(2008) Brides of year 2008

jane my id is komiki25

u add me liao

my mua said if 2nd march in, she charges me 150 lehz.. but for the jiemeis makeup, makeup - 40, full makeup with hair - 70.. hmm.. I'm paying for my MIL (full), 2 SILs(makeup only), emcee (full) & my brother's gf (full)

Happy birthday, Vivian.

straylamb>thanks. But we actually only took in Shilin in the EG. WG was just cos we were there for dinner.

Hi gals. I seriously need some opinion regarding my EG. Currently, it's a yellow gown, with a long shimmering sash flowing from the left shoulder and long strands of beads attached on the top of the sash. (The back is similar to the one at http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/709964.html?1212387028)

Now considering to change the design (for the fear that the sash may catch fire from the candle decors near ground level at my banquet ballroom). Have spoken to Carol and she is so nice to come up with the following modifications to the long sash (i'll try my very best to describe it):

1. Do a slight loop at the top of the sash. Then gather part of the remaining sash and tie to the arm (looks like a armband or sash attached to arm bangle). Somehow to me, this design seems quite weird and clumsy. And can't have big movements for my left hand/ arms.

2. Drape the sash from the left and hook it to the right. Then let the rest of the sash flow from the right. There will also be another hidden hook at the top of the sash (on the left). So I can also hook it there instead of crossing the sash to the right. This design seems to be better than the 1st. But the cons is it will cover the bareback design (another attraction of the gown) with the sash going to the right. And there is oso the fear that my FH will step on the sash when he stands on my right.

3. Take away the long sash. So the gown will only have the long strands of beads and bare-back design. Cons is the gown will be a lot less dramatic.

4. Last resort is to retain the current design and be extremely careful throughout the dinner banquet.

What should I do????

Morning everyone! Wah.. I hardly have the time online when i am working and there are already pages of replies in 2 days! *Sweat*

In my email, I did not state that I will be following up with a wedding card. In the end, everyone thought that was the red bomb and some even asked me if invitation has gone electonic.

I also have a red fan on my actual day! Not to throw from the bridal car because I am not in that dialect. I am using it to go with my Kua. Some props on hand to make photos interesting. =)

I'm back..... ya.. I agree with Mrs Chiew, all brides, just relax and leave everything to yr xiongdis and jiemeis on that day.... I was looking ard for my family, close friends and guests when on stage and I feel very touched and happy when I see everybody smiles.

I enjoyed the day alot, all my guests turn up... Looking back, I can't remember wat's going on that day, will need to wait for the video to be ready for viewing.

Just went to Singapore flyer on monday to celebrate my birthday... prob it's a weekday, so not many people and there's only two of us in the capsule, so much freedom to move ard and we took a lot of photos.

To all upcoming brides,
Many wishes to your big day and enjoy yourself on that special day....

Yo Yo Jo_vin, thanks for ur well wishes. I certainly hope so. Im really quiet sian abt this. Sigh. How I wish I can kenna 4D, i sure will balik engaged another PG & re-take my pre-wedding shoots again cos I somehow not very satisfied with my photos. sian sian sian. I've been so busy lately. Finish work go home must do tis & tat for the wedding preparations. Seems endless. I lost sleep again last nite. Feels like a zombie now. Yawn...

Oops, sorry ladies...if I dampen yr early morning mood...

Just gotten my auspicious timing.

Wake up time? 5.30am? (Yawnz)
Make up artist? 5.45 am?
Photographer and videographer? 6am?
Jiemei reporting time: 6am (enough?)
Groom reach bride's house: 7am
bride leave house at 8.15am
bride reach groom's house before 9am

Wah... I can already feel the fatigueness of that day already.

Karen Francise Tey (ceo38): Sorry that I did not follow up with your pictures selection but I know that you are not happy with them.

When is your wedding date? Maybe engaging a photographer that wont burst your budget? I guess photoshoot without album will definitely be cheaper. You can always print them when you are financially ready. You can show your relatives the soft copies of your pre-wedding shoot through those e-book/ electionical photoframe. I remember one of the hotel coordinator told me that the bride brought her own LCD TV to be placed at the reception area to play slideshows of her pre-wedding pictures. She did away with photo album.

pinky81: so cool leh... use LCD to play slide shows... wooo...

think our timing almost the same.. I just asked my MIL whether I can reach HB hse at 9am for tea ceremony (coz my timing very flexible, as long as before 1pm). She said okay and never complain! So good! Even my GIL said ok and just told my MIL to tell my HB relatives to reach ard 8.30am.. so nice of them! I think my HB then need to be at my hse at 7.30am. I only worries his brothers cannot wake up.. then too bad lah.. haha.. dont care abt them :P

Jane = I personally spoke to Angel via email before, dont like her attitude wor... so i dont recommend her...:P

My MUA charges me same as Lost. Hair only = $40 and Makeup+Hair = $70.

