(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

christy> guess wat....uncle jason replied...hahahaha...he say he doing a reno job above my flr...hahahaha....sooo Qiao...he say can come down take a look but i will only be there over the wkend....soo asking if he can on wkend....no wonder last wkend...i saw those container parked @ the loading bay...i was telling my hubby...got ppl doing big reno...soo it uncle jason.... :D

if engage a contractor, do we give him the design we want? becos i noe ID will include the design for us....but not sure with contractor...

Christy> colin from renozone called me. His schedule appears to be v tight..so he will let his other ID, Judy, handle my reno. U heard of her? Tink she will call and arrange to meet up wif me really soon...

Val> Judy have not heard of her le... you give a try lor and see how you fell abt her and see how details is her work... if she got lots of mistake than you know you going to have a hard time next time cause lots of mistake for your reno.

I remember that colin offer me if I take his electrician hor he give 10% off his rates for the elect part. They usually have rates for the elect part ask for it too.

Another way to ask for Judy ref. is you go to RenoTalk and ask anyone take her before and ask from there. There is this guy call Miker... from Renozone heard lots of complaint.. dun take him hor.

If you still feel not comfortable with Judy than just call Colin again and say you not comfortable working w Judy and ask if Colin can take on from where you all stop at.

christy> ya lor. went to renotalk but see nothing abt judy. googla search also can't find. i meet her first and c how. But colin sounds nice over the phone, very sincere and he ensures me that judy customer service's is gd..heh.

Val> Colin is very nice one.. seen him a few times but hubby hor kept wanting the "stupid" uncle to do our house than my hubby also kana lor. Even my hubby say prefer Colin.

Feimei> No, also can't find website, can't find email either. Saw the pics in the link given by Butters.

Butters> if u have the email to 17degrees, do leet us know ya? thanks. =)

Christy> Ur hubby funny sia. Y he choose the uncle when he liked colin? Yup, he has gd review in renotalk.

Christy> May i know wat u mean by alot of mistakes? how to spot huh? Coz rite now, i only give them my floorplan and tell them i want to do tv concole, kitchen and mbr. I didn't tell them wat theme or color yet wor.

1 more ID get back to me already and said he wana meet on thurs and that he shld be able to get the drawings done by this thurs. Oh man..so efficient sia! Coz i didn't provide much info other than the floor plan. heh..

Hmm..can u gals tell me waht can i xpect for the meetup? And wat to look out for during the meeting? thanks. =)

Val> Haha I also did not say properly.. My hubby choose the uncle cause he have seen his work and review fm frnd. Than he did not ask Colin to see his ongoing project and I think he lazy lor... than he trusted the Uncle so he choose the uncle. Who know this uncle sometime give us hard time. So if my hubby got 2nd chance he will choose Colin liao.

Mistake ah... ok eg. if you mention 10 things to fix and ID quote only 5 things in his quote that the kinda of mistake I am saying careless... like that if my whole how pass to this kinda of ID sure will fall apart one...

Once you got more quote take time to put all the quote together than compare why this ID put more of this and the other put less.. is it needed.

Meet up is usually you tell your ID what you want to do. Than you listen to ID idea and advise and see if workable or not... use what the 1st ID say to you and apply to the 2nd ID and see what the 2nd ID say... of coz dun say its the 1st ID idea la.. than you learnt frm there..

Butters> Oh Gown 4 dun ve long train... I taking pic at a big building.. so for the effects, got to choose a long one.. now i pray that the pics look good.. hahaah cos the gowns are not much to look at!

Looks like everyone is on the reno fever now....

Finally agreed with HB to get FS master... he told me I cannot get any furniture delivered during 7th month.. even though it is a superstition but think better follow.. dun want any spirits hiding in the furniture when it is delivered.

I only talked to 2 contractors and 1 ID then choose the ID le.. hahaha very haphazard ah

feimei> blur's website is http://lemmijessicawedding.multiply.com/journal

val> i dun hv 17degrees website leh, dun think they hv one. told hubby to contact them cos not in town. dun think he has done so..

meeting wif the ID last sat was ok, she seems nice.. like wat christy said, we let the ID know wat we need to be done, most of the time, she jz said ok but she did gv some opinions on certain things that she didnt think is viable, hv pretty good feeling abt her tho.. but she needs 1.5weeks to come bk to me wif the quotations. will let u gers know then..

blur_btb> no lah.. think they are nice but more impt i think is MUA do a good job wif hair and makeup..

