(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi jo_vin,
Thanks for sharing the BS! I might be going down this sun.. =) thanks thanks!

Hi sockie,
I booked my at the BOWS 2008 on the 5th Jan.
Mine is the smaller ballroom.. Max 20 tables, thats why still available...but have to cut my guestlist by a lot! The bigger one.. fully booked from Oct-Jan09 i think! faint...

hehe.... maybe need to update the list again soon....

I think i better exercise too... instead of losing weight due to stress, I think I am putting on weight... cos I only eat and sleep and surf net all day.....

I will be looking for an extra AD photographer.... the photographer that I engaged for my church wedding was really good so considering to ask them to do it for me too... hehe

Hi, Selina
Really very tiring from smiling.
Aiyo, the photography still teased us, wah so serious, want go fight war issit? =.=
Dun't smile like tat so fake leh.. Natural smile please.. For pose also not easy. Photoshot is never a easy 1! I was so nervous for my 1st costume shot...Can't even smile at all.. I wanna fainted! Really very tired.

I postpone my outdoor PS to 3-Feb-08(sunday)..

Hi, Gals
Just wanna do we still need to do menicure for outdoor PS? Any advise?

Hi, Selina

Ya, need to pay for my MUA for the makeup, extra S$80, then need to pay amopule & eyelashes if needed...
Let pray for the good weather...

hi koyoyo... i guess its jiajia you ben nan nian de jing. but no choice... we have to find a solution around it.. otherwise it will be a problem all the time.

as for you... maybe communication is the factor which is making you feel this way now... dun worry.. as you move long.. and experience more.. guess things will work out on its own in a way or another..

apple_gal> you should la... do a nice one loh.. might take ur fingers also ma... unless u wanna hide hide here... and there.. hahahhaa....
Which is ur BS??

Hi apple_gal, i didnt do manicure for my outdoor shoot cos i was too lazy. If you are not lazy like me, you should go and do.. then you will feel more at ease to show your fingers and pose.. haha can do a different one from your indoor shoot then can see two different manicure in your album.. hee I requested a different eyeshadow colour for my outdoor shoot..

I had similar encounter during my PS also.. Photographer say i smiled until very fake.. haha Feb will have better weather

Hi, Rach
My BS is Fame Bridal at yishun. Near my house, convieient to me.

Hi, Selina
I must say that i like the hairstyle & makeup by my MUA, dily. Too bad, the last outdoor is a totally different hairstyle & Makeup which unable to take Photo yesterday....

I scare that my wedding is very boring so i wanted to get a emcee loh. But i know a emcee that cost $800.00 i almost fainted... hahaha

My budget between $200 - $400.00. If you have any recommendation let me know.

Rach: Thanks alot i got your e-mail liao

elim> you can get one of ur brother n jiemeis to help. then jus give them an angbao can le..

rach> thanks for ur planner.. its super detailed.. my rings still not bought.. yet i m still nua-ing..
seems like everything in JB is cheaper.. my cousin's bridal package less than 2K in there, i past by the T&T printer in city sq, but didnt ask anything.. do you know if they print in gold or silver??

apple_gal>>> oh.. PhotoShoot sound very tiring... err... so actually do have pros and cons for split day.... pros is you will nt be so tired, as least it's 2 day event... cons is you need to pay for the MUA and also menicure.. woo... I was thinking of spliting the PS into 2 days... nw have to reconsider...

meiling - europe and jap are great choices too. if u want to pick a place in europe, pick france, switzerland or italy (if u never been before). Very romantic! For Jap, Koyoto is really nice and traditional place to visit! wow u sounds like a real serious shopper leh! haha...must save $ for wedding, dont waste $ on more coach!!

hey uksportgal, my friend christina liew has transferred the $ to u on behalf. please check leh..thanks
hey u mentioned kua - where can i rent 1 at a good price huh?

sue - yeah..shop shop shop here...haha!

koyoyo - agreed with sue la...communication is very important. everyone has different preference and appetite when it comes to $$!frankly it is also very much depends on how much the guy earns..if he is not really earning a lot, expecting him to pay everything is juz too taxing! i am like uksportsgal - shared pool is the best! thr approach is to agree on a certain savings per month into the joint account. The remaining $ to retain in our individual account so we can buy our own things etc. Wow that guy sounds a little nasty leh...at least must share! cannot just refuse to give $!!! But again some ladies have v high expectation of their partner..i.e. pay every single thing...that is wrong thinking too esp if the guy earns same or less or slightly more amount. My view is that woman shld remain independant even after marriage. Once we depend too much on men, they might step on top of us gradually! I heard from this friend that she knows this lady (who doesnt work and depend heavily on her husband financially) who basically had to close both her eyes even though her husband goes out and fool around loh...so ridiculous!

cyc - u are welcome. I am sure u will find a nice church in spore to have your wedding ceremony! heard there is a nice one near to harbourfront area...search around loh

Hi, Lara
Wah, ur BS charges so much! Chop bride huh! Which is ur BS?

