(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi Janice & Valerie

The details for Master Jing is below:

Master Jing Zi Long
Tel: 67417377
Add: 64A Geylang Road, Lorong 25A (Next to Aljunied MRT Station)

They need your FH and your's birth date and time, your parents birth date and your FIL & MIL birth date. All birth date in English one will do. They charge $168 for calculating 08 dates, reason for such expensive charges as explained by them is because they manually calculate the tong shu for 08. The fee inc the auspicious dates (there is a few dates given), auspicious time for AD. Also, date that is good for "an chuan" etc. I will be meeting him tml, perhaps you gals want to wait for me to go and take a look and feedback to you if he is good and if is worth the $ o not.

You can send him an email first, then they will give you a call when the dates are out (usually takes ard 3-4 days). Afterwhich, then they will arrange with you an appointment to see master jing, and you can go down and hear him explained as well as make payment.

*Gee* kinda of anxious. After tml, I will know when is my BIG day. Lolz

Hey Janice, but i heard someone tell me that next yr mar and apr not a gd mth to marry coz is "po yue". So, what i do is ... i ask master jing to give me the earliest and best date which is suitable for us.

Wish me luck!

hi nec

ya i was asking for those hehe. RTC means raffles town club
and YC as mentioned. i thot they were pushy too, i passed by their fair at marina last yr but didn thot of getting married then. so juz wan to browse thru some wedding pics.. see see look look. who knows the young salesgirl kept talking n talking, don wanna let us go. so sian lor. its so diff from what i heard in their threads.. so many gd comments. so i decide to go see again hehe.

many ppl say they hire part timers at fairs leh, so maybe cannot base on fair experiences to judge. must go down to the shop also. another forum gal told me she was served by yvonne the boss herself and it was super gd service. so if u wanna go down, look for the boss herself keke. there are 2 yvonnes there, so make sure u look for the right one

ok.. tat's all.. tmr i go to their fair liao will update u all hehe. hopefully it'll be a fruitful one!

hi joanne tay

many thanks for sharing with us ur info! yup, u let us know after ur experience with him, see how its like. todae we spoke to FMIL, told her we can't wait for june/jul for the tongshu.. she said its ok lor.. she heard internet has list of auspicious dates (Was quite surprised tat she actually said tat!!) thus if we wan, can juz go there to choose a date. juz avoid lunar 3rd and 7th mth, and lunar days 3rd, 7th, 13th, 18th, 22nd and 27th of every month can liao. so this is another way tat u all might wanna try

good luck joanne.

Hi Val,
My date is in July, one of the weekends! =)

Sorry i searched thru my whole pc but i can't find the websites
let me ask my HTB then i post up again.

hi jass
I wanna go to the JB BS too leh but then I'm going to the merchant court wedding show that sunday. maybe if sat can squeeze time out then will go down.

So is it more impt to get a venue first or to get a BS?

nec and LO,

i got moi at THE PRINTEMPS at the city square. was scouting around taman sentosa and city square for various bridal studios that i had heard good comments of.

in MY personal opinions,

the NEW YORK something one at Taman Sentosa: the sales lady elefe was really very pushy and refuses to talk about more freebies unless i sign up on the day itself.
was flipping through the photo samples of the various studios at taman sentosa, and realised they are quite not to my liking. i find them kinda fall back behind our local studios. the better one that stands out is the new york something.

MONA LISA (if i remember it right) at city square: they don't have their in-house gown designer. need to top a lot (for me) for their MTM. and their packages comes with what VIP, VVIP etc to differentiate the different racks of gowns you can choose from. and they aren't really flexibile or impressive. it can jolly mean that their gowns, are taken from some factory or others, and most probably will spot same design somewhere else.

the other day i was walking and saw their so call new yar theme kuas, and apologies but i find it's kinda ridiculous. i mean, imagine a BIG GOLDEN "FU" strike in front of the chest and stomach area? to think they even put that up for display.

