(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

Blur btb> saw ur website. nice nice. =) so sweet of u to record the weding preparation down. My customary also nxt yr, but will be in march.

christy> sort of...many of my colleagues either on medical leave or annual leave. heh. So happy that today is fri. Long wkend sia. yay! Perhaps the gals on leave today too...=)

val> u wan Gerald's package price for AD ha? i only took for ROM cos not hvg AD, so not sure.. but i m supposed to meet him tonite, so will ask him to reply u.. u sent him email from his website?

ya, 1 carat.. :D

christy> theres some furniture place at kaki bukit also rite? read somewhere in some forum.. heh.. i jz recce the ones more accessible 1st cos still hvnt 1st appt, think maybe yr end got sale also, then can rent a car and can go all the not so easy to get to places.. :P

butters> yup, left my e-mail in his website. mine is a wedding lunch. so perhaps no need full day pg, half day can already. thanks. wow, i cxarat. lucky u! =)

Valerie... I also ask Gerald to give me a quote.. He got back quite late as something went wrong with his email address...

ok i ask him to go chk his website.. :D
heh, thanks.. hubby said he had to research abt 6mths on diamonds b4 choosing tt particular one, tot he q funny..

blur_btb> u managed to convince ur hubby to chg PG yet?

christy> can do me a favor and ask ur father if he has heard of my FS master? his name is Kang Hui Huat. apparently a lot of hubby's colleagues use his services.. thanks

val> Gerald said he put note on his blog site asking u for ur email address.. anyways, he said his AD price starts at $1300.. y dun u give him ur email add and discuss with him..

butters> researched for 6 mths? ur hubby v sweet leh. i duno whehter mine did any research or not..i figured he juz pop by at lee hwa one fine day and pick one up de.

Val> Hahaha relex in office.. hah I also like that too.

Oh by the way, I happen to talk to my dad and if you want his service you can call him directly on his mobile and say my name, I recommand one la so he know and can take care of your case if you happen to be his customer next time.

If you need his mobile no. I will PM you la

Butters> Ya I heard kaki bukit have but like the famous one is at Sungei Kadut and price cheaper cause the shop is also warehouse too like around the corner or back of the shop. If you happen to go Sungei Kadut I think one day also cannot see finish. But I read lots of forum and lots of shop have very bad delivery service, like delay shipment, to wrong delivery, spoil item and dun want to take back for exchange and want customer to accept as it is but willing to give 5% discount on the spot. One shop I heard very bad service is Red Apple. So be careful when you buy furniture and never ever give full payment only a deposit will do cause you might not know if the shop will close shop or not.

Butters> I check for you tomorrow what he is at my place. But personally have not heard of him. Heard of Master Yu Long Zi, Master Tan Khoon Yong, Master Pang. These are the few I know nia.... hahaha.

All> By the way if you all need to take house loan I also got lobang... cause my brother have set up a business. Re-finance also can help. Haha
seems like I got lots of things to share.

Butters> Havent leh... he yest scold me... ask me why I want to change.. cos earning more must spend more izzit (i just got a new job with a 30% pay increment).. sigh.. he never understands de.... i already minimise spending for the entire wedding le...

Christy> thanks. will keep that in mind. Btw, heard winters international at the Sungei Kadut also v bad. Yup, if i wana get a master, will call ur dad. =)

Val> I heard lots of furniture shop got delivery pro... even Barang Barang. Was kinda shock that Barang also got such pro cause we brought a sofa from them... than indeed they say no stock for my sofa... than I told them.. the sales person told me that there is 2 units of the sofa at the point of sale le. See la... dun know how they manage the stock one... than I call the salesman and say I dun care I need the sofa cause I getting married and house got buffet cannot expect guest to sit on the floor.. hahaha then the sofa came :P

Oh btw I PM you my dad's mobile no.

Christy> Hahah.. this shows that we have to be aggressive in order to get our stuff.. I am quite nervous also, especially for Novena.. Now I am pending one TV console... Wanted to get white to fit a retro theme in the living room but most home theatre speakers are black!

christy> yup. Rec'd ur email liao. Thanks. How much is ur sofa? I walked by barang at marina last wk. They hv really nice stuff. Saw one bench that i like, tink will drop by this wk again. =)

Blur BTB> Just pray and hope they delivery your item.

Val> Sofa is 1500 incl of 1 extra sofa cover. Bench ah you can get from Unikhome its quite cheap there if you like wood stuff.

FeiMei> Blinds you just have to get a damp cloth and wipe only

I also got headache. I copy the following fm the July 09 Thread.

