(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi gals, I doubt I stand any chance in getting a flat at this WIS. But I can't afford a resale flat coz AMK owners are asking for as much as 50K in cash. If I dump in all my cash, I wouldn't have enough for reno. And I wouldn't have any cash for rainy days. Really big headache...

Hi gers, I updated my wedding banquet as well. Seems like all of us can starts counting down soon....
Thanks nebear for the effort to compile the list...

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
Dec 08 brides
Dec_08_Brides-519854.xls (15.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

well s'rene.. yeps... i initially wanted the 'bubble-gown' kinda design.. but the interest in it wear off le. kkee.. and ya.. i prefer teh usual classic designs.. so i guess ya.. not much of a prob.. =)

btw... S'rene.. i think its a great idea to be singing during yr 2nd march-in.. erms, but would it be a surprise kinda thg.. or would he noe? hehe.. well, since u are suggesting this.. i guess.. u r a gd singer? keke =P

Hi Ling Ling..
the OCC u mentioned is it mean Orchid Country Club? If that is the one u mentioned, the ballroom is really big. I attended my friend's wedding there. The ceiling is quite high as well. Food serving portion is huge...food tasting...so-so lor. Normal food in restaurant..don't really have a nice dish which is particularly good. Location a bit far especially those w/o cars. The service there also not that good. I remember we ask the waitress to serve us tea, took us a couple of request b4 we get the tea. Also, got one waitress even reject our request. Said that she is not in-charge of our table!! Anyway, didn't leave a deep impression of the food and service there. These are just few of my feedbacks for your review...anyway, you can still go there and take a look at the location first b4 deciding.

hi flora_bliss,
i share the same sentiments as u...i cant afford a resale flat cos they r simply cutting our throat n squeezing every drop of our hard-earned $. if i dumped my savings there, wont b able to afford my wedding expenses n renovation &amp; furniture for my new hse nxt time...sigh...hope to find gd deals but for AMK area, i doubt so den my mum kept bugging me to get a flat b4 my AD next yr, stressed

Strawberry, thanks for adding me on the list. I am having my reception at Four Seasons. Anyone has any tips on what I can do with BS? I live overseas so don't have much time to plan.

Thanks so blur for consolidating our dates. Thats so sweet of you.

Thanks Mabel for the PMB info. Are the OTR gowns new as in not worn before? My mum is quite particular abt that so I have to get a new piece.

Oh dear, I haven selected my BS yet. Is it very late to do it now?? Anyone has visited Margaret's BS? I find their lace wedding gowns quite nice but heard its expensive too.

Hi PolarWhite! Finally another Oct '08 BTB..I overlooked this thread and started a new one...

I'm having my wedding on 11th Oct 2008 at Merchant Court.

Just my 2 cents:

Don't try to save too much on ampoules and eyelashes. These are the earnings of the MUA. If you take these away from her, she may not be too happy. It will affect the way she do your makeup (subconciously or purposely). Your wedding is once in a lifetime, what is $40 ($15+$25) compared to what you have spent and your happiness.

Anyway, quite a number of the MUA out there do not allow you to use your own eyelashes and ampoules. Do check first.

The other thing about eyelashes. They dun charge you extra if they have to use up another pair to replace if the mascara clumps up the first pair too much, etc. They also have to ensure the eyelashes shape and length fit well with your makeup. If the ones you buy outside don't fit well, you are just wasting your money.

Fifi,

I have also gone thru the same reasoning. My problem is that I have already paid her a lot.
$75 during PS: Ampoule of myself + hubby + eyelashes
It will be another $75 to $100 for AD: Ampoules + eyelashes for day and night
Plus I will be getting her to do the makeup for my bridesmaid. (add another $80+)
All these adds up. and to me the total amount I am topping up for makeup is getting ridiculous.

hey girls, been away for awhile too. have not been doing much these days.. think "over-excitement" has died down a little.. thinking of the more "sian" part of finances. haha!

i think it's not too early to 'chop' gowns. the earlier the better (personal feel lah) so you can choose from a wider range and not worry it cant be altered *somewhat* to exactly what you have in mind. =) stef, doubt gowns go out of fashion lah. unless you getting your mum's or grandma's gown then maybe need to think if you like maybe retro? and s'rene, i don't think you have to decide from scratch if you MTM. perhaps going to BS and trying on gowns, then decide which cutting/material/colour suits you most and work around it? i'll be looking at photos online just to have a better sense. might ask my god-ma to view with me -- do you think asking friends (i mean people more of our age) better?

hi ladies...
do agree with fifi abit..&amp; also agree with sleepycat...
so mayb u can let them earn abit...but some u can source on ur own...
mayb ampoules use ur own...but fake eye lashes us ur MUA 1...then if MU for bridesmaid...either u let her do or u source cheaper....so either ways..ur MUA dun feel tat u are cutting away all her extra costs...=)
u can try the angelchua on multiply which cabbage &amp; i are talking abt...mayb she charge cheaper for ur bridesmaid...u can consider...

just my 2 cents...

actually does waiting help?
I was watching some TV programme and they said that this property boom will continue to 2012...
true? I see my friends busy looking and yet no results mar...

