(2008) Brides of year 2008

thanks for the suggestions. HTB has already emailed Hangout but no reply from them yet. Will ask a few other places too

hey Val, we've also submitted for the balloting leh but for the bedok one coz near my parents hehe

wah korice 60k for house... i scared to think of the cost we gonna incur when we get the house.

no sg BS for me coz it's too ex and anyway i don't feel it's that impt to me that i muz have drop dead gorgeous gowns or take super glam photos hehe :p the only thing i want is to have a cheongsam for my wedding! so now muz try very hard to get rid of flab hehe

oh yeah, went the for high tea also...not that great leh. :P but then that was before it became equinox...last time was compass rose right?

plus i dun really like the view lah...
cos it's a city scape...prefer natural scenery which is impossible to find unless we're talking zoo/birdpark...

i think on 31st march, i'll be going to the BOWS one..anyone else going?

when i looked at korice's rom pics, what struck me is how happy she looks! so radiant and full of joy...
very natural ...

dduchess,
how's your venue search going on?

wah...onz lah...
we can all go BS shopping together...
:D
make the BS pple stress!! haha...

i heard sophia is good...BC, divine couture, di gio...aiyoh...LONG LIST...

i've actually never listed them out before leh... val, you have the long list?
post lah, then korice and i can see which ones we can all go together. :D

of cos cannot go w bf!! bf will ok everyone JUST TO STOP SHOPPING!!!
after1 shop, i'm sure my bf will be chin chye lah...if not too ex, have everything, then just sign... knowing guys....hmph!
better let us girls sort for the best deal and the best everything....HAHAHAH....

wow, korice, aussie ps....NICE!!!*Drooling*
take me...take me!!!
*boss will kill me!*

cocobear:
jb bs?
me too!!
have you seen any? can share?

the time i went for high tea was equinox time le.. didn get to go when it was compass rose time.. too young then to afford haha.

ya la spore no natural scenery.. tats why i wan go elsewhere for PS. i don wan those office buildings pics! whahaha.

31mar i gg bows also.. after the noble hse show. raffles place to bugis v near. nec u not gg noble hse liao ar?

ya korice so radiant! smile till so happy.. i also wan leh....... wear gown..take pics.. heheehe

wa korice ..next month PS.. wont be rush ma?
u need to choose ur gowns for PS leh..

coco.. u also balloted ar? hee must be excitedly waiting for news like me lor... update each other ah!

hahaa.. wanna hide in my luggage?? boss will kill me too lor.. cos i just came back from melbourne too.. over cny..

yup.. even though i've confirmed BC le, i still dun mind looking out.. yups.. but BC definitely will go with you if i can make it..

fren said sophia is persistent.. as in they dun let you leave.. they try & stop you from calling frens who used them before.. so my fren say since lydat, they made sophia throw in a lot of perks lor.. den they sign with them.. yah..

hihi everyone again, we never really check with any shi fu to see if its no good a not. 13 Sept is just the day we got together 7 years ago. haha.. so tot it be really meaningful to have ROM on that day too.. =)

Budget not very sure ba.. Maybe less than 10k? Feasible for about 80 people?

British Club seems really realy nice =)

Only going to invite close relatives cos my HTB's family is like super duper BIG.. if invite all i think got 200+ people... =/

I think i will get a all-in-1 package (which means photographer, MUA + gowns?) from a BS, much simplier and straighforward right? haha..

Any nice ones to recommend? So far i heard, whitelink and BC are nice.. =)

dunno.. shall see how lor.. cos overseas PS very tricky.. must aim season.. must aim lull period for office work.. must aim low low season for air tix & accom.. bleahs..

hello june.. you mean $10k for ROM only or for the entire thing? ROM only do-able.. cos i did it.. at equinox lor.. for about 120 - 150 pax..

nec

i not gg all of them.. i juz wanna go those i heard not bad.. quite long list! let me see if i can recall offhand..the list at home la.. hehe