Quite dissapointed on my side on my actual day wedding. My MIL will be having buffet at her side than we kept telling her time to time do not invite so many people. Can you imagine she total no of pple is 110 le thou buffet is spread 1st part 80+ pax than 2nd part is 30+ pax. I am totally disagree on the no of pax. And on the other hand suddenly my mom will be inviting pple too on her side she suddenly tell me to stay for buffet (we will have tea-serving at my mom place first) than go over to my IL place... I told her I got to leave at 9am and who ever she invitie I dun care already.

I told my hubby that I am going to cancel my actual day cause I dun want all this big bang.

Christy> Oh dear... what happened??? It sounds like a huge number of people leh... But I tot the usual practise is always order less than the number of pple for buffet? Since the amount of food will be mad...

How come I cannot see the July 09 ROM thread?

Blur Btb> MIL that side they order fm Neo Garden and I heard that their food is like when you order for 10 pax its just enought for 10 pax.

I am having pressure fm both party... lor.. my actual day I want only... small gathering within the family only... no invites of ralatives or frnds. If I want a big bang I would have done early with wedding dinner.... if not I would not request for a no wedding dinner "wedding"

My MIL very sneky one kept try her luck in inviting everyone she know. My mom want to invite her frnd and ralative and want us to stay for buffet than proceed to MIL house. From what I calculated the time is not enough. Told my mom all this liao she still say where got pple come and eat buffet and no bride & groom around I say got his MIL lor.

I sms my mom being nasty saying that we want a simply wedding and dun invite lots of pple.. even his mom also invite lots of pple so we are decided to cancel the actual day.

I see who win like that.

christy> Relax....deep breadth in....relax...
sure have such a conflict when hving AD...but do it @ a peace mind lah...dun get fred up by all these stuffs....i know, say is easy than do it but no matter what, just hv to try lol...it's a happy event, dun make it as a unhapi even to rem...explain to ur mama...mother n daughter, she will understand how u feel....as for IL side...get ur hubby to tok her around....becos she sure listen to her son's words, right?

dun get brood over it...two more mths, must stay pretty n maintain a happy mood....

FeiMei> I really can switch off anytime le. Can you imagine I totally switch off my mind already... and sneefing away the nose inhaler. I dun feel well with all this sort of changes.

I think maybe I am in depression mode liao.. dun feel like working and waking up this morning. Dun feel like going to my IL house for dinner too... thought of cancel the wedding and thought of hidding on my actual day.

Ya Christy... dun get upset... its your big day ah... and i m sure your mum would want the best for you... as for the MIL, i would suggest not to go head on with her... pyscho your husband to go and talk to the mum and see? So that part I agree with Feimei...

christy> ya dun get so upset k.. just have a talk with ur mom and explain to her that u have time contraints, and cant stay for buffet cos u already told her u have to leave by 9am... unless the ppl she invite wud like to come at 8am to see u and have breakfast instead... gv her tt option lah.. then she cant say u being unreasonable rite...

then for ur MIL side jz ask ur hubby to talk to her.. but think if she already invited then jz tell her tt u will not do any entertaining... will jz sit n talk to a few relatives..

tok to them lah.. try to explain? i mean it is ur wedding u shud be able to do wat u wan instead of ppl forcing their will on u..

All> Hi thank for your comfort and sharing of options with me.

Talk to hubby yesterday as he is not in town... so actually quite difficult to manage some things on my own. Anyway hubby say just tell any mom that if any changes at the mean time wait for hubby to come back first than talk cause hubby will not agree to any changes just like that.

But at least I feel much better today than yesterday. Plus am looking forward to tomorrow cause got delivery of furniture SMALL YEAH!!!

Christy> Hope all was smooth for your furniture delivery! It is great that your hubby backs you up in this incident... very glad for you for the supportive hubby... better than mine.. I have just this nagging feeling that the battle between the ILs and me are about to begin...

I told my HB that i never want to let the ILs have keys to our new place... it is only in renovation now and they are shifting a bag of cement n sand fr there for other usage already... that sounds a bit scary to me... and MIL keep saying that i shd use the curtain type that is left behind by ex owner which i totally hate... I dislike it more when the HB look to me and hinting for me to agree so that he can save some $$... She also lament that we spent a lot renovating... sigh... I am glad that i earn more than the HB... a lot of things that i want, i depend on myself... meeting with a PG this afternoon...

blur_btb> huh... u mean ur ILs actually went to ur new place and took a bag of cement and sand? tts so crazy! omg.. if ur hubby so into saving $$ then he shud say something abt tt incident rite..

think if my ILs did tt, my hubby will definitely be more pissed off than me..

cool.. which PG u meeting wif?

Butters> Heng ah.. the ID just finished work today and they dun mind giving us the packet of cement and sand.. but the whole incident i not mind whether we have to pay for that or not, is the action of it that seems a bit funi ah....

My HB is very into saving money, so he dun mind ah...