DAWN at city square: IMPRESSIVE! shop layout and the uniforms look good! *haha* seen their pictures and well, they are good. but somehow their shop location is quite well hidden. by then i've came across it, i had already signed up with moi current bs. so well... ... but i didn't regret moi choice as the printemps is still on comparable standard (imo).

but basically, city square studio charges relatively more expensive than those at taman sentosa, of which i don't feel it's as good.

rest of the remaining at city square, doesn't me impress me as much as printemps and dawn. i would go for either. of course, how comfortable you feel towards your coordinator plays an important part too. by the way, mine is katrine.

as for package, i've yet to confirm the actual one, cos we are still in midst of discussion. i've settled for my photo-taking package but not AD.

wooo...long entry. *heh*

hello joanne,
found the ideal date yet?
hope everything is settled lioa...

hey val,
mmm...BS shopping today ah...
mmm...must give long long report!

but don't let your boss see ah!

hi dd,
thanks for the info on the JB BS...
good post! very informative...

just to clarify, when you describe the taman sentosa BS as not as nice as those in city square, what do you mean?
is it their photoshoots more 'cheena' or gown design too obiang?

wah, the way you described the mona lisa big "FU" kwa...i also cringe in horror...
it's like a walking chinese new year deco. :P

so printemps and dawn are abt same std...both services are good? not pushy staff?
the coordinator at printemps allow you to bargain or not...will she have face black black if you ask this and that?
i'm quite intimidated by those fierce ones...so if i ask and they are fierce, i may just give in...then won't get a good deal. :P

thanks for all the posts girls!!!
appreciate all the info sharing! :D

Hi Valerie & Nec, I just came back. My wedding date is set on 7 Jun 08. I don't know why, I seem to be a bit dissapointed with the date (because I have longed to get my wedding done by Mar) but somehow Mar and Apr is not a good month due to "Qing Ming". But I think I should be glad that at least things start moving... I have a date out (better than no date right? *Sob*)

Master Jing is quite pro, basically gave us around 6 dates that is the best for us, he informed us that if we cant find any hotel with the dates given, we can always go back to him then he give us other dates (not the best one though, will be like next alternative kind) at FOC. Also, inform us to go back to see him when we settled the hotel thingy, he will then calculate the auspicious time for AD and auspicious date for "an chuang", "guo da li" etc at FOC ($168 already inc all these). My overall comments is... Not too bad, like a one-stop service for the pang dang elderly. Lolz

Good luck Valerie... hope you get your date soon too!

nec,

when's your date?

i'm referring to the photography, i mean the how the album is like. as for gowns, urm, i can't comment since i was like briefly browsing through.

i'm not sure about dawn's staff since i didn't speak to them. but moi sales coordinator for printemp is an experienced lady. she's fine with bargaining, give and take. and no, she didn't blacken her face when we are trying to ask for more stuffs. in fact, she's really friendly when you start talking to her.

funny thing, when the first time i stepped into printemp, everyone was like so busy attending to someone and ignored me. =( so, not really a good first impression. and i popped over to mona lisa since it was just beside. sad to say, wasn't at all too pleased.

so back to printemp again since i like their sample pictures! oh, the couple for the sample are to singaporeans and she happens to be in this forum for printemp thread as well if i rememeber right! *hehe* again, i was ignored, and the sales coordinators were conversing with each other. i had to walk up to them and ask them for packages, and moi boyfriend and family were commenting that this bs is so snobbish!

somehow, opinions were changed as we progressed. lucky!

joanne,

no worries. whatever auspicious dates given, are just but "better to be safe than sorry". what's more important is how the marriage is maintained after the big day!

hope everything's smoothly for your dinner booking and all!

korice dun mean to have no sound.. but no internet at new place YET.. come 19 mar, i will have!!! hahaaa..

erm.. went bridal concept on thurs.. LBC & thomson today.. all in all, i'm still tilted towards bridal concept.. cost is one thing.. but level of ease at which the lady speaks to you also very important.. i felt more comfortable at BC lor.. LBC seems quite ex.. after looking at 3 quites (more plus those sent via emails).. will make a trip to J&C.. and maybe YC.. anyone interested too?

wahhahahahaaa... missed so much!!! i need internet at home!!!

anyway, duchess, the 20 tables not mine!! it's janice's!!! heheee.. me ar.. 30 tables max MAX.. and i really hope we'll do it at equinox.. sigh.. *cross fingers*

joanne, the mar/apr thing quite normal lah.. cos qingming everyone wanna avoid.. 7 jun.. me 11 jun!! hehee.. =) close close can support too..

ok ok.. bubbye!!! tomolo when i come back office, i try be more active k.. wanna tell you all abt the BS i went to..

haha.. me & FH oso going 1 direction oni..wide!!
well, shall make a trip to JB, settle my BS, then go EE,den jian fei, then look for venue for lunch or dinner buffet. I've posted so enquiry at another thread on catholic bride. shld i hv gatecrashing & tea ceremony or just head straight to church? wat u gals think?
Oso tot of after church wedding, normally the timing is in btw lunch & dinner liao. dunno wanna hv wat to serve for my guest? I din wan a tea reception in church. tot of hiring a bus & bring my guests to somewhr whr they can eat & same time for our informal march in. wat say u gals?