I think jiemeis can settle their own makeup coz some of them particular with the cometic products.. and ermm normally MUA makeup very thick one lor..So i paying for hair only for my 5 jiemeis. However,i paying for the hair+makeup for 2 mothers+1 grandmother+1 female emcee.

keke.. i thought hair is more impt than makeup :P Hee.. i never ask if my 2 SILs want MUA :X coz i thk they are particular abt cosmetic coz the younger SIL is a stewardess..wait destroy her sensitive face i will get killed :P The older SIL usually do a good makeup for herself

Lost = did u get a VG? Keke.. i signed my PG together with my BS package too, 1.5yrs ago :P last july :P I thk i m the kiasu-est bride :P My hotel also booked in july 07 :P hohoho...

I m gg to get my frens to book 1-1.5yrs earlier oso coz hor, some hotel give u the previous yr's rate ($30-$80 cheaper per table) and BS gives the old rate too ($500-$800 cheaper). Thats why i signed WhiteLink at $3388. Those i recommend to White Link went early this yr and all said they are charging $3688 for the basic no car package..

Happy Birthday and hope you can enjoy your day Vivian.....

Rach> ic ic....but u have your own flat liao right, so the most tahan a while more. Have you start the reno? Where is ur new hse huh, forgot liao...

$75 for a haircut??Damn expensive leh...if perming even more ex? Normally my haircut is only $25, the last cut I went only cost $9.80 (wash & cut somemore)...Anyone went to SNIP AVE for haircut b4, their prices are damn cheap, cost $3.80-$4.80(depend on outlets) for haircut only..they got quite a number of outlets...

yvonne... better than using my MUA.. she charges me $150 wor.. keke...

lost.. ya lor my MUA say $150 too.. so i finding another MUA for 2nd march in le..

anyone else can comment on the 2 MUA i mentioned??

pinky81... ur timing ok le... i earlier than u.. wake up 3am.. hubby reach my hse 4.30am.. leave hse 5.30am.. keke...

jolene.. i mean for 2nd march in.. nt for jiemeis... it's $150...

for jiemeis.. i asked them if they wan or nt.. if wan den arrange bt they will be paying for it... den my MIL wan makeup & hairdo..

yvonne = u mean ur PIL use charcoal or dont use charcoal to cook soup?

I think is quite cool leh :P Heard the soup is much better... just take it as setting up a BBQ pit lor :P

Keke and actually my mother doesnt use washing machine for all our clothes too
Some clothes, she insisted handwashing to ensure the fabric doesnt spoilt and so far.. i believe nw coz my clothes when washed by my mother still in gd condition after yrs but when washed at my HB hse.. all spoilt or sin-yet (loosen up) within mths
Upset.. thk when i moved in, i wana handwash some of my clothes too. Sometimes i miss my mother...

Ohh and we used to be asked to mop floor via pail and cloth.. me and my bro clean our own rooms + play with the foam and hor, really more effective than using mop!!!

But hor, the utensils at my HB hse abit old le.. and is traditional iron wok - so heavy! and iron kettle..sometimes the water taste like metal 0_0 my HB said it makes him strong coz of the iron... ehhh dont knw true or nt.. but he is very fit lah...

jane = ehhh yaa.. 2nd march in .. but ermm i still dont like angel :P haha..

i think will be nice to treat jm to the hair lor.. ^^ afterall to reward them for being a great fren and helping u out ^^ Of coz they wan can bao1 me a BIG ANGBAO back lah ^^. I getting 1 overnite room for my jiemeis too. And 1 for my inlaws. gg to check if my mother wants 1 too. The brothers will use the dayroom.

ho ho ho.. though already at work... my mind still wondering ard still in the wedding mood...

