(2008) Brides of year 2008

vernwyen

crown:
your pedi is really nice! i cant have nailart on my toe coz no area to draw -_- My toenails never grow long eh, dunno why... and their condition is terrible, like a bumpy road. My manicurist always said they went through trama :D

bubbly:
thanks for the info! shall go there one day to find... tot of diy the guestbook markers

YL:
I was too nice also. Actually was there before the lady in white (if you noticed her) but she served her 1st. I wasnt in a hurry so it was okay for me. Yea, she brought me to try on A and B and end up i got the B from her.

Gina:
long time no see! You got your albums from WL liao? Oh dear, must be red ah (the bedsheet)? We are looking at earth colors (green/beige/white... etc)

ahnet:
eh, doctor no med? hmm... not a bad thing too coz not good to depend on med. Come in here and chat more often bet your mood will feel alittle better!

ALL:
you all bought GDL items liao? how much you all spend ah? my fh wants to set aside the money for it before we spend on something else.

bedazzle

Crown,

Your mani pedi is v cheap!! only $30!! and it's near my boyfriend's house. keke... you stay in Khatib too?

Gina,
Long time no see. Busy at work?

Fanny,
You need 10 bottles per table????? tt's a lot!!!
I'm estimating 2-2.5 bottles of red wine per table, cos it's sunday night. I have free flow of beer. Also prepared abt 15 bottles of hard liquor, with some back up bottles fr my friend whom I'll give a token amount for every bottle tt I take fr him.

Celine, Net,
Ya those at chinatown are those dragon and phoenix one lor... keke...
See if I pass by west mall some day, I go take a look for you. Cos it's near my place. But dun think it'll be anytime soon though. You shld ask the branch near to ur house to check stock and reserve for you, then come here n collect if you reeeaaalllyyy like it.

Green,
Did you mention you bought simmons mattress too? Cos my friend just told me tt bcos Simmons uses dunno what kind of pocketed coil or wat, it's better to use bedframes with a wooden plank underneath, instead of those fish bone type. I just bought the bed frame fr Ikea, v cheap, only 400+ for queen size. But it's the fish bone type, so now hv to go other furniture shop to look for plank.

bedazzle

btw,

I also hv recommendation for mooncakes. It's a v popular brand called "Home's Favourite"
You can always find it's stall at the mooncake fest at Takashimaya and they're always out of stock.
http://www.homesfavourite.com/

I think his mooncake catalogue is not out yet. But they always hv unique flavours and are really yummy.

As I know the boss personally, I know that he always uses the best ingredients so can be assured of the quality.

lsntyl

spoiltbabe>Yes, it was the lady in white who interrupted me. Really irritated me cos I already told Kim I was late le. So when Kim finally start serving me, that lady interrupt and ask lots of questions. Until I tak boleh tahan and ask if she can please wait her turn. :p When I arrived at 5.45, only got 2 aunties in front of me. End up she serve 3 other ladies before me... >< Went for food tasting yesterday and it was ok. But wedding favours only had chocs, bear key-chains and a coaster. We didn't like any of the favours so ended up choosing chocs.

Fanny>don't think you need so much hard liquor. Its not something easy to drink and not many peeps drink it these days. Think mainly beer and wine.

ahnetsan

ok dor, thanks for the lookout for the aussino bedsheets.
actually my mum bot one orange colour bedsheet for me, on it, it has got a couple, quite cute lor, both smiling one. den got the xi word on it too. but i find it weird leh, orange, ma chiam is cny mandarin orange like dat leh.

hmmm i also agree with lsntyl abt ppl drink more wine and beer as to hard liquor. unless ur relatives got alot of those hard core liquor uncle drinkers.

btw, me n fh went to taman jurong ytd. went mega mattress check out the mattress. saw one brand max coil. fh find it quite comfortable, costs $1099. we reckon simmons too ex for us, so we opt for low end brands like king koil or smth else, but take the best of king koil. if we buy simmons, it prob wont be the best of simmons. so no point lor. anyway, simmons is ex i thk cos of its branding ba. :/

fionachua83

wao so quiet.

mary poppins, u only stay at henderson waves for a while only? Din take much photo there? I was thinking of going there for my PS too.

fortunemew

dor,hope ur bf's dad recover soon...! when things like this happen, it make wedding planning harder..we try to take one stride at a time..u n bf also jia you..
green, so ur dad had major brain operation..glad that he is okie now.