Gosh...all the popular IDs like not available. =)Another one got back to me and said he is tied up wif current projects and another colleage will work with me instead...haiz..

ya cos think after 7th month, they will need to rush projects b4 the new year..
cos if they hv too many projects on hand and u insist on them, they might not be able to concentrate to do a good job anyways..

jz keep trying lor.. but think even if they are not the popular ones, as long as u feel they are responsible, then shud be ok bah.. jz compare their quotations?

FeiMei> I email you already Jason hp no.

Reno> I am glad I can help you girls around on reno matters LOL... never knew I can help in reno too.. cause I really hate the process :P

But but.... thou I hate reno I am still willing to help so just shot and ask I see if I can help I will help

val> ya...the template cannot download, he must grant u permission...but he also haven reply me....as Christy mentioned...he was quite tied up...soo it may take awhile to reply our email bahh...

christy> again...appreciated ur help...true...reno is such a big hazzel....i oso hate it but somehow...think further down...after completion...Woww...is like enjoy time!!!!...hahahahaha... :D

blur_btb> saw ur gowns...all r beautiful...
i like gown 5 but as u say, it's heavy...but i oso think gown 4 nicer....u selected gown 2?

FeiMei> Heheh okie la.. share share information :P

Well now I am thinking. 1 yr ago just got ROM and so fast next mth is final fitting liao and I am off to my AD

christy> ya....time flies....just a blink of eye...hahahaha....but time in office damn slow....tire n yet hv to work full shift...arrghhh

FeiMei.. in the end I changed gown 1 to gown 5.. the heavy gown cos i went to BS de blog and saw that its very nice in big outdoor places.. hahaha...

blur_btb> good...aiyaaa...once in lifetime...jus 'Ren' for the heavy lol...but it will leave u beautiful image of urself....sooo it's worth it lah....good choice!!!!

christy> so is everything for ur AD now settled?

blur_btb> bring along lots of water and helper! haha.. cant wait to see the photos..

ya agree wif feimei, after the whole reno hassle, the completed project will be such a fulfillment.. :D

christy> how much did ur tv feature wall cost?

FeiMei> Ya totally agree with you office time is so slow... I got nothing to do in office sometimes. Hahah thats why I quite ONs in the forum lor. LOL

Butters> AD ah... actually I plan everyting long time ago... just now and than go thru abit to see okie or not.. than with the recent unhappy incident of buffet with 2 moms.. than I stop looking in the AD thingy again. Now waiting for hubby to come back and he settle with his mom first.. telling her "Do not invite lots of pple" than follow by my mom side on her buffet tell her I dun like lots of pple come for buffet. Than call up MUA again to rearrange the MU time... not forgeting my PG too

My feature wall ah.. was quoteded the follow:

Install feature wall for LCD TV mounted deco panel at L2600mm S$750. (We can make feature wall from top to knee length... but we choose to make a left to right (wall to wall) feature wall to keep it simple and to suit the theam) Just bear in mind that we did not make tv console so the tv console is till abt knee length height so that our tv console can be slot under the tv feature wall. We choose a more expensive laminated material and I guess the contractor wanted to charge us we say he did not say ma.. cause he just throw the laminated book to us.. so we dun care and our design is very simple sure he got earn quite a far bit... so we think he should bear the cost of the ex laminate. Hope this information helps.

Blur btb> yup saw ur pics. Gown 5 is v nice. i like it v much too. I'm sure ur photos will turn out wonderful. heh

Everyone> juz sent an e-mail to 1 ID but attn to another different ID from different firm. Blur me. guess i was still sleppy then. Die la..so malu..Hope the ID i sent to juz now won't find me insincere...=(

Christy> ur idea is interesting...slot tv console under feature wall. Does it fit jus nice underneath? Hv pic to share?

Gals> u gals planning to have bathtub in the bathroom of the mbr? I actally plan to...but one of the ID commented that my bathrm too small for even the smallest tub. So no choice hv to gif up the idea.

Gals> btw, is feature wall and wallpaper works the same? i saw some pics of mbr and living room in mag wif very very pretty wallpapers.

val> christy's renotalk t-blog http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=20517&st=160
her feature wall photo is there..

heh.. i kaypoh answer for her...

i believe feature wall (which is a plank of wood tt u install on ur actual wall) is so tt u can mount ur flat screen tv on to, so can hide the ugly wiring behind it. if u wanna do wallpaper, u can stick on ur feature wall too but if u jz the wallpaper on ur actual wall where u will put ur tv, then maybe u'd have to get those free-standing tv console for flat screen tv (so can hide the wiring, less messy looking)

but wallpapering can cost quite a bit too.. i came across this website tt has really cool wallpaper
http://www.wallpaperdecor.com.au/wallpaper.html
but think the company is from Australia so dun think they do overseas.. :P

christy> ya tt is helpful. will use it as comparison to quotations i get.. :D great idea doing it wall-to-wall too..