I have already blog out the whole day... waiting for some pictures once ready I will post all to multiply/ my wedding website

Who's next? Congrats!!!!
<table border=1><tr><td>AD Date</TD><TD>Username</TD><TD>Venue </TD></TR><TR><TD>9-Oct</TD><TD>AJ Wech</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa </TD></TR><TR><TD>10-Oct</TD><TD>xmasnowy</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>10-Oct</TD><TD>ChunChun</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>Mal</TD><TD>Merchant Court </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>mrs kel</TD><TD>Hotel Intercontinental </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>sher</TD><TD>Le Meridien </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>silent</TD><TD>Raffles the Plaza </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>Irene</TD><TD>Ritz Carlton </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>joey</TD><TD>M Hotel </TD></TR><TR><TD>12-Oct</TD><TD>lex</TD><TD>Regent </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Yvonne &amp; Pinky, I'm entitled to only 27 pages in my album so I will only b getting 27 soft copies which r printable. The rest of the pics totaling abt 230 wil be non-printable files in slideshow wif music &amp; cost 750 lor. I've made almost full payment to my BS for my package but the 750 I haven pay. Layout for the album also not yet see. My BS told me last week when I go select photos that will b able to see the layout tis week. Well..I'll keep my fingers crossed &amp; will wish myself happy waiting... haha...I know u gals cnt help much but I appreciate it cos u kind ladies r listening to my woes...which is more then enuf lo...i need to grumble...haha

Pinky dear, I knw wat u mean. Engaged another PG just to re-do pre-wedding shots wif no album. But I need to get gwn from somewhere rite, MUA also. I really dnt wish 2 spend more $$ liao cos we r spending quite alot for the wedding. Initially, my thinking was, damn, once a lifetime, dnt care la..$$ must spend must spend de, if not future regret how..but s time goes by, my heart starts to ache so I try to cut tis cut there cut whereever I can cut lor...trying not to spend 2 much over wedding &amp; thinking rather save the $$ for honeymoon.

Hi Jane

I dont know if so last mins u still can get one anot..

Hi Joleen

I mean they use it for cooking soup.. haha yesterday night sleepy liao so typo error. hmm but his mum best is even bedsheet also hand wash is all clothes handwash regardless of material.

her work looks good ba

She tok to me like i owe her money like that.

That time i checked with her the prices and she said she nt free so get her asst to do for me. I think that Tin is her asst. Then when i get back to her she said Tin nt free liao and ask if intro a guy MUA to me k or nt. I said i want to see his portfolio and she said he doesnt have portfolio la.. and doesnt even have any sample pic to share. Then i said like that very hard to gauge his style mah...

Then she said take it and transfer deposit to her immediately or just go find anther MUA lor.. Duhz... i only asking for some samples mah.. hw can a MUA no portfolio? Even my da sao do freelance has something to show lor..

Anyway i emailed and scold her... said she bad customer service and will complain abt her in the forum.. then she apologetic.. wah lau... dont like her...

Hi Karen

The rest of the pics totaling abt 230 wil be non-printable files in slideshow wif music &amp; cost 750 lor. sound ok also.. still got music...

BS really know how to make $$$.. u wan this and that top up lor.. wan softcopies buy back lor then wan edited one top up more lor.. haiz.. it is ok la juz say wat ever u wan lor.. sometime i also come in talk my unhappiness

Hi Jane

hmm tin i personally saw her profile the make up look dull.. but maybe actual will be diff.. it is juz my comment only looking at her blog..

meiling,
i've made appt with a couple of PG! Er, will see how it goes from there...
oh so after your wedding, you'll stay with your mum first? the AMK flats are only the studio apartments right?
hmmm, i'm leaving my jiemeis to do the games....

florabliss,
is it possible to make changes at the venue instead of the gown? like elevate the candles? i agree with you that hooking the sash to the right will affect the back design.....to me, option 4 is the best....or cutting the sash to a slightly shorter length so that it is just longer than the train of your EG?

hmmm haiz...
tat time i contacted one called lynda.. ask her to tentative booking for me 1st by tis date get back to her.. and then i confirm by tat date she accept other ppl's job... quite like her make up..

she also recommend tin to me...

Neko>i got no pix. Haven't received them from my PG yet. The photos we are referring to are those put up by one of my PGs on her facebook. You on facebook mah?

yvonne/jolene i confirm with angel le... she said ok for my AD... and she say no need deposit.. just ask me to give her my details and she will meet me at my hotel room for my 2nd march in...

her attitude to me quite nice le.. keke...

yvonne... i tot u say u prefer angel coz natural?? now u say dull??

so angel or tin is better??

