(2008) Brides of year 2008

Shermie>> wah how come u having 2 events? Solemnization and chinese dinner? 10 tables can try Ritz carlton... quite nice...

Rachel>> Red EG i tin suitable for fair skin gals... I like black though.. i find quite unique.. keke...

koyoyo: Yeap, I agree with you. When the photographer is good, you'll still look great in your most natural state coz he knows how to capture your best moments. Other than that, it's also important that your photographer is creative. Other than looking for gorgeous backgrounds, he knows how to make the surroundings work for him, be it a simple window in the background or a signage on the wall or reflections from a puddle of water.

snowypooh: Ahhhhhh, AMK BTO? Any idea which area?

sue: I'm in Shanghai now leh. No access to TODAY.
Any online site I can refer to?

I am quite fair that's why i am thinking of red EG. I like black but worried that some of the guests will be wearing black too... keke

Hi Rachel Ng, I am intending to go for red or maroon for my EG. Going to select the gown on 1 April. Don't think it's weird lah. EG's supposed to be "louder" and striking.

Rachel>> As long as you like it can le... Ya i agree with Mary Poppins... EG supposed to be striking... keke...

I haven decide on the colour yet... going to try the gowns on 22 Mar.. hehe... see which colour suitable den decide... keke... u muz try den know one...

Hi nervousbaby,

No problem! My msn is [email protected].

Hi luvz17, can you send me the quotations too... Thanks!

If anyone is interested in taking up bridal package in JB, feel free to msn me or email me. Can share with you more information on my package.

Hi berry egg - there's no individual packaging, so I'm looking around those wholesale stores to find packaging.

Hi qunqun... What a small world indeed! I was referred to her by another friend of mine whom she made wedding cupcakes for last year. Maybe it's the same friend.

I haven't thought about GDL cakes. Will probably stick with traditional Cantonese "kah-lui" pastries.

There're 2 sites in AMK, one along AMK Ave 1 (think this is reserved for SERS) & the other at St 52. The one at St 52 is the 3rd DBSS site (similar to the City View @ BK project). "HDB has launched the sale of a site at Ang Mo Kio Street 52 for tender under the Design, Build and Sell Scheme (DBSS) on 12 Sep 2007." The 4th DBSS site will be in Bishan.

sue n snowypooh,
thanks!!! so happy to hear tis news as amk is my 1st choice location...sure my fh will b happy to know tis...hope to get a unit frm d AMK DBSS

lex,
i've dropped d idea abt d poster but wat i saw was ppl doing it as a scroll form like those projector screen so dat it's retractable for ease of storage after use

have added u on mulitply...add accept my invitation ok?

cacky,
u interested in AMK DBSS as well? well, it'll b in time when u come back for ur wedding
juz d rite timing...

nelle,
nice makeup!!! i agree wif ryu n nec dat u r indeed a chio bu wif a nice figure n great style...d envy of many gals here

hehe...like wat u've said, den we'll go up to u to ask if u r nelle....hehehe :P

nec,
aiyo, u where got so jialat? i saw d shapey figure of urs when u took a pic wif ur htb...where got fat? dat's curvy ok?

oh i think i can imagine d red sari, sorta more traditional type whereby most brides wear...cant imagine how u'll look like wif d actual accessories n makeup :P

Yeap Meiling, I am eyeing on AMK DBSS coz' near my parents. If we do get that, then it'll work well. Meanwhile, we'll still continue to ballot for other flats. Cannot afford to put all our eggs in one basket. After reading the TODAY article, getting an EC may not be such a bad idea, since we can also get grants from there.

Hi JJ, yup there's ample time to go to 3 places. One of my friend went to 5 places! furthermore, these places are quite close to each other so no worries. For sentosa we went only to the beach cos it was getting cloudy. We went out at 4pm returned to the BS at 6pm. After we had our dinner, touch up makeup, do hair then went out ard 7pm and back ard 8pm. The day I took it wasn't very hot and not tiring as we went back to BS to rest before going to fullerton. My PG says after 730pm can take already cos the lights are out. Don't need to be very late. BTW we saw a couple when we were at Sentosa and we saw them again at Fullerton hee hee. Think these are very standard places that people go. For the church I heard so from a friend but not sure where it is. But PG should know. You can ask you PG when you all discussing about the PS. Usually you just tell them your requirement and he will suggest the places to go and plan the day.