Hi, Moments
Aiyo, i rather take one day finish all things.. Half day i already tired till like tat... Somemore i take leave leh.. Waste my leave also.. so sad

Hi Mage, Urs is a lunch event? How do u arrange for your relative's tea-ceremony since you would not be going to your own family house already right? Please share as i am also expecting a lunch affair.

Wow jojo, thats really cheap....i mean in some shopping centre which i enquired the price, it range from $80 and above.

yeah.. true... but i dunno why i prefer outdoor shoot...and the places i wanna go to is like quite far apart also... trying ways to figure the best way out...

woah... $300 extra for split photoshoot... tat's... exp... hmmm

irene,
yah i duno y but im always hooked onto shopping, guz i was deprived of pretty things when i was young as i cant fit into any of those stuff in d past :P yah i intend to go paris, switzerland, italy n germany if i ever go to europe, dat's wat my fh suggest...
btw, u were asking abt kua...if u dun mind d price, there's a place called house of etiquette whereby they have many kuas n cheongsums for sale or for rental...it's v pretty but ex :P

apple_gal> haha.. okie.. Fame is just opposite my block..

momnents> no need manicure again if its one day difference loh.. u al doing on 2 weekends huh?? I'm doing in on Tue & Thur.. so its okie.. one manicure will do.. heheh..

And 2 days u can start ur outdoor earlier.. if one day. by the time u go outdoor already 4-5pm, take abit need to rush for sunset le...
But i having 2 albums.. so must have 2 days..so can take more shots to choose.. heheh..

elim> welcome.

waxie> yeah.they print in gold and silver also.. if u wanna print on the wedding invite itself... if i dont rem wrongly la..

hi all, can anyone recommend MUA at FB? anyone booked package with FB? my big day on 23.09.2008.

Can anyone recommend a good photographer/videographer too?

Can anyone suggest where to get jiemeis' dresses?

Hi all Sep BTBs,

my AD on 23 Sept 08. Signed up with French Bridal. Dinner at Sheraton Towers Hotel.

Can anyone tell me where to get ang bao box and ring pillow?

Any recommendation for VG and PG too?

Ring pillows can get frm ur wedding bands jewweller bah .. use once than only serves as decor only no need spend so much on it bah .. just my 2 cents ..
I'm still looking around for ang bao box and vg/pg now tho ... hopefully b4 cny i can settle the pg/vg part *prays*
im not thinking of jiemeis dresses till i settle my gowns and photoshoot bah ...

uksportgal,
i think mal or melody wld have an idea of d pricing cos they were rather interested in renting a kua there, i havent go down n see for myself but i heard d kuas there r nice

icic by the way this is not the only one renting KUA.. do have few contact.. but got to dig out..

hahaha no one wanna buy ~.~ hahahah buy liao also dun keep right.. might as well rent right?? but then hor.. buy and sell out can earn back cost ma cheaper than rent one hahahahhaha did anyone think of that? :P

Ah Net> For PG, if you are looking for reasonable ones at affordable rates, you can check out my cousin-in-law's works. He's starting out and i find he's doing a great job, thus engaging him for my ROM and AD this year..
PM if you want to see his works..

VG+Animation I got it from Stefine.. has seen their works at my fren's weddings and simply love them!

Jiemei dresses from Daniel Yam loh.. otherwise just fix a standard color or type of dress, and then get them to go find themselves ba..

Ang Pow box & Ring Pillow.. i think Precious THots have... else can DIY.. my church providing also.. so no need during Holy Matromony..

Its provided during Solemnization at Merchant Court Hotel as well, so no need to buy also..

Ayukie> if you interested in my PG, let me know la.. he charges $500 for whole day PG and editing of photos..if u require other stuffs, can negotiate with him..

Do you guys think it is rude if I do not accept the ang baos of friends who are unable to attend my wedding?

My reason for rejecting the angbao is that I feel paiseh to take their gift / angbao since they are not going for the dinner. But on second thoughts, is this rude as if I am rejecting their well wishes and blessings?

