(2008) Brides of year 2008

nelle, bishan isn't cheap. In fact they can be more expensive than AMK. And some seller even adopt the bidding system to fetch a higher price for their bishan flat. Sigh....

Hi Meilin

We'll be having my ROM on 19th Jan 2008. Am sourcing for a venue now.

We're currently looking for AD PG & VG and we'll be done for our wedding prep. Very KS..

Creating a list will be great!!

cabbage....so des neh.....=)

hey gers mi have collected d ampoulses fm angel oreadi....shall we have a mini kopi or sumthg so as for u to collect as well.....pls advise....=)

Oh my, how can the video be any good?

The angle of the shots were bad, the editing is also not good, the dancing part was the scary part. The gals were wearing white and I swear its looks ghostly! The facial imperfection of the bride is editing in the final cut. That's not the work of a good videography.

The coverage of the the ROM is not comprehensive and imagine watching it over and over again, I think after the 10th time, you'll not ever watch it again. ROM videography is meant for yourself to watch and reminise the memories and not a TV commercial.

So ya, for the work they produce their rates are expensive

keke..yeps gals... agree dat finances are quite sians.
we 're trying to stick to budget.. and so far, have managed to do so for the little things dat we've oredi sorta chop/paid deposit for.
so , quite happy abt dat. haha

ya... us_mei.. i guess its not too early to take a look and chop gown... if really tink abt it n dun like..den jus go down BS and re-choose or smthg.. anyway, we are the customers.. hehe.. i am jus tinkg.. they'll be quite sians if i chop den go back n chg.. n den chop again and chg again. hehe =P

i guess soon all these pre-excitement will die off wanx la.. moreover, our wedding still quite some months away.. but honestly, come dec..end of the year.. we'll be so much nearer.. n it gets stressful again. haha

Hi Mal,
I'm having my ROM on 6th July 2008, also searching for a ROM venue. Can share your listing with me?
oppsss....like that I more KS than you are, I have settled my BS, AD PG & VG already, booked my JP...only left with venue, some places dun allow advanced booking.

Ok, I shall start creating a list with all the inputs received.

<table border=1><tr><td>Username</TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mal</TD><TD>19-Jan</TD><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>Merchant Court</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>silent</TD><TD> </TD><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>Raffles the Plaza</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>^MeiLinG5^</TD><TD>06-Jul</TD><TD>17-Oct</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Photo Language &amp; Bobman Photography</TD><TD>Hilo Production </TD></TR><TR><TD>PolarWhite</TD><TD> </TD><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Thanks so blur for your advice. I think I better start looking around real soon, so looks like your preps are all in the pipeline?

Your BS is Divine Couture right? How is it? Is it along Tanjong Pagar too? I will probably go down on Sat to take a look at the BS there.

Anyone has Margaret's Brides package details to share with me, please?

My BS is Thomson wedding.

We're looking at a few places for ROM though but nothing is confirmed for now. Have not confirmed any JP yet. Who is ya JP?

We want to settle the PG &amp; VG soon too! haha

hi Mal,
OK, I'll add ur BS in. Do let me know if you got any nice place to recommend...I got Bro Emmanuel as my JP as I know him personally through work... who do u intend to get?

Hi Flora
Wow...that is really cut-throat. This upturn is going to last for the next 2-3 years, predicted by the economists.

This is a 'bad' time to buy resale. Can you imagine forking out $20-50k in cash upfront to buy a unit and it may not be worth that much by the time you intend to sell it? So heartache.

I guess most of you are jing4 tui4 liang3 nan2.

hi flora_bliss and nelle,
i'm looking an active lookout but i won't buy for the sake of buying cos it's too big an investment that can result in carring a debt for the rest of my life...hope to find an ideal unit but i can always shelf my plans for another 2 years cos i dun intend to have a baby this soon...:P

silent,
some can be very cheap while some very expensive, i've came across those below $1K for AD VG and those above $3K (i've decided to employ 2 but i've confirmed Photo Language which is slightly below $3K, my 2nd PG will be confirmed by early sep), for VG, i've only considered one, Hilo Production based on my fren's recommendation...she used him for her AD tis Jul.

