(2008) Brides of year 2008

rach > i also not sure. maybe i shld go to the local stores to kaypoh kaypoh 1st before heading over the causeway. Heh..

ayukie> not yet. 1st fitting next mth for the OTR gown and also MTM my evening gown at the same time.

What ang pow box? I cheapo. i'm using the one that the hotel will give .. haha Save money.

Hi Anne! Could you also update for me? Ive just booked my BS and PG. BS with Ted Wu and PG with Tri-angles.
Thanks babe!

ladies.. tks for "enlightening" me on the extra costs i have to incur.. cos its really like 2 big events. aiyah.. getting married in SG is too ex.. got to plan wisely.

am thinking of that becos the church that i was looking at, there is another couple doing the church ceremony the same day i'm looking at. so got clash. hmm.. mtg pastor this weekend and will see how. would've love to do everything on the same day, but couldn't afford a sat dinner at mandarin oriental. so, got to compromise.

Irene, tks for the suggestion on the chapel in bali. very interesting design. shall go visit someday. But doubt i can afford the USD4-5k to hold a wedding there. even if i do, don't think my relatives will fly there.. my face not that big. ;p

Jeslyn, i agree with the rest that you should just ask your FH.. getting married liao, no need shy. sometimes its better to be open and say what u think, else easy to have misunderstanding. do you hv to stay with in-laws after marriage? if need, all the more must meet and get to know them..

Hello everyone!!! So exciting to see all the Dec 2008 BTBs gathered here to share and chat!! :D

I'm getting married (everything in one) on 27 December!! And like some people here, after booking a place for my banquet, I'm mostly at a loss. Haha!! And trying to figure out all the acronyms on the forums!!

Talk to you all more soon!

Hi BTB!

Just joined this forum and realised there's so much info!

Some basic info abt my wedding:
Church wedding/ROM is on 26 Jul 08, dinner on 28 Jul. Dinner is at Mandarin Oriental (used to be known as Oriental).
BS is XZen, which I realised is not that well-known?! But we decided on them cos we wanted to go to Vietnam for PS..

I just confirmed my MTM EG design and will be going for 1st fitting on 26 Jan. My PS is only in Apr/May, hope it's not considered too late...

Hi, I m a Nov 08 bride. Considering 23/11 as well. Seems like it is a very popular date. When my HTB proposed to me last nov, I chided him for giving me such a short lead time as I need 2 years to prepare. Seems like I am right. Now sourcing for hotel. Initially tot lunch will be easier but so far only got two hotels available... Hope to settle it by this month.

Hi sockie & sleepygal,
I also signed up with SWC. Took their cheapest package so no AD PG & VG and a lot of other things. I am also curious to know how much both of you paid for getting AD PG & VG. If dun mind, can email me at [email protected]? If any of you mind, then it's ok. After deciding on banquet venue, then I will start on AD PG & VG. Since Candy is booked, think I have to consider other alternatives. Who will you be choosing, sleepygal?

Hi Anne,

Please update mine too...

AD: 7 Nov 2008
Venue: Holiday Inn Park View
PG: One Eye Click
VG: Wow Media
BS: Santiago

Mary Poppins - You mean you haven got a hotel yet?? Better hurry... very full already...

Hi PSH,
I've already got a AD PG&VG. They belong to my bridal studio and i agreed because (a) package reasonable and more importantly (b) the VG did my friend's wedding too.
I have a hotel ballroom and the coordinator said that i shd collect the cards mid-Feb. Hotel-wise... no idea what theme, decor etc. More concerned abt the food and service!!!
I'm not Christian so just need tea ceremony and wedding dinner.. I've co-ordinated too many friends' weddings to know how tiring an AD is. When there's church involved, more tiring!
Yup... will of course have GDL. Just before Qing Ming month because not auspicious to have GDL during that QM month and also not preferred to give out invitation cards then too. And GDL means the pig and some cakes plus tea pot and seeds and whatever. Haven't planned for those. Just a rough idea with HTB, FMIL and my parents.

Hey loveXLB,
i used to collect all my friends' wedding invites and some menus over the past years as keepsakes (nice memories of helping them out) so i'll probably copy the wordings where possible. No special design.. will just use hotel card. My HTB and i are okie with the simple design. Need to save money somewhere.. Too much spent on honeymoon.