1)Divine
2)Ritz
3)Ted Wu
4)Bridal concept
5)Margaret brides
6)Yvonne creative (try gowns n see the colmar album)
7)Sophia Wedding collection (heard photos super gd)
8)Di gio
9)The Bridal room and 1 or 2 along the same street

the last 2 if i hadnt been hooked by some of the above 1st haha)

so far i can remember these i die die wan go see. liek tat lor.. long hor? hehe

let me know any of u wanna go for which one! then we can start planning liao

oooohhh.. greymatter looks nice.. waiting for fren to send me the email of someone called Sam Wong who is supposed to be good & reasonably priced too..

west side where??

sigh.. i cant make it for 31 mar lahs.. m'sia in the wee hours of the morning.. come back is the first round of my housewarming.. splitting the entire thing into 3 rounds lor.. house not bug.. too crowded.. hahaaa..

hahaa.. true true.. city view.. but the only factor we took was really becos it overlooks suntec.. and tat was the deciding factor.. hahaa.. we're going crazy trying to find some big venue tat overlook suntec in tat manner too.. for our dinner.. anywhere you guys know? no more china club or si chuan dou hua though..

val.. tat one only a dress.. not a gown.. took ROM package from empire.. hahahaa..

i did tell hubby once.. why not do dinner in the night safari.. HAHAAA..

korice i agree! overseas one hv to aim for correct timing for all those u listed! so ma fan! i might change location to shoot at bintan cos colmar seems expensive.. need to stay over as compared to bintan.. haiz. will get all the prices then compare like hotel like tat. hehe.

june.. refer to my post above for the recommeded studios!

*whitelink got gd n bad comments.. depends on what u like. they got v gd photographers.. but EG and teadresses heard not much choices for nice ones.. gotta go down take a look b4 deciding lor. i like vincent's (1 of the PG there) work.. v nice style.

hmm any of the hotels there like ritz carlton, conrad, pan pac, marina mandarin.. got ballrooms or big enough function rooms tat overlooks or can see suntec? or u can try calling to ask?

oh ya if u hold ur wedding at chijmes, then where u gg to stay at nite?

hey hey ! oriental has this garden suite which is absolutely fantastic. but i duno if it overlooks suntec. the outside can see garden one. can put 12tables in there. (u can split ur guests into 2 days) then at nite the view from the suite v nice also.. can see harbour or sea.. or if the other side.. then can see suntec i guess. u call up ask ar... i gg oriental soon to see see.. if u can wait then i help u ask when i there

Hi Val,

I'm also thinking of looking at Divine for my BS.
Read so much about their good service and nice gowns in the thread!

But i don't know if i should start making appt w BS coz my AD will be on Nov8, like way too early to start 'rackying' around leh...

Share with me Divine package if you happen to go down, ok? Thanks.

oh ya.. the suite is airconditioned.. got nice sofas like a living room. super nice. u can try. juz renting is 1.5k but if u holding dinner there no need rental.. max 12 tables.
463717.jpg

Woo... Thanx Valerie!

Korice, I was planning to have the tea ceremony stuff in the morning, then ROM and end it off with a nice semi-informal dinner/buffet by the pool or smthing =)

Then thats it. I dont really want to have those super formal sit-down chinese banquets.. More ex also too right? haha..

Any suggestions for nice hotels? Cos all i've seen so far are all those banquet types..

sassy girl

yup ok.. i'll be going soon.. within the next month. will let u noe. actually its not earli to go see see cos can gain experience. n u need to see quite a few to know the difference btw the shops.

june tan

u can try oriental for the garden suite (a v nice place) or their poolside. all v nice. goodwoodpark's poolside is nice too. shelterd yet in the open next to the pool.

hey gals when u have visited several BS muz posts the pros and cons here. so lazy ppl like me can juz extract infos out. =)

hwah korice that was a whopping budget u had for ROM and reno. that's why id rather hold everything in one day and see hw much we cld save during this period. hehe. i stay in blk 5 btw n still intend to be arnd west area in the future.

eh hw much do we need to down for BS? my ex colleague had hers done in jb. not bad and also got more greeneries to go to.

