(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi unicorn, i a bit KS. Cox wanted to use the food tasting session as my ROM meal in mar but found out that the additional table is far away fr my budget. So arrange to get wed cards instead

apple_gal, the feeling of how fast these 3 mths gg to pass jus makes me v nervous...but so glad at least your PS which is a major thing is done

thias & ade, i oso wanted to go switzerland...feel it's v romantic but cannot this time due to budget

kireineko> Paper planning all done... Fitting end Feb.. this fri! PS in May... GDL in Jul.. I'm a 1st Sep BTB.
yet to buy shoes.. after fitting..so will know what to match the gowns... haha.. if u need my planner i can send to u....

which BS are u from? can refer u to mine.. very good!!

PG i also have... VG is from Stefine...

hi jule, both of us same BS and I just did my PS. Have you choose your outdoor gowns yet? still got 1 month don't be too worried.

For me I went clique places haha. cos I want sea, waterfall & night so we went to sentosa, botanic garden & fullerton. depends on what style u want. if u want those church or old building feel, there are some areas near to the BS. for more nature feel, some ppl go to bird park, zoo, changi walkboard, punggol area. u can discuss with ur PG before the PS. BTW who's ur PG?

Any one can give me ur shifu's contact?preferably in the west,north or centre haha.N what do i need to bring down for him to calculate?d i need to let him know lunar birthday etc too of parents?

Y kim: still pondering,had make an appt tomm evening to go try again....just find myself plump in tt gown but my htb n sisters all said i too sensitive
but tt hecterneck one tt i shown u really made me look slim n slender hehe but its heavy,hard to move ard....headache!

my flight is 18 june 1am..back on 26 June..
I din noe it coincides wif Euro..was tinking of Hokkaido but after some thought decided to take the 10 day europe package at $6254 for 2 pax..

I'll be gg to BS to select AD gown this sat as well as to collect the big album.
Lil'Art has sent me the card inserts template. Once confirmed, wedding cards will be ready in 10 working days.. kinda fast which is good..

currently in the process of editing the emcee speech n other stuffs..

hi Shermie, finally someone who's having banquet on 9 Nov too
Chinese banquet for 10 tables, u can check out My Humble House at Esplanade in mind? One of Tung Lok's chic-chinese outlets

Hi All BTB,

I'm also a Dec Bride, would like to join this thread.

Me still haven choose my BS. Would like to seek some opinion on Thomson and Sattine.

Hi gals, wow so many posts....

koyoyo, i think 700k for the boon keng flat is not really worth, even though location is good, comes with some reno but its still a hdb afterall and its only for 99yrs. I guess its due to the property peak now thats why that price. When the property is not so hot, with 700k you can buy a decent condo at a good location too

bluebananas, i seen kelvin koh pictures too and i loves the way he captured those images. Good choice, do share yr pictures next time

I think my mum would love to join me when i go for my fittings but i hv already chosen my WG when i sign up with my BS and EG will be mtm. My hubby didnt give much comments when i tried those gowns, the only thing he said was this look better than those and like usual he will always say 'you like can already'.

lex, bluebananas, personally i dont see many ppl eating during reception even when the hotel is providing some finger food. But the cupcakes idea is great and i love them too. Out of topic, i order them for my colleagues before and everyone commented so nice, so cute.....

snowypooh, guess you shld be the first in our thread with a lovenest ready. im also a 18 oct bride, hope we dont have any common friends haha. I try to tell as many ppl i intend to invite that my wedding is on the 18oct so that they will keep the date for me

hi kel, when is your AD? I now have only 3 dates left to choose from :s got to match banquet to see which to choose.

hi annette, not fat lah you too sensitive most importantly is you have to feel comfortable in it
Let me get my shifu contact from sis then let you know her mil help us give to shifu one bcos my mum dunno these things. I gave my FB and my date and time of birth plus let them know both side parents and siblings zodiac sign.

hi piglet, welcome. My sis and cousin both from Thomson but I am the traitor I am from French Bridal. Thomson is not bad, good photography but the gowns not my type so I did not sign with them.

melody,
guz all guys r like dat...everything u like can liao...or eveyrthing say nice...aiyah, wif them ard, v hard to make decisions :P hahah...will let u know my fh's comments after tis sun :P

hi piglet,
welcome to tis thread!
btw, 2 of my frens r ex-thomson brides a few yrs back n both of them r satisfied wif their services...as for sattine, heard rather positive feedback on them too but none of my frens used them so no comments

Hi Kim,

I quite like the pictures there too...
But I haven seen any gowns which gave me the "WOW" feeling so I'm a bit scard... hmm...that why I'm still deliberating. : /

Hi Meiling,

Thanks. Hmm...I quite like Thomson service and photogrpahs, and I have tried a few gowns but none gave me the "WOW" feeling whereas Sattine, I tried a few gowns that I like(though not yet the "wow" feeling) haha...