To Colt & ET
I'm having my wedding on a weekday too!! Date chosen lah.... Yippee.. Great minds think alike. Cheaper by a bit too. Just worried about dinner attendance becos it's a work and schoolday so some young parents may not attend, or will be late from work. Plus, i've got cousins all having exams i think, cos it's the mth of May.

To PSH and SoBlur,
I did the honeymoon tickets early because i wanted to upgrade to biz class and SQ only has a handful (very stringent) for every flight to give out. I couldn't even get the dates we planned on so had to delay the dates by several days.

I'm just very thankful my HTB is mostly ok with everything EXCEPT budget..

Hi Jane, I know... Have been attending the wedding shows and read up on my shortlisted hotels. Has one tentative booking liao. Keeping my fingers crossed. Btw how much did you pay in total for your PG and VG? My HTB set budget of S$1.5k to S$2k for both combined. Think really hard to get except to find freelancer.

wow! so much has happened in the last 2 days, the brides to be now seem all excited!

So blur/josfoo: my heart goes out to u all. will pray for both of you. Its hard being in a mixed religion marriage given that both sides have different expectations... But i do urge u to stand up for what u believe in no matter what, there is no gray line in this. If u give in once, will open up to more of it in the future.we owe it to god as well to stand up for him. It is also a sign to the opposers that u are serious about ur religion so dun play play. i dun mean to be preachy or what hope u are not offended. I just want us sisters to support each other in these times. =)

My honeymoon not settled. but most prob maldives if got $$. Wedding cards also...i realise the printers got template so can just copy! wohoo! thanks so much everyone for ur help.

If u all got photos already, share le share le...

hi jule, yours not late. mine 2nd april. after much discussion as BS insist in march in case they cannot rush out the album by early july. I shd be one of the latest. April is rainy season cos 'ching ming' around the corner.

celine> welcome..

mentos> I can guarantee you 99% JB will be cheaper DEFINITELY! Hahaha..

Coz the rates that my friend checked is 60% cheaper to do at T&T compared to T-Dra*gon...

hi uksportgal,
hehehe....thanks for confirming my order! 1 more thing settled for my wedding though it's a small thingy but every little counts

jeslyn,
actually im not too concerned abt arranging for them to meet up cos im sure there'll b plenty of chances b4 my AD, e.g food tasting at hotel, guo da li etc, as my fh n i r not dat sort to "purposely" make things happened so it'll seem awkward if we arrange for them to meet up suddenly, anyway we dun think they'll get d chance to meet up often oso :P
i guz wat irene n uksportgal suggested is gd...having buffet is a gd idea as it's informal n facilitates interaction at a more relaxed manner, if not, can arrange to have a dinner during CNY n everyone can go "lou hey", oso seems q fun

sue,
i think im an ultra shopaholic...hehehe, dat book really describes me frm wat u said, i havent read dat book yet....will try to find some time away frm my idol magazines n books to do some proper reading :P
yah lor, everywhere seems like a nice place to do some serious shopping....it's so addictive, it's my 3rd coach bag tis week
im so broke :P

cyc,
no prob, im sure dat there r other options available for u...meanwhile, mayb u can discuss wif ur fh on wat arrangement u want for ur church n banquet to find a compromise

nelle,
of cos i wld like to stay in amk, it's my ideal hometown
but i dun mind other nth-east area as amk is gona b real hot :P wah....2012 is really a long wait...but who knows by dat time i still havent got any flat n may need to ballot for dat area :P

hi cordie,
yah yah, me interested too, when there's any lobang, let me know esp balloting cos im v ill-informed of such things...den we can b neighbours liao wif nelle

hi meiling...
me also very ill-informed...htb normally the one taking note of major stuff like these...hee.. will let you know when i have any news...

hahaha... mei... you must stop liao.. otherwise your room will now be filled with COACH hahaha.. stop stop stop...and you huh.. always tempt me with the buys.. hahah
ya should read the book its really good. haha. once i start reading i cannot stop..

sue, yah i think i better control myself else i'll b broke :P furthermore, i think it's 4th n not 3rd den i asked my fren to help me buy burberry blue label, luckily it's in feb or mar :P
mal oso gona kill me cos im tempting her too but hor, smtimes it's a gd deal den shdnt miss it lor, hehehe....ok, will try to get hold of a copy when i go down to kino

Hi Eunice, we've got the same date for wedding

Where's your banquet at?

plasterbride, we are Carlton's brides. Who's your coord?

Talking about exercise...me long time nv also...haha..got to be more discipline to go jog le...