Ooh, i m supposed to meet Gerald but he today not free, so postponed... I ask for your advice ah cos I have never met any PG before, what would we need to communicate? So far, I like what I see he has done ah...

blur_btb> oh i tot tt u wud hv to pay for the extra packet of cement n sand but if ur ILs are not doing reno to their house, wont it jz take up space? ya its very funny actually but think if it actually happened to me, dun think i'd find it funny tho..

er.. i honestly only met wif 1 other PG apart from Gerald.. the 1st one i tot his work on website looks ok (and he provided 2 PGs for 1 price) but somehow when met them in person, the hard copies they showed me was really just ok only and didnt really feel any connection with them..

so Gerald was always at the back of my mind cos he was my fren's wedding PG and my fren is his SIL.. :P and he always have this really cool artistic type kinda look.. plus i like all the photos he took.. :P so tts why hired him.

but since u oredi like his work in the website.. guess u can ask to see his work in hard copy? wat his package includes? other than tt i guess is whether u guys can click? tt time actually after he told me the price and package, i just spoke to him over the phone to confirm and paid a deposit a few days after.. but i do think he is also quite professional which i appreciate..

hope that helps... when are u meeting with him again?

Blur BTB> 90% okie for the delivery cause one of the book shelves drawer no handle and internal is peeling so I get the delivery man to bring it back for exchange plus I hold back S$100 for it so at least they will come back for the money. Hubby better be supportive else I kill him¡­ Hahaha cause he travel most of the time and I am alone at home lor.

I also quite upset when my hubby told me right after the reno that he will be giving 1 set of the house keys to my IL. Than he know I not happy plus he did not inform me on this before so I give him black face. Hubby tell me that I can give a set of the keys to my mom to be fair. That I quickly keep the key till now he forget lor. Hahaha

I dun think the curtain track will be expensive¡­ if you intend to get curtain I would get the curtain track together.. want everything in the house new
But if you are paying for it you hubby got no say right?? Cause I pay for the curtain le.. so hubby go no say.

Christy> Hope the issue with ur mum and MIL is resolved by now. =) Oh..ur hubby passing e keys to ut MIL? Ur MIL ask for it? If ur MIL is those fussy and kaypo sort then will b bad...my fren's MIL drop by at her place for a surprise visit every now or then. Kinda stressful for her it seems..

Blur btb> ur in-laws really into saving money sia. Mine in-laws too. They even ask me to get those "gas" cylinder or use charcoal for cooking in future. Coz they still use charcoal. Save money....

Val> The buffet & wedding thingy I am putting aside first waiting for my hubby to come back than see how. Ya my husband plan to pass a set of key to my IL he say all his brother do that and he follow also. But till now he did not give the keys to my IL yet and I think he totally forget about it cause I kept it :P I dun know if my MIL ask for the key or not.. I better not ask else later my hubby remember again. Well I not too used to let pple have my house keys lor.. cause all the while I been staying outside alone... aft ROM than hubby stay with me.

Christy> wow..u v independent! =) Me still stayin with mom and my siblings till aft my customary. I wana stick ard as long as possible coz i will miz them madly when me and hubby move into our new flat...

Val> Hahah ya very independent when my hubby is my bf that time I do all things myself and I am so not used to have someone caring or taking care of me... Ya i understand what you mena by sticking to your family as much as possible. I do something miss my family but not the daily sort.. if I got nothing to do at home than I start missing hahaha.

My hubby say I cannot stay with IL or my mom. I think I am so independent that everything I am doing it myself and if anything is not done my way I get flar up abt it. Cause I one-man show mah.

Christy> yup...i get wat u mean. I also do my own stuff at hm. But bcoz i'm the eldest and fr a single parent family, i tend to b very worrisome etc. I settle most of the impt stuff at hm such as bills, insurance, groceries etc. So now, cannot imagine who will settle these when i not there..haha

gals> is 20K budget for renovation on 4 rm premium flat too little? Am still waiting for quotes. SO far no reply yet...=(

val> hahahaha....u r the same type with me....do everything in the hse...even my mama was ard, i will do everything and now left my dad, my bro seldom come hm (stay w his gf)....sooo whole hse on me... -_-" anyway, oledi let my bro aware that i will be moving out n he jolly well hv to 'inherit' all these things....of cos i will be back but not soo often.... =P new hm in west, current hm in east.....

my whole body aching....do 1st round cleaning over the wkend....realli very enjoying...slowly doing up the hm...Wowww... @.@ 20k for ur hm....now i reduce to not doing the bathrooms...will onli change toilet bowls n basin...will onli do kitchen....

gals> dunnu my hubby will gif the keys to my IL anot leh....anyway, i dun mind bahhh....they r the ok type... :D

christy> u like those westerners, they leave parents house when teenagers and be independent.. think tts quite good actually..