Which BS you signed up with?

hey all,
Have u guys considering what kind of wine? Normally wine cellar does offer consignment but mostly is they gave 5 carton but must confirm 3 cartons.. does anyone has issue consuming 3 cartons? For me i am not sure yet...
Hey i heard u guys mention lighted pixels again plush PG and site on lighted pixels....
btw, i think the idea of candy bar is rather unique compare to the usual reception of nuts or cupcakes..perhaps for meiling if u worry abt turning it into mama stall , you can consider personalize the candy bar or link to wedding flavor ... not sure about what other innovative u can get from it.. just keep brainstorming gers.. sure u guys will end up something unique and special on ur special day. Lex the boonkeng flat come w some basic reno like aircon , stove n basic tile plus a scan card door without security.

Hi Floral Bliss, please feel happy that you have such good increment. I bet many of us here had never gotten such increment compared to yours.

My guess is the govt might not increase the ceiling so easily. By keeping the ceiling artificially low, it might encourage couple to get settle down earlier, and to "make babies" at an younger age?

A few months back, one of the minister (already forgotten which minister), said something like combined income of around 8 or 10k (forgot the exact amount mentioned) per month belongs to the top 20 percentile. But there are so many people out there who are earning so much more. How can 8-10k per month be in the top 20 percentile??? It's all propaganda... Hope the "white camp" members don't mind me speaking my mind.

Hi Piglet,
Welcome!
Did you take a look at other BS? I heard positive feedback abt Sattine but don't know anyone who took package from there.

Sigh,
still am so troubled by the housing issue...think I'm getting too kan cheong over it cos there's actually still some time for the property to cool down....having eczema breakouts

Anyone has any idea how long does it normally take to complete the resale process?

Hi Jac,

Thanks. Hehe, yeah have went to see a few and shortlisted those 2. So now is just deciding which one... one is good deal package, the other is better choice of gown.

You 2 have eczema? Issit on yr face or body? Are you very stressed? Try to relax... : )

piglet,
no problem, perhaps u shd look for more BS to try on their gowns...den it'll increase d chances of u getting d gown wif d WOW factor...hehe, i signed up wif WL, havent go down for d gown selection yet, afraid dat i couldnt find d PERFECT gown too :P

mary poppins,
dun envy, u'll get ur increment soon too...hehehe...i agree wif wat u said but too bad watever d govt introduced has no impact on me...dun intend to have babies so early cos finances r still not stable :P

jac,
dun worry too much...i got pimple breakouts too frm stress...u decided to get a resale flat? dun go into tis 1st as it's really not worth it to get a property rite now...esp when d sellers r asking for rocket-high cash above valuation

Hi Piglet, try to get the BS with the better choice of gown to give you the items of the good deal package. Tell them if they can offer you the deal, you will sign with them. See if they can compromise.

koyoyo,
as im given 1 bottle of wine per confirmed label, i'll b getting additional bottles of d same house wine provided by d hotel...heard it's not advisable to mix different brands of wine by ppl who drink them...duno d reason y oso, mayb will spoil d taste by mixing?
i may b getting my wine on consignment n if there's extra, i may give it as a gift to my JMs or XDs or even bosses or frens as some of them r wine lovers
for d quantity, it usually depends on d no. of tables n oso ur guests...
heheh.....true, i'll crack my head to brainstorm on ideas again...actually had wanted to put additional wedding favours but i scared some guests may help themselves to more than wat they r supposed to take...u got any wnderful ideas for me? :P

Hi Meiling & Mary Poppins,

All the BS that I went, I did tried on some of their gowns... and so far Sattine has given me the most no. of selections of gowns that I like..which is why I shortlisted them...hmmm seems like the package are almost the same. So most likely would be Sattine ba...hehe.. since I couldnt find any gowns that I like at Thomson (though bf prefer it more).. guess I'm the same as Meiling, the style doesnt suit me as well..
Scard not enuff time so wana make the selction soon either wise will never get it done..hehe!