====

phew, manage to deliver most of the invitation cards to my bf's relatives these two days. i had to nag at my bf to call them to ask for address,etc...

lsntyl

fortunemew>congrats on finishing one task. :p FH and I are lazy. We are leaving it to parents to settle the invites for the relatives.

strawclare>you're v welcome! Take care. Hugs.

mary_poppins

Hi fionachua, yap only stayed there for abt 15-20 mins but I think the PG took quite a lot of pix there. The sun and clouds just looked too attractive for the PG that he concentrated on it. It's only after I requested to take pix in one of the "waves" then he and his asst arranged for it.

Hi LSnTYL, I think everyone's PS will be fun. My HTB added on to the "fun" by dropping me onto the sand in WG. Hahaha...

Hi Lost, it just shows that the photos are just too nice. So long as you can afford it, should be happy that you can have more pix for memory sake.

waxie24

for our 4 aug gathering: i'm thinking of a venue with round table? so we can talk all together.. hm.. i vaguely remember cafe cartel (PS) has big round table... any other place with round table?

rayrachel

YL> thanks for the explanation.. i asked my BS"s designer..she told me what it tulle... its just a kind of material..
And dun really have to top up in my BS..

NuBra> gals..Kim has been suspended... i think no selling on forum la.. see if she'll be back with a new account.

celine>reallly??? the red bedsheet is sold out????????????
My dad says must buy a new bed.... cannot sleep separately..sigh... so we need to find a cheapo mattress temporarily...and get new bedsheets..
gosh..anyone has cheap ones to recommed??
we got no budget at all for it...as in.. really pok liaoz... $200-$300 maybe?? dun even have tat now.. sigh...

crown> $8 for the 10toes of nailart huh??? looks good... she painted one by one??
And manicure leh??

green> PM me for the details.. i email u..dun wanna be suspended again....the gal from NuBra got suspended le...sigh...

spoiltbabe> the cakes we asked from the groom is about $197.. 20boxes of cakes..and a plate to put the mandarin oranges..and some cloth to wrap the PinJin..
My parents bought extra $300++ of cakes and sweets to distribute to our own relatives..

Bought bedside lamb..about $30... teaset...$30...candles RM$8.80 per pair..need 2 pairs...
Mmm..some stickers....
nothing much le..

SO u think about $500 is more than enough ba?

But we bought from JB la.. think chinatown also similar prices..

fanny> hard liquor??? we only gonna bring in 2 bottles for all our guest... seldom drink le la.. hehhe..red wine and beer more common.

lsntyl

we went PS Cafe Cartel for our first outing. No round table arh. But I think depends on the group size too. If got a lot of us and the place is noisy, round table oso can be hard to talk. :p

mary_poppins

Hi Jane Lim, I think S$30/hr is pretty standard for most, even my PG &amp; VG. No choice, this kind of money cannot save unless I want to trouble my friend to do it for me.

waxie24

maybe a quieter place? V8 cafe at bugis junction? 1 of the HK cafes at liang seah st? or <font color="ff0000">collagen</font> (good for our skin) ramen at marina sq?

suggestions please~

gingerbread_gal

Mary poppins,
Can't wait to see your pics!! I think the MUAs from sophia are very good cos my friend had her makeup very nicely done by them too!! yours looked great too!! I hope the weather on my PS day will be as good as yours!! the day you had your PS, the sky as really beautiful!! - I've turned to observing the skies these days in preparation of PS :p

Lost,
you took your PS already?? so have you got any pics to show us?? yeah, i think your pics must be really nice for you to top up so much! Nvm, money can earn back while moments can only be captured on film.