Hi apple_gal,
You didn't take leave to rest today ah? Must be really tiring! Btw, if you did french manicure, you can buy the Sally Hansen's french manicure kit and just touch up using the white-tip pen. Don't have to spend more money to do another manicure again.

hi apple_gal, ya i agree $80 is considered cheap as i paid $180 for postponement of outdoor.

hi moments, if you prefer more outdoor shoot, u can tell your PG your preferred weightage of indoor vs outdoor. He can devote more time for outdoor shoot to capture more photos.

Hi jukel... Welcome to the thread! You're not the only one with X-Zen. My bestie is with them too and going to Krabi for the PS in 2 weeks time. I saw they put up the Melb PS pics outside. So nice and memorable for me cos I studied there...

Adding Jukel's info:

Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
Praisey - 6 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design
Piggypang - 06 July 2008 /Marina Mandarin / Whitelink
Gladys Ho - 07 July 2008 / Marina Mandarin / no BS (DIY)
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design /Bobman Photography/ Candy Cake Shop (3 tier cake)
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
BBIguana - 14(AD&ROM) & 19(Dinner) July 2008 / StarDuS(ROM) & Marriott Hotel / Flamingo Bridal / Linn Kong Photography & Mokey (AD&Dinner) / Fairys' Inc
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News /Plushphotography[ROM]Oneeyeclick[AD]
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB) / Snapxot Photography
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / J&M
De_princess- 20 July 2008 /The Arts House & Marina Mandarin/ Silverlining Bridal Couture
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Flauntiq- 26 Jul'08/ No banquet / French Bridal
JJ - 26 July 2008 / M Hotel / Di Gio
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Jukel - 26 & 28 July 2008 / Mandarin Oriental / X-Zen
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room

I note that we've not heard from some of these BTBs for a while. Hope they're all doing fine!

Hi Mei, im considering be going to Switzerland, italy and paris too. Then can dream buying rolex, gucci and LV hahahaha. But you are not going after the wedding right? Otherwise we can go together hehe. Mei, save yr money and go US buy coach instead, they are much cheaper over there.

Uksportgal, one of my gf rented kua from HOE few years back and it already cost her 300+ then. Now i think it shld cost alot more. I found a contact which rent kua at quite a reasonable rate, might consider getting from her since its only for a few hrs.

Has anyone seen any hello kitty wedding guestbook before?

yeah..got my AD PS. Cost more than my BS... *sobs*

Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
Praisey - 6 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design / Expressively Joho
Piggypang - 06 July 2008 /Marina Mandarin / Whitelink
Gladys Ho - 07 July 2008 / Marina Mandarin / no BS (DIY)
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design /Bobman Photography/ Candy Cake Shop (3 tier cake)
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
BBIguana - 14(AD&ROM) & 19(Dinner) July 2008 / StarDuS(ROM) & Marriott Hotel / Flamingo Bridal / Linn Kong Photography & Mokey (AD&Dinner) / Fairys' Inc
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News /Plushphotography[ROM]Oneeyeclick[AD]
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB) / Snapxot Photography
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / J&M
De_princess- 20 July 2008 /The Arts House & Marina Mandarin/ Silverlining Bridal Couture
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Flauntiq- 26 Jul'08/ No banquet / French Bridal
JJ - 26 July 2008 / M Hotel / Di Gio
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Jukel - 26 & 28 July 2008 / Mandarin Oriental / X-Zen
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room

Ah Net> Me also french bridal.. i think the FB popular MUAs are Jinyan and Joanne. hehe.. havent seen their MU skills personally, but btb on the thread recommend them.

i should be DIY-ing my angbao box(from A4 box into square) and ring pillow (if jeweller not providing).

Hi Jane, as I would be having lunch, so no need for express highlights. Not too sure if want to do the montage ourselves or outsource it. Initially HTB's budget is max S$1,500. I persuaded him to go up to S$2k. Made tentative booking with MM and GWP.

Hi sleepygal, thanks for your very comprehensive list. Wont be making anymore calls. Have narrowed on the above two mentioned. Which ballroom in MM are u using? Who's ur coordinator? Btw i m also thinking of going to SWC in March to select the gowns. Just in case need to MTM evening gowns

I was thinking of doing animation montage (stefine). Any BTB doing tt? Do u think it's worth it?

Hi ashely,

I have the same sitation as well. There's this couple that will be unable to attend my wedding. But still they pass me the AP already. I rejected them but they insist on me receiving as its their well wishes.

So in the end just receive it. In a way, its good for us also...