So far only 1 gown realli gave me the "WOW" feeling and that is Margaret Brides.. but the package is somehow off budget.

What about Mary, which BS are you with?

Wa wiwi, thanks for ur info...is tat true? Then not very rite leh.... My htb still comparing prices bet agencies n over free/easy vs group tours.

E reason i top up is not tat i 'kian' e fotos...change from a full page to a digital version...jus prefer e album w poses...feel a bit shortchanged so gotta part w some cash loh...e additional cost is due to e conversion w e extra poses...rather he does a good job than a mediocre one...

As 4 e honeymoon, we r thinking of nearby places in Asia...4 e exotic destinations...mayb when we r more settled.

kim,

my AD is on the 16th dec
BS: GHA
Venue: GCW

yours? actually i had the same prob like u cos actually my AD shld be 2nd nov but almost all the hotels that we choose had already taken up, tats y we went to find the wedding planner again to let us have another choice of date to choose.

welcome piglet!

Piglet my HTB cousin sign up with Thomson. The pictures they took are very nice as well as the gown.

Hi Piglet, as I have not so good encounters with two BS during the time when two my good friends got married, since they are entitled to bridesmaid gown for me, I am more particular on EG. To me, all WGs look alike and we are pampered for choices. For EG, there are different colours, which will narrow down our choices further. Since Sophia Wedding Collection allows me to MTM the EG if I cannot find any suitable ones, and one of the abovementioned friends told me that her friend had very good experience with Sophia, so I signed up with them. I did not really compare much. My HTB feels that should just pay slightly more and get a peace of mind.

morning ladies..

Left 3 mths plus.. I am kinda getting nervous. Like alot of things not done. Happy to see most of you booked your HM. I kiv mine 1st. Want to see how much funds we left after the wedding. Hopefully still left enough to have a nice HM. Hoping to go Greece, if not Maldives. hehe..

hi piglet,
oic....choose sattine den if it's wat u like...usually guys go for d services n price, but we gals look for d feel n d gowns...so can b q different when we make decisions :P

wow so many postings in just 2 days! hee hee..

xinyi my htb also wants to go to greece.. we going to book at natas this weekend, hopefully got good deals.

you gals are really fast.. yeah this forum gives a gauge of when we shd be doing what.. some external pressure haha.. it's after reading the forum that i caleld up my hotel coordinator and arranged to meet him next monday. also collecting my keys & doing trial makeup next monday!

Hi Kel,

Yeah the pictures are nice. Just that I haven seen any gowns that I like hehe so was kinda confused.

When I was trying to book mine, a lot of hotels are already fully booked. But luckily managed to find one. : )

HI Mary,

That's true, the person who served me at Sattine said the same thing to me like what u have mentioned in regards to the EG. I am also entitled to MTM either one for both BS. BTW (May I know which are the 2 BS that you mentioned that you doesnt have good encounters with, hopefuly is not those 2). Side track: you wake up so early? hehe

Hi Meiling,

Yeah think guys tend to go for services and price. But most likely will be Sattine already, have just discussed with my BF. hehe!

Thanks ladies!!

hi Piglet, welcome!
2 of my friends used Sattine and another is using it now. the feedback from both frens was great! and the photos for 1 of them look great too! don't ask me why the 2nd one's photos not nice.. :/
i actually was considering Sattine too.. but in the end i only went 1 bridal shop and signed on the spot.. haha :P

meiling, not i very fast.. my AD is in june mah.. the earliest mth in this thread.. so very anxious now! my htb is the only son.. so i feel a bit pressured (by myself) to have sons for the family.. wanna have children soon cos we love kids

Jac, the resale process takes abt 3 mths from the time you sign the Option to Purchase. i would have got my keys in mid-feb if not for the owners wanna wait till the last possible day to move out.. HAIII...

Hi Shybride,

Thanks for your comments, haha I think I feel more at ease now....will most likely go down and sign this weekend.. : )

Which BS did you choose?

i signed with The Wedding Present.. too lazy to go around many BS.. actually didn't have any frens who used TWP b4.. tried my luck.. wanted something different from my frens :P luckily so far so good. i MTM a short gown for my PS and very happy with it! yesterday bought shoes to go with it hee hee..