silent, maybe u can go n view the works of those PG who has posted in the SGBride forum...for my 2nd PG, i got him for my rom n ad thru another Oct BTB, snowypooh, cheap n good

haha... I only hired photographer for my ROM... as for Videographer, well, I think we will just get a friend to video for us...
As for wedding, we might consider splurging on a vidographer... which I think is still too early to start searching... haha....
my lazy bones start to take effect again lar... hehe

So sad rite? keep telling us to get married and yet we got no flats...
Keep pushing us to move to punggol, sengkang or even jurong west but yet, tell us to live near parents.... weird?

yea...
i agree on a mini kopi session...after our 1st meetup in jun...we hvn had out next kopi session...
shall we fix on next wed 29th? cos i think jo is having her ps on 31st...
m i rite jo?

hi nelle,
yah im looking at 5-rm AMK near MRT but i guz the price must b rocket high n it's close to 30 yrs old flat (older than me), if no choice, den have to consider seng kang area liao

hi mindy,
yah lor, wanted to live in AMK also difficult, then my mum's area not much choice too, Serangoon North...Seng Kang still not as bad as Punggol and Jurong West if u talk abt the distance...but i see ppl asking for over $400K for a unit in Seng Kang...nearly fainted :P
like dat i rather live in the void deck, the cost of owning a HDB is not affordable at all...

hi meiling,

Is it too early to source for the PG? As for the VG its not very important. I abit lazy to source for it...hehe...got any recommandation anot...

hi silent,
not necessary to source so early but i want to concentrate on the smaller details next year and my ROM, unless ur AD is a hot date and ur AD PG is popular...for VG, i quite like Hilo Production after i viewed Christopher's works...his package is quite reasonably priced too, my fren went for the basic but i went for the premium

meiling

Can you give me hilo production &amp; photo language contact?
I'm looking at the 2 PG for AD. Might consider taking from Chris Ling.

Like you mentioned, ks coz it seems that our dates are 'hot' dates.. haha

Hi girls, I am in need of a temp staff for administrative work for the period of beginning of Sep to end of Nov. Work location in CBD area. If you know anyone (w/o experience is ok), let me know. Thanks.

how are your prep going along?
seems to have a lot of things to do.

for me, i have settled venue, BS and fix date for PS.

still sourcing for VG and PG. House havent start renov. guest list not firmed up. wedding shoes havent buy.

also looking around for nice 'Xi' bedsheets. and hunting for jiemeis as well........

oh gosh!! must breathe slowly. :p

Yap Strawberry, 7th sept hot date. Had a very difficult time booking hotel on this date. Didn't manage to get the hotel we wanted though..

Btw does anyone has any good VG and emcee to recommend? My BS will do the AD PG but dun think they provide VG. And when should i start to book VG and emcee for my AD?

Hi, I having solemnisation &amp; customary on the same day... But i having poolside solemnisation so do not have prob with couples having same AD "snatching" for ballroom.... I yet to decide to have it at Marriott or Conrad... Will be meeting up with the sales ppl next wk....

Hi sasa, going through the bridal magazines is a good start, you can see the details more. There are plenty to see in kinokuniya.

Another way to narrow down the designs is to try the gowns of diff cuttings. To find which designs suit your bodyshape best. There are bustier, halter, off shoulder, ball gowns, A line, etc...

Last time i use to like halter neck kind, but later find that bustier ones suit me better lor.

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick </TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS </TD><TD>PG </TD><TD>VG </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD> green</TD><TD>01Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Seacool</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Daphne Wong</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>jess_liang</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>mentos</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>FRH</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>wongfam</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>d0lphin</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Winniethepooh</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Crown</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Groombride</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD>Grand Plaza Park Hotel</TD><TD> Volan Couture</TD><TD> Volan Couture</TD><TD> Arteliex</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>babyxanne</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>truefaith</TD><TD> 14Sep08</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>peach</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Mandarin</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>xiaolubao</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>dannybo</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD>Santiago</TD><TD>Albert-Everafter</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Gina Ng</TD><TD>20Sep08</TD><TD>NCQ</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>Visioworkz</TD><TD>Visioworkz</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Sweetbeng</TD><TD>21Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>MrsYap</TD><TD>26Sep08</TD><TD> Marriott </TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>teekel</TD><TD>26Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>vangiepooh</TD><TD>19Sep08</TD><TD>Fullerton</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>tlisa</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>FRH</TD><TD>PMM Bridal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>chumint</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>FCC</TD><TD>Bliss Bridal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>fruitchick</TD><TD>07Sep</TD><TD>Four Seasons</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Think it's because of the 888 significant in the lunar calendar
plus it happened to be a sunday.
chumint What's the hotel u wanted intially?