Finally i am back again on this thread. Wedding is less than 10 months away..soo excited...hee. My wedding is on 6th of June at Hilton. BS booked, banquet booked. Anybody can advise me on what else to do? Seems like nothing much on my list....

Staying with parents is kind of inconvenient at times. For example, my partner comes over on the weekends to stay with me. Usually when I sleep alone at night, I don't close the door unless I switch on the aircon. So when we are having those lazy weekend afternoon long naps, we'll close the door. I think my family must have thought I am some nympho-maniac! hahaha...
Little did they know my partner snores so loud that I have to close the door.

Ya.. do ask a friend or 2 to go along with you when you go to try.. Even if you do MTM.. have to try on the different styles, like Halter, Bustier, A Line, mermaid etc.. See which one looks better on you..

Totally agree Finances planning is quite sian..

haha... Stnov, muddpie was stating bout the angle chua's multiply. Din noe the ampoules are from her. Cheap... Cheap... $3 for a bottle &amp; eyelashes $5 for a pair

hihi... well, i have checked w my beautician... she also dun agree with bringing our own ampoule... cos there are too many kind.. (even though i noe u ladies has specify wat u nd,
) it would be worse if u use the ampoule that is not meant for MU... cos not all can use for MU.

She also mentioned that it is not neccessary to use ampoule... if you dun wan.. jus simply tell the MUA that you dun nd.. but dun bring urself and ask her to apply for u.. (can you imagine ' I dun even earn ur $$ yet still nd to apply for u')

Jus some sharing...

Oh yah... you may wish to consider using ampoules for treatment before AD. Make your skin nice nice. I find this is more important and ampoules on AD.

I've been using that budget planner thingy... and the finances are a bit stressful. Lucky it's not gonna be a big thing...

us_mei - I think it depends whose opinion you value the most. I might bring a friend or 2 along when I go try the gowns, or I might not. I have this thing abt shopping alone so having friends along may/may not work out for me.

Stef - I sing pretty okay... No windows/glasses will break. I wanna try to have it as a surprise thing... but if we walk in together... then he'll know leh...

Hello Xinyi, most probbaly would be taking photographer from bridal shop. Videographer wise, am still thinking about whether i should get one. Since we already have a photographer. Any feedback?

Also, can anybody advise me if there's any website i can refer to for nice wedding or evening gowns? Both my gowns are MTM, already settled designed for wedding gown. But, cant find any nice evening gown pics. Thingking if i can find some nice wedding gown pics and convert it to a evening gown.

Juli, i had been to margaret brides b4.. very pretty gowns and price is the standard for suchdesigner bridal boutiques. If u intend to MTM, u have to decide soon. If it's OTR, u still can perhaps decide by next month, but that's provided ur photo taking is not very early. Have about 5 months between making of gown to taking of photos. All the best!

My beautician has ever mentioned that you can put it on the day before. the effect is still the same as puttin on before MU.

Wat I intend to do on my AD is to put it on my face myself just before the MUA arrives. So I will not be requesting her to put it on for me.

Hi gers..

THank wat i tot so.. apply myself before MUA comes.. then will not be too awkard..
by the way, I will be using angel for my ROM makeup.. very reasonable price @ $88 for hairdo + makeup + ampoules + fake lashes + a free gift for me &amp; hubby. =D

wah...gers...idea leh
apply b4 MUA come...hehe...think i shall do tat...
then use her fake eyelashes...so that she dun feel tat not even letting her earn abit..=p

noreen,
when is ur ROM?

Hi jennifer,

prep has been quite alrite.
BS is s*letar broadway.
Dinner @ Carlton Hotel
House just finished reno, its been a busy 2 months. was doing house reno + hotel hunting.

how abt u? =)

polarwhite: I wanted 18th Oct but this date has been taken up by another couple in MC. It's suppose to be a good day for wedding..

silent: We're having it on the same day...

actually wanted 18th oct too but most of the hotels r taken up, I got Marina Mandarin on 18th oct but had to give up as I can't meet the min. requirement of 40 tables on a Sat, so I chose 17th oct. :P
btw, how's d progress of the preparation of your wedding for you gals? care to share? i'll be having my ROM separately next year too