Hi coco

urs quite close to mine.. i'm hoping to get may, june or july. its more impt to get venue 1st then BS. if u can cope.. then do research on both together lor hahaha.. i'm doing tat cos i anxious la.. but v hard to juggle.. v vexed at times!

hello girls ,

i'll be going to the JB BS show on 25th march (at 2.30pm they have bridal show).
anyone wants to go down?
heard from quite a number that printemps is really good, and dawn too... so will go down and check out.
report will be sent in later!!

we seem like we are all making good progress in our planning and researching...

jess, depends on what time your mass is...
if your mass is morning mass, then if you want gatecraashing.tea, must be quite early!!
my cousin had gatecrashing -> church -> tea ceremony in church canteen after ceremony...
buffet was served also...

hi val and coco...
you guys have dates liao!!!
good!!
i think venue also more impt cos BS can accomodate 100 brides on the same day, but venue, only 1.
so must book your ideal venue first.

hi d-duchess

i'm interested in noble hse too.. r u gg for the show?

hi joanne

ya i understand tat u're a lil disappointed with the date.. but no choice la. try to look on the bright side.. u got more time to prepare for it lor hehe. ya i agree with d-duchess.. these dates are nothing compared to how the marriage is maintained after the wedding. i've frens who marry in 7th mth and yet now they are wealthy and blissful together. yet another fren who had the ba zi calculated with tongshu.. had super gd date.. yet end up divorced. so its the same afterall i guess. i'm lucky, my FMIL let us choose the date from internet. so once i've free time tonite i'm gonna attack the dates! kekeke
i'm so excited! almost everyone has dates and all hotels are asking me for it.. stressed ar.. but to tink of it.. got HTB liao.. date is small issue lar.. whahahhaha

Hi d-duchess & valerie, I definitely agree with the both of you.

Anyway, think I should be glad that this time my future MIL did not object anything and give us a hard time.

Valerie, better go check dates now...

Have you all chosen your BS already?

Tete,

How many days will you be there? And how many days would ur shooting session be? If it rain on one day, would you get to postpone to another day? If yes, then don worry too much, enjoy the trip there ya?

hi stnov,

yeah that's what the BS person say oso.. rain got different effect too. ha! hopefully.. i dont want to look like luo tang ji.. hee hee

will be there 5 days in all but hor.. i seriously doubt can postpone unless i take other photographers (not the one i requested)..

my photoshoot gown selection very tiring but fun. wear, take, wear, take off for about 1.5 hours. Settled 2 gowns... Going again in 2 weeks time.. but i noticed my BS alot of bustiers.. not much of other cutting like off shoulders.. i thought off shoulders quite sweet

how's everybody's preparations getting along?

Hi Korice,

I've shortliste J&C too. Will be making a trip down to visit them within these 2 weeks. Will be going for their wedding show at York hotel on 14 April too.

The other BS I'm looking at is Golden Horse Award. Not so sure about their package and gowns. Will visit them this coming friday.

Hi Val
Found out that you can just do a google on " 2008 黄é“剿—¥ ". HTB says that's what he did hehe.
-------

Hi nec
yesss finally a date! and i realise it's so much easier to work with a date in mind.

venue is so hard to find coz i want a outdoor/rooftop wedding. still looking

hey.. my gonna sign with BC le.. tonight.. hahaa.. seems quite fast.. but i guess comfort level very impt.. anyway, the rough package is S3,388.. with a $1,000 service charge for bringing the PG & MUA overseas.. will try negotiate more..

nec & val.. photos of lovenest uploaded! it's the same webby for the ROM pics.. www.minlingminling.myphotoalbum.com

josey.. my client & colleague both used J&C before.. if you check out J&C webby, under the "others" in the photo gallery, tat's our client.. my colleague will be the one with their photo displayed at the shop.. they like wat J&C did for them lah & both are happy.. so yah.. just some comments for you.. me not going down to check out le.. hahaa..