u mean not all will ask 50% as d/p fr banquet? lawry's ah.. no idea hw many they can take in lei. i only went to their website to look around only.

hwah. ps in aussie huh. happening!

june, i kinda like the idea of buffet style (like at lawry's) so that it wldnt be too rigid. but heard frm friends that guests wld be too busy eating during buffet and just leave when they're full whereas customary sit-down dinner will make the crowd more disciplined. actuali make sense especially not so close guests.

bt ive looked arnd, hotel buffets are nt reali as cheap as what others might perceive.

im so thrilled thinking of DIY so many things for it though -- like invitation cards and wedding favours. =) maybe can slowly find inspiration already hehe.

Valerie, thanx for the suggestions! I'm officially in love with the poolside terrace at Goodwood Park!! haha... If i do get that, hopefully it won be a humid day..!

Karen, i was thinking maybe buffet style is too informal.. Perhaps a nice cosy sit down dinner instead.

Getting married in 1 & 1/2 years time & i'm already sooooo excited! haha.. And i havent even tried on my gowns yet!

I am new to this thread. Too busy at work and not been surfing this site for long.

Was suprise to see so many 2008 brides-to-be!

Like to share some experience and learn some new
tips from others...

Something to share...
http://our-vows.blogspot.com/

This is my solemnisation album which took place on the 11 Nov 2006!

korice, i want see your ROM pictures!!
send me send me!

i also like the idea of propose before preparation, but then again, not enough bling bling leh.
*haha*
must settle me down first to buy flat, then can start planning on others!

i'm a budget bride! looking at the legends, noble house, holiday inn orchard etc.
more high end ones like ritz carlton, waterfront coprthorne etc, no matter how much i badly want them, we have common objective not to spend so much on dinner.

duchess me also budget bride la.. hehe. noble house is not bad.. quite grand for wedding yet not like normal restaurant. u can go to the show on 31st mar.

yah, been to noble house and think the food is yummy too!

valerie, NH isn't exactly cheap for a restaurant leh! how many tables are you planning to have?

yap korice, saw your pictures. sweet smiles har! *envy*

Just to find out if anyone has gone thru or going for Marriage Preparation Programme?

Any recommendation for counselling centre?
How's the programme?
kao_babydust.gif

duchess

i will hv ard 25-30 tables.. guest list not out yet. ya its not tat cheap for a restaurant but it doesn really look like 1 ma.. the high ceiling.. deco nice.. quite 'grand' in a way for us budget brides lor. wad to do.. wan nice yet no $.. so hv to go this way. u understand right? whahah. sound so pathetic like tat. don get influenced by me har. their wkday tables not bad.. n i tink got many perks..like printing of invitations.. free flow beer (not too sure, 4get le) etc.

i tell u smting. yest nite i chanced upon holiday inn orchard's site. i'm mesmerized by it. i tink tats the perfect location for me. i was so excited tat i cant sleep last nite. there is free flow beer on wkdays. free projector.. 08 prices if plus $30 more will be $700 nett nia. v affordable! plus the ballroom n theme really v cozy n romantic. when did u say was ur AD again?

Phila,

If you are thinking of choosing the date urself using Tongshu, it is not available yet. Heard that it will only be out after this year's lunar 7th mth.

Alternatively, you may wana try these websites
http://verywed.com/lunar/index.php
http://mindcity.sina.com.hk/MC-lunar/index.cgi

But a word of caution, I chose my AD with the help of a geomancer but when i checked it against the websites, it shows that day is not good for wedding!

In my opinion, i think the dates chosen with the help of a geomancer or fengshui shifu is the most accurate as they are tailored to the lunar birth dates of the couple and chinese zodiac signs of their parents.

hahaa.. morning girls..

so val.. very sleepy this morning eh.. hehee..

for us, we wanna do a lot of things ourselves.. like the invites & the wedding favours.. so gonna squeeze on corkage & watnot.. last night hubby & i were just tokking.. den it just went on to doing it at suntec..! hahahaa.. any comments..?