Hi All(2008/09) Sep Brides

I am Elim there also one of the Sep Brides

My wedding is on 13/9/08 and my resturant is 88 resturant and My Bridal Shop is Venus.

Anybody got Emcee to recommended me????

Please help thanks

hi jeslyn,
Welcome to OCt bride. Both side parents havent meet and their first meeting will be on my ROM date. Initially wanna them to meet earlier but hard to get a day where everyone is free. At first i worry too about parents not meeting before the AD however some brides here share with me that it alright. Hope my answer ease your worries..

at least ur hotel gt ang bao box ..
mine bo **sobs**
additional cost ...
i also need emcee manz .. i also dunno where to get whahaa

hi jeslyn,

mine was both parents saw each other b4 but was at my bf's grandma's funeral last yr.... wrong place, wrong time.... however, bf going to arrange a meal to get both sides families meet up....

hi gers,
Thanks for your encouragement. I guess i been wondering if spending too long together made him take me for granted or i am the one that kepts one sparks in life.. I really hope it me that is thinking too much.

yo cyc,
Can i ask the reason behind have church and AD one month apart? Naturally ppl will think it troublesome to hold the event 1 mth apart cos u need to do the whole preparation twice minus the cost aside. However if you have certain reason than it another story.

to jeslyn
I know my advise came a bit late but i agree with Irene . This is the new ERA if we ladies wants things we can go and get it ourselves...need not have to wait...

To Sue,
I have multiply long time ago n only know how to use it after coming to this forum to connect to the brides so no worries you are not the only one...we are all young if we can pick up facebook what is mulitply ....

To all
recently I have a lunch with some male colleagues and a topic sprung up. My lady colleague (Lady A) is married and pregnant to a cute bb boy . HOwever after 1 yr of marriage the hubby refused to give her allowance . He said that both are working parents why do i need to give u allowance.. what do you gers think of this?

hi sportgal,
I am thinking of getting cute electric lamps (those u need to display by the bedside) and maybe another nice ring pillow .. I know hongkong have a lot of nice ornament .. what else do you have to show us?
Sorry to trouble you..

Not sure if you guys watch it started with a kiss 2 but there is this chapel in guam really romantic and the pl seem nice n friendly for honeymoon too..

See what the bridal package covers. Whatever that is lacking have to source around.

Haha...of course the all impt Meet the Parents session (lunch/dinner).

Mary Poppins - I see... Where did you place the tentative booking? U still looking at other places? My total for PG and VG is abt $2.5k including express highlights and photo montage...

If your HTB budget is lesser.. den maybe u can take out the express highlights or montage...

There are cheaper VG or PG but the quality wise not so good... so it depends on wat you really want...

My hubby initially also thought it was expensive... but after comparing he realised that "You get wat you pay"... so in the end he agreed to taking the more expensive one... keke...

Good morning, Gals!

I'm so tired today, back to work liao!

My indoor PS everything ok...
But the moment we stepped outside, the raining is pouring heavily! We went to Seletar, Punggol & Changi to try my luck, all areas is raining. So I've to postpone my outdoor PS.. So sad... I waste my rose petals which suppose to be use on the beach...

koyoyo,
i alrdy told my fh dat if he wants to have a bb, he has to support d bb on his own n oso give him allowance like b4...dat's d precondition, so for me, it's a definite no-no :P
yes, of cos i saw it started wif a kiss 2 lah, yah it's v nice hor :P

hi Mary Poppins, the PG and VG are included in my package provided by Sophia. i am still gathering info from other brides, so have not decide for the PG, VG and makeup artist.

will be going to Sophia on Mar.

If you are planning to have ur AD on 23/11, below are the hotels that are already fully booked.
1) Amara hotel
2) Pan Pacific
3) M Hotel
4) Sheraton Hotel
5) Intercontinental Hotel (got tentatively booking)
6) Holiday Inn (both Parkview and Atrium)
7) Carlton Hotel
8) Novotel Hotel
9) Redezvous Hotel
10) Park Hotel Orchard
11) Le Meridien Hotel
12) Meritus Mandarin
13) Furama Hotel (both City centre & Havelock Rd)
The above is as of Dec07, provided to you so that u need not waste ur time to call these hotels again.

We did also try calling York Hotel, Park Royal (both Kitchener Rd & Beach Rd). These hotels feedback that they are still available as of Dec07.

Hope these information is useful to u.