waxie24

red is 红, pink is 粉红, both also got 红 rite.. i prefer pink too.. hehe.. i bought "猪è‚红" (dark maroon) for my bedsheet instead.. my friend bought a pink couple pillow case for me from thailand...

vernwyen

waxie:
the round table cant sit many ppl eh, if you are refering to the ones with red sofa seats. Hmm... round tables... I now keep thinking of zi char :D You heard of magic wok? They have round tables, machiam zi char litat, serving halal thai food.
eh... i think V8 in bugis is no more there liao. So far we have 10 ppl?

happi_bride

dor> oops. i mean to say 1 bottle per 10 tables... red wine im estimating 2 bottles per table too. hotel giving me red wine free, but theirs is exp, so i buy another brand for the remaining bottles i need..

recently, i have a headache again!! my PIL say im to go to their home to pray to the diety, then i proceed to my new home /love nest for tea ceremony where all the groom's relatives will go there for tea cermnony and buffet! (cos the guys'side relatives wanted to see our new home). but.....is this how it goes??? i tot i need to have tea ceremoony at the groom's place. this arrangement sounds not right to me. furthermore, when i step into the groom house, it will be very quiet.. only the parents n the sis at home, cos all the relatives will be at my love nest place. HTB told his parents cannot do it this way, but sounds like they dont agree and understand why cannot be done. how to convince them.. (heard it was one of the relatives' sugestion)

outing> bugis has a new japanese coffee house called sokuda coffee house.. how abt this? i be there too.. (this place no round table)

lsntyl

ohh, didn't know Kim is suspended.

Rach>about a month ago, FH and I bought bedsheets from Aussino. Quite cheap. less than $100. You can also try the JL at PS. They were having a closing down sale so selling bedsheets cheaply. I thought you already ordered a mattress le? Maybe can use that first? If doesn't come with bedframe, maybe put mattress on floor and sleep there instead? save some money on bedframe. :p

waxie>I got 1 set of bedsheets that has pink in colour. But none are all pure red and pink. Parents say is ok. Guess I'm lucky, both sets of parents quite chin chai. Never been to V8 cafe at bugis junction. But got a new shokudo cafe open at bugis junction. Looks not bad. Donno if you gals want to try. There's a taiwanese beef noodle place at Liang Seah street that's normally quite quiet too. Tried the food a while ago. Was not bad.

vernwyen

rach:
thanks for the info! Kinda confused and anxious now coz we gotta get the things before start of the hungry ghost festivals, coming fri then the mothers will talk wat they want and stuffs... phew!

lsntyl

fanny>hee, we suggest shokudo at same time. Can tell your PIL that you'll hold a house-warming another time? Say your side insist tea ceremony must be at their side? makes more sense lor. And if buffet at your love nest, means you in charge of clearing all the rubbish. On that day, you where got time to do that?

spoiltbabe>I suggested zi char the last time too leh but no one seems v on. Maybe becos the kopitiams I suggest at purvis street don't have air-con. :p

happi_bride

NuBra> tell me if kim comes back.. i wan to get one..

My HTB like cant be bothered.. he hasnt confirmed his bros.. probably next week, then he can confirm his bros, say some of his bros maybe travelling due to work, etc.. so cant confirm so early. how can like that? am i too kan cheong?

as for colour theme, i told him we should hv one, so that pics will look more coordinated.he told me no need, let his bros wear whatever he like! i think if someone wear pink, some wear blue, some wear brown, wou;d it be very messy? if we're not having a colour theme, then i just tell my girls to wear anything/ any colours lor.

vernwyen

fanny:
tat doesnt sound like a good idea... no one will have the time to clean up for you eh. Maybe as your fh to tell them you all will throw a housewarming party next time?