Hi s'rene, the friend who had her wedding last year is a friend's friend. that was her first attempt at making so many wedding cupcakes and it turned out well. think you will love your cupcakes too. her other cakes are also very nice. i always to sample her baking hee hee.

cacky,
oh...actually i wanted AMK cos it's near my fh's parents n oso near my mum....if i managed to get den it'll b in between both parents' place...it wld b ideal but it all depends...i think it's gona b a tough competition but we r gona try other areas as well in sector b n c:P

thanks selina & kittyng!

xinyi, we too lazy, haven't done any 'research' for the price at all.. just go natas & settle it lor.. actually we still considering whether to go with group or free & easy.. what do you think?

went to The Wedding Cottage just now & settled quite a lot of 'traditional' stuff.. help me see whether we left out anything ok? cos we didn't buy everything that the sales asst suggested.. some things we felt nobody do anymore.. like buying a pair of fake chickens!! supposedly the tradition is the couple bring the live chickens over from the bride's place to the groom's place, set them free under the bed, then see whether the hen or rooster come out first, meaning the gender of the child. But i been 4 times jie mei, never saw my frens bring any chicken, real or fake!! anyway here's what we have bought:

五åˆç›˜(the round metal plate to put on bed after an chuan, with the dried foodstuffs & charcoal on it)
Tea Sets
Bowl + Spoon + Chopsticks (to eat tang yuan & eggs at bride's place)
æ‰‡å­ (for bride to throw out of car & 1 to bring to groom's place)
四喜套
'Xi' small stickers (for GDL items)
'Xi' big stickers (for doors)
Ang paus

still searching for bedside lamps & bedsheets. anything else huh? by the way the above is for hokkiens

hi shybride, where is wedding cottage? Any idea if the 2 pairs of 'long feng zhu' is to be bought by hubby's family? I remembered seeing the fake chicken in the wedding show that was shown on tv earlier this year. But i cant remember the significance of it.

I have no idea where to go and buy the GDL stuff and chu jia stuff leh. Is it too early to buy now? Buy liao then keep aside? hee

meiling, no need to worry abt the sizes at WL since you are MTM right? i bought the shoes from j west.. which is a big disaster cos i usually not a branded person.. but have bought 2 pairs of j west shoes for wedding.. i think i m mad..

it's great that your hubby has a brother.. cos then you will have a fellow sister in law.. my htb only has 3 sisters so i will be the only daughter in law.. a bit scared wor : /

jac & nec, i don't any 'proper' photos yet cos i haven't taken any after the alterations.. anyway my WG is OTR, so it's not new.. so maybe u saw the gown somewhere else b4, but never mind, i very sui bian one, nice can oredi, lazy to try many :P Will post some photos here / in my blog after next monday, cos it will be the 3rd fitting by then.

Hi ladies!

Kittyng, nvm, you can save up and go next year, during your first year's wedding anniversary!
That would be very romantic and memorable too. Hehe.

thias, we might just bump into each other in Switzerland or even Italy! I will be leaving on 15 June and back on 28 June.

xinyi and shybride, i wanna go Greece too! Hehe! Hopefully i'd have the chance to go in future!

shybride, congratz on getting your keys! I can't wait to get mine! You're quite fast to settle on the GDL and wedding stuff too. Seems like girl's side must buy a lot of things eh.

oops forgot to say finish in prev msg, nelle we got see you in person b4 mah, you will be a pretty bride la! esp your character so jovial and cute, very adorable!

jac, i chose Sharon to be my MUA. considered Gin too, feedback abt her also not bad. But i read in forum that Sharon is very friendly, so i chose her lor. didn't hear any bad things about gin either, dun worry if you are using her. tell you gals hor, i chose my MUA, PG, VG all based on friendliness haha.. just hoping their skills also good!

went to The Wedding Cottage just now & settled quite a lot of 'traditional' stuff.. help me see whether we left out anything ok? cos we didn't buy everything that the sales asst suggested.. some things we felt nobody do anymore.. like buying a pair of fake chickens!! supposedly the tradition is the couple bring the live chickens over from the bride's place to the groom's place, set them free under the bed, then see whether the hen or rooster come out first, meaning the gender of the child. But i been 4 times jie mei, never saw my frens bring any chicken, real or fake!! anyway here's what we have bought:

五åˆç›˜(the round metal plate to put on bed after an chuan, with the dried foodstuffs & charcoal on it)
Tea Sets
Bowl + Spoon + Chopsticks (to eat tang yuan & eggs at bride's place)
æ‰‡å­ (for bride to throw out of car & 1 to bring to groom's place)
四喜套 (the face basin, spitoon etc)
'Xi' small stickers (for GDL items)
'Xi' big stickers (for doors)
Ang paus

still searching for bedside lamps (cos they don't have battery operated ones haha) & bedsheets. anything else huh? by the way the above is for hokkiens

Selina, you're right, the two pairs of 'long feng zhu' are to be bought by the hubby's side and the girl's side has to return the 'feng zhu' to them.

do u girls engage the same company to do AD PG & VG?
i intend to use different companies...wondering will they be any problem? eg. cant work well or never work with each other before etc...

yep yep the long feng zhu is bought by guy's side, give to girl's side during GDL.

selina, wedding cottage is at IMM 2nd floor. they sell all these stuff and if you are ordering from them, they will guide you according to your dialect group. i ordered first, told them i'll collect in may. just wanna settle as many things as i can now in case too busy with reno stuff from next week onwards.

oh no, 1 more thing, pai seh bombard you gals with many things.. MIL says must do some things like roll oranges, sprinkle salt & rice, buy new broom & dustpan when 1st time going into new flat after key collection.. any idea what exactly need to be done?

hi shybride, thanks for the location. Seldom go to the west side. Maybe one day i shall drop by to take a look. Have fun in your house renovation!!