\
Updates:
Lydia: 1/11/08-?-?
Lost: 8/11/08-HIPV-Signoria Nuziale
Rommie: 15/11/08-Furama City Centre-Bridal Elegance
mei: 16/11/08-GCW-Silhouette
Tiffy: 22/11/08-?-Silverlining
Xin: 22/11/08-Furama Riverfront-Yvonne Creative
MoMo: 23/11/08-HIPV-Di Gio
Sleepydopeey: 23/11/08-Marina Mandarin-?
Nicole: 28/11/08-?-?
Pinky81: ?-?-?

tiffy~~ 80 tables maybe u want to consider Orchard Hotel..

NIcole~~ u are looking at weekend or weekday??

hi mal,
ray from photo language is outstationed at the moment, he'll be back next week. hilo production is my vg, not pg...sure, but can leave me your email address so i can email u the details?

hi polarwhite,
actually i wanted to do my solemnization n customary on the same day but im scared i'll be tired, so decided to separate. :P

I guess mine is not that difficult as i will be staying with parents in law... so no need to bother abt getting flats and renovation... just need to get new furniture, which we can start finding at year end, or early next year...

Had settled wedding rings, venue (thou not yet confirm the number of tables) &amp; BS... have not decide on the date for PS thou shld be in Oct...

Parents had already met up but the details of what needs to be bought is not confirmed yet... need to consult my eldest aunt... hehe

eh... a lot of ppl always say got a lot of things to do, but i can't think of what else... :P

Do all brides take up packages from bridal studios? I am just abt to begin planning &amp; I wonder if I should source for the various VG, MUA and gowns separately instead of taking on a package. but frens have advised that it wld take a lot of time &amp; more $. comments?

hey,

thanks for the advice. I think i will end up with noble house. But now 7th month, cant do anything. By the way, got any good MUA &amp; photographer to recommend?

Oops... I juz realized I missed out the "not" (before the word nice) from my earlier posting. No wonder, some were surprised with wat I've written. hahaha... I totally changed the meaning of my comments.

I've had quite a number of friends/cousins getting married over these few years but I've yet to pick up a lot on wedding planning. haha! know roughly what to look for, etc but still.. thankfully, have gotten some contacts (passed down ones). it's just knowing exactly what to settle for in the end that will matter. this of course hasn't involved the "finance" part so it's fun until you have to think of your wallet. keke! I think I'm glad to have found some neutral (&amp; helpful!) comments from others that I might not have had a chance to meet in real life, as in all you girls..

well, thing is stef, if i 'chop' a gown here, it means they will make to my size, according to the pattern i want.. and since i'm like super small-sized in US terms lah, i doubt can just change the design anytime i want coz i'm buying the gown per se. it will belong to me. not like in sg, it's more like gown rental? (ok, at least i think it is) so must make a careful decision. also, all my good galfriends are in sg.. =( i've taken pics of the initial visit and shown my mum and cousin.. but like i dunno if photos and seeing in real life is different anot.. i've tried halter, a-line, mermaid, trumpet.. didnt do ballgown coz i thot i might be overwhelmed by the amt of cloth. haha! i think i look nice in most of them but inclined towards the halter and a-line more coz make me look more princessy! haha. the mermaid and trumpet my mum said i look gorgeous but maybe a little matured and my cousin said i looked old! but my bf liked those the most. haha! how?

hey us_mei,

ya.. i guess in SG .. its diff..coz we're renting the gown (can MTM but it'll still belong to the BS) .. so .. ya..

if we 'chop' the gown.. we can still sorta chg our mind and re-select if time permits n its before the PS. keke..
but honestly, i feel wedding gowns.. somehow..its more or less similar designs. hehe.. =)
as long as u look gd in a certain cut / design.. can be quite safe to go along dat line..

well, i tink u shld pick smthg u look gd in.. its comfy n yr bf also likes. afterall, he is your groom. heh =)