val> how long has it been since u asked for quotations? my hubby emailed a few IDs abt a week ago but onli 1 revert bk to us.. the other said need maybe abt 2weeks.. prob think we r not tt impt cos told them we only will get keys in 3mths... :P

im telling the IDs tt we budget for 35k (actually according to hubby can max till 40k) cos think they always come bk with quotations tt exceeds budget anyways..

feimei> u ok with the tiles in the bathroom? so envy.. wanna do up my own place too... sooooon...!!

feimei> ya...same. Tink most fathers and brothers like that de. =) I also hv 1 younger bro. But we try not to let him do too much coz he is taking his o levels this yr. heh..

butters> I waited for abt 2 wks le. My original budget was 30k but everyone told me budget set too high oredi since mine is a premium flat so i adjust abit. Mayb my budget too little?

Val> Haha like me too worried this and that.. no good for the health le.. cause of too worried I get headache weekly¡­ at least 2 times a week. I wonder if I want to see doc about this cause not healthy at all and its been some time already. I think personally I get too stress up till I get sick most of the time. Got to learn to let go lor no choice.. start passing the bills to the one next in line and monitor if bills are being settle or not lor.

20K what will you be doing and are you the first owner of the house.. usually ifs a new house its cheaper to reno de

FeiMei> Hahah you dun mind.. rememeber to remind your IL or parents to always drop you a call before coming¡­

Butters> Ya but staring you struggle like hell lor.. no money and got to get cash from frnds and work and payback lor.

For Reno> Set aside 7K for VO and elect for the whole house. VO is things you add after signing the reno contract elect of the house will be about 3-5k depending what you do.

If no hacking and dismantle works is done you can save 2k. Painting for whole house 1.2k can be done usually you are given max 5 colour. If you are doing tiling work the reno company will quote you incl of tiles with how much per tile cost (eg) 2.60 per tile. But usually reno ID is flexi they can allow you choose tiles up to 3.00 per tile and maybe the other type of tile you choose cheaper. Reno part most ex is the carpentry¡­ if you dun intend to stay for long dun do too much cause the next buyer will tear down too and you will be wasting your money in 5 yrs time. Take note that for water piping works ask for stainless steel cause it look nicer but a bit ex than copper.

Christy> mine is a new premiun 4 rm flat and i'm the first owner. =) Tink tiles and toilet are ready le. Thanks for the tips. Yup...learning to let go now...thanks =)

val> i hv a elder brother, i m the youngest...he was dote by parents since young n i m the independent one, so they dun care much on me...i start working @ 12yrs old...to earn my own pocket $$...i dun take allowance since sec one...soo everything on myself... -_-" i also those worriesome type...haiz~~~difficult to let go those type as well....

blur_btb> envy u...hubby let u spend if using ur own $$...mine will nag becoz he will always remind me...: "Must save"....hhahahahaah....

christy> Perfect...thanks for sharing ur valuable tips...
we will be painting ourself....so will save on that...toilet tiles...will try to wash n wash again...hahahaha...becoz beside the toilet bowl n basin, those toilet fixture, we can fix ourself... :D hahahaha....i sounded like very stingy horrr...save here....save there....although we earn quite abit in our work but just try not to spend too much, wat if next job got pay cut, dan wun hv such $$ to spend liao...will be very tough...soo fr start, dun hv the bad habit of spending, sooo no matter how environment change, shld not affect much...hahaha...in other word...KiaSi lah.... =P

my migrain oso re-visited me recently....fully loaded with shit @ work and now hse come, need another attention....but hse part is enjoying becos slowly u setup everything...the joy is like...Ummm~~~ :D

Val> I think 10-15K can be done for you le. You can do step by step first. Eg. Furnish the whole house excluding the 2 common room for used next time.

Elect point got to do one lor that one cannot escape about 3k.. painting if you can live with what HDB give... Ligthing got to buy outside hor.. its not part of the reno contract.. about 2k for the whole house and depend if you are making fales ceiling for living & dinning room. You dun need to do window mah its new.. as for grill can do later after got kid
do step by step so that you can control you funds.

FeiMei> Share share mah... I been thru so must infrom you all else you all see bill will faint ah. Wah toilet fixture you all can fix yourself ah?? Power le you... but some things you can give reno co. do like the change of basin or toile bowl they can do for you all and pay a small sum and then they can dispose the old one for you all mah.

Add on for Reno> Oh take note on your reno quote if they state reno permit.. cause reno permit is free.. dun be con by ID/contractor.. my stupid contractor put S$250 for apply reno permit but give FOC.. so you can see how your contractor is like what kind of pple.

christy> ha...not power lah...just wan to mix and match ourself lol bcos ID sure say tiles must change, this n that which in the end, a big bomb...hahahahah....soo concentrate on kitchen lol....

val> christy is right, do those necc one 1st, like kitchen, living rm, mbr....common rm can own time own target....