Meiling: Yeah, I guess photography is an art. You can't really negotiate for a lower price. It's really how much you're willing to pay and how much you value them.

shybride, really? do you know what is the pricing like? I actually look through some packages. itenary seems quite rush.. about 10D right? I went to calculate if book via greece tour agency is more expensive sia. The package I prefer cost about 1000 euros alone.

Good morning all!

Hi, xinyi
Ya, thank for added me.

Hi, Kittyng
Ya, at least we start to do one by one, won't be so rush in last minutes..

cacky,
yah lor...dat's y d PG didnt bulge so my fren had no choice but to give it up for sth lower than his price which he feels dat it's nice too...

YKim u r rite just make the best of everyting...hahahha...

Hi Piglet

My fr just signed with Thomson.. Her package nt bad.. she has 5 outfits for PS which also includes 4 bridemaids' gowns & 4 brothers' suits & also FIL jackets.. which i tink is a great deal. somemore they wil give 50 15R photos le..

if i hvnt sign with YC,i would have signed with them..

Worth considering...

Hi Pin&Jie & Kel, me too trying to source for PG/VG around the same budget can i join u guys to source together??
mayb we can really get a GD Deal..hahahaha...

I haven't log in for a long time. Been shaking leg after confirming my hotel, BS and PG last year. Currently looking for VG with budget of $1k. Any recommendation?

piglet,
no prob, glad dat u've settled on ur choice...at least 1 more thing down on ur list so dat u can move on to other wedding prep alrdy

shybride,
hehehe....no wonder, guz im still q lucky in d sense though my htb is d eldest son but at least i dun have so much pressure as he has another younger bro...who can share d burden or pressure wif us :P
wat shoes did u buy? where did u buy them?

hi shybride, you must be looking forward to Mon.. so many programmes lined up for that day. congrats for getting keys to your home sweet home..

Hi shybride,
Luckily I've got eczema on my arms only..sometimes on the legs...Thankfully, I dun get it on my face...you get eczema too?

Meiling,
We are thinking ahead of getting resale if we dun get any new hdb flat by say June...Hope by then the property fever has cooled down by loads.

shybride,
I went to 'gatecrash' the Wedding present thread before and I saw some of the gowns that the forummers had posted...they looked nice!! Do u have any photos to show us?? who's going to be ur MUA? I think your BS has a new tie up with Gin Tan, is that right?

piglet,
Sgald that you've got your BS settled? Moving on to AD PG?

Seems like many of your BS gives a very good deal..I think mine is quite x...hope it worth the money.

nervousbaby/ pin&kie/ kel, what is your budget for both AD PG& VG? $1,500?? Let me see my compilation if anyone within this budget. Are you looking at individual PG & VG or they must be from the same company or partners?

Jac, I have got the same plan as you too.. Trying for HDB till jun. But now, we have asked our property agent fren to keep a lookout at certain areas already.

Cassie, dun tink i will be applying for punggol new release..too far

Hi Piglet, the first is French Bridal. They provided substandard service to my friends as well as the bridesmaids. When me and another friend went to select the bridesmaid's gown, they don't bother to help us check whether there's any gown which suits our requirements. When we try to search from the range that we are allowed to select from, they give black face and say "don't have lah, no need to search". Nevertheless, I don't care and continue to find one that suits my requirements. My friend's photos are not really well taken, album got some printing problems, things that are promised are not realised, AD PG provided has hidden costs (film and developing charges). My friend's friend who also used French Bridal has encountered similar problems as well. Think only the MUA, Joyce, was good.

The second one is White Link, cos their gowns are only for XS size ladies. I am the M-L type, so only have 2-3 choices for the bridesmaid gown. My friend who is very petite has difficulties zipping up some of the gowns as well. So I was determined not to choose WL because feel bad stepping into WL as I can't fit into most of the gowns. According to my friend, WL's service is good though. Meiling, do you think so as well?

I work in a japanese firm. Punctuality is the most important. So have to wake up earlier even though I start work at 8.30am.

hi Melody, no lah, my nest is not ready yet although I'd already collected the keys. Hoping to complete it before AD or else big headache & bigger hole in wallet. Hehe...