i thk hor, whether or not pinjin given by who actually not impt. Whats impt is what happened after the wedding.. And whether ur HB loves u. If it is paid by ur HB, take it as its ur HB xin1 yi4 to your mother for giving her daughter's hand to ur HB lor..
If always get upset over all these thgs even before the wedding... not good for the marriage coz there will be some buildup resentment even before the wedding...
U see ah, if want to complain, i have the most to complain... my mother is monsterous.. (but i knw she cares for me in her own 'funi' way) and my MIL is nice but then they are unable to fork out a cent for the wedding.. not even the pinjin, tables, 4 gold and GDL items...everything paid by my HB. Well, maybe some things like fruits and some items for the GDL will be bought by my MIL coz that day i was telling her will give her a list to prep. I was thinking maybe have to prep angbao for her to give ppl on tt day...
Furthermore, my HB is paying for full car instalments for the family... (yes, its NOT his car..but of coz we get to use it if no one else using it) plus petrol..per mth abt $1500. Hence we arent giving any allowance for nw. However, like my mother told me i shld give my MIL some allowance. Maybe not mthly but maybe every 2 mths etc, just give her some money and she will appreciate the xin1 yi4. Coz if allowance put into MIL's hands by ur HB (or her son) is Tian1 Jin1 Di4 Yi4. But whatever given by DIL is Xin1 Yi4..coz its nt an obligation.
And yes, my HB will also be giving them household allowance because we always on aircon and eat quite often at home. So whatever from me, if from my pocket and wat i will like to give them. I believe it will help to ease the financial situation at home and soon we will all be functioning normally again...
In the end hor, ur MIL still ur HB's mother lor..no matter hw mean she is.. still ur MIL.. u still bear the family's surname from then on.. so really dont have to tear off the face (Si1 Po4 Lian3 Pi2)...
I guess, after all these complaints.. u all will still do wats required as a DIL ba
As for the SILs hor... they will knw it when its their turn to get married. Some ppl just need a slap in the face...