Hi Jane

MUA - Tin i mean personally saw her profile the make up look dull.. but maybe actual will be diff.. it is juz my comment only looking at her blog..

angel is better...

jane = maybe coz you still got 1 mth ahead mah :P haha.. mine is like weeks ahead.. maybe she thinks is last minute lor...

but no matter wat... she cannot tell me take it or leave it 0___0 cannot stand bad customer service... keke... cannot accept i pay yet see black face.. i shld be the one who said take it or leave it but dont give me black face for my big day.. Gg to scold anyone who black face on my Big day.. keke...

Maybe after i threatened her, she scared...:P does she knw u know her frm Sgbrides?

hi yvonne.. hehe okok thanks for ur comments... =D

jolene.. keke ya lor maybe dat time she busy le.. anyway her service to me quite gd so i dun mind le..

she nv ask me hw i noe her.. so i din say lor... keke...

our wedding is coming real soon! right now i having headache over the song for our childhood montage. Any suggestions? Appreciate all comments!

hehe sorry me again....

and anyone with any tips on slimming down? Suppose to go on diet but don't know why just end up eating more
needs to shed a few kilos before the big day. Any quick tips?

Jac> Can't do much abt the candles coz it's one of the theme. And was advised that with the glass protection, the dreamy effect will be gone. Also part of the constraint on the candle is due to space available at this smaller ballroom that I booked. And someone also pointed out another concern, that is the sash being stepped on.

hi dreamy79 = depends on u want to reduce inches or weight

keke i shed quite alot of fats for my PS but nw i stress and eat more :P ahahah trying hard to slim again :P

i go for frequent slimming massages lately.. and find it not bad. CNY i was still chubby but by Jun, see my pictures..i look thinner hor? heehee...but maybe need to do it intensive like 2 times a wk.. tts wat i did for 1.5-2 mths
\

And exercise oso coz slimming break down fats but u need to exercise to burn it away, or use some burning cream lah... then firm it up with some firming cream again

And of coz control diet.. eat less carbo and no soft drinks...no junk food... eat lotsa veg and fruits..

Keke my fren has a v good way... can slim in 2 wks.. = have stomach flu..sure can only eat porridge for 2 wks only...

or go on 2wks of intensive veg anf fruits only diet
I tried before... for 1-2mths almost go crazi but it works :P skin is better after tt too ^^

nw i got breakout..so sianz..

I think sash being stepped on is a big concern. Although hubby was v careful, he still stepped several times on my WG and EG. N my train is already quite short...

Personally, I like the sash. If me, I will choose option 4.

Flora, how about having a shorter sash.. and allow it to flow when u walk around... and put more emphasis on the front?

Sigh... recently I have pple advising me not to take the ad photographer given by the BS. If I were to take another, means I have fork out another 800 to 1k. Bf was saying the outside one may not be tat good and will end up something like the BS ad fotographer... STRESS... Anyway I found 2 that I pretty like. Please give ur comments ah...

http://www.overthemoonfoto.com/
http://www.eiriktan.com/

i am gg to say smthg funi :P

those not prepared to have babies soon, remember must control on AD :p hahaha..

i got frens nt prepared then 12 wks after AD, pregnant...duhz...she really pissed off...

sotonglet>you like the journalistic style? Donno if you wanna try my PG, Edmund Leong. He's quite nice and hubby and I had great time with him on our AD and for our PS in Taiwan. We haven't seen most of our photos yet though. :p

hahaha.. no la.. just make sure keep in mind lor... i mean like how come got ppl think they wont be so suay :P Thats why got underage mothers...aiyoh.. we not like those young ppl so be careful :P keke

i still wana tour many times next yr with my frens.. gg to play min 1 yr before i start to make babies :P

Hi Jolene,

so your fruits &amp; veg diet works? won't faint ah? haha....i'm also thinking leh....if i can slim 4 kgs i happy liao....fat fat...

what songs are you gals using for your childhood montage?

Flora,
i see....maybe can consider making the sash shorter....oh ya, during the table photos taking, ppl might step on the sash....during photo taking, make sure ppl move away form you first instead of you moving away from them first?

sotong,
personally, i think AD photos from the BS are not very nice...i think eriiktan is not bad... is he still available?