Val> Ya thats what we do slot the TV console under the feature wall... well its not easy hor... tell you first. You got to find the tv console first than get the diamention fm the furniture shop... get the pic as well so you can show to your ID to match your feature wall colour.

Your ID will than start to do a feature wall to match your tv console... cannot be tv console too small than feature wall too long.

I got a hard time thinking what to design for the feature wall until we go for a wall to wall... yet so simple but take so much time to think... Hahaha

Dun take bathtub la.. expensive and cannot bring along to your new house next time. And you got to scrub the tub one hor..

Wallpaper hor is expensive.. for 1 wall in a room is abt S$300+ le and it dun last quite long.. will peel in long run... and the next time you tear it down what you going to do to your wall.. paint it?? than you got teake effort cause the wall kana peal buy wall paper and you have to clean it up before painting.

Butters> Thanks for helping me out.. hahaha... elso got to find the link again.

Oh... ya I saw this before... but no use for me already and I did not used it.. usually I read forum and ask for recommandation. Than short list 3. Than read more on the 3 than start droping again if have. Than I went with Royal Fanco.

Christy> Will not take the bathtub la. Thank thanks. Will meet one of the shortlisted ID tme. So excited. =)

Royal Fanco also at Jln besar rite?

Butters> thanks. I will take the feature wall then. Cheaper. heh. u intending to use wallpaper?

val> actually if u not looking for anything fancy then jz need to buy a tv console, dun need to do a feature wall.. cos like christy mentioned b4, IDs charge quite high for carpentry, stuff like feature walls...

ya initially but then found out that it costs a bomb to do wallpaper.. so dropped the idea. maybe wall decals bah.. :P

ya royal franco in jalan besar. chk the link i jz posted on top.. there's a map for area ard jalan besar.. points out where royal franco is..

which ID u meeting tmr?

i oso like christy's wall feature for tv...becos i will be mouting my tv on the wall too....oso cracking my head to think of putting something behind so that i can up the tv...tot of cover with wallpaper but it's true...wallpaper is ex and wun last...will check out with whoever doing my kitchen reno...c can bundle with such wall feature along...actually, Ikea got sell oso but very 'dead' feel... -_-"

christy> i reading through renotalk....is uncle ah soon and uncle jason the same person? i realli get confused....and i going to finished reading ur t-blog...wah seyy....u very steady leh...sooo promptly update in the blog...i wish to start mine but i noe i wun hv the time to maintain it...so beta dun start it....

Butters> Solutiono interior design, recommended by someone fr singaporebride forum, but can't rem who already.

link: http://www.solutino.com/InteriorDesign.html

Will meet up with kevin from renozone nxt wk. turn out that this kelvin is a fren of a fren's hubby...

Btw, how much is wall decals?

As for doing feature wall or juz buy tv console, i shall tink tink first. the ID said my area v small, dO feature wall looks more spacious. Any i find featre wall looks better too. heh. If the quote comes back too ex, then mayb we drop the idea of feature wall too lor. =)

Feimei> i tink i read somewhere that uncle soon and uncle jason r related?! Can't rem le...i also confused lor...

val> my tv console will be the plank wood from Ikea...and is 'floating' one...becos our theme is contemporary or minimalisim...sooo everything will be as simple as possible...moreover...my living rm is sqaurish, dun wan to fill the area with too many furniture...so the floating console will be the choice...

let me take some pic this wken n show u gals here...hahahaha...now is much cleaner...except for one of the common rm...becos it's rented out...soo the wall quite dirty...will not show u all that rm...hahahaahha....

val> one more thing....must know what theme u wan...also easy for u to talk to ur ID/contractor...becos they sure ask u looking @ which theme....things like that...if u say anything...they sure suggest the most ex one....haahahahahaha....

hahahahha....for sure minimalism will be cheapest...hahahahahabe coz got less thing to do...most ex will be Oriental bahhh...becoz everything is like those king n queen use... =P

christy> not sure u came across this thread in renotalk, this forumer: blackcar, got one foto of his foyer with the buddha wall decal....i think alot of ppl asking him where can we get it but he seem no rpely de...i oso interested to know where to get...my hubby likes...

feimei> i see. then i shall consider minimalist theme too. heh.

yup, am interested in the wall decals 2. any ideas where to get nice ones and how much do they usually cost? thank thanks. =)