Just to check, is canned pig trotters available in the market now? Anyone has suggestion for alternatives?

oh no, 1 more thing, pai seh bombard you gals with many things.. MIL says must do some things like roll oranges, sprinkle salt & rice, buy new broom & dustpan when 1st time going into new flat after key collection.. any idea what exactly need to be done?

Shybride, what i did was to mix rice grain with tea leaves & salt. Throw some at the centre of the living room after opening door, then go around the house (in one direction) to sprinkle at all the corners. When you walk back to the main door after walking one round, throw the balance outside the main door. I read it from a fengshui book.

i had done some research with regards to vg n pg... i m only engaging pg in the end... as huby and i reckoned that good pics are more impt! and vg is can be quite costly!

shybride,
i decided to forgo d mtm to get d exclusive gowns frm my BS so size is oso a factor for me
btw, wat's d ave price for j west? i havent buy shoes there b4...care to share how ur shoes look like? frm wat u said, shd b v nice

oh, for me, my future bil is juz 21 yrs old so i wont have a future sil in many yrs but i dun care lah...im not too keen to have kids so early :P

xiaojan, shd be fine ba even if they r from diff company. I've engaged my VG and PG from diff companies too. I think shd be fine ba. It's quite common also.
You are looking for yours?

Read your previous post.
Daniel Beh will be my PG for my wedding day.
www.danielbeh.com if you need to access his website ya

http://www.sgweddingweb.com/ - a good site to look for even the VG & PG & even BS.

Enjoy ya.

Stnov > we are going to tokyo, kyoto and osaka....i hope we can catch the sakura but the chances are super slim....hopefully will not kerna any storms!

Here's another cupcake website. http://www.cakeavenue.com before. I order from them before & the cupcakes were abt muffin size.

Mei, if you selling yr hello kitty guestbook, im interested haha. My cousin was telling me her colleague cousin might be able to get one for me but you know lah, say and really get might not really happen haha. Anyway im keeping my fingers crossed.

Lex, i invited you to multiply, pls approve ok.

Wow, u all really have alot of ideas for yr AD. Sue, i think we are both quite similar, just following the flow and doing the normal stuffs

Cacky, Mei, hope you gals will be lucky with the AMK flats when they are launched.

shybride, depends which part of greece you want to go. i went to some local travel agency website like CTC, their itenary is not what i wanted. I did alittle read up on the greece thread here. There are some other beautiful places like Santorini, Mykonos and Paros. All these 3 places are not inside the guided tour. No wonder is cheaper.

here is the link:
http://www.ctc.com.sg/travelpkg_view.php?travelpkg_id=555

the forum here recommand this greece local tour agency. quite good feedback. can take a look. can even customise the places you want to go.

http://www.easytraveller.gr

But bare in mind that june and july are peak period.. everything will increase price. Thats y I not in hurry to book any trip as i dont want to travel during their peak period.

Ade, dont be greedy ah.. haha.. you already had Switzerland.. :P

Selina, i know now no canned pig trotters, maybe you would like to replace by raw fresh ones? My friend got the raw ones instead. Else replace by angbaos.

Hi Shybride...

For my opening door, we bought 1 pineapple and the moment we open the door, we roll the pineapple into the living room and shout "HUAT AR"...and guess wat...that night we tio toto...
then after the pineapple, we threw the rice mixed with green beans from MBR, the other bedrooms, living room then kitchen..
it varies lar...depends...my MIL say throw pineapple...my mum say throw rice...so in the end, we did both to make both of them happy...this is a headache, cos have to please both sides...

Hi Nervousbaby,

That's a very good deal.. I got almost the same.
Haha but think my heart is set with Sattine.. hope that I wun get disapointed. : )

nelle, we'll juz submit to HDB and see how loh. If don't wk, I'll make my MP do more work. Since they gotten our vote, they should be helping us. Btw, your makeup nice leh. So envy of you, got the height and the look.

meiling, you going for your fitting soon? You must be really excited. I'll be going to my BS for gown selection on 01 May. Hopefully can see something nice. Have also schedule my PS on 05 Sep.

Nelle,
the make-up looks nice...any more photos? Share with us the trial make-up experience? who's your MUA?
I'm kinda researching on hairdos and makeup now....

Btw, if anyone is itching for bridal magazines, there seems to be a new magazine...called The Smart Wedding Diary...its local....I jus bought one...now waitingn for Her world Brides....

Marypoppins,

Yah I heard b4 of the bad review about FrenchBridal..seen my friends pic also not impressive...or should I just say normal!
Didnt know WL offer xs sizes gown.
Maybe I should go there and see cuz I'm very petitie also wor... (but i can still fit the gowns at Sattine.. hehe only the length)

Hi Jac,

I have just confirmed my AD PG today. Wun be having VG. Hehe so at least another one down. But as long as I haven book my BS, still feel uneasy...hmm.. wish weekend will come faster! hehe. Oh ya, I got eczema too and mine is quite bad.. but I apply a cream call Neodeorm which is quite good but cant used it too often..