val val.. wat abt you??? my site visit with equinox is tonight.. afterwhich we should be able to have a better idea.. seems like suddenly i became quite fast.. hahahaa..

duchess.. go with val lah.. hehee.. a couple = 2 girls.. tat has been established.. hahaaa.. i hope it's the same for all shows *fingers crossed* if i dun need to go m'sia, i'll go with you..

val.. mar 25 got quite a few shows right.. which one you going??

hello joanne too!!! but this thread been quiet for quite some time le.. let's liven it up..!!

june brides..!! heheee.. (but i think we are all over the place..

was wondering have both your parent meet up and discuss about the things they want for the marriage? Eg the Guo Da Li things?

korice!!! ur hse is really victorian la! but short of those wallpapers nia hehe. i love ur clock from yarra valley.. i love ur lamps.. i love ur furnitures too! i tink we got the same taste in victorian stuff. i wanna make my home like tat also leh but the wallpaper is v impt. heard its expensive but no choice la.. do reno 1st then slowly save for furniture month by month hehe. u gotta tell me all ur resources for those victorian stuffs ok and those tat u didn go to ones also! i need all the info i can get. oh ya bussorah street has a shop selling victorian dining stuffs.. i saw it on a tv ad once. hehe.

me hor.. juz ballotted for bukit merah area last nite! he suddenly wanted to try after toking to his bro! so ok lor.. i don mind also la hehe. ya u v fast ok! i now worse cos after he came back last fri, we discussed a lot.. now end up we might split rom to separate day.. so more messy le. so plans now is to visit those places which i like then we decide whether to hold it together o not. much slower than u la.

BC seems v popular hor. who did u liaise with? yest i was reading thru ritz couture thread. the customers there are so satisfied leh! i'm v interested in tat. shall pop by to visit a list i've made too. so tat will take some time also. i guess i'm the slowest here liao.. he's overseas frequently this few mths thus all plans moving like tortoise..

hey coco

tks for the info.. i'll try hehe. u been to mt emily? Hangout hotel? there got a super nice rooftop garden. u can go take a look..but i don tink can hold 100 over pax.. may be too squeezy..

hi valerie,

you receieved my email on the package right?
hehe...suddenly realised that both our parents have yet to meet up...so was wondering when would be a good time...6 mths b4 AD or...?

d-duchess

sorry leh.. i'll be gg with him la.. he wants to see venues..

korice

25 mar got which shows ar? i got mixed up le.. rasa is duno on 24th or 25th. i gg for rasa one. got wad other shows??? tell me.. tks! u gg which one?

ya i received. i replied u thru email also leh hehe. mine is haven met up b4, so this will be the 1st time they meeting up. whehter they will discuss wedding stuffs i duno but i guess they will la cos now both of us are discussing it practically everyday! hahah. and me n my mom also discussing quite often too.

have urs met b4? or u mean 1st time meeting to discuss abt wedding?

i feel hor if haven meet b4.. shd let them meet asap. then anything they wana say abt the wedding let them say then we youngsters can do our planning. wait let them meet later hor then we plan halfway le.. they come up with some comments/restrictions/rules.. then if they still don agree on certain stuffs.. then we will 'die' i tell u.

hi val,

ya...going to plan for a meeting for them...they have never meet before so will be the 1st time. =) you have gotten ur date for your AD?

hahaz, thanks babe!

it's okie lah, i've been there before already. but not him. i'm hoping to win the LUCKY DRAW!

BY THE WAY, kpo a bit here, how did your FH propose? or have they not done?!?

wa! wad prizes do they have for the draw? i won 2 prizes at RTC's show leh.. hehe. so blessed.

proposal hor not done yet hehe. the ring buy le.. at his hse now heheheh. urs proposed le ma??

how abt scarlet hotel too? unique theme..

val.. wallpaper is freaking expensive.. of course i have thot of it.. i told hubby i wanna wallpaper the entire living room.. den downsize to maybe the master bedroom.. den maybe one part of the living room to become a feature.. i even volunteered to pay for it myself.. cos hubby think it's super ex.. in the end, me myself decided to not do it.. just paint it in ivory/cream.. cos it cost abt $7k to look really nice.. maybe next time lor.. sigh.. i even went to choose le.. den decided to let it go for now.. hahaa..