And.... 10bottles of liquor to a table is ALOT! I dunno why, i dislike people drinking... esp my fh. And i wanted to go liquor-free for the BQ but my fh and mother said cannot... grr...! They better dun make a mess if not i sure throw black face.

happi_bride

any good manu/pedi in town area with good skills? my last one done isnt very nice.

lsntyl> ya lor, i agree. i already told my HTB they can come another time..i think he told them already, but dunno y they insist. dunno whats their problem.

outing> zi char also can.. i like too. any plac is fine.. some dun hv air con, but they let people sit indoor/ outdoors under the stars.. hehe.. those maybe cooling too. i know tiong bahru area has one, but its 8 min walk from mrt, not so convenient. its those zi char cum seafood stall at coffee shop, actually v near to the HK cafe there.

green> my hotel is not HI atrium.. i feel my hotel wed. favours is quite limited..

lsntyl

spoiltbabe>ya, was thinking of lai lai. wah, she really got many queries. But at least u got to go to the toilet with Kim to confirm your size. I did that too and she said B is better for me too.

Fanny>might not be able to get the special rate Kim gave us le unless can find more brides to order nubra together with you. If you want, I can pass you Kim's email.

My FH also hasn't confirm his brothers. Same situation as yours. I leave it up to him lah. If he has less brothers, then we save $ on angbaos lor. :p We're also not having a colour theme. As long as they are comfy in it, can le. Donno if I'm too chin chai but I rather take it easy. Otherwise, will look older cos of the stress.

As for the PIL, maybe they already told some relatives ok le so now they paiseh to change mind? Tell your FH to talk to his parents. Let them settle best since its an issue that side.

happi_bride

i wan to ask when i go back to my new home, i just need to change into my tea dress, light the bedside lamps, take some pics then can go off right? that should be quite fast, like 20 min only is it? im tryin to plan my schedule.

during the tea ceremony at groom place, just serve tea to all relatives, take pictures, then can go right? or need to stay around to talk for a while? my HTB say must stay to talk..but i like more time for foto taking.. is 1-1.5 hr for tea ceremony more than enough.

msclaire

I am really tempted to go henderson wave too! aiyoh but so many nature spots. Was also thinking of just taking fort siloso or the dilapitated/rustic looking buildings to balance out the album.

dodolet

msclaire, fort siloso must pay leh... I think there are some nice shop houses along china town and cantonment side (opp SGH) you can check out.

Sigh... my fotoshoot in about 10days time...I still dunno where i wanna go. >.<

Dor,
Thanks for the tip. I'll aim for plank type bedframe then. Nope, I got Neptune mattress instead. Ya Simmons uses indiv pocketed coils. When I go shopping for bedframes these week, I'll ask the vendors if they sell wooden planks. If got, I'll update u. Your bed is what size? And I hope your bf's dad will be fine.

Fanny,
I'll provide 1 bottle red wine per table. Not intending to provide hard liquor hehe. Only old ppl drink it nowadays. Tea ceremony + travelling took about 2hour for my friend. I was her jiemei. For the party, I'll leave it to my bf to persuade his friends if I'm u.

Net,
Actually as long u both feel comfortable on the mattress, its brand not impt lah. My bf stays at Taman Jurong. Is the Jurong shop giving cheaper deals than the Expo fair. Do they sell bedframes?

FYI, now metro having bedsheet sales at Causeway point level 1 lobby. Anyone has Aussino member card?

Lstyl,
The closing down sales at PS JL still going on?

Fortunemew,
Thanks. Well I'm hiding my wedding from my dad. He shamed my mum in front of her colleagues and relatives. Dun want him to go crazy at my banquet.

Celine,
Better not to take King size bedsheet. I checked out the measurements for fun before, the difference between Queen &amp; King widths is about 10inch.

crayonv

<font color="aa00aa">Dear all ladies....i m gg to have 6 sisters on tht day - 090908 for my wedding..i m now vexing over the amount of Hongbao to giv to them individually and also....the HONGBAO amount best to giv them frm my man to them as they gg to "extort" $8888....!!! we dun earn tt much le...LOL

any one care to share the max to giv n had dicussed w their Hubbies on hw much max to giv please?</font>

Thanks loads..

vivian

dodolet

msclaire, fort siloso must pay leh... I think there are some nice shop houses along china town and cantonment side (opp SGH) you can check out.