Koyoyo,
I try see see got what good stuff ya? ring pillow.. what type u want? I have one very simple one if u want I sell u lor.. NEW one... coz that time hotel provide me then I din use liao.. hmmm where your ROM? did not provide?

The lamp I got to see see 1st.. :P post later ya

hey.. about that qn.. hmmm actually hor.. I feel la.. all the things in your head now.. is lack of communication le.. did you talk to your hubby?? discuss lor.. actually in life hor.. not only Other ppl will take advantage of you.. you also will.. coz we are human... we tend to do that.. is just that what degree u are at only.. so u can always talk to him and let him know your feeling.. share ma.. he also can share his.. and compromise.. not argue ya.. (although sometimes argue also a method of communicating but not advise)..... Try not to keep your true feelings from him... if you are happy tell him .. if you are not happy tell him also.. so he knows.. what u feeling.. no one will know how to feel unless u really tell .. and of coz when your partner share his feeling u got to listen too :P Do more talking ba.. Talking hor not Lor sor hor.. guys.. sigh.. be patient with them.. they are like that...

about the allowance one.. hmmm this is also communication.. and how much individual are into money matter... Some couple they pool money together and get their plan done together (that's me) some will seperate it so clearly.. who's who's money and only pay for what.. that's also one type.. be it which ever type you are.. it is simply just a method of how the couple handle money... so.. once again communication is impt .... it is not the 1st day you know your hubby .. and this matter will affect how u / his life style gonna be.. (althought money is not everything but without it u can't buy as you like spend as u like.. some ppl will find this a problem..esp guys sometimes).. it is just simple thing.. talk to him lor :P

Your friend case not much comment coz hard to say.. maybe really as the husband say.. both are earning the same amt of money.. and maybe the guys already paying all the things?? there is too many possible case.. so hard to say who's more right...

rem one thing.. diff couple diff way of lifestyle.. never go compare... do it the way you 2 feel comfortable with is most impt...

hi jule.. u are not late.. i've yet to start on my gown design.. will be meeting them on 25 Jan.. My PS will also be in late Mar.. hopefully still have time..

Thanks stef & s'rene for the add @ multiply.. also some others.. good to share some nice photos & our preparations.. I'm still revamping my multiply.. haven't been using for quite some time.. anyone can add me @ jyyf.

getting more n more excited each day as the day draw nearer.. happy preparing all!!

hi sportgal,
Thanks for the prompt reply. ROM in sg dont provide anything other than the pen and the cert. Anyway i got a ring pillow already but i am looking for a nice one for my church wedding that all so no hurry . The lamp i am trying to find a pretty one as i saw in a hongkong trip back sometime back they got make wedding accessories until it very cute.

As for talking hor hor i talk to my partner a lot lot on wat i want in life with him believe me talk , msn email whatever i tried . it not those subtle type it really big talk ..in the end i got this conclusion "The man just dont get it"

As for my friend case.. Well i think they arent earning the same amount ba i dunno cos my fren complain the hubby dun wish to tell her his pay roll amount.. very mean of him hor...

Huh?? just find see who u can trust to do it.. then ask..hey can u be my emcee for my wedding??
They'll say yes or no loh.. heehhee...

koyoyo, icic I help u see see if got what u want ba.. give me sometime :P what about the paper cutting that one u want? coz I wanna order altogether if possible :P

hee hee he dun agreed with you or no response? or you ask him tell you what he wants?

hmmm I do feel be it the allowance is alot of little.. I will hope my hubby give me la.. is a sense of responsiblity.. anyway I save up the money also for family use :P ....

hahahaha maybe for your friend case can work other ways out ma.. get him pay other home stuff lor then in "total" the sum is still the same.. just that he pay for the bills.. and she can keep the money.. work out other method hee hee

Hi Whitegalz,
We have not think abt it yet... But I saw my friend house hv a kissed "xi", which the groom put on lip stick during the door opening. Quite meaningful & can display after the wedding.

Hi sweet_lady,
Hv not seen you here for a long time. Better start looking for your PS & VG fast fast. Cause most of the famous & affordable ones are taken up many mths ago when I started to look for mine.

GDL things quite easy, just go to the neighbourhood shop selling household products one. I got mine everything from a shop in Ang Mo Kio. Can PS me if you need the info. Tea cups & lamps are suppose to be gifts from mum, Thus just leave the job to her.

Hi apple_gal,
Oh man. We shared the same fate! So when you postpone your outdoor PS to? Any extra cost incurred? Tired from smiling too much? Hee