i tokked to stella (manager).. but i think she's the lao ban niang.. it's ok lah.. we also dun mean for it to happen so fast.. shall see how lor.. but cos we have an aussie PS trip to make, so need more detailed planning especially in timeline..

hey.. ours have met before a few times le.. cos we ROM-ed le mah.. heheee.. guo da li.. sigh.. was checking up on tat last week.. felt lost.. cos no idea how the process is like, wat to do, wat's involved & stuff.. bleahs.. anyone any idea?? den my mil so pantang.. i sure get it one.. sighs..

val, agree.. meet once, try & establish some grounds, then work from there lor..

henyve.. long time no hear too.. how's your prep?

HARLOWS.... 25mar got rasa, waterfront, & forgot wat else le.. you going rasa ar?? i find kakis.. anyone?!?! duchess? hehee..

mine proposed le!! hahaa.. of course lah, rom-ed le mah.. erm.. he proposed during our first overseas trip to aussie, at twelve apostles, in the helicopter.. i was sick then cos weather not good, kept changing.. then he asked to look after me lor.. hahaaa.. so it was really a huge surprise, cos apparently he planned the entire thing from s'pore.. and everyone else were in the plans except me (even the ppl at the helicopter place!).. he told me my friend proposing to his gf instead.. so i got excited for them & started throwing ideas.. hahaa..

parents shld meet up ....after all, going to become relatives...

i'd like the ideal where my parents and my PIL can become friends

one can always hope...
anyway, my PILs coming to singapore around aug...
so getting kan cheong... :D

yeah, val, your prizes very nice!!
very glad for you!

at least ring buy laio!!! mine still haven't so much as looked at rings ah!!

dduchess,
mine hasnt proposed....how about yours?
how was it??

eh, 25ht march i'll be going down to JB for the city square bridal show..
anyone wants to go with me?
my FH not going, this is still RnD stage... hehehe

korice:
what abt the BS shopping?
must report to us gals!!

wow, korice suddenly move so fast.
BS all settled liao!!!
so BC = bridal concept right?
when is the PS?
heeheh...can't wait to see your PS pics!
later i'll go see your hse pics...

hi val,
where is this mt emily? Let us know how ritz couture is...
don't worry, i'm even slower ah...
:D
but for me, can't be helped....everything will happen in a mth after his parents come over...

hi tete,

envy u... so fast select gown liao..
i think i still hv a long way to go...will oni view their new albums this Fri....i think by then can decide when to select my gowns... :p

i'm new in this thread and also planning to hold tie the knot in the second half of next year. in the meantime, still house-hunting.

valerie, i balloted for clementi although it's super ex for a 5-rm!

korice, love your super spacious abode!

hey karen.. thanks!! hehee..

nec.. yup, bridal concept.. i also dunno how it happened.. it just did lor.. haven sign yet.. will see how tonight, but prob likely le.. i think once i sign, i cant wait for the whole thing to start rolling.. hahaa.. wah.. la la la.. mad le..

hey korice

wall paper is so ex meh? i saw a gal's wallpaper. she had it in her living room, masterbedroom.. featured wall la.. and total reno cost is juz 10k nia. how come ur wallpaper is 7k liao?? where did u go to see? wallpaper v impt for the look hor.. but smtimes budget really limited then v poor thing. i tink my budget lesser than urs. hehe. i shall go ask tat gal where she got her wallpaper and how she did it.

nec: mt emily is near dhoby ghaut. u search for hangout hotel can le.. it will appear
ya i will let u all noe abt ritz but not so soon cos i'm gg venue hunt this few wkends! hehe.

korice

ya i gg rasa one. booked long ago hehe. u find kaki la.. then we can go together hehe.

nec

ya korice told us her helicopter story b4 le..
so romantic hor.. i wonder how ours will be
ya my prizes v nice.. i thank God for it. i prayed b4 the draw u noe.. hehe.

wa 25th u gg jb then i cant go check out.. can u help me ask those shops tat u go to for my bukit tinggi package? tks leh

henvye

nope.. i haven got time to go choose date leh.. gonna find those 2008 auspicious threads.. a bit ma fan ahahhahha. will try to find soon.. maybe cos i haven decide i wan put rom together or not so not tat anxious on date. i sound mao dun hor?? keke. head too messy from all the planning.