$700nett per table???? it's quite good!

duchess.. when it's your turn.. you'll have a super sweet smile too..

ya lor v tired todae.. cant get up. nearly wanted to take mc. keke

i wont be doing the invites n favours. save $ n time. cos most ppl wont keep the invites n favours too. maybe can do so for a few close frens.

i heard suntec is not bad.. the ballroom v big. but deco wise u gotta spend $ leh. n the function rooms might not be as nice as hotel ballrooms.

duchess got pics ma?? never share??

i did try for this current ballot oso for clementi...but find it rather ex ley...korice your love nest is in jurong west oso? =)

am staying west coast area now....amenities very good leh...and many buses/public transport...
but FH xian of west area laio....
sekully he wanna move to east!! *Faint*

good luck all you balloters!! (pple who are balloting) =)

wah, so much discussion when i left office early...haha..

i'm also budget bride....got bride not on budget one meh? just depends if budget is in millions or thousands only mah!!!
hahaha...
ok, so lame.. aiyah, just had lunch, blood in tummy...no brain power...

i dun mind going down to NH, look look see see...havent been there...

waterfront copthrone is high end ah? i tot only fullerton and ritz...
holiday inn orchard...is it the one opposite scotts shopping center?
me kinda blur w hotels and the rankings....
so what's the 5 * kind and 4* kind..??
:P

suntec ballroom would be pretty big for korice...30 tables no problem, and inside suntec itself!! :D but like val says, $$ on decor lor...cos i think their deco not that nice.....how is the food?

the oriental garden suite looks FABULOUS!!!! so lovely for outdoorsy (yet w aircon) wedding..perfect for me...but i wonder how it looks like at night...
any night shots val?

dduchess, you not the first $$-minded bride here...

all of us are!!! hahahah....

1)Divine <--on
2)Ritz
3)Ted Wu <-- too ex for me to even consider!!! :P
4)Bridal concept <--on
5)Margaret brides <--maybe
6)Yvonne creative (try gowns n see the colmar album) <--not really keen
7)Sophia Wedding collection (heard photos super gd) <---on
8)Di gio <00 on, heard their gowns are gorgeous
9)The Bridal room and 1 or 2 along the same street<-- see how...?

and jess, yes there is a bridal show in city square, can google them (search for city square)
think they will have several bridal shows during the year, cos this is called show 1.
i'll be going down too.

korice:
flying off again after just coming back from a holiday!!! how many days leave you have!!!
give me some also!! hahaha...

but overseas PS, esp so far overseas, must really plan...both FH and you must have same lull time in office some more..
good luck!!! may your boss grant you leave!

hello all that have joined us..

hey val,
what's the website for holiday inn?
when i try googling, all i get are those sites for booking "cheap online" .... :P
pages and pages of this kind...!!!

ok.. my turn..

1)Divine <--on
2)Ritz
3)Ted Wu
4)Bridal concept <--on
5)Margaret brides
6)Yvonne creative
7)Sophia Wedding collection <---on
8)Di gio <---on
9)The Bridal room and 1 or 2 along the same street

hahaa.. but it depends on when the tripa are lah.. hehee.. yayee..!! so wat if i've signed.. grab ling gan!!

14 per year.. cos i year i took ZERO.. so all rollover to this year.. the last hol i was using 2005 leave &amp; off-in-lieus..!! imagine the kind of hours i work lah.. sigh..

nec

HIPV is at somerset.. when u come out of CTE.. can see le..
http://www.singaporebrides.com/hotels/hipv/
http://www.singapore.holiday-inn.com

ya the garden suite is fabulous. i also love it. rental of room NIA is 1.5k. the setup n food.. all need $ also - for rom i mean. for dinner no need rental of 1.5k. expensive la.. so i guess no hope for there le. no night shots.. heard ppl say night is same.. juz tat outside can see those small lights only lor. but its so nice in the day right.. with garden outside yet in airon area.. so if i wanna go there, will hold in day time i guess.. lunch or smting..

i made appt to go HIPV this sun to see liao. i super interested. i tink i most likely will take this one.