Sigh... my fotoshoot in about 10days time...I still dunno where i wanna go. >.<

Viva,
How about you discuss with your sisters about it instead? I'm not vexed about it cos I plan to tell my sisters honestly about the range they can try to 'extort' from my bf haha. I'll pay them $50 hongbaos and give them a treat for their efforts. I'm sure our sisters won't make life difficult for us lah

calvinz21

Rach> thanks for the info, but guess my fiancee can't wait too long and went to Daniel Yam and got herself a gown liao.

Sanza> thanks for explaining the difference between the gowns! Perry definitely is very helpful indeed. I'm also holding mine at Rasa.

~sblbee~

melody,
yah i finally collected my inserts n marriage contract le....left wif printing of my guest signature cards n guest list :p

polarwhite,
hehehehe....ok thanks, i saw le cos my fh e-filed, mine is on 14 oct morning :p

~sblbee~

mary poppins,
wah ur PS sounds really fun n ur pics look really stunning....ur makeup n ur styling is so pretty....im sure u'll top up lotsa photos de cos everything will look nice....xiaohui is really v gd at MU cos she did a wonderful job for my fren's sis, she's an ex-sophia bride too
i heard candy is gd as well, den ur PG seems to b d popular one at sophia too, wif such a gd combi, im sure it'll b hard choosing all d pretty pics de

florabliss,
nvm, we can always wait for another week, hehehe....u must b feeling excited :p

lost,
heheheh....it's ok, ur pics must b really pretty, got any pics to show? btw how many pics did u top up n wat did u get in return for dat amt?

fionachua n lsntyl,
heheheh....im still lurking ard too but nothing much to comment cos d thread has been ao quiet these days :p

msclaire,
nvm....u can discuss wif ur PG on d locations, mayb tell them dat u want sth special....my fren did hers at sch library n it was fun, there was another one who took at national art museum oso v nice n one at a old old building, got those pull aluminium gates one n red dot....perhaps on top of wat sotonglet suggested, u can try d colonial houses n emerald pl....

sotonglet,
wat kind of feel n scenery u want for ur PS? den we'll put our brains tgr to help u think....

flora_bliss

Oh... the meetup is on 12 Sep? Then I can't go liao. Leely and Keer, I'm oso taking Fancl product. But I'm taking the collagen pills instead. Tense up is too powerful for me.

sleepygal79

Hi Mary Poppins, I am not sure how fast Xiaohui can finish the makeup. For my ROM makeup, she took about 1hr and for the PS she took slightly more time. But I did check with Ann, she say that usually the MUA can complete within one hour or less. I do not have the firm timing yet. Very complicated. Cos hubby Hokkien and I m Teochew. He does not mind the timing but my parents believe to follow a early timing. Most like will have to leave home by 7.15am or 7.30am latest. Have u confirmed your timing with Xiaohui yet?

I brought 2 types of ampoules for the PS, Oil Control and Lifting. It was a Germany ampoule. Both my hubby and I used only the Oil control. Xiaohui told you about it?

flora_bliss

meiling> Not exactly excited abt the fitting coz having a hard time deciding whether to get a cooker hood for the house. I'm gonna have a open kitchen, so ideally there should be a cooker hood. But according to a lot of my frens and housewives I know, all said that the hood is more of a hassle than a help. Coz it can't absorb much oil and fume and at the end of the day, it's juz an additional item to clean. And since I'm not gonna cook much, they all advise me to do away with the hood and opt for more storage space (cabinet) instead.

rjwedding

jule: table arrangement is always the biggest headache for the wedding prep.. i told my HB that no matter what we had to split our friends so as to make sure all our tables are filled.. no choice he got to follow.. tell ur htb nicely that got to combine few people together.. do the calculation for him then he will understand better.. that's how i do..

babyjj

jane, they allowed u to spend so much time on indoor shots ar.. so good.. actualli split into 2 days is good, not so rush and can experience it 2 times.. can take more pics too. onli thing is need to pay for eye lash and ampoules again..