 2 cents' worth...

also, could it be cos his family is pretty tight with money? if so, then can't really blame them lah...like raywen said, it's a give and take situation...

like for us, we refuse to take anything and everything is paid for by us both...even for the si dian jin (usually supposed to be paid by in-laws) also paid by him cos we dun want either side's parents to feel burdened by our wedding...it's our wedding so we want to bear the financial burden ourselves...all family, relatives and frds come to share our special day and bless us which is more than enough for us

dun be upset ok, Stella? definitely they dun mean it tat way lah...perhaps ur hb passed msg n say it in a v blunt way to make it sound like tat to u...i'm sure they would love to have u as part of their family also

*hugs and kisses*

starskyz

heyhey.. me oso coming to the ring selection stage.. am looking around for something that we both like..

vy25> if you are worried abt the bands not fitting, rem to ask the sales exe whether the ring design can be altered in the future if it doesn't fit.. and also how much will it cost.. me wanted a full eternity ring initially, but due to the non-alteration factor, i'm considering half eternity instd.. but that req customisation..

i agree with thebsea, if you need the bands before your PS, allow 2 mths for customisation. Happy shopping!!!

min0511

i havent go source yet...haha....must look see now...heard we can engrave words...i mean words, not date or name on the wedding band....where got so much space ah?

strawberrie1983

Thanks Raywen for ur advice! Well right now after my bf explain to his parents last nite, they some sort agreed on Carlton htl..and they had chosen the dishes, awaiting to pass the permission to my parents to see whther the dishes that they chose, is it ok anot..regards to the 2 tables for bride..my bf say might be his mum is nt sure of how the procedures go cause this is her first time handling wedding oso..so in the sense i cant blame her..but i realli feel very sad last nite..tears keep on dropping..i told my mum abt this..and mym goes on saying why i chose this bf..she had told me to look for others already but i still stick to my current bf..well my bf previously stdied in ITE, nt very well off, my parents dun realli like him..lucky my bf is hardwrking to get into poly..results nt bad oso..reason i do nt leave him cause we had been together for abt 8yrs this dec..is so long..u wan me to leave him jux becoz he is nt rich enough to gif mi gd life..well who do nt want a rich husband??? my mum and dad went thru hard life before, of coz as a parent u would want ur child to enjoy life when she get married..definitely i understand this..but when it comes to love..outsiders will nt understand..and when my mum told mi last nite, is nt bery reasonable that my bf parents jux offered 2 tables..even my mum dun believe..and then she pop out stopid qn again.."Who ask u to choose my current bf" so sianz and sad to hear that lo..i am so stress up lo! now his parents had agreed on taking up, at my end i dono is they are being forced or they are realli willing to take this htl?
suddenly i had a feeling to call off this wedding..that what i told my bf last nite..feel like delaying the wedding..the mood is no longer there..when i received call from carlton htl that the 1st couple had opt out, i was so HAPPY! but when i heard the news, my heart sunk!

edazz

min, i tink can if u get thicker bands..but of cos not so many words also...
requirements..tinking of a half eternity band and a simple one for bf...is fairy inc cheaper than the usual ones?

HI Edazz
Not too sure maybe more ex compared to the conventional brands because it is MTM... you may want to check it out.

Hi Min

Well it depends on the design of the band as well for the number of characters to be engraved. Like for my case, my hubby chose a plain band and he can engrave more than mine. My is those that have a row of diamonds on top of the band and below plain. So I have more limiations on the amount of words that I can engrave and even altering the size also cannot be done.

So gals where do you plan to get the wedding bands? Just take note that you need to at least make sure that you have to get the bands at least 2 months before your wedding. This is because in case of size or wrong engraving or stock issues....

HI Edazz

Well Fairy Inc may be more ex compared to the conventional brands because if you want to make to measure....

Hi Min
Well the limitations of the words for engrave will depend on the design. Take for my case, my hubby chose a plain band so he could engrave more characters than mine. For me, I chose a band that has a row of diamonds on the top and plain at the bottom so I was not able to engrave more words and even size cannot be altered.

glympse

Wow, so far there are 5 of us getting married on 11 July 2009:

- femme
- juztea
- Screwby-Do
- Zhiling
- glympse

Popular date

Btw femme, I'm thinking of having The Wedding Present as my BS too

gracelourdes

Stella, i totally know how u feel...cos i have gone thru the same thing as u or rather, v similar situation...my mum also said tat abt my bf...but who cares? i told her tat my bf is paying for most of the wedding...u noe wat she said? he shd man...he's marrying u leh...u tik wat? so easy ar? when i heard tat, suddenly she just felt like a stranger to me...macham like i'm just a tool to get more $$ like tat...of cos parents always use their past to help determine their children's future...but for me, i refused to succumb to such things...

just told her tat no matter wat happens, even if a guy whom i married can be rich cos of his family, he can also go bankrupt in 1 day...so wat kind of security do we have in money man?

of cos, i'm not a martyr or saint to start saying tat money isn't impt...of cos it's impt, tat's y we r all working...but it's not the whole essence of wat n how we live...u noe wat i'm saying?

when i told my mum tat i dun want any si dian jin (tot it's quite ridiculous cos it would be left in one corner where i wouldn't even touch it), she said i'm siao...said tat it's wat i deserved frm my in-laws...

watever it is, Stella...dun be influenced to tik tat the amt of pin jin n tables given by ur parents-in-law to ur family is a matter of face n how much pride they placed in u...it's totally nothing like tat these days...all those r usually for formality sake lah...

also, like wat ur hb said, it's a first wedding for his parents in their family...it's normal for them to be undecisive abt it...